Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭lizzyjane

Thats bullshit. Ukranians are welcome here by most of the Irish population, its just the volume coming in we cant sustain thats what people are upset over.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,053 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Yeah. like they went along with Trumps unilateral dumping of the Iran nuclear deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭20silkcut

No that’s not true. I see Irish people putting posts up on Facebook about available Air B and B rooms in places like Kiev , Lviv and other towns in western Ukraine wondering why Ukrainians can’t stay there ffs. I hear people giving out about Ukrainians receiving handouts and saying they bring trouble.They are not just complaining about the volume. They are clearly being targeted by insidious Russian propaganda and it’s got worse over the last few months and caused me to have a heated debate with a close friend recently who was all for Ukraine at the outset of the war. But is now full of misinformation and both sides-ism.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭lizzyjane

Russian propaganda? Last time I checked RT news was banned in Ireland and I am pretty sure the Moscow Times isnt on sale in many corner shops in Dublin.

Most people I have met welcome the Ukrainians, plenty have opened up there own homes too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Curious to follow some posters here with accounts registered in recent months or so. Wishy washy in terms of condemning Russian atrocities and always trying to subtly or overtly undermine support for Ukraine in countering this invasion. You see it here and on threads related to refugees etc. Where have we heard the likes before - let me think, straight out of the Republican playbook following the abolition of Section 31 here.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Don’t be playing so Dumb like your living in the 1980’s.

Propaganda does not need traditional media to propagate in the 3rd decade of the 21st century.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I'd like to see Orc state TV show that.

I must admit the US Midterms do concern me. Always held the position that Ukraine win's this war, so long as Western support holds and preferably increases. Someone mentioned European countries earlier and I don't for one second believe those empty vessels could sustain defending themselves, much less the rate of consumption of munitions in Ukraine. The repugnant party in the US is no friend of civilisation that's for sure. Power at any cost.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭zv2

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

Estonias foreign minister doesnt want Putin in jail,he wants him somewhere else

• Registered Users Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Pence came out and said "no room in the Conservative movement for putin apologists"

How many listen to Pence though, when the tangerine fascist still has sway in the republican party.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,820 ✭✭✭✭briany

This is what the Russian apologists don't get when they talk about Russia being pushed into a corner by NATO regarding encroachment on Russia's borders. I can't speak for all the Baltic countries, but since gaining independence, Estonia has not been a big Russia fan. Given Estonia's extreme physical proximity to Russia, it's natural enough to conclude that the only way they could have assurances of real and lasting independence from Russia was to be part of some defensive pact like NATO, and sure enough that's exactly what it joined.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No not at all... 50 nations did not need to outright back Russia in order for it to be significant. You're being very naive (or possibly deliberately obtuse) to the world of geopolitics.

You can play down their abstentions or choice not to vote if you wish Wibbs. That's your opinion, and you're entitled to it. But plenty of people consider it to be highly significant.

It would be a helluva lot more "significant' if even ten orr twenty nations voted in favour of Russia's annexation. But they didn't. Four, just four did. And a right rogue's gallery they are too.

And this overly simplistic rhetoric of "friends" and "enemies" is again a bit naive. Assuming you're not just deliberately using those terms, to try and make your point seem more legitimate. Many nations vote (or don't vote), based on what they think might be in their interests - possibly even far into the future. And while morality no doubt has some part to play, don't be surprised if our hypocrisy makes our moralizing a bit hard to stomach for some parts of the world.

Our hypocrisy eh? Jesus the lack of Russian self awareness and irony can be truly staggering. Millions protested and marched against the whataboutery oil wars of the US, including Americans. Not seeing much on that score from Russians.

Besides, I've noticed talking to people in other parts of the world, this conflict is kind of viewed like a regional civil war of sorts. People in the west are far more likely to buy into the hype around WW3 and Putin being a threat to the world. It doesn't seem to have the same resonance in other regions. So perhaps many of these nations, are not prepared to bite off their own nose just to help us slay the latest "baddie" we've cooked up. Our latest crusade is of less interest to them, than their day to day existence.

Latest baddie eh. No matter what side someone is on, these facts are clear: Without Russia's war millions wouldn't be displaced, tens of thousands wouldn't be dead or crippled, including Russians, Russia wouldn't be sanctioned, Russia's markets wouldn't have shrunk, they'd even have their billions in oligarch cash robbed from ordinary Russians, Russia's military wouldn't look so weak, NATO wouldn't be expanding and even the threat of nuclear war wouldn't be in play. Now some in othe regions as you call them do indeed see this as Russia's war against the "White West", while not copping the obvious fact that Russia is the last White "Christian" old style European empire on the planet. But hey they didn't colonise Africa so that's OK then(though they had a little go). They colonised all the way to the pacific and some of their more vacant muppets go on about a glorious Russian empire from the Atlantic to the Pacific.

I actually had a twitter convo on this point with one African eejit who with a straight face claimed that Russians weren't White. They were Slavs apparently and that's very different, even if they're gingers with freckles and blue eyes... This same eejit couldn't define White beyond "American" and that it's a "way of thinking". Ironic as America often has had trouble working that out too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

Pence is a lame duck now after turning on the orange clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,566 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

And you only spotted that now. There called bots for a reason.

Slava Ukrainii

He might be. However it is.my opinion that if Trump manages to win the nomination that at least one republican will stand as an independent such as Cheaney or Pense. As well Bush may come out and canvas against him as well.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 18,657 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The claims from these guys that there is virtually no war in most of Ukraine are utter nonsense and downright ignorant. Foreign journalists report that there is nothing particularly 'normal' about life in Kyiv and that anyone can tell there is a war on. It would be like claiming that life in Britain was perfectly normal in 1940-45 and just like it was in peacetime.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

You will find that a lot of the Republican Senators will have a similar attitude to Pence. They behave more like old-school Republicans, because most of them literally are (It's pretty hard to dislodge a Senator in a non-swing state - Chuck Grassley of Iowa is currently running for another 6 year term at the age of 89 years old)

The problem is in the House. There most of the districts are gerrymandered and therefore have uncompetitive general elections. That means that the "real" election is often the primary. In deep red districts this has led to Republican primaries where the candidates have tried to outdo each other in adhering to all things Trumpian - often leading to some genuinely insane winners. Most of these can be found in the "Freedom Caucus", which includes the likes of Paul Gosar, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Lauren Boebert, Matt Gaetz and Jim Jordan. They only make up a small minority of elected Republicans in the House but crucially, the hold the balance of power. Kevin McCarthy would sell his own grandmother to become speaker so it's nothing for him to throw the people of Ukraine under a bus. He knows that that's what the MAGA wing will want and he'll be prepared to deliver it if it means he gets the Speaker's gavel.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,820 ✭✭✭✭briany

Not the thread for it, really, but instead of Cheney or Pence, would there be any chance of getting an independent Republican with maybe an iota of charisma? They'd both fail to make to make a significant dent against Trump, were he to run, or were he even able to run, and only serve to seemingly confirm the notion that whoever is voting Republican will vote Trump or Trump surrogate and that there is no untapped reservoir of moderate Republicans who grit their teeth when going to the polls.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

There is a chance but there's no chance that they'd be elected. That ship has sailed. It's Trump's party now. In the unlikely situation that he is unable to run in 2024 their nominee will be someone who has bought into Trumpism, like Ron De Santis. Moderates, like Mitt Romney, would have no hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

Independents don't stand a chance in the US. Nobody not even Cheney would be thick enough to run.

What you have described there is similar to the election of Truss in the UK. I can never understand the fixation with general membership being allowed to select political leaders. The older Conservative leadership would be white and old business money. They dreamed of empire. It's similar to UK labour where trade unions hold too much sway in the contest.

You end up with idealists deciding the outcome of the leader of a party. These people have no short term not to mind longterm thinking/plan

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 6,959 ✭✭✭circadian

Aye the Baltic States and Poland have been extremely vocal about not trusting Russia since the fall of the Soviet Union. Others like Finland and Sweden were definitely a bit cautious but they certainly weren't as outspoken in their distrust.

Then we have the UK, Germans, French and Italians who enabled Russia. Probably as a result of niavety and the chance of personal gain in terms of procuring genergy amongst other things. Basically we got fucked because the largest economies in the bloc ignored the warnings of the smaller ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,959 ✭✭✭circadian

Plenty of people on social media and increasingly joining telegram channels. These places are notorious for not only unfounded false information but creating feedback loops where that's the majority of what people see.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

France, Germany and Italy see Russia as being like them, one of the grand powers, They will always treat with them over the heads of lesser nations

Speaking of which, I see Germanys tech security head got sacked for being too close to Russia. Putin really did a number on the EU via Germany

The whole point of the standing is not to get elected but to just get 1-3% of the vote in the presidential election. That all it takes to stop Trump

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ross_Perot_1992_presidential_campaign#%3A%7E%3Atext%3DHe_failed_to_win_any%2Cfinish_first_in_a_county.?wprov=sfla1

While neither George Wallace.or Ross Perot got elected it is taught that they effect the outcome of the election. Basically they would be running as a stopper

Slava Ukrainii