Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Clean sheet for Bazunu against Bournemouth this evening. Travers still having to settle for a place on the bench. I really think he has to push for a move in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Ebosele started for Udinese for the first time today in Coppa Italia but was subbed at half-time. Abankwah was an unused substitute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Sinclair Armstrong got his first start tonight in what could be Michael Beales last game before he gets the Wolves job. Played 60 mins and won QPR the penalty for the first goal which resulted in Cardiff having a man sent off.

Gavin Bazunu also got his first clean sheet tonight with Southampton beating Bournemouth 1-0.

Wigan were battered but Keane scored his sixth in league converting a McClean corner.

Similar Scott Hogan just scored his sixth in the league too.

U17s qualification campaign kicks off tomorrow. No Trent Kone Doherty in the squad and no mention of injury so likely Liverpool haven't released him for the games.

Goalkeepers:

Joe Collins (Bray Wanderers)

Jason Healy (Waterford)

Defenders:

Stanley Ashbee (Hull City)

Daniel Babb (UCD)

Jake Grante (Crystal Palace)

Sean Mackey (St. Patrick's Athletic)

Cory O?Sullivan (Shamrock Rovers)

Midfielders:

Romeo Akachukwu (Waterford)

Rhys Bartley (St. Patrick's Athletic)

Anthony Dodd (St. Patrick's Athletic)

Luke Kehir (St. Patrick's Athletic)

Danny McGrath (Bohemians)

John O?Sullivan (Shamrock Rovers)

Freddie Turley (Shamrock Rovers)

Forwards:

Mason Melia (St. Patrick's Athletic)

Taylor Mooney (St. Patrick's Athletic)

Nickson Okosun (Bohemians)

Ike Orazi (Shamrock Rovers)

Naj Razi (Shamrock Rovers)

Shaun Wade (Chelsea)

UEFA European Under-17 Championship Round One fixtures (all kick-offs are Irish time)

Thursday, October 20 |

Republic of Ireland MU17 v Armenia MU17, Sarpsborg Stadium, Norway, KO 5pm

Sunday, October 23 |

Republic of Ireland MU17 v Belarus MU17, Fredrikstad, Norway, KO 1pm

Wednesday, October 26 |

Norway MU17 v Republic of Ireland MU17, Sarpsborg Stadium, Norway, KO 4pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭trashcan

Great representation of Pats lads there. Well done to Ger O’Brien and the Pats academy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

UCD have under 17s players (Daniel Babb)? Anyone able to explain that to me?

edit - I guess he could be already in 3rd level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

ok I guess since all LOI clubs have to have youth teams, ucd weren’t going to get an exception.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Yup, their under 14s and 15s are basically ran by Mount Merrion.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

The national leagues is probably the best thing that's happened to football in Dublin and forcing DDSL clubs to start working with LOI. Was always gonna benefit the Dublin clubs more than the regional clubs but anything that sees the DDSL brought down a few pegs is a positive.

Finished 4-0 in the end to Ireland. They've mixed up the second and third scorers with Naj Razi scoring the second and Mason Melia the third.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭jacool

World Cup draw now. I'm predicting we are in Group H, with Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Here we go! Need a good draw! Need B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Great draw! What an opening match. AUS V IRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭jacool

Nope, we have hosts Australia (13), Canada (9) and Nigeria (45). Could have been worse, as USA and Netherlands, who played in the last final, are in one group!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

know nothing of the teams here, but looks as tho Ireland should be well happy with their group !

Group A probably be just as good - I'm guessin' 🤣

marital arts expert

• Registered Users Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Australia haven't been great for a while. Obviously them being the hosts should be a benefit to them, but I can also tell you from experience that Australian supporters are quick to turn on their teams when they are not playing well.

We are currently ranked 24th in the world. Australia have recently:

Lost to Philippines (53rd)

Drawn with Thailand (41st)

Drawn with Portugal (23rd)

They were also beaten twice in quick succession by Canada recently, who are definitely the favourites for this group.

Australia's win against Denmark recently was their first win against a Top 20 side for quite a while (Brazil nearly a year ago to the day was the last time). We also beat Australia (albeit in a friendly) this time last year.

From my vantage point, if we can get something from the opener and beat Nigeria then we're in with a chance.

And had we not qualifed directly we would have been in that play off group which was drawn with USA and Holland.

Getting to play in the opening game should be amazing and probably be a 42k sell out. Hopefully it's on at a good time, and being match two hopefully it's a 7pm kick off making it 10am here.

It's a group that will see teams taking points off everyone and everyone will be wanting to avoid second place with the runners up likely to be playing England who'll win their group. For anyone down there if we do make it out of the group the games will remain in Australia. Final group game against Nigeria is in Brisbane, and if we win the group it's back to Sydney for the last 16 and we'll remain in Brisbane for the last 16 if we finish second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It will be tricky but there was two or three other groups and had we got them we be in serious trouble.

Least we have a chance in this group. Wont be easy but it's a World Cup and its way should be.

Something to look forward to anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Pity the Nigeria game is last as that might be a dead rubber. The Australia game will be a great occasion at least. Hopefully we can at least nick a point from the first two.

Post edited by johnnyryan89 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,988 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yep he deserves a look in November but hard to see Kenny having the balls

If I were him I'd rest the likes of Coleman, Mcclean, Hendrick, Duffy and bring in some of the u21 lads. Azaz, Smallbone, Coventry, Hodge (England still an option for him, same with Smallbone)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,072 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

He’s better off with the U-21s for now.. he’s doing well for Plymouth argyle in fairness though. But there’s a lot of lads ahead of him at senior level (Parrott, Obafemi, Ogbene, Idah at the very least) - better for him to play at the correct level for now, and see how he goes. No real benefit to throwing him in deeper than is necessary - better to give him time at a level where he’ll do well. He’s only even played one game for them so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,988 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

That's gotta be the plan you would assume. Surprised Ferguson is not on that list though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,598 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I think Smallbone and probably Azaz at this stage deserve a callup. Smallbone had a good 21 campaign, playing regularly in the championship and has played in the PL already at a young age. Azaz is playing very well and hard to ignore the form. Both playing at a higher level than Hourihane right now.

Don't know if Hodge or Coventry deserve a cap but we do badly need an alternative to Cullen, which both these lads would provide. If Hodge keeps getting gametime for Wolves he will be hard to ignore.

If Kenny has talked about one or two from the U21s being on tye cusp of a call up I do hope it's Smallbone and Azaz. Both can play as the more advanced midfielder of a trio and Smallbone could also fill in where Hendrick plays.

Coventry I think could get a call up but don't see him getting minutes. It wouldn't surprise me if he's brought in to train like Ronan was back in March.

Hodge is still very raw and don't think he'd be an alternative to Cullen. Was his first ever senior game but being too attracted to where the ball was lead to Chelsea getting their second goal. While Wolves still should have prevented the goal, Hodge should have held his position instead of being drawn out wide to the player leaving a free man in central.

Also think Hodge would be more suited to playing alongside Cullen rather than the position Cullen plays for. The role Kenny wants Hendrick to play. He played well there for the U19s alongside Lee O'Connor.

Callum Robinson stupidly gets himself sent off in the 7th minute of the South Wales derby after hitting a Swansea player in the face with the ball.

Still no Ryan Manning for Swansea, and Obafemi should have made it 1-0.

Post edited by johnnyryan89 on

Obafemi finally gets his goal though should have scored earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

How did O'Dowda play?

Wales Online picked him out as the best player when doing the player ratings. Was gonna be hard to have an impact on the game when down to ten men against a possession team like Swansea. Cardiff had something like 17% possession.

Callum O'Dowda 8 (star man)

Was Cardiff's out ball at the start of the match and looked to be getting the better of Joel Latibeaudiere. Was Cardiff's most likely attacking outlet, even when they went down to 10. One who can hold his head high after that performance.

Poor result for the U17s and will likely lead to a poor seeding for elite round.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Ramasun

FAI have today terminated the contract with JACC Sports who provided the kits for Umbro. Interesting that this has come so soon after the recent ruling regarding JD and the emails or it's just a massive coincidence.

Probably still wear the current kits for next months friendlies but they'll likely have, or will want to at least have someone thing sorted by the start of the qualifiers. Hoping myself that we go back to O'Neills as the kit suppliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭micar

What about Castore .......hard to believe it was only set up in 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,436 ✭✭✭secman

Puma in the running apparently....Umbro rejected the termination and seeking legal advice.

Post edited by secman on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,072 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Coventry back on the bench for West Ham tonight for the third game in a row. Good to see. Hopefully starts getting minutes before long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,598 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I wonder why they cancelled the contract, seems a strange thing to do. Recent gear was fairly nice, you'd have thought they would let them get to the end of their contract. O'Neills, Adidas, Hummel, Nike would all be good to decent. Would not fancy Puma at all.

Knowing the FAI they will choose the worst available supplier for the next deal (or else they will back down and reinstate Umbro because of the legal case)

JACC Sports are getting legal advice rather than taking legal action. Action may come but can't see the FAI cutting ties unless certain there'd be no legal ramifications.

JACC Sports have been around awhile when the gravy train was in full flow and got a handy six year contract before JD walked. New lad Jonathan Hill probably feels they can get a better deal, especially with the women's team going to a major tournament and Jacc Sports are probably raging that a handy gig they've had while JD was running the show is coming to an end sooner than they thought.

Gonna need to leave West Ham for that to happen unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Travers on for Bourne

Mark Travers replaces Neto at half time who picked up a hamstring injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Randolph also on the bench with the other keeper which prob says their down players rather than their on merit. Unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Hard to tell if it's a coincidence after last weeks ruling on JD's emails but I've no doubt this termination isn't sudden and has to brewing with JD's legacy sports direct issue between the FAI and JACC/Toplion going back 3 years now. Strange saga nonetheless alot more will come out, you would think the FAI must be strongly legally confident to terminate a contract like this with 4 years still to run with JD still haunting the association. Indo reporting Puma interested in becoming new supplier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Kerry_2008

A mate of mine was telling me the termination of the contract is a legacy JD issue but also the current preferred shirt sponsor is a sportswear company. No idea if it's true or not but, he normally fairly reliable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭eire4

Would be happy if it was O'Neills. But no chance of that IMHO. They just cannot compete financially. This will go to Puma as is the rumour or whoever offers the biggest number financially and O'Neills will just not be able to compete.

Second choice would be Adidas if they had any interest given the good retro range kits they could make. Probably wouldn't buy another jersey as I don't think anything will top the first sponsor less kits but would pick up a retro jersey.

Lads, is Sugarman still around? Haven't see a post from him in ages, used to post regularly in this thread.

His account is gone I think and hasn't posted in a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭micar

Was just wondering if the ins and out of the Umbro / Sports Direct deal was a sticking point over the getting a new deal for a overall sponsor.

It's been over 2 years since 3 ceased being main sponsor