Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the dodgiest pub you have been to?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,566 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

only one bar in the country where all the heads of the organisations gather and plot their criminality

The bar in the Dail.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭FullyComp

• Registered Users Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 8,566 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭rathfarnhamlad

The Crossroads Tavern - Shannon, Co. Clare. The building looks like someone said "ah sure, that'll do" mid-construction, packed their tools into the van & never came back to finish the job. Once inside you are met by all sorts of characters. No problem sorting a sniff of coke either. That said, most of the clientele were grand on the odd few nights I was there (the fact that I was with a local probably helped) though I did get the feeling that something could kick off any minute. I wouldn't have gone there on my own. Even from the outside I could get the vibe that it's *that* sort of pub which doesn't take kindly to outsiders, blow-ins or passing traffic.

Shannon Nights - Shannon, Co. Clare. We used to call it the Shannon Fights. One of the lads I worked with remarked that the night club attached to it (Evolution) was proof that evolution could in fact go in reverse also, if you had been there you would have agreed. It was grand for a couple of pints after work on a Friday but it was always a good idea to get out of there before the troublemakers came out to play - that meant all the dodgy characters who couldn't get in anywhere in Limerick or Ennis & descended on the place. Throw in a few individuals with shallow gene pools & about the same number of full-time mad ba5tards from Clarecastle, Newmarket-on-Fergus & Sixmilebridge into the mix for good measure. As soon as their night out was in full-swing anything could happen. The car park in the early hours of a Sunday morning was top-notch entertainment for those who enjoyed the sight of funny-looking inbreds pucking the heads off each other (viewing from a safe distance was preferable, obviously). Closed down now.

The Furry Bog - Whitechurch, Rathfarnham, Dublin 16. Don't know what it's like now but about a decade ago it had a particularly menacing vibe about it & was indeed frequented by some shady characters. I heard the rumor at the time that the owner installed a shipping container in the car park which he modified into a garage for his car so nobody could damage it but don't know if that was true or not. Is it still going?

Castle Inn - Rathfarnham Village, Dublin 14. Now closed. Google it.

The Sarah Curran, also in Rathfarnham (long gone now) wasn't so much a dodgy pub as an absolute kip of a joint managed by some right to55ers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Oh. This thread started in 2009. I may have replied before l answer hasn't changed.

Some bar in 1994 in Holyhead with my father. Waiting for the ferry went for a pint. Walked into a bar. Had a pint and midway through a guy walks in that had clearly taken a glass to the face up the road

Not an eye lid was batted at the bar. It was almost as if it was a regular occorance

We left. Not until we finished our pint of course

Post edited by AckwelFoley on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

The Sunset House pub ;) i think it's closed down now though. I passed it one Sunday afternoon and had a peek in the window to see some fella giving it loads dancing to some dance track on the juke box. I thought it was pretty amusing.

Crossroads was pretty bleak when I was in there years back all right. It was the day after a 21st of a college mate from Shannon and a few of us were looking for a place to watch a PL match and were sent in that direction. I don’t think I have felt as sinister an atmosphere in a bar in Ireland. There was one lad, about 40 the time, who was holding court like Tony Soprano, and it seemed like as long as he was there the place was calm. We all agreed it would probably be best not to see what happened when he left.

Was in the Knight’s multiple times and was grand any time I was there

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,599 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

OP here, I never thought this thread would last this long, 12 years later. Ive ready every post and after 12 years, I reckon we make a web series out of it where we document visiting every single bar that has been posted!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

This thread is almost as old as Jerry Lee Lewis' first wife

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Finches in Neilstown, the Old Chinaman (with two college mates to score some hash during a long “drought” not long before it closed down), the Mount View in Blanch. All total very dodgy kips. I was going out with a gay guy who lived in the supposed “better” part of Neilstown (late 1990s) - he was a big MF so never got any hassle when he’d go up there to their offy section to get cans. No windows.

It was a case of get in, get what you were looking for, and get out ASAP.

When my drinking was utterly out of control in the mid 2010s, was in quite a few rather dodgy early houses often enough. As long as you kept your head down you were grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭mick121

the Shanty in Mulhuddart,dodgy enough in the bar but even worse in the disco(late 1990s),went for pints,had pints,never returned.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

Talking of the sunset House....Many years ago I was working summer job and had to paint outside windows of the pub

I was up a 40 ft ladder painting top window,

I noticed a couple of young lads running around the corner laughing

Looked down and saw guinness delivery truck about to drive off

Had a rope tied from its back to the bottom rung of my ladder

i Scuppered down and had to jump the last ^ feet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

The Old Mill, Tallaght.

I can tell you this is one rough pub.

Ive never seen so many rough looking people, loads of security staff.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,271 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭4Ad

The Launch in Limerick city...oh boy.

A city centre bar in Sheffield, lovely city, nice people, except this place....no one said anything bad to me but I knew to get the f##k out of there !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭sioda

I'm sorry but if you think the launch is a dodgy pub you've not been in enough pubs. Local in a working class area defo but never felt uncomfortable in there. Many worse spots in the city

The now demolished Swiss Cottage in Santry. I’ve drank in other pubs mentioned here like the Jobstown Inn, but the cottage was operating at an entirely different level.

Jaysus, you mean you went to a rock bar by accident

• Registered Users Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Feisar

I probably said it before, The Slaughterhouse in Mullingar.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Was my local for two years....Some dodgy clientele alright. A good few regulars had been barred from the towers pub in Ballymun. Only once or twice saw any trouble to be fair. I did get mugged around the corner from it though!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭10-10-20

I used to pass on the 75 bus it in it's previous incarnation of "Burke's" back in 1995.

The lack of windows was the giveaway!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,278 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was only in the Swiss once and what always struck me for a pub was how dark it was…inside

• Registered Users Posts: 38,271 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users Posts: 20,732 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Has anyone mentioned the Castle in Finglas was a rough aul spot some decent nights there,

Jets up behind Dublin airport was a rough aul spot back in the day ,

• Registered Users Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Used to go for a pint on a Sunday afternoon in it occasionally... just for the ambience.

The tube for the wet t shirts contests was still there from the night before.

If you were a doorman there part of you job description was to be regularly shot at.

Charlie Bowden was a bar man there , before he into the witness protection program.He did his own security at the bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,732 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Some mad kip alright but a few very good nights there,

Charlie Bowden now there's a name i haven't heard in a while, wonder where he is now ,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Me and my BF accidentally walked into a brothel type bar recently. We thought it was just a normal bar. It was empty, poorly lit and no music (not in Ireland)

We wandered in and sat down and noticed there was just like 5/6 skanky dressed up looking women standing around. They all one by one came over to say hello and shake both of our hands! We were like WTF..... the type of skanky women with barely any teeth yet cheap looking heels and clothes on.

Then the girls kept coming back over and actually started lingering at our table just standing there like they were waiting for instruction. I didn't cop on and asked her was she okay and told her to feck off basically. She looked a bit shocked and then went back to their table and they were all just standing looking over for ages.

We quickly paid and left! Turns out it is a brothel type hotel where you can get full service for probably about a tenner, proper disgusting, that's the last time I go into a place that 'looks like a bar but doesn't have any signs' :V

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

A tenner you say?

Anyhow, everyone else is giving locations, so in the interest of parity, could you?