Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is Dublin such a shιtty city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭maninasia

As I said you can't just whip up some dishes by asking. They need to prepare them in advance and some take a lot of effort and specialisation. There is no such thing as an 'everything Chinese restaurant ' in Asia.

For instance xiao long BAO dumplings.

Or Steamed ginger and black bean grouper .

Or Beijing kao ya.

Or Taiwanese beef noodles

Or Hong Kong Dim Sum

It doesn't work like that. Same as a French restaurant probably couldn't whip you up a decent pizza. This seems to be confusing to some of you.

I also noticed unfortunately there are very few Japanese in Ireland which probably accounts for the lack of authentic Japanese restaurants (some are run by Chinese).

PS Aobaba looks like the real deal, thx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I can tell you where to get 3 of those dishes (and done to high quality) in Dublin. And for the other, I'd bet you your last kuai one of the high end Canto restaurants could do a very good approximation (fish availability dependent).

You're playing Marco Polo here (I'm familiar with the attitude). Dublin is well served for Chinese food. The problem is you don't know where to look and haven't gotten to know the food scene.

I overheard some tourists talking about Dublin when abroad. The words "not very pretty" and "tatty" were used. And when you compare to dozens of cities on the continent, it's hard to argue with. Dublin is a lot of things, but "beautiful" is not one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Are you telling me you haven't been to Aobaba yet?

Never been to Hanoi Hanoi, Pho Ta, Aobaba or M&L and you on here telling us about your high standards & expertise in all Asian food and furthermore, you telling us there's no good asian food in Dublin?

Are you trolling?

Yeah I have never been to Aobaba. Big swing in me noodles.

And there's only a couple of streets in the capital city with semi decent Asian food. Otherwise it's a desert out there in the big city. Especially as many of us don't go into the city centre often cos it's...**** ..in parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Parts of Dublin are quite nice though, around St Stephen's Green and Merrion Square, swathes of D2 are quite nice. We may not compare to Vienna or Prague but we're centuries behind those places in some ways. Look at the state of most of our towns and villages around Ireland, ugly towns with little to offer expect permanently car choked streets.

Yeah as a Dub I got slightly offended but you can't tell people they're wrong for having an opinion. It was just jarring to hear unfiltered criticism. Normally tourists here are a lot more diplomatic and they tend to cushion the criticism with plenty of praise.

Aobaba is amazing. You're unbelievable!!! Can't believe you dragged tourists in to have chicken balls and sweet and sour sauce in your local take-away and then tell us all Asian restaurants in Dublin are crap!! What a silly billy post to put up before admitting you haven't been to many of them at all.

You really should try all the good Asian restaurants in Dublin before telling everyone they're all crap!

Get back to me when you've tried the ones I told you to.

I haven't eaten shite greasy Chinese food in Dublin in over 20 years, you need to sort out your confusion mate. I don't know who you are talking about.

Aobaoba looks like a bog standard Vietnamese restaurant to me. Which is equal to amazing in some folks shoes I guess.

Let's face it most of Dublin has little in the way of decent ethnic eateries, a bit in the city centre but sure a lot of us couldn't be arsed going into it very often cos of the well known issues. Dragging my family in and out of the North inner city for a meal isn't that enjoyable especially at night there. Parnell street and O Connell street being amongst the shittiest of all and an area I know very well indeed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Yamamori sushi used to be better, but it really has been homogenised into the standard fair.

As for the Korean thing, I’m just repeating what I’m told.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Aobaba is grand. I wish they had the proper pig face sandwiches though.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

One thing I can't understand though is culchies who love to bash Dublin for being a kip. Fair enough foreigners doing it but it's hardly like Cork, Waterford, Limerick, Galway, Sligo, Athlone etc. are much better.

Cork is just a smaller version of Dublin as is Limerick and Galway city centre is basically the same as Temple Bar. Ireland has beautiful countryside but lacks nice towns and cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Musashi is probably the best sushi in Dublin imho, but lacks a bit of variety. The non-seafood japanese dishes everywhere don't really extend past katsu and ramen.

There's probably a better thread to discuss dublin restaurants than this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Toasted?

Edit: I've never heard of it, but I really want to try.

Post edited by gameoverdude on

• Registered Users Posts: 32 moslo

Firstly, people from Cork, Waterford, Limerick, Galway cities, etc. aren't culchies and they certainly do criticise their own and other towns and cities, think of all the bad press Limerick has received over the years or the traffic situation in Galway. Secondly, the OP is not from Ireland, and thirdly, a lot if not most of the criticism of Dublin is coming from Dubliners. Finally, if people don't complain about the shortcomings of our towns and cities then nothing changes...

Post edited by moslo on

Gio Thu (Headcheese) is the key. Keep an eye out for it. It’s like a sliced meat made out of the meat on a pigs head, including ears.

When I lived in Arizona, I used to go to Lees Sandwiches and get a sandwich with Gio Thu, Duck liver pate, pickled Asian radish, pickled carrots and finely sliced chillis. It was heaven.

The Vietnamese ladies who worked there used to think it was hilarious, I was the only white guy who ordered “pig face sandwich”.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,068 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The problem around O'Connell Street and the north inner city is an over concentration of social housing, shelters and addiction centers.

All social ills are dumped in the city center to keep the suburbs happy.

It's only getting worse as more and more social housing and hostels are being stuffed in and businesses forced to close.

I don't see how most can complain about the results of such a deliberate policy which is just making the place more dangerous, run down and not a place many would choose to visit.

Don't use terms likes mouthing with me just because you don't like my opinion . Cheeky git accusing me of lying, go screw yerself.

I haven't written anything that isn't truthful, it just doesn't rhyme with your opinions.

They are called opinions. Can you figure out the difference between a fact an an opinion ?

I've tried plenty of Asian restaurants in Dublin, mediocre and vastly overpriced is the word. I know my Asian food lived there for decades.

And you don't seem to get that Dublin is a massive capital city, a couple of fairly grotty streets in the city centre doesn't qualify it as any food mecca lol.

I use terms like mouthing off because that's what you're doing.

You're telling us all you're an expert on Asian food, that there's no good Asian food in the city yet you haven't tried any of the good ones! You're critiquing and reviewing restaurants that you've never been to, you're convinced Dublin is a massive city yet if you've been to Asia you'd realise it's not! You think the only restaurants in the city are on couple of streets!

Clueless posting. Laughable. Again, try the restaurants people have told you to go to, the ones where Asian people go, not the likes of you and come back to me.

Glass heart?

You know what that means right?

You swear you were a five star Asian Michelin chef yerself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Aka the underground rebel base from Terminator 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,768 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I think with Dublin you have to separate the city centre from other areas, places like Howth and Malahide. But if you are talking the city centre, then yes it is not pretty, for the nicest part of the city is from Trinity College up to Merrion square and Stephens Green, around those areas you have nicest buildings and parks, then you have other places to visit like up around Christchurch but not much else outside that.

As for the northside of the city, O'Connell street up to the Garden of Remembrance show really be somewhere for tourists to visit but it really is rundown. I don't know if that is because around that area is surrounded by some of the poorest areas that a just a stones throw from O'Connell street whereas on the southside there seems to be less of the areas, not saying there aren't any but compared to the northside they are not as close. If walk off O'Connell street there is nothing but rundown areas, take from Talbot street and up to Parnell Street and that is where you have most of the poorest areas and they all just feed into the streets around there. I think the only the way to sort out O'Connell street, Henry Street and few others is by having a large visible police presence that might just discourage some of the ne'er-do-wells from venturing onto to those areas.

How you think your local takeaway chicken balls with sweet & sour sauce is proper Asian food is beyond me, ridiculous carry on, you still haven't been to Pho Ta, Aobaba, Pho Kim, M&L or Hanoi Hanoi yet you insist there's "none" in Dublin!!

Again, try the restaurants you were told about, stop reviewing them before you visit them. Get back to me then.

Loving this Asian food d*ck measuring contest.

Did get a magnificent transformers watch there.

I remember there was van that sold VHS tapes across the road on the waste ground in front of H Williams. My ma bought me The Monster Squad on tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,822 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Didn't ask as I was legging it away at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭getoutadodge

Yeah like who cares. You'll get a toastie with a pint o plain...and be happy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is there not a food and drink forum on here where you can all mouth off?

Kinda hilarious rating a city on what foreign food it has. Can't get a decent fry for love nor money in Shenzen.

There's enough mouth breathers that don't know the city running it down, we don't need another one who seems to have never been to the city!

Good call Dee, why can’t they fhoooke off to the ‘ tell me more boring tales of your travelling experiences’ thread

and bore the hole off the nerds there?

No brainer I tells ya……..no brainer……😲

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,283 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The area around O Connell street and the quays is horrible but it’s been horrible for as long as I remember. What’s changed that prompted the taoiseach to make comments on it?

But something dumpling something flushing meadows etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

From all accounts it has worsened since the start of Covid.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

And improved since the end. During covid it was dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,885 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

What do people actually want ?

Dublin City is grand same as nearly ever City in the world it has its nice parts & strong points & then it has rougher run down parts,

What exactly do people want more from Dublin City,

That the main drag is safe, clean, hassle free, and a pleasant relaxing experience for those who visit it?

That too much to ask for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Lots of restaurants from Asia , then more restaurants from Asia , probably a couple of restaurants from Asia.

We have buckets full's of them but some are too dear & other are two cheap

Grafton street is fine, Henry street is fine,

Loads of cool places in the city for people to visit & relax

If your talking about O Connell street, Its not the main street in the City why do you perceive it to be ? What is there to make it the main street ?

Do you consider Oxford street in London safe . that is the "main Drag " there

How about las Ramblas Barcelona ?

How about Champs-Élysées Paris ?

I don't know man.

If you can't throw in your own opinion on Dublin you ain't much better than us.

At least we have an opinion.

You just sit on the side snivelling away.

WTF is your contribution?

Buddy,if you asked 1000 Irish people “What is the Main Street in Dublin” I would confidently suggest that 90% would say “O’Connell st”.

Dude o daddy o man, I'm just jiving son.

I was chilling in Grafton Street just this Saturday with kids and it was a gay ol time.

SSG walk and playground, Disney shop then Lego shop then Captain Americas for lunch, bus was waiting for us when we strolled to College Green.

Dublin has good parts and bad parts but for it's fairly safe and has lots of things to do.

Its sad how they chewed up O Connell St.

I remember it back in the day, Anna Livia, Floosie in the Jacuzzi , wasn't paradise, still had a junkie problem , but was a lot better . It at least looked and felt more Irish and wasn't so damn run down, it had Clearys , Fibbers, Waltons at the other end. Now the whole area is grungy, manky, with certain ethnic groups occupying street corners all day , and the ground not even cleaned properly by the Corpo.

Parnell street is 5x busier than what it used to be but definitely not nicer. Again it was never nice but they actually managed to make it worse! Everytime I go there somebody is roaring or there's a gang of young fellas or Roma hanging outside the 'casinos' , maybe a junkie passed out on the side of the road, lads drinking across from the main Luas stop at the half abandoned block of flats (feel sorry for the Guard that I saw dealing with one not two days ago, hard job).

Ilac centre is actually packed and doing a roaring trade ,a lot of immigrants live in the city centre , that's good and bad I guess. As another poster noted the North inner city has diverged even more from the Southside over the last decade ..even extending up to Phibsboro and Dorset St, it has seen very little investment in terms of pavements, greenery etc compared to the South Inner City . Possibly because the largest number of immigrants in the state live there , along with many homeless shelters and hotels, fairly transient population mixed with a fairly large amount of social housing still? I don't know but it looks and feels starved of funds. For some reason they still use bin bags in that part of the city and so you see rubbish strewn across the streets all the time !

The main thing that had improved is the public transport situation. Again I remember lads smoking weed on the back of the bus , at least that doesn't happen anymore to my knowledge, and buses run very often now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I would consider Oxford St and Champs-Elysees safer than O'Connell St. The latter is a beautiful street. A pleasure to walk down. Oxford is a superb shopping street. I have not been to Barca.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Correct, and that’s what’s happened, they let the scrotes take over the street.

Its quite simple here really. It’s a question of pride and resolve.

Do we want to surrender our ‘Main Street’ of our capital city to the scrotes and tossers and liggers?

Or do we want to take pride in our capital and invest in resources to ensure this swamp life doesn’t

have carte Blanche to create mayhem in the middle of our capital.

Its really that simple ………have we the balls to do it?

hmmm…..

But why would they say it ? Because it maybe was at one the past it certainly hasn't been for the last 25 years at least