Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

That’s the legacy of their nationalism, and then some people think Empire / Union Flag it’s sexy to them. They wear the bikini / sip from the mug this isle’s own modest nationalism in response to their very colonialism was all we really had going for us.

Our only defence be somehow guilt tripped of that renders us prone to being absorbed by vast continentals and their infinitely more populous, impactful peoples and cultures. Our crown jewels were who we were; our emeralds our eyes. Consider where you’d like to go in the world, how diminished your view of would be if they just weren’t themselves anymore. Particularly if replaced with thee absolute most common denomiators tourists generally want to be far from the maddening crowd and they’d be truly let down to find what appeared geographically at least an apparent escape duly consumed. We’re not a nation in the true sense, the people coming here are attracted by the resonance and allure of the British Isles; the English language. The “commonwealth” and from there it’s just a matter of which pays best

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭Miadhc

Marie-France Cohen, interesting. Any more details on her? Seems like she is one of our old friends that have an unhealthy obsession with forcing multiculturalism on Europe. Noticing a pattern.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Lugh_

you aren't allowed notice these things lad. now put down those history books and go back scrolling on social media like a good goy.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Uncharted2

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

• Registered Users Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭lmao10

OK, some lads involved had some disgusting views which are outdated today. And?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Like the ones in the video? Sure where would we be without them.

Post edited by Uncharted2 on

• Registered Users Posts: 15,486 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

That horrific video of “diversity” in action on O’Connell st was trending on Twitter yesterday. (the fight at the casino).

No doubt it was seen by many tourists planning on visiting Ireland.

Maybe it will shame the government into some sort of response - “oh no, what will the tourists think”

I totally agree with you. It was in relation to another reply made to you earlier in the thread.

Helen mcentee our justice minister must of been disgusted with the scene in Dublin so much she has decided to keep night clubs open till 6.30 but will be stopping serving alcohol at 5am.

A truely master stroke. And people think she hasn't a clue.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

No point in Jimmy two timing a liar, particularly when they’re making a mockery it will have registered when it was declared. Out here you’re a conspiracy theorist, gaslit and shunned a respected country; like Italy you’re made leader. This house of cards will come down and the gombeens, sure we’ve sold our people out once already this century but out of existence a new phenomenon.

Criminals will deny everything, even hard evidence and we have quite a few in prominent positions need addressing. The charade is coming to a head.

Donegal County Council has passed a motion to stop any more refugees entering the county. This is due to lack of services ie GPs full to capacity, health centres not taking anymore née applications, schools full to capacity and an acute hospital that has reached maximum operational capacity. About time someone called sense to this.

I wonder does this include migrants from other countries, surely if the county is full to capacity then it should include all immigrants and migrants.

Multicultural diversity isn't much good if no-one has services.

gang of Africans chased local young lads into the Tommy Hilfiger shop in Galway where one of the locals was stabbed.

Sorry I can't paste or put up links. Not that tech savy yet. It was on my local radio Station. Highland Radio. Worth a listen on playback. Very good debate between the chairperson of DCC and some Cavan fella who seems to be part of the main organisation for bringing in Ukrainians. Its on the 9 till noon show.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭lmao10

Thank you for another edition of immigrant crimes. Always great to see selected crimes by immigrants posted. I never see you posting any crimes by white people but I'm sure you feel just as aggrieved when they happen. Are these guys actually immigrants though? Are they a "gang of Africans"? Were they born and raised in Ireland? Just curious since you seem to have the information.

We all know we have big problems with our own home grown gangster scum.

Have you an objection at someone highlighting what we're importing to join them.

I suppose the video doing the rounds outside the casino we're the O'Romas from the Aran Islands.

Call them what you like mate and I'll do the same. Fair?

And yes I do have a particular interest in all crime, there are other threads for that which I contribute to.

I'd like to hear some positives from posters on Romani gypsy migration to Ireland. How have the Irish Nation and people benefitted from this influx?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Haven’t seen it, don’t care to see it tbh.

It doesn’t sound like it has anything to do with multiculturalism, just anti-social behaviour. If the ‘casino’ being referred to is Dr. Quirkys, it doesn’t come as a shock to anyone familiar with the place. Smell of stale piss and lads knocking lumps out of each other with a group young ones drugged up to the eyeballs hanging off them, has always been standard fare going back 20 years ago. Being filmed is the only thing that’s new, cos the security cameras were only ever there for show.

Honestly I think you should care to see it.

See what kind of migrants we're taking in.

No doctors or engineers in this bunch and would be fairly sure they didn't come here to work.

Thanks,maybe someone else can post a link. Sorry but I don't know how.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m saying though, as politely as possible, that I have no need to see it, nor any reason to see it, I don’t need that in my life, let alone have it in my head.

Culture has nothing to do with a person’s occupation or their immigration status, surely you understand that much? It’s for this reason I don’t entertain what to me is a notion which makes no sense, because it’s based upon guilt by association. There’s nothing in any culture I’m aware of anyway which predisposes anyone to any kind of antisocial behaviour; quite the opposite - most cultures have social rules which place an obligation on their people to behave in the spirit of brotherhood and cooperation in service of mankind.

That there are a tiny minority of fcuknuggets in any given social group who don’t appear to have got the memo, is insufficient evidence to suggest that all people who belong to that group should be associated with that sort of behaviour, let alone does it support the idea of limiting anyone’s freedom on the basis of the behaviour of individuals within that group.

Were that the basis upon which laws could be applied, then that idiot who suggested a curfew on men in Irish society would have a legitimate argument. As it turns out, he didn’t, and he doesn’t, and you don’t either.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Galway born and bred here, this is something new and seems to be unique to black gangs, we have seen it in Dublin where they indimitate people and now its in Galway as well.

The put on London "innit bruv" accent is gas.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There’s nothing in any culture I’m aware of anyway which predisposes anyone to any kind of antisocial behaviour; quite the opposite - most cultures have social rules which place an obligation on their people to behave in the spirit of brotherhood and cooperation in service of mankind.

With respect that is an extremely naive view of mankind and one born of a life lived in a very safe environment on a world scale and choosing to ignore the negatives, or thinking said negatives can be solved with more "something" and hugs. Yes all cultures have social rules about how they treat each other, however they can also most certainly vary on how they view The Other and how or not they label them as Mankind. Racism is everywhere and particularly in "multicultural" societies, from covert to overt, from suspicion to distrust to outright hate. There isn't one single example where it doesn't occur and not one single example where the exact same trends don't occur. Not one. We've got conflicts all over the planet as we speak even ones directly affecting us where there is eff all "brotherhood and cooperation" going on. Within the groups yes, without very little, or none. The very story of mankind has to include the consistent and persistent fear, hate even planned destruction of The Other.

Take the Roma, the subject of the video you don't need to see: They've faced discrimination throughout Europe, often murderous at times. This has naturally and understandably made them insular and clannish and self protective, not unlike Jews in many areas of Europe. However unlike Jews who took a very different tack in the face of discrimination and very rarely show up on the welfare registers or in gaols, Roma are heavily over-represented in both. Across the EU less than 20% of Romani women work and less than 30% of men do. Their crime stats are off the charts. Two cultures, both faced unreal discrimination, even very real attempts at extinction, two very different outcomes and very different effects on societies.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Anyone remember these lads, One a doctor and One Engineer i believe 🙄

Appealing that it should be thrown out because she drank too much, and we have Irish lawyers defending this.

Scum will do anything for a few quid.

Recommended deportation back in 2020, will get out soon with a free gaff, and 208 a week and rape again.

It's grand though 👌

I think you will be waiting a while.

Have to be careful how I phrase this but speaking for myself I have yet to come across any in employment.

What is the reason for so many coming to Ireland, must be the weather.