Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Met any Strange People Lately ?

• 27-10-2022 3:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭

Today, Only 2 on the bus, Me, Down the back, Lower deck, Seats opposite. You know where I mean..This person gets on at the next stop and walks by a ton of empty seats and sits opposite me, I had to move my shopping and all my stuff from their feet and then from Abbey St to Fairview they just locked on and stared at me, I'm not even good looking ! WTF ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

You were sitting on the secret stash.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

I’ve mobility issues but not enough to look for a blue badge. I just need lots of room getting in and out of my car. I park as far away from other cars in the supermarket car park so that there’s often no one else in my row or the row in front of me.

Im amazed at how often I come out and someone has parked right beside me, often right up to my door. Why are people so weird?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Seen a crackhead being battered by three young lads he started a fight with a few weeks back, he ran at them with a stick raised over his head and clattered one of them over the back with it before falling, the other two kicked seven shades of shite out of him before the neighbours and myself broke it up.. lads were about 15.. yer man was off his head.

This is actually becoming less weird and more common these days :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Some people an only park next to another car, they can’t judge their parking without another car. Ever see a car parked arseways across 3 spaces? That’s what happens when these people encounter any empty car park.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭ Cup

I saw a guy out casting away with a fishing rod in a small, pondless park this morning.

You can always be sure of meeting a few strange people on Boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

To be fair, people do practice casting as one might practice putting a golf ball on the living room carpet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Taxi driver pinned me in outside a laboratory a few days ago, when I came back to my car , I was unable to move out , he had no reason to do it either as plenty of space behind to allow room for me

anyway I got out eventually and reversed his taxi as he left engine running, he comes back and expresses surprise he pinned me in but says sorry in a half hearted way , I said I could have had a sick person in the car who needed to get to hospital ( lab was two minutes from local hospital)

he called me a pr1ck repeatedly so I took a pic of his reg and told him he wasn’t fit to drive commercially, probably qualifies more as obnoxious than strange ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

So rather than just signalling clearly to him that you needed to move out, so he could move and that would be the end of it, you went full Karen and said "YOU COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEONE!!!!!" or words to that effect and then set about reporting him?

I wonder if he'll post about you on this thread....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Not unusual for a taxi driver. I worked in a call centre for Transport Association so had to deal with taxi drivers renewing their licenses etc. Some of the rudest dickheads I've ever had the misfortune to interact with, the worst were the union reps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Or maybe the taxi driver could have parked properly in the first place !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

What on earth are you talking about ?

how do you signal to someone you’ve never met and therefore have no idea what they look like

save the faux interpretation for you’re weekly drama group

Yeah, that’s true. Looked pretty strange though, especially as it was still dark.

I often encounter odd behavior on my morning walks. Will look out for the next one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭standardg60

Might be a few more when the nightclubs open til six!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I was out jogging some evening in Galway about 10 years ago and was coming up behind someone acting strange so I went out onto the road to get around them(which I often do when jogging past someone rather than run up on top of them) anyway this fella had his mickey out pissing all over the footpath in a housing estate.

Another time in the middle of day time I was at a park in Galway. Taxi driver pulls up get's out and again mickey out pissing while facing the kids playground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

One , who is known to me.

she has an issue of I guess psychological in nature but I’ll explain what she does.

takes her dog for a walk but any person she encounters, known, unknown, male, female, young or old… she tries to stop and engage them in conversation, she could be telling you about the ironing she did, what her friend made for their dinner, bingo results..wins losses on the horses and what band are playing in her local and goes through their set list almost.

grand if you encounter her when you are not in a hurry, you can humour her, but the number of times she gets encountered outside my door or close by every so often and I’m trying to get out to an appointment or just coming in and wanting to cook or put my feet up…She lives about a 3 minute walk away.

another neighbour met her on the bus and with loads of spare seats she goes up and sits beside him, 30 minute trip… where she’s just imparting tidbits of her life, it’s not a conversation, just talks AT you…. A certain amount of sympathy but on the wrong day, the wrong place, it’s gets very old, very draining and very annoying..

Ah yeah, I’ve seen the peeing people too. Another morning, a lady happily standing on some steps (just to give a better view), skirt up, pants down, peeing away merrily.

After I had passed her, I heard cars beeping, and there she was wandering across the road, pretending that she was driving a car herself with all the steering movements and the honk-honk hand gestures.

Weirdest thing for me was that she got to the other side of the road and just walked off normally - not a stagger or a weaver to be seen. Maybe it was just her thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Meet one every morning in the mirror if that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

A few weeks ago, I saw what I thought was Enda Kenny walking by the Shelbourne and rashly remarked to the taxi driver that it was nice to live in a country where former heads of government could still mingle with the rest of us. This drew a stern rebuke - they should all be in fear of their lives and anyway a day of judgement was coming for them. Things got worse from there. Yer man turned out to be a psychic with characteristic birthmarks to boot. It was a long journey to the airport.

I was enjoying that conversation we were having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

In Spain a few weeks ago waiting at a fairly remote suburban train stop I got chatting to a lad from Lithuania. He had walked from The Netherlands, through Belgium, Luxembourg, France and down to Spain then all along the coast to Portugal. He was on his way back heading towards Switzerland. Six months walking about 30km a day.

I asked if he was staying in campsites or hostels what. Nope - he had a sleeping bag and a small back pack and was crashing out in parks, train stations, beaches etc. He was also going on about doing another similar journey without any possessions. A bit eccentric but not a bother on the fecker - time or a sense of urgency meant nothing. I was somewhat jealous.

Tell him not to come here. He would be sectioned. Garda would arrest him after numerous complaints of man walking the roads.