Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

solve the housing problem easily...some solutions?

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Kurooi

This. A million times this. No matter what billion dollar idea anyone can come up with to address the issue, any measure that could decrease prices makes Ireland more attractive to foreign investments. A US trust fund will swoop in and buy the stock jack the prices back up and take supply away.

Government is now calling in housing crisis 'measures' that really just pad the pockets of foreign investors with our money. All senseless and corrupt without first ackowledging that the basic necessities of the citizen outweigh the foreign corporate interests. They need to be taken out of equation, slapped with enough tax to leave the market alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Build Ballymun style social blocks again, but with lightning fast enforcement.

Each block is managed/monitored consistently and has plentiful cctv in the common areas, if young Damo starts writing on the walls or smashing up the playground its coming out of Jacinta and Damo seniors pocket (advance deposit required).

Any pattern of scumbaggery and out you go. With the blessing of the court. As per the mandatory contract which all residents must sign.

Thats the price, you get to move in to a quiet, wonderfully maintained, cheap rate accommodation, but you (and young Damian) are never more than a few days from management evicting you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

This. I spent quite a while living in and around inner city Dublin, mostly at various points along the North Circular Road and the thing that grinds you down is the constant anti social stuff; bike theft (three nicked, all replaced from Garda auction in Kevin Street), car theft (1 stolen and burned out), motorbike theft (stolen but recovered) or breakins to cars (once), vandalism to cars (twice), vandalism to bikes (once), break-in to house (once), aggressive begging (regular), actual threats on the street (three or four times), fighting around pubs and chippers at night (every weekend without fail) and the background stuff like rubbish in the streets, graffiti, vandalised buildings.It really does get you down. Solution: more cops, on foot patrol. Lots more cops. Make a place worth living in and not a kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭cezanne

Loads of abandoned cottages all over ireland dry line them and do them up insulate them well and there is a resevoir already built.

for any young Irish, the solution would be to emigrate, too many vested interests at play here

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

I don't think you realise that people on the housing list are offered houses in the same areas and the areas are usually small towns and villages with limited infrastructure and jobs, areas and estates where there would tend to be a higher rate of crime and where people are more likely to be made feel intimidated by other residents in the area. The placement of individuals on the housing lists is almost like an attempt of shaming of the individual or family by the housing authority. I truly feel that this is part of the reason why they're not buying up vacant houses in towns and cities and allocating them to people on the housing list.

They also need to expand the qualifying eligability and increase the income treshold for social housing, its not just people on social welfare who cant afford to rent or buy, lots of working people cant either but don't meet the criteria because they live with their parents/family and thats considered suitable accommodation or theyre just over the financial treshold.

They need to block vulture funds and introduce rent caps. They should be buying up vacant houses and buildings and making them liveable, homeless charities are already doing this with funding and donations so theres no reason why the government cant do it too besides them just not wanting to do it.

The government could solve this housing crises overnight if they wanted to but either theyre totally incompetent or theyre profiting of the suffering of people so are refusing to do anything about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

Locals only planning laws as you call them refer to one off houses, which will never have density, (hence the restrictions on planning) Building or buying property within village boundaries or town boundaries is relatively easy and is promoted in order to build density..

When I was in my 20's I wanted to live in a larger urban cenre, a city, so I had access to pubs, restaurants, theaters, clubs. Places where large numbers of my peers lived worked and socialised. Mot people my age at that time did and hence I and many otehr smoved in from rural areas. Many (most) stayed. I moved to a more rural part of the country but still live less than 10 minutes from a city.

No body is stopping anyoen buyign a house in a town or village in Ireland, as you admit yoruself they can do so far more cheaply than they can in an urban centre. And if the demand was there they would build even more. But if you want o live in Dublin or Cork or Galway ro Limerick and want decent public services without having to sit in traffic commuting then you need high density housing. Just live every other urban centre in the world that has decent public transport and urban living. You cannot build everying who wants to live in a city a 3 bed semi d. We tired that, look at the traffic chaos urban sprawl, inefficient public transport etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭macraignil

I am aware what the locals only planning laws apply to and still think they should be removed. There is still a density to rural development even if it is a low density. The farm land where I live used to have just one house and now it has four which means the taxes and other types of contributions from more people are helping provide for the services that are in place in the area. We don't normally have to worry about traffic locally as we are about twenty minute drive form the nearest city and there is no problem with inefficient public transport as there simply isn't any. I understand you might think density is positive for residential development but having lived in urban settings in the past I appreciate the space where I live now and would not want to move back to high density living. I think people should have choices in the type of home they have and solving the housing problem in this country could be easier if we simply removed some of the regulations that make having some types of housing more difficult.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Uncharted2

Close the border.

House the homeless.

House Irish families that have been on housing list for 11 years, instead of people that arrived off a plane (non Irish are priorised at the top of the housing list over Irish for some time now, this must stop.

The government don't want to help homeless Irish, but will house the world. An election is needed asap.

Temporarily close ireland to new migrants and refugees. Anything from 6 months to 5 years. Meanwhile play catchup.

6 months would do little but if we didn't have it sorted In 3 to 5 years then we never would

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

This.

I see it from time to time on Irish forums.

The latest boards one was 'my graduate children will never be able to own their own homes, even though theyre in well paid jobs so theyre emigrating' or words to that effect.

What that really means is 'my children wont be able to own a home which gives off upper middle class vibes, and thats not fair because they went to university'.

A quick look at property websites would suggest that they very probably could own a home. It might not be the detatched malahide 5 bed they had in mind, it might not even be within commuting distance of their well paid job, but they very probably can afford a nice apartment outside Dublin.

My graduate children will never be able to impress their posh friends with their upper middle class villa in the right postcode, so theyre running away, so there.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,220 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Lower the standards the PRTB are allowed to demand from landlords. There are empty properties all over the country that are habitable, or could be made so extremely quickly and cheaply. I know my circa 1920's terrace couldn't pass a PRTB rental inspection in a fit but it's still a perfectly nice place to live for me and my family.

While it makes perfect sense to ensure all new builds meet the highest standards of energy efficiency, there's no reason to insist on that for older properties being added to the rental market.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

We need to find out what empty buildings the HSE, the departments of education and justice are sitting on. Plenty of old garda station esp in rural ireland would have had family accomodation attached to them. Some of these could be sold off and renovated into family homes same as old schools.

Also really need to get legacy issues around ghost estates sorted. There is a whole estate in the village of Portroe outside nenagh boarded up windows smashed in. This estate is beside the local primary school and within a handy communte to limerick.

While yes we need to build more, there is also plenty of stock there that needs some work that could be quick kills

• Registered Users Posts: 27,763 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

There is a huge social cost to rural living. Services just cannot be provided to the same levels. All one-off housing should be banned. There is plenty of available land in rural Ireland inside town and village boundaries, that is where sustainable communities can be built.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

The PRTB don't do inspections in the manner you are suggesting to bring a unit into the rental market.

Thats just nonsense.. Absolute and utter horsesH**

Ukrainian refugees are being housed in hotels, tents, hostels, given rooms in peopls homes.

T

One off rural housing,even low density spread out villages are subsidised by urban centers.

6 houses on a rurual road do not cover the cost of hedge cutting, road maintenance, installing and maintaining utilities. You end up with relatively isolated houses requirign school bus services, runnogn on hoem heating oil, completel dependant on cars and bitchiong about how the country IS Rural Ireland and how the cities get all the infrastructure and demandign hospitals in every corner of every town.

It completely unsustainable.. If you want to live liek that then thats fine but don't bitch about the phoen network or the lack of broadband, or the state of the roads or the lack of buses and taxis from the pub how fart you are from a school or hospital, how you NEED a car adn this push from diesel is because them gobshites in Dublin dont understnad rural Ireland.

You need critical mass to justify services, I'm not talking about tower blocks but one of houses dotted around the country side or in clusters of 3 or 4 are completely unsustainable...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭macraignil

"You need critical mass to justify services,"

Yes this is the point I was trying to make in my last post. The farm land where I live in the past had just one household to pay towards the services in the area of the farm whereas now there are four houses on that area of farm land so more taxes and other contributions to the costs of those services. The hedge cutting is not done by the county council but paid for by the owners of the farm land. The road maintenance would still need to be done even if there were less homes in the area as the farms and other homes in the area are not suddenly going to be abandoned because you think everyone should move to live in high rise apartment blocks. The ESB networks charges the house builder in our situation for the cost of connecting to the national grid, the water well is paid for the house builder, the waste water treatment is paid for by the home builder and the phone and internet we use here is from mobile network providers which are independent businesses who would find it hard to sell their service if they only connected people in areas that were up to your standard of sufficiently urban. The homes I have mentioned don't use the existing local school bus service but if they did they would help it be more economically run with the costs spread over a greater number of people. There is a primary school in the village a mile away that could benefit from more students being available in the area.

Your statement that living here is subsidised by urban dwellers is not true like a lot of the other details in your comment. You could equally say that urban dwellers are subsidised by people living in rural areas producing the food urban area residents need to continue to live and not charging them more for it. Your points also make no sense because you can't simply get rid of rural areas in the country and the best way forward for the country as a whole in my opinion is to allow more rural development as these areas have the space that people need to live comfortably. Its fine to have some areas with dense residential development and that also needs to be made more efficient with more streamlined zoning of suitable land in urban areas and another point I made was that there should be government financing to allow owners of substandard housing bring it up to modern standards so it could be available quickly to solve the current housing problem here.

"demandign hospitals in every corner of every town."

and

"If you want to live liek that then thats fine but don't bitch"

Are just examples of things you have said in your comment that I simply don't know how to sensibly reply to.

Post edited by macraignil on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Downsize churches and on the land build residential living specifically for older people living within that community. Encourage them to downsize, freeing up family homes, while remaining in the area they've spent their lives.

There are far too many obnoxiously sized churches being underused and taking up far too much land in towns across the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

The rules for social housing prioritisation should be standard across the country and completely transparent.

Current method will and is breeding resentment for people who see others housed ahead of them.

Reward workers when prioritising.

Conduct an audit of all social housing claimants close relatives also in receipt of social housing to see if they can be accommodated with a parent or sibling

• Registered Users Posts: 19,433 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Your point is ill founded.

Regardless, how can you think a solution to housing shortage would be to stop people building houses?

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Jackiebt

1. Relax height restrictions
    2. Put a cap on the number of properties TD's can own, no more turkeys voting on xmas
    3. Look at the Billions spent on HAP and find a way to start spending that money on building houses
    4. Put a cap on the number of Ukrainians we can take, enough of the virtue signalling nonsense. Yes most are currently staying in hotels etc. but they will eventually put pressure on housing, anyone who thinks they will all eventually go home is living in cuckoo land.
    5. Revamp our immigration system, make it easier to deport illegal immigrants and criminals. Stop funding NGOs that promote economic migration

Cut the energy regulations,we are building A rated homes,running into 100 of thousands extra

when there's millions here were raised in cottages and bungalows,which rate B1 to B3,and are perfectly fine,modest homes to this day

• Registered Users Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Deeec

• Build basic housing as social housing
    • Social housing should only ever be considered temporary - no such thing as a house for life and it should be checked and verified contstantly. There should be incentives to encourage low paid workers to buy and leave their social housing. Councils should never ever be allowed to sell their social housing stock.
    • New build estates when giving planning permission should have caps set on selling price. The days of developers making huge profits should be in the past.
    • Encourage muti generational living - offer incentives for granny or granddad to move in with her son or daughters family thus freeing up the elderly persons house for sale or rent.
    • Offer lower social housing rent to families who share - for example Mary and her 1 daughter live in a 3 bed council house. Marys sister Ellie lives down the road with her 1 daughter in another council house - encourage them to live together by charging a lower council rent thus freeing up a house.

Ive seen this ' high cost of services ' argument time and time again against rural housing. When I got planning permission I had to pay €11K for maintenance of roads and services ( we have no services though) to the council as part of the planning conditions. I pay for my own hedge cutting, the road I live on hasnt had any maintenance for years, I have my own water ( well) supply which I paid for in full and maintain myself, I have my own sewerage system again paid for in full by me, electricity connection was the esb just taking a wire a short distance down the road ( which I again paid for). Us rural one off houses are happy to pay for own services thank you. How are urban centers subsidising me?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

This exactly. In my county its 9k you pay and what you get? Nothing. We still pay every year to cut edges, wont get planning without making sure you have proper waste water facitities, no public lightening etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,763 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

You are 100% correct, and rural Ireland has lost services because of the McMansions and one-off housing dotting the countryside.

Look at where tax is collected and where its spent. I'm not stating an opinion I'm stating a fact.

You paid 11K when you got planning permission. Great. The house will be used a residence for what 50 years ?? that's €220 a year. Less in real terms..

I just spent €6k to tar a 230m3 driveway.

Your also 100% car dependant for the rest of your life. Is your local village dieing ? Post office ? pubs ? When was the last time you used those facilities ?

Villages will continue to die untilt their populatiosn grow, One off houses do not contribute to villages the same as residents for the simple reason they once htey are in the car anyway they are more likely to go to the nearest town..

No other country in Western Europe allows the level of one off construction that we do. None,

You obviously have no clue what you are talking about? How am I costing more to the taxpayer. Have you any idea of what rural Ireland is all about?

No my local village is not dying. I use my local shop/post office every day, my kids go to the village school, I attend the village church and my kids are part of the local gaa. Rural housing keeps rural communities thriving. Do you honestly think one off houses don't use the services local to them?

Yes we need 2 cars but so does my friends who live in towns and city so what difference does it make. Look at any housing estate and you will see 2 cars parked outside. The notion that every service is at an urban dwellers doorstep is nonsense or why do they need cars.

Have you ever even been to a country area?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

Stuff that would make a quick difference, introduce a significant " derelict " or " unused " tax. 5% of the value of property. That will start putting homes onto the market. Allow auxiliary development units like they do in the US etc, effectively small homes to the side or rear of main house.

Build way more homes for the elderly and encourage them to "rightsize" of course if there was a meaningful LPT this would already be happening...

Total overhaul of planking laws. Non of this will ever happen though. The housing situation is going to keep on getting worse... biggest culprit is the Taoiseach and the anti development councils . not some pawn of a housing minister with no power or support...

Oh and I forgot, read an article the other day about single people in social housing, in 3 or 4 bed properties. Scandalous use of a resource they are getting for free. Sort that out immediately...