Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,371 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I just got an email from the school to arrange a parent teacher meeting. They have allocated 8 minutes for each meeting 🤣🤣

Useless shower of *****

• Registered Users Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I had to once again cancel meeting up with a friend of mine for food as I got stung with Electric/Vet bills today and didn't have money. He's pissed off with me and rightly so as he had cancelled other plans to meet up. I feel dreadful over it.

If that's not depressing enough, I also stepped on the scales this morning, weighing in at a whopping 103 kilos.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭AxleAddict

When you order multiples of the same item on Amazon and instead of sending them in one package they send a separate package for each one!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,258 ✭✭✭Archeron

That 3 ad with the lizard on the roomba has given me 'I need a hero' as one of my most annoying earworms in years.

I'm holding out for a hero til the morning light...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,295 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Off to visit my Dad in hospital earlier. putting on jacket about to walk out… doorbell rings… FFS. Opens the door expecting neighbour, but it’s an electricity supply provider sales rep… 😒

i can tell by the insincere grinning facade that this will result in conflict but by virtue of the fact I’m wearing a coat, clearly in a kinda flustered hurry.. ‘maybe’ he’ll just fûck off…

but, NO… after I tell him what’s happening, where I’m going… his fat smile gets broader and he says … “ ohh don’t worry, I won’t keep you, hey, what current electricity provider are you using ? “ 🤯😏

‘the same one that will provide energy for your stay in the morgue if you don’t fûck off from my door’ is my thought response but I think better of it and close the door on him without answer or further comment ….

• Registered Users Posts: 6,258 ✭✭✭Archeron

Went to a local hospital today for a procedure, and knew in advance it was pay parking for day visitors, okay, fair enough. Brought a pocketful of coins.

Got to the car park and in the public car park, of the two parking machines one had a bin bag over it with a sign saying out of order. On the other, the screen was faulty and as you put money in, the part that tells the time paid for was faded out and couldn't be seen. There was no sign to say how much parking costs. So you plop your money in the machine with no idea how long it got you, complete guessing game.

Ah sure put in all the money you have, coz the machine will keep taking it, and hope to jaysus that it covers the time you need for your procedure. I needed five hours, how much dafuq does that cost in a regional hospital? I should not have to play a guessing game at my own expense.

Fcuk you apcoa, if you're going to impose parking charges on already stressed unwell people, at least make it somewhat fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

I had my Covid vaccine earlier. Now starting to feel unwell, very dizzy and achey.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Sadly the pounds can creep up slowly and insidiously if left unchecked. My clothes still fit fine and I look fine in the mirror and in photos so I didn't even notice it. I'll aim to get back down to 90kg in the next 12 weeks.

This morning's rant is that one of the neighbor's recycling bins was open so there was lots of plastic rubbish blowing around the footpath in the wind when I left for work this morning. I also left my work swipe card at home :(

• Registered Users Posts: 16,170 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Cars driving around with this reddish opaque windscreen tint because (a) how the hell is this even legal and (b) it looks terrible.

(((HUGS)))

So very... unkind to folk already stressed,,,

• Registered Users Posts: 40,413 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

so unbelievably tired this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

People arguing for the sake of it. There are certain posters who, if you see their names pop up on a thread, you know it's going to descend into a tit-for-tat series of ad hominems within about five minutes. Doesn't matter how seemingly innocuous the thread subject is, they'll manage it.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,489 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Everybody can have their moments here but there's one fella who absolutely ruins threads. Does my head in. If you see he's the last poster I often don't even bother clicking into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,732 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Apple AirPods randomly disconnecting.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

People who make promises to help with important things then just .... silence... Deeply distressing.

Used to be someone;s word was their bond, and now I am l stranded .

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

In work now.

Dealing with a complete head case.

BRB

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Holding muzak. Not only that, but holding muzak that gets interrupted "mid-sentence" by the recorded speech. Revenue, I'm looking at you and your butchering of Mozart.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

God. That was fcuking torture.

No, I tell him, there's no question about it, it's pre 1994,

No, no, it's definitely not it's at least 2005 or 6

Not possible, trust me, the Components you specify were never used after 1994. No question

No, it's definitely newer than that he says

So I remove shiny book from shelf, confirming information.

No, I don't know how that can be?

Inside my head im thinking MAYBE BECAUSE YOURE **** WRONG?

I do this every day, it's quite a niche business and we are the national specialists. A fair chance we know what we're doing..but no, aaaaghhjhdjfudkskdkfksks

[/rantend]

• Registered Users Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

If hospitals are going to insist on charging people for parking, then a barrier system is fairest. I use Waterford Hospital a bit and at least you can pay by card or cash in a machine outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

How long do you think a person would sit at a faulty traffic light at rush hour before doing what you're supposed to do (i.e. treat the junction as if the light isn't there)? Would you say it's infinity? Sat twelve cars behind some numpty yesterday watching the (other) lights go through cycle after cycle for eight solid minutes, thinking surely ta fook if the numpty in front doesn't realise what's going on, someone behind them will let them know, but nope.

I did a three point turn and went around the long way around and they were still sitting there five minutes later.

I must admit, RTE seem to be completely and utterly obsessed with making shows about Homes and Home Improvement. There's yet another one on at the moment on bungalow improvement. I think it's just a little bit out of touch considering the homeless crisis at the moment. RTE have three main agendas it seems. Homes, Diversity and Climate Change.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,163 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

My TA is that house overlooks the Donegal Atlantic which at the best of times can be a wild ride.

Imagine deep winter with the

balcony hanging out over the sea 😲

Why do architects design houses here that are not suitable for out climate? 🤔

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 24,356 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Registered Users Posts: 25,295 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Build Your Own Home

Cheap Irish Homes

The Great House Revival

DIY SOS

Room To Improve

My Bungalow Bliss

Home Of The Year

Dermot Bannons Incredible Homes

there are a couple more too but obsessed is is correct. It’s very odd… the citizens of Ireland are not that obsessed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

"We cannot comment on individual cases" - type of responses

Also, people who do not reply to journalists' requests for comments. Doesn't cost anything to say "I have no comment at this time."

• Registered Users Posts: 30,489 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I went to a neighboring town tonight.

Coming home I was thinking would I go home the old road or Motorway.

I decided to use the motorway because it would allow me practice my motorway driving because there's a steep hill on it.(I recently practiced my test.)

(Mother popcorn was like you should use the old road because there might be an accident).

Well after about a minute on the motorway a car flashed it's lights and I then saw brake lights and flashers.

We were only a few cars back and were there a few minutes before Emergency Services arrived.

There was a lorry on fire. I think mother popcorn was delighted with herself.(Which was very annoying.)

There was a Garda going around telling people to turn on their lights/flashes. She was wearing that new Garda jacket and I have to say it isn't very visible. A lady in a pink cardigan running around was more visible.

Also, Not to note(Not annoying).

It was the first time I saw a lorry on fire and I really got to see what the fire brigades have to deal with.

Con artists who poor mouth and con people for financial gains online.Then boast how well they are doing and tell others how they should be living.And I'm annoyed at myself that it is annoying me that much.

Well, via a third person I learned that this person had broken his leg!! In my defence it was far from the first time he had arranged to come then not shown up and not called. ! Still stranded... Oh he called my friend and as he thiught she might not believe him after his previous delinquencies he took a photo and sent it to her!