Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford FC Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭Crusty Blaa

Just out of curiosity - IF(!) Waterford were to meet UCD in a neutral venue playoff final, where would you propose it takes place if not Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,175 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

If not Dublin it will be Limerick, but it will be Dublin.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

As a travelling fan, I'd much rather be making the trip to Dublin over Limerick to be honest.

Horrible spin alright, thought I'd never get home out of it Wednesday

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Hardly suitable considering they only have around 400-500 seats and no elevated standing areas?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Either that or toss for home advantage.

UCD have hardly any fans anyway. No point driving up to Dublin for a neutral venue in that context.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,384 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Thankfully got over the line but need to shape up for one off games

Say if it's vs Galway Limerick would make sense

If its Longford Dublin makes the most sense as it would be 'neutral' with the motorways

Galway it is in the Playoff Final

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Deiselurker

It's in the Markets Field. It makes sense as a location as roughly halfway between Waterford and Galway but Waterford fans will be in stand behind the goal and the open grass bank so not good from that point of view especially if the wet weather continues.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭tbarry31

Plus its only 320 seats while Galway will have at least 1500 seats and I'm guessing Waterford will have the bigger support. Not to mention the stand with 320 seats has a lot of damage to it they even had to block off 1 of the 2 exits in it because of the damage. Hardly safe

Disaster of a place alright, and a spin. It is what it is

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Not much choice to be fair. Possibly the Carlisle ground even though it's just a journey on the Dart for them. Turners cross as well. If only Buckley park was still open.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Gardner

nearly threw it away the other night. poor enough game. very much a 50/50 game with Galway and UCD looked a step ahead of any of the 1st division teams vs Harps. I see PTH2009 have given the blues his support which means we are fucked

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

€5 for a steam of the game on Friday is not bad

Sadly won't be able to make the trip up

Hopefully a cameraman there this week. Absolutely disaster those ball following cameras.

Safe trip too Limerick to everyone going up

Hoping to catch the game in Norrises. Its a pity more pubs in the city don't show the games. You'd think one of the Causeway Group would given there one of the club sponsors

2-0 to us at HT, great goals, some farce about what's happening up there

The game was stopped for about 10 mins because of safety concerns about the away stand and it was evacuated (apparently this was reported to the FAI after the playoff game). Now all the supporters standing around the pitch

Half the job done, great win and performance

Can't get too carried away though as we have a huge task ahead of us next week in the same ground we got relegated by the same opposition (Game confirmed for Richmond Park next Friday 11th Nov)

For the club playing the likes of 'Rovers, Bohs, Dundalk each week is better than 'Athlone, Cobh and Wexford'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Bit unfair that you lads have to travel to Dublin. I hope yee beat Ucd

Just back, performance was actually shite, but great win and it doesn't matter how you do it at this stage.

Two horrific Galway errors in the first half and a break following a missed penalty, we'll take it but we need to you the performance next week big time.

What I would say is what I always said this season, we are still a little soft and we struggle more against teams like Galway with that direct style, should be more of a ball playing game v UCD. Can't wait!

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

What actually happened that made the Guards evacuate the stand?

Galway are physically so much bigger but not much football in them. Just a tactic of getting on the end of crosses which we battled really well with last night. We were really poor on the ball especially in midfield, just kept giving it back. Is there any word on Idowu being fit?

Everything went our way last night but the side showed serious battling qualities as that was a really tough physical game, the defence and shape throughout the team was really good.

Junior was brilliant, so good on the ball.

A well earned rest and onto next week. We won that last night while not playing well, always a good sign.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Brilliant win, although the scoreline did flatter us. That was a tough game and we weren't at our best but took our chances really well then they came our way. Penalty save was crucial, Martin is turning into a really good keeper. Junior was man of the match for me, super performance. Defenders were top class too.

The farce around having to evacuate the stand is terrible, and this had been flagged during the week and they ignored it. Thankfully nobody was hurt but it's terrible that they allowed so many people into that crumbling stand.

Great to see so many blues fans there last night and will be a big crowd in inchicore next week, can't wait for it. we owe them one after last year.

Tickets eventually came on sale, significantly later than the 12 noon time they were promised! In case anyone is looking.

Stand is and was and has been, falling apart and unsafe, this was reported to the fai who still left the game go ahead. Blues fans in the stand reported it to the gardai last night, there's some pics floating about of the state of it. Gardai ordered it closed as it wasn't safe. They will now investigate, so hope the fai get done. No concern at all for supporters

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭skaface

Stand sold out already.. Tickets for terrace behind the goal are also selling fast.. Fantastic support, looking like we'll have up on 2,000 Blues up in Inchacore next Friday nite.. #BLUESAREGOINGUP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Gardner

The occasion was great and was great to mingle with the Galway fans. Great bunch of supporters. But the farce that saw us all move over to the fair side was a disgrace. Who are the actual owners the ground? I know Treaty have a lease on the ground and cant do any maintenance on it with prior approval I’m told.

On the field we were bang average again. Very lucky at the best of times. We need to improve by about 200% to be competitive with UCD. Myler has them paying a fast paced game which is problem for us as that level is a step ahead of 4 or 5 of our starting 11 from Friday night.

We go in hope on Friday and hopefully a miracle happens and get the result. We need a good clear out of players and staff for next season. BTW it was great to rewatch the game on Saturday and not have to listen to Matt Keane or Ray Scott. Oisin Langan was great and Alan Kelly insight into the game was good to listen too instead of the other 2 bluffers we have. Be great if the club for next season got rid of Matt & Ray and got Oisin in with a local or an ex player who knows something about football.