Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2022 CI AGM - Monaghan, November 5th

• 15-10-2022 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭

I came across this earlier- lots and lots of motions to the floor this year which is maybe no big surprise. Looking at the website, it seems a huge amount of admin and work around the edges has been done to exit from the debacle of recent times, lots of new policies, sub committees and new info documents. Could be a big turn out, especially as the Ulster folk have their man up for President.

Hopefully this won't descend into a tomato-throwing shoutfest.... maybe those grandstanding days are gone? Truss and the Tories have cornered that market it seems. But I might get the flask and sandwiches made up soon.... it could be a long long day...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I'm bringing a pot of coffee and an IV drip.

They could send Nico Roche and his brother to the world gravel champs but no one to the road worlds and the minimum to the track worlds this weekend 2/3 women?

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

Might bring a turbo, I am trying to get back in shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Gravel champs would be a much much smaller cost than the road worlds since it was in Italy and were sponsored by Bianchi for bikes and mechanics/support too. In fact I’d be surprised if CI paid much at all for the two lads.

6 women’s riders went to the world track champs

edit: just to say I do agree it was shocking that we didn’t send any representation at all to worlds, but just to give more context as to why it wasn’t necessarily a case that one got funding vs the other due to names etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭mamax

I wouldn't waste my time going to it they will do whatever they want to regardless, from what I heard from someone that attended the munster agm it was a complete farce run by dinosaurs who need to be gotten rid of.

My impression from the Leinster AGM was that CI actually want to reclaim some credibility and integrity, if anything they have produced a raft of new policies etc, although I suspect a lot of it was foisted on them by Sport Ireland and the threat of litigation etc. Dinosaurs exist in every organisation and as long as nobody else challenges them, they live on. It reminds me of a race down that direction that up to lately was asking for 'cash in the post' or a 'postal order' to enter, which went out with the 1980s Indians.. at least Covid has done away with much of that nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Strange mentality. It's a bit like saying I'm not going to vote in an election because nothing will change. Sure, if people that want change don't attend, nothing will change.

They won't be gotten rid of by not attending. What you are giving out about is those who made the effort to attend not conorming with your friends view. If there is a ground swell of support for change, then it can and will happen but moaning on the internet isn't goign to fix it. Annoyed with myself for missing the Leinster AGM this year but if you want change, you have to help make change. As such, I can't complain about anything done at the Leinster AGM (if there was something I didn't like) without first admitting that by not attending (or insuring a club rep informed of my views was attending) I am a contributing factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭mamax

Well just to clarify a few things :)

I don't have the desire to go and make any changes and not moaning, just repeating what I was told from a person that attended the munster agm where the top table actually point blank refused to vote on a particular issue saying "we are not changing that" so when that happens you will have to agree it's all a bit fcuked up. New CI top brass have their work cut out for them.

I haven't seen the minutes, so can't comment. Often things are not voted on because they are not appropriate for the AGM eg technical motion that require clarity, changes that would breach the constitution, matters that relate to other committees etc. If it was something that should have been voted on, then that's a complaint to CI but while it sounds bad, without any details I can't really say. Could be nothing, could be a governance issue that needs investigation

I tend to agree here - I have seen lots of uproar and outrage from angry folk demanding stuff that they simply cant have. A good example is demanding to be told something that is confidential, prejudicial to an ongoing investigation, barred by statute/rules etc or that type of thing. That is not the same as refusing to disclose information that members are entitled to. It can be a bit tedious dealing with some people who cant or wont listen and lets be honest, a certain cohort turn up to club meetings and AGMs to 'raise a row' and act the maggot.

Not that i know anything about Cycling Munster but these volunteers have a job to do at the end of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

There's going to be a local bike ride at 08:30am before the AGM with free breakfast afterwards in the hotel.

If you think that the AGM is just for racers and race organisers, it's not, come and change the dynamic. Come for the cycling stay for the politics.

Morning Bike Ride, Showers, free breakfast and Ulster attendees given '30p per mile' travel subsistence--- we might need a bigger boat !

30p, shure they'll get nothing for that nowadays. I know my own club will give a few quid if you volunteer to go to the AGM and cast votes to cover petrol etc which I thought was pretty decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

do you have to pre register for the agm now or is that just the bike ride?

Apparently and I think the deadline has passed

cool that means Saturday is free ! wasn't sure if I was working or not until today.

their loss !

Can't make it either as I didn't know if I would be free until today so nothing more to be done.

Funny to hear the paranoid (and probably correct to some extent) view that Ulster are paying mileage so as to boost numbers to get their Presidential nomination in. Have no real preference on either but my view would be to keep the current one for at least another year until all the sports ireland and other fiascos have been smoothed over via all the work going on in the background.

we are in ulster and heard nothing about mileage. but then we aren't in NI, cycling ulster don't tend to do a lot for us focus is on the big ulster clubs.

I seen it here and thought it was a joke, but then I was out with a few lads from Ulster the other day and they said it. Amittedly due to the accents I couldn't determine whether it was a joke or not so it may not be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

They had it remote in 2020, but last years was in-person only as well as this years.

Cynical side in me would think it's to lessen the amount of backlash/tough questions they'd get remote vs in person, particularly since they tend to hold them in places that take a fair bit of effort to get to for most.

Nope, and I think it's a shame as it cut down on alot of waffle. Although the rows are a bit of craic, they are less so if you're trying to get home early with kids. A hybrid meeting would be great, knowing it's recorded I felt cut down on the BS and unsubstantiated rants. If I was staying for beers after though I'd be disappointed.

This said, having seen the online vs the in person, they get far tougher questions in person than they do on line.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

You can indeed rock up on the day, any CI member can whether they have booked in or not!

Can you vote if your club hasn't used all of theirs?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Technically you can, you need to check in when you land to make sure I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

My assumption is that you can't vote if you haven't pre registered by the closing date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Anyone else notice the new first motion in the AGM handbook that wasn't included in the final notice email? Major significance for the leisure rider/club but no update to make awareness of it and so encourage their attendance.

A purely accidental administrative error I'm sure.

i might be wrong but does that mean a loss of funding to the provinces ? except ulster which isnt mentioned, purely on the grounds that its not covering all provinces it shouldnt be voted in (IMHO that really needs tidying up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 if in doubt

I would imagine based on the reply from the Technical Working Group that something of that nature isn't actually something that can be voted on or decided by members? It'd be like a club proposing to half membership fees, or perhaps seeing as the club affiliation fee in Ulster is included with the membership fee it's not something that's practical or enforceable for all other members?

It appears that Carl Fullerton has now withdrawn from the Presidential contest; Tom Daly is President-elect therefore. A last minute withdrawal? A bit like the horse waking up lame and pulled from the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

All ready for the off here. I cycled up from Dublin yesterday. https://strava.app.link/WL1NSFjMHub

Ouch....! Ive some pain in the backside after sitting down for so so long. A 200km Audax might be easier than an AGM.

But overall, an excellent meeting, very well chaired by the young VP. And the CEO, no surprise, is not for turning.