Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Left wing approved" Joe Rogan alternative

That's fair. However at least he had them both on and gave them a decent go to explain their positions - and questioned both of them. Do you believe that the mainstream media weren't biased during COVID ? Gerry Killeen claimed on RTE he personally ended 3 pandemics and it was not questioned. In fact there were no questions at all. Antigen tests were snake oil. No questions. Hundreds of COVID patients moved to nursing homes. No questions. Is it surprising that people were looking for alternatives?

I didn't want this to degrade into a COVID discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I was referring more generally to his audience of adoring fans, who are pretty much exclusively right wing, male and conspiracy oriented.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Same. I came across his YouTube videos.

The usual- big shocking thumbnail description.

Content- way out there rubbish

He's full of shite

My daughter is a fan and she is none of those things.

What would you call someone who publicly endorsed Bernie Sanders as Rogan did?

What I find odd is that people seem to think Rogan is somehow some cult leader with some sort of manifesto. He's the opposite of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 913 ✭✭✭thegame983

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Don't go expecting anything too dramatic or eye opening. They are journalists but in reality they just report.

None ever ask awkward questions or delve into topics. Bland enough auld shite to be honest

It's not "random conversation down the bar", it's just a podcast that is a meeting of two (or more) people that leans more towards conversation than interview. Once you're in "interview" territory the guest is more on guard, less candid about what they say and you end up discovering little about them. Rogan's style - combined with the sheer length of time that he spends with the guests - has a way of disarming the guests that you actually find out what they are really like behind the shield. That's one of the main reasons he has become so popular.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,617 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Rogan, a few weeks ago:

My friend, his wife is a school teacher. She works at a school that had to install a litter box in the girl’s room because there is a girl who is a furry who identifies as an animal, and her mother badgered the school until they agreed to put a litter box in one of the stalls. So this girl goes into the litter room, or to the girl’s room, and urinates or whatever. I don’t know if she poops in it, that’s gross...You’ve conned the school into putting this **** litter box in a girl’s room, which is bananas.

Rogan, a few weeks later when it becomes clear that the story about litter boxes is a right-wing lie, conflating the fact that some schools have a supply of "urine absorbtion crystals" in classrooms in case there's an active shooter and the students are trapped in the classroom for a long time:

I fed into that and I should probably clarify a little bit. I have a friend, and my friend’s wife is a schoolteacher, and she told him that there was [sic] discussions in the school that a mother wanted to put a litter box in one of the bathrooms. He told me this and I talked about it on here, and then people were saying ‘That’s not true, that’s an internet rumor.’ So I contacted him again, and I said ‘Tell me exactly what she said. Contact her and find out.’ She no longer works for that school, she works for another school. She contacted the other school, she didn’t get a response.

It doesn't really matter if Rogan is left-wing or right-wing. He's an idiot.

But OP, you can listen to him if you want. Nobody is saying you can't. If you want to listen to him, listen to him.

So he made a mistake and admitted it? That's a problem now?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Was waiting for this. Sam is one of the biggest hacks around at the minute. It's honestly sad because he's not stupid, but he often appears to be nowadays.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 33,617 ✭✭✭✭Penn

He didn't admit it. It's a lie/right-wing talking point that he propagated as being something he says came direct from his friend's wife as something that happened, then when it came out it didn't, he waved it away as "I'm having difficulty fact-checking it now". It's barely a step away from "I do have a girlfriend. She's a model. But she goes to another school."

That is a problem. He willingly and knowingly lied, and that confirmation from his friend's wife will never come. It'll be forgotten about.

But, listen to him if you want. Go for it. No one is stopping you. Why are you asking for "left-wing approved alternatives" if you still do want to listen to Rogan? Just **** listen to him.

Whatever you think of Trump, he has a very unique ability to make very rational people turn into delusional mad men. It should honestly be studied to the death, as it's a fascinating phenomenon.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭NiceFella

Okay, I'm not trying to convince you otherwise. You have your taste and I have mine. There is no accounting for taste, there is no wrong or right answers here. Just preferences. For me I would prefer to listen to Lex Friedman any day over Joe Rogan because the guests imo more often than not are more interesting and more fact based on Lex's show. Thats just something I prefer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

True, some of them even ended up with prison sentences!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,509 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Interestingly Spotify is one of the brands currently paused off Twitter…

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭NiceFella

But this is an example of what I am talking about.

This is miles from a simple mistake. That is a monumental mistake that no one in their right thinking mind would make (he was probably stoned when he said it). He is taking the word of some random chap without checking if the source is legitimate which is journalism 101. That is tabloid level sensationalism from the biggest podcast in the world.

If we’re going that hard then just listen to The Problem With Jon Stewart. The guy does no conspiracy theories, just real **** like healthcare for first responders and junk

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

He really isn't. If you listen to what he believes in he's a libertarian, which is most definitely under the right-wing umbrella in modern America. His core beliefs tally with a lot of tenants of libertarianism:

• Individual rights and freedoms trump social responsibilities - He believes in lower taxes; that people ultimately end up in life where they deserve to be and should not be penalised by being forced to share their wealth. Was strongly against Covid restrictions. Big proponent of Freedom of speech
    • Limited Government
    • Liberal on Drugs and other "vices"
    • Non-interventionism when it comes to American foreign policy
    • Rule of Law (Yes he will have some guests on talking about how messed up some cops are but he has far more on giving out about "Antifa" and focusing on the chaos of Portland)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Interesting thread.

If you mean 'left-wing' in the European sense of being socialist, I don't know of any.

If you mean 'left-wing' in the American sense of being liberal/progressive, I would suggest 'The Dollop', or 'Stuff You Should Know'. There is a dedicated podcast section of the radio forum where you can find all sorts of suggestions for new podcasts.

Don't forget

• Fan of Bernie Sanders
    • Supporter of open borders
    • Supporter of universal health care

At his core though, he is a lover of liberty, hence why he'll talk to "bad people".

Well Liberty should come with a better fact checkers team.

You seem to just throw out words, without any thought going along with them. Because I'm not seeing what fact checking has to do with liberty? Unless of course you're working of a different definition, which you often are.

Here's the definition normal people use:

• the state of being free within society from oppressive restrictions imposed by authority on one's way of life, behavior, or political views.
    • the power or scope to act as one pleases.

Yes because the original story was ridiculous.

If you don’t want to understand and just wanna make a bunch of digs that’s fine.

Actually, he's right. I read the same post and came to exactly the same conclusion.