Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I remember differently. When we found out who he was it still continued, which was honestly enraging. As a man who'd warned about what was coming for years, to then get told that you're guilty for the actions of the people you warned them about, was both twisted and maddening.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Sorry I should have clarified, it was the SJW & feminists that went quiet when their narrative, to paint all Irish men as potential rapiests or murderers, was flipped on its head.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭lmao10

Perhaps you should have actually listened to women.

"Listen to women", really means listen to women who agree with me. There's many women whose voices are ignored because they aren't in lockstep with feminists.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Listen to the vast majority of women. How about that?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I must be living in cloud cuckoo land because I don’t inhabit the same echo chambers you do, is essentially what you’re telling me there when you’re talking about how immigration is a major topic for discussion among the public at large, and how people are careful who they talk to as they don’t want labels thrown at them by do gooders. What’s that, if it’s not just an echo chamber where your opinions are legitimised and validated, understandably giving you the impression that the things which matter to you are a major topic for discussion among the public at large? It’s literally your safe space. Outside of that space, you’re unwilling to acknowledge that immigration was an important factor in how they voted for less than 1% of the electorate. They didn’t have to give an opinion or explanation when they voted, and there were no do gooders in the booth to call them names or any of the rest of it, but for the same voters, they voted the way they did because the most important issues for the electorate were health and housing, and immigration barely registered.

As for the last Presidential election and your whole notion of anyone who raises issues against the multicultural is the way to go, etc - Casey’s popularity only increased after he made comments which he knew were going to blow up on social media, so who’s being led by social media as a mainstream media chasing simpleton there? To put his increased popularity in context - only 40% of the electorate turned out to vote. Michael D romped home with over 50% support, Casey could still only manage 25% of the 40% who were bothered to vote. In real terms, he was nowhere to be seen before he made his comments, and after he made his comments, he still only managed to gain the support of about 12% of the electorate in a national campaign.

You make the point that the place the change will first become evident is in local politics and most especially in areas where we now have high numbers of immigrants, increased crime, lower services for natives etc, so let’s look at Casey’s record in local politics then.

2020 General election campaign

He contested the 2020 general election as an independent candidate for the  Donegal constituency, and also contested Dublin West, the constituency of incumbent Taoiseach Leo Varadkar. He received 213 first preference votes in Dublin West and was eliminated on the second count. In Donegal, he received 1,142 first preference votes and did not win a seat.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Casey

I dunno how you’re defining a multiculturalist do gooder who knows when to keep their opinions to themselves led by social media chasing mainstream media attention when Casey would surely meet that standard given that he was a relative nobody in terms of Irish politics who promoted multiculturalism through his global recruitment company which sources executives in business, a candidate whose popularity only increased when he took pot shots at people on the lowest rung of the socioeconomic ladder in Ireland.

Who’s living in cloud cuckoo land now?

I don’t recall anyone, multiculturalists or otherwise, mentioning prostitution as a factor in anything either. I’m not sure where you’re going with that one? I don’t remember much mention of food either, other than that being the go-to by people opposed to immigration as being the reason why other people aren’t opposed to immigration. That’s just putting words in peoples mouths.

With regards to the specific case you’re referring to, well I don’t know enough about the particular circumstances of that individual case to offer any kind of insight that might actually answer your questions, but the fact they were married to an Irish man might explain why they were granted permission to remain in Ireland in the first place until their application lapsed, and there is no evidence that having served their sentence, they are actually being permitted to remain in Ireland. You hardly need it explained to you how lengthy the deportation process is in Ireland?

Dublin Circuit Criminal Court heard De Souza is married to an Irish man but has let her application to remain in Ireland lapse and will be deported when her sentence finishes.

https://m.sundayworld.com/crime/courts/jail-for-sex-worker-found-with-thousands-of-depraved-child-abuse-images/40240691.html

Your claim that you often find the same people forever lecturing you about how we had a country full of native paedophiles thanks to the Catholic Church is only yet another indication of the fact that it’s you who’s living in an echo chamber of cloud cuckoo land given Irish culture and society is still very much dominated by the influence of the Catholic Church. You’re trying to play the victim when Irish society is still very much influenced by the Catholic Church at both local and national level - politics, sports, education, healthcare, community service and events, etc.

In reality, the numbers of paedophiles who are members of the Catholic Church is no greater than the number of paedophiles among the general population. That is to say the figures are only about 4%. Are you honestly arguing that only you should be able to play “guilt by association” games, and other people can’t? Being transgender doesn’t make anyone a paedophile any more than being Catholic makes anyone a paedophile, any more than being an immigrant or a native makes anyone a paedophile. It’s patently obvious when anyone comes out with that sort of crap, they aren’t the least bit concerned about anyone’s welfare, they’re using it as a means to promote negative stereotypes about other people in Irish society.

It’s because you already live in a multicultural society that you do exactly the same thing you’re critical of in other people who you identify as a threat to your ideas, which makes you the do gooder led by social media looking to gain mainstream support as if anyone should ever take your ideas seriously. It’s because they don’t, is the reason why you’re trying to play the victim and complain that people know who they’re talking to and all the rest of it as an explanation, when in reality the reason you have to be careful who you’re talking to is because you know as well as they do that they think you’re just full of shìt. It’s nothing like the victims of sexual abuse being guilt tripped by people within thein own families to feel sorry for the perpetrators of sexual abuse, people who want to cover it up to protect their own reputations -

Ms Prakash-Shiels said many people had let her “slip through the cracks” and certain family members overlooked what was happening to her as it did not affect them directly.

She said she was asked not to pursue the case as it would bring shame and embarrassment to the family.

She was also asked to “take pity” on her father due to his alcoholism but this had the effect of placing the burden of his actions onto her.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/laois-man-who-sexually-abused-his-young-daughter-over-a-four-year-period-handed-10-year-prison-sentence-41860926.html

You’re absolutely living in cloud cuckoo land if you imagine that the same standards you want to apply to other people don’t equally apply to you. It’s precisely for this reason that you retreat to your safe space where your opinions aren’t challenged and Peter Casey isn’t just a miserable streak of piss who sought to capitalise on resentment towards people on the lowest rung of the socioeconomic ladder in Ireland in order to be elected President of Ireland, a position which attracts an annual salary of €325k plus another €300k in expenses for a total in 2017 of €3.6 million -

In a statement to Independent.ie, he said the direct costs of the Office of the President in 2017 were €3.6m and 76pc of these costs related to salary costs and bonuses for centurians.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/pac-hears-details-of-317k-allowance-on-top-of-presidential-salary-without-audit-37352702.html

It’s absolutely you who’s living in cloud cuckoo land if you think Casey gives a shìt about Ireland being a Welfare State when he was hoping to be elected to a ceremonial position which is funded by public funds to the tune of nearly €4m a year. He wasn’t speaking any truth, he was only telling you what he knew you wanted to hear so you’d support him in his bid to become President of Ireland. Most people simply didn’t give a shìt for his populist rhetoric, which is why in reality he wasn’t even close to becoming President of Ireland.

Who’s living in cloud cuckoo land now?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,130 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

tonycascarino threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

That was so obvious once his background was confirmed. It was like a light switch turning off. While I don't see it appearing in a future episode of black history month, it was a below the bar effort from Irish social liberalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

It's not far right. Just a lot of local people getting worried. That's being reflected now in Cllr comments, plus the recent IT survey, and soon national government will also reflect this view. The only people not recognising this will be the liberal left who only operate within their own echo chamber.

The vast majority of Irish women were sharing their experiences with MEN and of course they got ridiculed and patronised by the very men who seem to care so much about women when the topic of trans people and immigrants come up. They don't care so much when those same women are trying to educate them about things they've experienced in their lives and how men in general can change and improve.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Let’s listen to the local women in Killarney

Do you think women are stupid? Honest question. Like you don't seem to understand that women can see through the far right routines? Do you not think they understand that those people don't give a toss about women and only seem to care when it furthers whatever agenda they have? It's just astonishing how stupid some of these people think women are. I'm not sure whether it's a case of thinking women are stupid in general or just not having the intellect to see that women can see through it. Funny all the same!

Not a fan of reporting posts but I don't see the point in replying to a post saying you didn't read it and you disagree. Like it's not even funny trolling. Had to report it. Up your game bro.

Why do ye reckon we’re never taught Aesop’s Fable of the Farmer and the Viper at school?

Probably because it’s literature from another culture, down with that sort of thing 🤨

Real reason is that more likely it’s just not on the curriculum, but that doesn’t prevent anyone who’s inquisitive or interested in learning about other cultures from familiarising themselves with Aesop’s fables. I’m just not sure how the fable you’re referring to is relevant in the context of people from different cultures in Irish society.

Something else that isn’t taught in Irish schools is that James II was known by the Irish Catholics he abandoned as “Seamus an Chaca” 😂

https://mbgibsonbooks.wordpress.com/2015/10/02/seamus-an-chaca/

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I bet you are not old enough to remember telegrams.

They would have made a fortune off of you. 😁

I am not allowed discuss …

Back then j, people wrote whole books in response to each others ideas.

Though none ever made their fortunes at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,571 ✭✭✭✭Sand

There is a lot to unpack here.

1)Sensible people warn that mass migration will lead to completely avoidable crimes against Irish people.

2)Advocates for mass migration claim that is just far right conspiracy nonsense. It will never happen.

3) Mass migration happens. Irish people - in this case women - become the victims of criminals imported at taxpayer cost, as already predicted would happen.

4) Sensible people again warn that mass migration is endangering Irish people, pointing to the murders, rapes and assaults that have happened to show - yes, it is happening as was predicted. Surely now, the dangerous policy of open borders must end.

5) But no. Advocates for mass migration persist in pretending the sensible people are wrong. Not because its not happening as they predicted, but because they're not pro-woman enough, by some bizarre metric applied by mass migration advocates which is entirely okay with women being murdered.

The end result is if sensible people had been listened to, a murder of a woman would have been prevented. That seems more pro-woman than aro mass migration ideology which effectively considers women - and indeed all Irish people - to be expendable.

The icing on the cake is that beliefs often come as a package. Its how marketing and political advertising works - once they know you favour X and Y, they know its very likely you also favour Z. So its reasonable to think that in the main the the mass migration advocates who pretend to be wholly concerned with the abstract notion of women's rights - you know, other than not being murdered - probably also have a set of beliefs which means they cant actually define what a woman is in any way that might exclude someone with a penis. So being for women becomes meaningless.

Lets not even start on the presumption you have where you pretend women are a hive mind with a single set of beliefs. Plenty of women are against mass migration, and men are just as possibly the victims of violent attacks which were facilitated by the Irish government importing the attackers.

There is a lot to unpack here.

You completely avoided answering the questions which were asked all the same. There’s quite a bit to unpack in your own post though, but the main thrust of it seems to be this -

1)Sensible people warn that mass migration will lead to completely avoidable crimes against Irish people.

I’m guessing by ‘sensible people’ you’re referring only to yourself and those people who agree with you. You know straight off the bat that’s fallacious nonsense.

There wasn’t a peep out of ‘sensible people’ when over the course of 25 years, 239 women have been murdered in this country -

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-style/people/2022/09/12/stolen-lives-239-violent-deaths-of-women-in-ireland-from-1996-to-today/

Thousands more have been raped and sexually abused. Your argument that mass immigration has any impact on those figures is completely disingenuous, if not outright dishonest. That’s what anyone means when they ask you do you think people are that stupid that they can’t see what you’re doing?

You even said as much yourself -

The icing on the cake is that beliefs often come as a package. Its how marketing and political advertising works - once they know you favour X and Y, they know its very likely you also favour Z.

You’re hoping that by connecting immigration to rape and murder, you’ll convince people that immigrants are the problem, and preventing immigration will prevent rape and murder. Your conclusion is based upon a false premise where you’re trying to connect two things where there is no connection between them. That’s what people mean when they point out that they can see what you’re doing - portraying immigrants as a threat, when the actual threats are from rapists and murderers, regardless of their legal status or characteristics or culture.

The reason people can’t take your nonsense seriously isn’t just because you’re trying to argue immigrants are rapists and murderers, it’s because you’re aware that you’re being fundamentally dishonest - you’re not interested in protecting anyone but yourself and those who share your beliefs, who you’ll refer to as “the sensible people”. It’s an entirely transparent, self-serving argument.

That’s why Government isn’t interested in implementing your nonsense proposals any time soon in relation to immigration, because they’re based on a lie, a set of false beliefs intended instead only to promote prejudice against other people in Irish society, particularly immigrants and those people who don’t share your beliefs.

You didn’t predict that Irish people would become the victims of criminals imported at taxpayer cost, you’re using backwards rationalisation to justify your arguments and ignoring the overwhelming amount of evidence which contradicts your claims, in order to focus on promoting cases where the circumstances suit your claims. That’s the sort of behaviour of Captain Hindsight types, stating that they were right after the fact. It’s an indication of what’s actually important to you - the idea that you were right all along, as long as everyone is prepared to ignore all the other cases which demonstrate that your ideas are complete nonsense.

Well one thing you won't find is any comments by those people about crimes committed by Irish people. Some sickening crimes have been in the news lately and not a peep from the same people on here who would be raging about the injustice of the crime if it was committed by an immigrant. I don't get how they don't see that it just makes them look racist and look like they don't actually care about crimes unless they are committed by immigrants. It's similar to them showing they don't care about issues women face or are not interested in listening to women unless they can use women to further some kind of agenda. The low IQ of not seeing how transparent this is would be quite surprising if you didn't know what is ultimately motivating these people.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

There would be little reason it's kind of chicken and egg. Ireland has crime before others came here. But Ireland has changed grown up and accepts things like LGBT rights that Gay people exist and should be protected. Importing others from areas where this is not the case is at odds with that. I mean common Gang rape for example would be pretty alien in a European context 30 years ago. Not saying the church did not rape children. There are just some things that are present now that would be alien. I mean sure if you want to go to the past with Vikings and alike gang rape would be pretty common. But we moved on from that civilized.

Back to the ridiculous “Ireland has criminals, so who cares if we import more” argument.

I’m guessing “they have nice food” will be along any minute now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Already have social, economic, crime, housing health problems. Think it's a great idea to import more and different ones. But Exoticism! Charity! The Irish were migrants once! This time our multiculturalism will be different! Nope, it still doesn't add up 600 pages in.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

It's more the ridiculous "I don't care if Irish women get gang raped by Irish men because you won't hear a word out of me when it happens, because it's been in the news the past few weeks and I said nothing. I only care if they get assaulted by immigrants. So I don't actually care about the welfare of women unless it furthers my agenda and I think they are too stupid to understand that" mentality

oookkaay.

Three Irish men jailed for gang raping a girl last week. That's ok though right? There is "little reason" to mention it. Can you see how that makes you look like a scumbag in the eyes of women and lads in general?

Even if everyone of us was full of ****, and had no care for the women of Ireland like you've claimed, we'd still stand on better ground than you, because people like yourself promote an ideology that worsens the conditions for Irish women, whereas we don't.

Bar creating some Minority Report style, “pre-crime” bureau, you cannot stop all vile criminal acts by natives. All we can do is lock them up for a long time, I’d throw away the key on those 3 scumbags.

We can, however, stop people coming to Ireland who a) have no visa to be here b) have no means to support themselves or c) have no documents. We don’t. We are a soft touch. And using the rape of a poor young girl is extremely low, even for the left.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

The problem is we will never get that government.

The lemmings are going to vote in SF which will make the situation worse. Turkey’s voting for Christmas.

Prohibiting immigration won’t make any difference to already existing social, crime, housing and health problems. Those problems aren’t caused or exacerbated by immigrants, they’re caused by existing social policies. There’s no real will amongst current political parties to address those problems, they’re more interested in keeping the economy afloat, and one of the ways to do that is by permitting immigration to fill existing gaps in the labour market. The intent is not to ‘import criminals’ and people who will live in poverty, it’s to maintain a competitive economy.

Otherwise we end up with an economy like the UK where it’s costing more to keep people out than it costs to support them, while also turning a blind eye to people who are experiencing the negative impact of the social issues you’re pointing to that aren’t being addressed, as indicated by the reality that while a pensioner can’t afford to care for themselves, the Government had earmarked €120m to send UK asylum seekers to Rwanda -

https://amp.theguardian.com/business/2022/may/03/stories-like-elsies-highlight-pensioners-plight-and-the-inadequate-help

https://amp.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/apr/15/sending-uk-asylum-seekers-to-rwanda-will-save-money-says-minister

Bar creating some Minority Report style bureau for vetting immigrants, you can’t stop them coming to Ireland either. We already do stop people coming to Ireland who have no legitimate right to be here, but some of people still find ways to get around existing restrictions, and they would find ways to get around any restrictions.

Using the threat to anyone in order to impose policies that don’t protect anyone or prevent crime isn’t a left/right thing either btw, it’s just a stupid idea no matter where it’s coming from, because it opens the doors to imposing further restrictions on people’s freedom in order to ‘protect people and prevent crime’, to the degree that you eventually end up with a country that more closely resembles the countries whose culture you’re critical of. How far would you like to go exactly to protect women? Impose a curfew on people based upon their characteristics perhaps so other people can move about freely in society without fear or intimidation? Wouldn’t work, because people who don’t care much for law aren’t going to care for it one way or the other, they don’t intend to get caught, which is why they choose their victims carefully.

Because you can’t impose some sort of Minority Report thought crimes idea on society, you can only punish people after the fact, not before.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ah yes, if we only changed public policies. Nope, doesn't seem to work. I have asked many times before for an example of any western "multicultural" nation - of which there are many to choose from, with many different histories, politics and policies - where the exact same social trends don't play out, where the exact same demographics end up more marginalised or not, or fail or succeed. [Insert sound of crickets]. Because there isn't one. Now if one observes the same trends over many different starting points and histories and politics that strongly suggests these trends are an invevitable path of the politic.

but some of people still find ways to get around existing restrictions, and they would find ways to get around any restrictions.

And why do they? Because the perks for getting around such restrictions are very attractive. Morons like O'Gorman promising benefits and housing, the chances of being thrown out slim, while you get free lega aid and when you win the "right" to stay a photo op with a gombeen politician. Reduce or remove those perks and you will find far fewer trying to get around the restrictions in the first place.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.