Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qatar World Cup 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Thangs for the reminder. Someone asked me who my favourites were I was gonna say Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Should be boycotted.

Sepp blatter coming out with that rubbish. Chundering tunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Nigeria have been there every time since 1994 except 2006. Colombia were at the last two, and only lost out to England on penalties in 2018. Sweden is a bit more patchy, but they have hosted the World Cup in the past, and qualified six times.

The point is that it is very hard to qualify, disproving the statement that it is automatic and boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

As Roy Keane would say. "Honesty, he has the cheek to talk of honesty. I wouldn't believe a word out of that man". Blatter is the most corrupt man in FIFA. I'm sure he got brown envelopes for this tournament to be hosted in Qatar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,410 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It is boring for certain teams. Not the ones you mention. How about we talk about Brazil, Argentina, Germany, Spain.

The teams you mention proves the point for me because turning it into a 48 team tournament will make it boring for some of those mid level teams. Nigeria will have no fear of qualification but also no hope of winning so what's the point.

The point is that football is organised in regions, and every area is represented. And even the best teams in Europe and South America have patchy records in finals. Argentina have not won since 1986, and Brazil since 2002. Germany 2014 was their first win since 1990 as West Germany. In the meantime France twice and Spain have come along as first time winners. There is nothing automatic about success in world football.

Would it be practical to organise qualifying any other way than regional?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,938 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

you'd wonder who'd be getting the call up if Ireland had to name a 55 man squad

Done by regions, you won't have the best 32 or 48 teams. So you are stuck with your boring qualification, and poor teams going to the finals.

But tell that to Canada or Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Does the 48 team World Cup mean no longer one host ? It’s three hosts in 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,523 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

80 games means something like 14/15 grounds in perhaps 12 cities. There's few countries who could do that, or be willing to do that.

Maybe Germany, France in Europe, USA definitely (though being 3 way co-host in 2026 puts them off the list for a few decades), China in Asia (likely to get it in 2034 or 2038 imo).

Otherwise it looks like shared co-hosting going forward which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,153 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

New Zealand only has one big stadium and then a few medium sized ones, not sure if the 30k ones would meet World Cup “standard”. Still, they could get a couple of games there, maybe.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Even the Australian grounds aren't great. They have capacity but they are designed as spectator arenas for other sports and soccer isn't a natural fit in them (akin to that terrible stadium in Baku where spectators are aeons away). I like my football in football stadiums.

In theory some work could be done in them but there didn't seem any great co-operation from the other sports back when they bid for 2022. Also as we know Qatar won, but it's noticeable that Australia didn't get 2nd, they were also beaten by the USA, Japan and South Korea bids. Finally as most might know, they moved from Oceania to Asia for football reasons, but this could actually hurt them in bidding. I think Japan and China have far more sway in world football, and neither would want a successful Australian bid if it put the bigger Asian countries down the list for 16/20 years. I think China is 'next up' in Asia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,000 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yep, it’s just a thundering clusterfûck.

its unlikely to ever revert to 32 again, you’ll just have too many people kicking up, from those countries who have a nothing chance of qualifying now having a reasonable or moderate chance.. and of course… advertisers.

was a time when football fans would watch every match.. that you could…. Fûck that now. No time..

its all about ££$$££$$££$$££$$££$$

more host countries, more teams participating, squads are now 26 players in number, originally 22, then 23 ( to facilitate an extra keeper ) but now 26… hahaha right..

which basically gives the better sides even more of an advantage…it’s shafting lesser teams.

It will be 80 games instead of 64. Qatar is doing 64 in 8 stadiums, 6 of which are 40,000 capacity. Would it really need 14/15 grounds to do 80 games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Nobody answered when I asked if there is a boards sweepstake. So, I’ll run it if any of you are interested.

I used the alphabetical list and generated a number from 1-32. I got 32 so my team is Wales.

Honestly, using the Qatar setup as a basis for future hosting doesn't work. Very few countries would be willing to take the financial hit/investment that Qatar are taking, just for the glory of hosting it.

Most other bids will have to make financial sense. Up to now the norm for Euros/WC has been around 3/4/5 games per city/stadium, with the biggest cities hosting extra games at the semi-final/final stage. This is good for fans, for tourism in the cities, for the cities to still be able to function whilst the tournament is on-going, local resources etc. I don't see reason for this to change as the competition goes back to 'normal' countries. So yeah, to me 14/15 grounds in different cities for the 80 games is going to be a default/sensible requirement.

the only good stadium for watching football in Australia is the hindmarsh in Adelaide but the capacity is about 15,000 if I remember correctly.

Lovely little stadium specifically for football but way too small and like you say the larger stadiums would be very poor for watching football

*I think there is a nice small stadium in central coast too but never been*

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Hillmanhunter1

The Qataris are astute investors with a lot of money. They have invested most of their money in Qatar itself, in building a 2.5m people metropolis from scratch, which they will rent out to foreigners (like Dubai does) and sit back and collect the rents. (unlike Dubai Qatar does not need to borrow)

The World Cup will cost the Qataris very little - they were going to do this anyway, but the World Cup will provide a huge amount publicity for Qatar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Its going to be strange the WC being held in a non-booze drinking country, do you think the overseas visitors will be able to behave and refrain from drinking alcohol at the event.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

took a punt on Ghana @ 300/1 (2nd seeds in their group i think),.. logic being they have high temperatures/humidity, so should be able to cope with conditions 😊

marital arts expert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The only good thing is that it shows up the awfulness of the gulf states and their soulless money grabbing lackies, looking at you David "I queued like the plebs" Beckham.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

there is alcohol being sold at the event. Surprise surprise, just gonna turn into another Dubai. Places lose their credibility when they chop and change their own morals/rules to be liked

The funny thing is you're allowed to drink alcohol in all of these places regardless, but the internet will tell you you cannot. I remember my first time visiting Dubai two years ago and everyone was telling me I wouldn't be able to drink alcohol, it's literally a bustling party spot.

Same with Lebanon, Egypt, Jordan, all these islamic countries that you'd assume would be holier than thou yet I've had the longest/ craziest drinking/partying sessions in my life in these countries. 24/7 hidden nightclubs, bellydancers, electronic events, casinos...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Saw an ad on RTE yesterday, normally the type of thing that would have me going 'F*CK YEAH! LET'S GO!'

But I still don't care.

That’s the RTE factor. Meanwhile UK viewers will be watching in 4k HDR

I couldn't care what it's in. I don't even know what "k" I am watching it in half the time but the time of year and the lack of host cities/fans/soccer history is making me a bit apathetic about the build up.

I'm sure I'll get into it once it starts.

No Free to Air UK broadcaster will be doing 4K on satellite or terrestrial.

Tim Vickery made a good point on Off the Ball. That previous tournaments suffered from players from European leagues being less than fully fit, after the end of a long season. This time they should be at peak fitness. He contrasted the hig quality of the knockout stages of the Champions League, compare to the knockout stages of previous World Cups.

It used to be a bit more exotic, seeing unfamiliar Brazilians, Argentinians etc., but not in recent World Cups. This time only one of the Argentine squad plays in their home league, and only two from Brazil. By contrast 25 out of 26 in the English squad play at home, 20 Germans and 18 Spanish.

this is the first World Cup that where I’m apathetic , i just don’t care..the national tiddlywinks championships would have more appeal…. I thought maybe closer to the time but not so far.

then the extended one after that… so 🤡😏

way to fûck up what is the worlds best singular sporting event… cheers FIFA…. If…it…ain’t…broke…don’t…fix !!! Leave it be…

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭dennis72

It's a horrible place came through its airport my sealed duty free was pulled up and returned eventually.

I was stuck there for 8 hrs my connecting flight was delayed

My vpn was blocked couldn't watch most entertainment options on my devices.

It also states it is illegal to use a vpn but the Internet is so restricted its useless.

I would prefer league around this time of year even though its back Stephens day than this tournament bad and all its hosts.

I’m just not going to watch it… no point. Sham of a tournament ran by a sham of an organisation who should have laughed that bid out of their offices the moment it touched their inbox…. Sham of a regime running that country where their security forces are actively now harassing and threatening journalists…for doing no more then filming in public.

it’s the lowest point in the 118 year history of FIFA and one of the most shameful, dodgy and disingenuous decisions made by any major sporting organisation…

Their first general election was held in 2021, yet they were awarded the World Cup in 2010. The fûck is that about ?

In 2014 major corruption allegations were levied against FIFA and Qatar regarding the bidding and subsequent awarding of the World Cup.

in other words, the whole fûcking thing is bent.

i wouldn’t trust for a second anything on the pitch now either so no point in watching it….

I don't know where, exactly, he was filming. I would like to know more about that. I would also like to see the footage before and after that clip. I do know that the Qataris have however apparently apologised.

But it should also be said that filming on private property like he was doing is not normally permitted in Qatar - there is a very strong concept of privacy.

Tantholdt claims that "we can film anywhere we want" - that is a lie. The footage seems to have been taken in Katara, a cultural and retail park. He had no right or permission to film there, just like a foreign journalist in Ireland can't start filming inside Dundrum Shopping Centre without the owner's permission. It was the private security guards at Katara, and not police, that challenged him.

Every journalist will have been given an information pack telling them what is allowed and what is not. I suspect that Tantholt knew exactly what he was doing, and I fear that he may not be the last provocateur. I suspect that there may a lot of journalists in Qatar who have more interest in pushing the boundaries of what is permitted, thus becoming the news rather than reporting the news, than reporting on the actual football.

To be clear, visitors to Qatar must obey the laws of Qatar, just like visitors to Ireland.

Americans can't bring guns, Germans can't drive at 200kph, and journalists can't start filming on private property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

“One interesting anecdote from that show was that the cost for showing the matches in Qatar is astronomical. So likely people won't be able to watch matches in their hotel...even the teams ha.”

The cost is included in the BEIN package, whereas before it was an additional $150 in 2018.

Qatar has the option to have the focus on the football itself or the behaviour of the Qatari security services. They really need to thread carefully as a lot of media are seeking attention, not to mention social media jerks. I’m just waiting to see how they react to LGBT protests.

I agree, but do bear in mind that these were not "Qatari security services", they were Mall Cops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,732 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Why is that the people who 'have zero interest' are so adamant about letting the world know they 'couldnt care less'.

The thing is - there is such a bombardment of public opinion against the thing that its a brave journalist who will stand up to say anything in support.

But thats an entirely sound point and a good counterpoint to all those saying it should be in the summer.

The fact is - and it is a fact - the last few world cups have been underwhelming.

You can't make a "fact" out of a personal opinion.

I thought the World Cup in Brazil was brilliant. Absolutely full of great moments. 1990 and 2010 seem to be the ones critically regarded as the worst.

Yeah thats possibly fair. Brazil was a decent world cup - however I would say apart from 1990, all the world cups up to 2002 were better tournaments than 2006/2010/2018.

Thats my opinion😅 and possibly not all that much to read into it.

Also, for Irish fans 1990 was the best World Cup ever - and thats a fact!!

if they’ve apologised it’s because they were in the wrong….

no filming in a cultural and retail park ?

we’ve several here… I don’t think any goon will try and prevent filming. It’s an outdoor location.

hopefully the upshot is that civilised countries and organisations will give Qatar a wide berth when it comes to facilitating them with events of prestige such as sports events etc….

what is going on there isn’t in keeping with civilised and sporting values.

politics and prestige are the only interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,615 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

It's hard to see anyone winning but Germany. All the favourites Brazil, Argentina, France flaky, as are Spain. Your Netherlands, England's and Portugal's will generally come up short, small team mentality. Doing a number on flaky and small time nations is Germany's bread and butter.

Germany were no hopers for a few tournaments, as they became stagnant under Lowe, but he's gone. They aren't at their best, but will grow into themselves as the tournament progresses. What really favours them is no one is tipping them, at their best when under the radar, no expectations. This tournament is made for them to undo several years of disappointment.

History shows us one thing. Once a competitive Germany and Italy get in position when it matters most, they'll rarely be beat. They bring unity and a workmanlike approach, aligned with great talent, it's a very hard combination for anyone to beat. Germany will grind the lot of them, wait and see!

Germany don’t have to rely on grind though.

They amassed 27 out of a possible 30 points in qualifying.

scored 36 goals and conceded 4 in just 10 matches.

paddy power have them at 11/1….generous.

Of course they don't have to rely on that, but when it gets cagey in a big game, who's backing against them when it matters? They've the technical talent but can dog it out when it matters most, and do a number on anyone. I've 100 on them at 11/1, considering putting more. Unreal value!

Like Italy, carry a born winners mentality. Invaluable. Can't wait to see a flaky Brazil or Argentina wilt once Germany get at them. Get them now at 11/1 before they drop

Germany are in the same group as Spain who are 8/1. The winners of that group play a knockout game against the runners up of the group with Belgium and Croatia. The runners up in the Spain Germany group play the winners of the Belgium group.

Costa Rica and Japan make up the group with Spain and Germany, and Canada and Morocco complete the Belgium Croatia group. Paddy Power is leaning towards Spain, but there is not much in it.

Your doubting the Germans, clearly. Work your groups out however you want them, Germany will still be there when it matters.