Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭shearforce

for the love of jaysus

I'm not listening to this for the next hour

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭One Who Waits...

These f*ckers should definitely be called out for what they did. Pity Joe clearly enjoys the horrific detail so much.

• I always remember in my school, teachers would always say that if any of us had any concerns about anything at all happening either in school or at home that we could talk to a trusted teacher in private. That was 1070s. School was ahead of its time in having the policy of teachers repeatedly reminding us we could talk to any teacher of our choice about anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,682 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Not listening today but I cant understand the value in going through each callers actual abuse to see which got it worser so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Retelling abuse stories on air doesn't seem, to me at least, a progressive step. I would prefer Joe/RTE put their significant power into GETTING THESE FKERS INTO PRISON CELLS. Including those that facilitated it, hid them, protected them, moved them from parish to parish etc. Those people are still out there, listening now, free.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Up all night "frantically" looking for details, in his own words

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭DaTown

Why cares about this shite? I just wanna buy my Desantis 2024 bumper stickers

• Registered Users Posts: 20,603 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

• My Mum’s brother went to CB Westland Row, and he told her that if their parents knew what went on in the school they would have been distraught. Seems to me schools were a magnet for pedophiles/abusers. The only good thing my uncle got out of the school was an outstanding LC of all A’s in spite of the horrors.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭leath_dub

The guy he's discussing 30 years ago????

rehashing over the same topics again and again. the poppy shite earlier in the week, now this

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭DaTown

A star student

star of the rugby team

star of the soccer team

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭squonk

Yeah. The common thread across all the callers is “I could have single-handedly won the six nations then had a shower and gone and discovered a cure for cancer only I was abused Joe”.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Don't know how lucky we had it with dat mad padre last week

Suicide now, and another voice actor. Joes grtting the week out of this for sure now. Maybe even Monday too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,226 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

All we got was the cane or the threat of it. But that was a CofI school, none of these priest/ brother abusers.

Different times back then though, they could get away with anything practically. Scum.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

Duffer just confirming this shîte is lined up again tomorrow 🤬

"It has to be a case for de Gardai to investigate"

Gardaí are investigating allegations of abuse against members of the Irish Spiritan over a 50-year period.

The investigation is being co-ordinated at a national level by the Sexual Crime Management Unit, which is part of the Garda Protective Services Bureau.

The unit manages complaints and allegations against religious orders.

It also assesses allegations and determines whether they are to be investigated by the national unit or referred to a local investigation team.

The Spiritans say over 233 people have made allegations of abuse against identified Irish Spiritans in ministries in Ireland and abroad, 57 of which relate to Blackrock College in Dublin.

A total of 77 priests have had allegations made against them.

Do keep up Joe

ENOUGH WITH ThE EXPLICIT DETAILS! It’s just misery porn. Not helpful and not constructive.

That would require pre-show prep & research which Joe clearly doesn't do a lot of. Gory details are all he's interested in.

I assume there is already a compensation process in place. There is an investigation ongoing and the perpetrators are mostly dead. So what’s the point of joe covering all this exactly?

Finally some kind of point, should the organisation under investigation be in care of the internal investigation process?

now getting the state involved. Wonder will they pay for another scripture Joe?

Boy oh boy, RTE sure does love a bit of misery.

just what the country needs, another lengthy inquiry that will make multi millionaires of those involved

• Registered Users Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭cozar

Joe is trying to take credit for uncovering all this abuse by discussing it on his show like he did with versatis, menopause etc.

Circular living? Yeah, swivel on this...

De BBC aren't listening to you though Joe.....I can tell you dat

• Registered Users Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭Deeec

Im only listening in now - switched off yesterday.

Can someone tell me are the teachers/priests who carried out this abuse dead?

• Joe’s covering all bases, working the nation’s heartstrings for his seat in de Áras