Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we being Analysed excessively?

• 12-11-2022 2:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I have noticed a worrying trend that has escalated over the last 10 years. I think we are being analysed through everything... and by everything. Everything that is performed, written or done is traceable and we are constantly under the scrutiny of hidden inquisition.

Every time I sign up to something they want all my details, they want to know everything about me. Every part of my living day my ass is being filmed by hidden cameras and my conversations are being monitored. I feel like my very existence is under a constant pounding of analysis and what is worse I don't know where it is coming from or going to. What is it all about?

In tandem with my paranoia I have finally accepted that we are constantly being demographically rated, from our anticipated life cycle to our capabilities as human beings, we are forever being examined and scrutinised and finally classified into some bracket or set or grouping, like cows in the barn or labelling sheep.

Thoughts?

I remain unprobed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,114 ✭✭✭✭elperello

First reaction is that you may be overthinking this.

Most of what you describe is just society using modern tools to function.

You can opt out of a lot of it if you wish.

The only worrying part in your post is the monitoring of conversations, who is doing that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I live on a small offshore island and no one sees me! Literally! it sounds dreadful out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

One of the principles of GDPR is data minimisation. They should only be asking for the data that they legitimately need.

If anyone is asking you for unnecessary data, you should refuse. You can report them to the DPC if necessary.

Who is monitoring conversations? Apple, Amazon and Google for a start. Ostensibly to improve voice recognition. I personally know someone subcontracted to Apple Cork who was listening to American voice commands all day to Siri. Some very intimate details of people's lives were revealed. And this isn't a case of "some fella told me". This is fact https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30945575.html

You can bet there are centres listening to Irish people too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The world is increasingly set up to facilitate businesses and business people.

businesses should be set up to facilitate people and the world but it’s the other way around.

people instead of working to live, now many are conditioned to live to work.

Also look at the Irish independent website. As many subsections as the actual news dedicated to just business…WHY ? Business and businesses are sacrosanct.

you can get an SMS as I just have, from a business / scam….. I can see the name of the business / scam but not what number it’s from.. lists ABC limited as a sender then the message txt. So people in mobile companies actively sat down at meetings, agreed and decided that it’s ok, that people can now get messages from people/organisations but not have a clue of the origin number of the message. Why does it not come through from a number as I don’t have ABC limited saved in my phone… they sat down to facilitate businesses over people…not an accident. I can’t even pretend to dial it back…

email I get lots of adds from areas of life that I’m active it…

health and fitness, music, film, travel… but from businesses I’ve never used or communicated with…

All of us are being analysed, marketed to, scammed and our privacy infiltrated.

nobody in political life, criminal justice system care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

"Adjusts tinfoil hat".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

We are being analysed by corporations but in most cases, what power do they have to harm us. We can avoid a lot of these corporations (e.g. I don't buy apple products and have a minimal amount of social media) or just ignore their crap. 

Personally I don't care if some neckbeard working for Google knows that I've been looking for info on erectile dysfunction and I get pushed ads for Viagra as a result.

If anything there isn't enough analysing of certain people. E.g the dealings of Robert Troy and other politicians. Or analysis on where exactly "poor" Travellers got their money to spend on vehicles and lavish headstones.

Also, if you apply for a job with considerable responsibility (e.g. doctor), you'd expect your prospective employer to be googling - but not in HSE land it seems.

2015/2016 - numerous stories in the UK media about racist abuse by a surgeon. He is struck off for that and poor performance

2018 - HSE employs him. His previous history only comes to light when someone googles him AFTER he has already been employed in seven different hospitals in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Sweet Talkin Romeo

aye, indeed, tis effed up tbs

what with 'Smart' Meters and the like, soon it won't be that difficult to tell what time someone has a S&S at ffs 😓😃

can't really do w/o many of these data scrounging devices, eg Go Ogle, but i'm fecked if i'm willingly gonna allow any Smart Meters or t'likes of them harridans, Siri or Alexa, into me gaff :)

marital arts expert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Thanks for that.

I had visions of the OP maybe having his house bugged or something.

I don't use any of those services and won't in the future unless they are upfront and ask for consent first.

I'd advise the OP to disconnect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭ Cup

If it’s just your ass specifically that’s being filmed every day by hidden cameras, I think something else might be going on..

But, yes, we’re being analysed constantly. What we watch, what we purchase, how we browse, and we’re happily clicking and ticking and confirming that we are happy to give away our information so that we can get that 10c off bbq flavored beans, or read that news article about how Trump’s left leg is an alien.

Personally it doesn’t bother me, and if it means that I buy more things that I probably don’t need, but slightly want, then it’s my problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Sigyn

According to my FB ads, I am an obese christian who could benefit from a sniper course in Serbia. I win, FB, because those are epic fails ;)

Homo homini lupus est.

• Yes, when I talk to myself in the underground car park of my apartment complex I am liable to be listened to by the security monitoring company. So I keep those conversations to a whisper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Can someone working for Apple, google or Facebook etc access my personal computer via penetration of my passwords? Do they need permission or can they enter my personal drives without my consent?

i respect that a hacker can physically hack a system, but are IT conglomerates required to notify me when they enter my personal domain, or as I suspect more likely I am just a prisoner in their domain, which I volunteered for when I signed onto their platform.

It makes me feel used and humiliated, can google and facebook share my domain space at the same time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

no one forces you to use apps, people use siri and other apps for convenience .you dont have to use broadband or wifi, you can switch off data or location tracking info on your phone.theres no camera,s inside your home unless you put them there , we had security camera,s before the internet existed.companys have always recorded data on people who buy items, or services get our storecard, you,ll earn points or a discount.you can buy a basic phone no apps,

most people use apps because its easy or convenient,it saves time to use apps like google apps or buy music or watch tv streaming online.

make a gmail account just to use for apps or services you sign up for .it sounds like you just want to go back to the 90s.

We dont live in china,where every building has security camera,s linked to the internet ,and everyone has to use government sanctioned apps, the government can ask tech companys for any user data they want to track protestors or members of minority groups

I Think smart meters are being installed cos it makes it easy to collect data on electricity use without going inside a building

• The services of a penetration tester or security analyst are hired by a company to see if there are any weaknesses in systems that could potentially allow a data breach by criminal hackers. If they manage to break through they are not inspecting any individual’s data, but rather reporting that they have found a weakness which could be exploited by criminals who would be gathering a ton of data with the purpose of having an organisation paying a ransom and/or putting the organisation out of operation, eg as with Russian rogue state empowered hackers. Other than criminals nobody has time or is interested in looking at individual records.

No I am frankly terrified that at this stage they may have already developed or engineered a systematic profile though analysing, not just my ass or back side, I mean they are coming from out of sight, behind my back.

They are profiling us all and then milking us for our money and life. Even the government are doing it. They take half my money off me every year and are threatening to take more. They will throw me in prison if I don't.

It is as bad as the GDR during the cold war. They were analysing all their citizens, who were awarded by a secret underground team of analysts who were specifically instructed by their government to analyse everyone. It was a shocking intrusion, deep into the private parts of their life.

I cannot help thinking we are being used by overlords who don't care for us, they are probably reading this right now. It feels like that my life is being pinned down and analysed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I tried to ring a friend using whatsapp lately, before the call, whatsapp asked me if I gave permission to them to record the call, I didnt, result was it wouldnt let me make the call.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Im pretty sure there is some app on my phone listening to my conversations, judging by the ads I'm getting. I've blocked the microphone permission to almost everything so I think it could be WhatsApp

Any one want to try it out and report back here? Pick some random topic, mention it out loud near your phone a few times and see if your ads change (YouTube and Gmail is where I notice it).

I'm going to try for fast food..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Commoner

Definitely. The Public Services Card is one example I can think of. I'd sure like to know why the Irish Government awarded the PSC Card contract to a US Company where it can be forced to hand over the biometric data of over three million Irish citizens to the US Government under a FISA order and which we will never know about because FISA also acts as a gagging order preventing the company from disclosing the request by the US Government meaning it is kept secret from the public. I actually think the PSC Card contract breaches GDPR and the European Charter and European right to privacy because of the FISA aspect which applies to any US Company.

There's definitely been too much analysis of like confidence, body language and all that sh1te..to the point where you go on YouTube these days and 90 % of them are practically the same person..just this empty positivity, arms flailing all over the place..grown men talking about having fun doing stuff..the same way of speaking..it's all just a performance..

I dunno is it primarily down to over analysing these things, or is an element of it just a consequence of having the camera turned on us..

Sad though..

There can be no real human connection when people are acting, or performing..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Im already getting supermarket ads, for their delivery services.. but that could just be coincidence..

I'm going to try for a lawnmower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭ Cup

Why are you so terrified? That seems a little extreme and damaging to your mental health. Are you talking about taxes re. half your money? Those are a sad fact of life, I’m afraid, for many of us.

Few of our actions are being tracked because we are a danger to the state. It’s because of consumerism plain and simple. There are lots of measures that we can take to reduce our digital fingerprints, but many of us don’t bother because it can be inconvenient or it robs us of our home listening devices that can turn on our lights for us when we don’t want to get off the couch.

Being filmed in public (legally) is a necessarily weevil 🪳as far as I’m concerned, and not worth my time fighting (or stressing) over that camera that’s slightly overreaching it’s scope, as long as it’s not pointing into my window. Posting on online forums is a choice, and if anybody’s reading your individual posts, it’s Sally the Stalker from #10 down the road who has a big crush on you and found out your username. If my phone is listening to me - and I do wonder about that at times - it’s probably because I’ve ticked a box to say it’s ok, and, in any event, I continue to use my smartphone because it’s just so ingrained in my life. But I don’t have to buy [insert whatever the latest banner add is showing me], even if there is 20% if I shop today.

They won’t be accessing data that is solely on your personal computer. If you backup your data to the cloud, then they have it. If you email your data using gmail or hotmail, then they have it. If you edit your data using Office 365 or Google Apps, they have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

well in regard to the OP I would be inclined to think some things are taken too seriously while other things are not taken seriously enough. It's like evolution going backwards. There is far too much private surveillance with cameras and such even though its all way over the top in regard to safety. At the same time, actual threats to us are often dismissed. ie: Bad driving, not being safe walking, cycling. we are far more likely to have an accident of some kind rather than be kidnapped attacked or killed. I will not start with the overprotective parent's syndrome, that's another thread me thinks.

In short, we can carry out all the analyses we like but will it be on the correct problems or just more entertainment? we can start by looking at ourselves before looking at others.I don't overly worry about what my puter or phone does. that's nearly always to do with someone making money somewhere.

Dan.

Blame Al Queda, and bit later ISIS.1999:

WORK Forget your Photo ID card for the umpteenth time like I used to going into Gateway 2000? No problem. Walk in through the Cafeteria. Or get any body else, the fella that said a one liner to ye to let you in. Post September 2001. Do.not.forget.your.ID.card. to get access. Your Team Leader is the only authorized person to let you in. Loose your ID card? Get a new card and pay for it. Asap.

RECREATION

Feel like escaping the seemingly endless cycle of Seasonal Affective Disorder weather Ireland generates? Then why not go to a nice balmy destination just like BALI. (Atrocity happened Twenty years ago there)

So now, get your visa in order, get your passport in order Work wise, is your file okay?

So can they look at my photos on google and share them with other companies or agencies?

That's very strange.

I use Whatsapp but not for calls so I have no experience to draw on.

I did ask two people who use it for calls and it never happened to them.

You might consider asking Whatsapp why they withdrew the service because you did not consent to recording.

Yes they could. There have been cases of photosets being grabbed and used in training AI systems without the owners permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

I have now an intense preoccupation bordering obsession of being analysed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 1cent

Your right, it's called telemetry nowadays. Despite getting hefty fines some well known companies continue selling your data to 3rd parties. I guess is worth it.

Theres a saying if this service is free YOU are the product, eg your data is the price you pay to use google, social media, youtube, etc only tech experts or journalists read privacy policys ,you can opt out, dont use apps, ,the tv series the prisoner was ahead of its time, about a society where everyone was monitored by camera.in the last 10 years people started using mobile apps, the modern smartphone is as powerful as a laptop , i dont think gen z thinks they have privacy , any convert or large social event is on social media .comp\nys have always collected data on customers its just that modern apps and social media makes it easy to track users 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

It never happened on my other phone. I think when you download the whatsapp app you give them permission to record calls and texts.

You can read about it on www.techdirt.com, most big tech companys are based in the usa or have local offices there.America has no basic user data privacy laws ,companys can sell user location data ,browsing data to advertisers or any small company that wants to acess the data ,if you want privacy don,t have a smartphone or install apps on it .its your choice ,most popular apps are free ,they make money by selling ads ,you,ll see different ads based on what country,city you are located in .Apple has a new privacy policy and the option to click do not allow user tracking on apps but this does not mean that apple does not allow advertisers to target ads at certain users .

https://edition.cnn.com/2019/02/13/tech/apple-do-not-track-feature/index.html

most people just want to use apps, tik tok, spotify , etc

they do not bother trying to keep up with all the changes in app s regarding user data privacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Commoner

Sinn Féin are advocating for an internet ID. It's ironic how Stalinist Sinn Féin want everyone to provide an internet ID when setting up an online account on social media in Ireland. Whistleblowers will suffer. Sinn Féin have a lot in common with Fine Gael's proposal for an Internet ID, big surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

You should be more worried what the people in boards.ie know about you from your posts here than what google and the likes know

Because google and the likes just see you as a number. They don’t care about you.

And I’m not being completely facetious here. If you’re genuinely worried about stuff like this, don’t post on the internet