Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Nemo leading 1-13 to 1-5 after 40 min

2nd goal for the Barrs, 1-15 to 2-8 after 53 min

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Watched the game on the examiner website today , like the intermediate game last week while some of the scores were off the charts the level of space allowed was worrying especially for the finbars goals for cork football to improve that needs to tighten up

Great game though

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

10 thousand was some crowd considering football is the poor relation in Cork.

Sean O'Donoghue named as captain for next year

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Pos087

My team for Munster league in mallow (I’m going)

Goal keeper our weakest line. 

?????

Damien C.  Daire O l,  Sean O D

Eoin D.     Joyce.   Eoin Roche

Ben O C.   Mark C

Ethan T.   Tim O M.  Darragh F

Ben Cun.  Alan C.   Brian Hays

Hoggy not going to mallow one more year no need to burn him.Does anyone know if cork senior hurlers will play the Munster senior hurling league this year (Waterford Crystal cup). I think we should be a good chance to give lads a run and look at a few younger fellas.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,657 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Cadogan shouldn’t be near the team come League/Championship time

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Silly question time - does anyone know if the twitter account @corkhurlers1 is controlled by a backroom member / team member / PUC employee, or just a fan pretending to speak on behalf of the team ? 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Pos087

I didn’t pick Cadogan. I picked Alan Connelly.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,657 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Nemo v Clonmel on RTE 2 Saturday at 7

• Registered Users Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭dinneenp

What are the thoughts on the blandness of PUC? There's extreme little (if no) colour. The stadium exterior appears very bland, corporate looking (mainly grey/brick). Somebody would be forgiven for not knowing it's the home of Cork GAA.

A mural on the large wall (next to the 4G pitch) would be impressive & a statue or two would add some character.

The seating is a neutral colour, I would have thought it'd be red (and possibly some white) Thomond Park has 'Munster' spelt out in the seats, Pearce stadium seats are maroon with Gaillimh spelt out in white etc.

there were/are plans for a Cork GAA museum and shop at PUC. seats are a neutral colour because red fades badly over time

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

How come the capacity was reduced to 41,000. One of the papers reports that its due to exit issues?

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭thefa

Should have had a look at it before the redevelopment. Plenty of colour to add character then. I’ll always have fond memories but it had turned into a bit of a kip albeit not an outlier with the standard of some county grounds.

I don’t mind the limited red like the gates and blinds/slats on the outside of the south stand. Possibly may have been corners cut given the huge budget overrun and/or limitations on the exterior given the location.

Clonmel well worth their 6 point lead with 10 to go, much the better team

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Cork2021

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I said after the county final if this is best team Cork can produce we are in big trouble....Cork football fecked..... we'll go longer than the hurlers for AI success

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

It's been ten years now since won a league and Munster title in football. We face a long road back to the top again alright sadly, as history shows Cork don't win all Irelands in football that often at all. I'd be hopeful that we'll win a hurling all Ireland within the next five years though. As great a team as Limerick are they can't stay on top forever. Outside of Limerick i'd fancy our chances against anyone.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

We are behind definitely, just look at the intermediate football, Kanturk will have a seriously tough game against the 9th best team in Kerry in the Munster Semi final, where are Kanturk based in our rankings??

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭1373

If you thought the county final was loose , this one takes beating . I've watched clonmel for years in tipp they've never played a team as unable to defend runners as yesterday. Enjoyable football though

Rathmore to play Kanturk in the Munster intermediate Semi Final at 1pm on the 26th of November at a Cork venue, I’d assume that’ll be Mallow,

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

Based on the Premier Senior (12 teams) & Senior A (12 teams) - that make Kanturk the 25th best team in Cork

That’ll make for an interesting game against Rathmore….

• Registered Users Posts: 34,147 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork football is in a awful state.

It be years before we ever see a Munster again never mind a AI

• Registered Users Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭lukin

This response is why a lot of supporters from other counties accuse us of arrogance. There is an assumption among Cork hurling supporters that when Limerick run out of gas (whenever that will be) that Cork will be the county to step into the breach in their place. But if you look at our performances against Limerick and compare it with other counties results against Limerick over the last few years it doesn't back that up at all.

They hammered us in 2021 and beat us convincingly enough last year too. Galway and Kilkenny gave them closer games last year and the year before that Tipp were ten points up against them at half-time in the Munster final. I know they collapsed in the second half but they only lost by five points.

We haven't been their closest challengers while they have been winning all those AI's.

In my opinion there are a lot of other counties better placed than Cork to take advantage when Limerick's reign is ended (and that isn't going to happen any time soon)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭thesultan

I reckon we'll land that hurling all Ireland before Waterford do. Going back to Davy Fitz was a massive mistake.

Before that all Ireland final our record against Limerick wasn't that bad. I never said that we are the next best team after Limerick. I said that outside of Limerick i don't fear anyone. Cork, Galway, Clare, Waterford and possibly Tipp as well are all around the same level really.

Who are the teams you see as better placed than us? We did beat Kilkenny in the 2021 championship, and Galway only barely beat us this year after Hoggie sitting on the bench for the first half. We do have two u21 all Irelands and a minor all Ireland, to use as a base to build a team out of as well.