Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Linda Hayden - Social Democrats

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I'm not so sure I like the Social Democrats being lumped in with this Twitter scandal. They are a young party, and nominated someone who has turned out to be a bit of a charlatan. Meanwhile, in the Dáil, we have someone linked to 50 murders, and Michael Lowry getting elected election after election.

My main issue with the Social Democrats is that they are taking the vote away from what the country really needs - a strong left-of-centre Labour Party. A party who realise that being in Government involves budgets, compromise, and making unpopular short term decisions.

While I dont agree that we need any more centre leftism in government, I agree with the vote pull. SD is like labour youth , idealistic , stupid and disorganised . The more sensible SD members should go to labour before the ship eventually sinks, thatll be labours turnaround

domrush wrote: »
    Yes if there’s one thing we need more of, it’s centre left parties

I'd rather have one, democratic, principled, and powerful left-wing party than the hodgepodge of populism we have at the moment. I'm no great fan of Alan Kelly, but he's doing a fine job so far on being a proper moderate socialist who consistently holds the Government to account. No Twitter outrage, letters to Martin, or accusations of misogyny.

European social democracy relies on moderation. And everyone of you here has benefited from it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,513 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Anyone else think that Linda's tweets and messages were fairly mild and not really that noteworthy in and of themselves?

That's not to say I don't get the context of the story what with her history of on-line rabble rousing.

It's sorta funny that Linda thinks her own words were offensive and yet I wouldn't have publicly said what she said and I don't think they were that bad.

I can't help feel there a bit of pearl clutching going on with regards to her remarks by people who generally wouldn't give a toss about such remarks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

LOL. Somebody should have a roll back through the tweets of that pair of goons too. The Martin character always seems fairly prickly.

https://twitter.com/INarrated/status/1373876037344448512

A bit like I said about Linda.....

He has posted so much over the years that in his rush to be all woke about the misogynistic attack on Mary Lou he had obviously forgot about his very own remarks about Joan Burton.

I cant say i know much about Martin, i see some of his tweets being retweeted from time to time so i just have looked into his twitter bio.
    Joined up in 2012 and has 177k tweets!

Has he a job of any sorts apart from doing some podcast? How has anyone the time to do that. It works out at about 50 tweets a day! I wouldn't post that much in about 3 months

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

A bit like I said about Linda.....

He has posted so much over the years that in his rush to be all woke about the misogynistic attack on Mary Lou he had obviously forgot about his very own remarks about Joan Burton.

I cant say i know much about Martin, i see some of his tweets being retweeted from time to time so i just have looked into his twitter bio.
    Joined up in 2012 and has 177k tweets!

Has he a job of any sorts apart from doing some podcast? How has anyone the time to do that. It works out at about 50 tweets a day! I wouldn't post that much in about 3 months

He seems a pretty odious individual too, enjoys a good witch hunt. Consistently pretty abrasive and disparaging to people on Twitter for seemingly no reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

humberklog wrote: »
    Anyone else think that Linda's tweets and messages were fairly mild and not really that noteworthy in and of themselves?

Well can you imagine how Linda herself would have thought of those comments if they had been among the Paddy Jackson messages?

Nah she's ****ed. Thankfully. Her whole persona was based on the fact she was virtuous and she hung friends out to dry if they deviated from the approved opinion of the super politically correct lunatics.

The snake is eating it's tail.

They are failing to meet their impossible standards.

a lot of the stuff she tweeted was far from "impossible standards" .... it was appalling stuff - actual far right level.

Now I'm beginning to understand why the media think there is a far right problem - it's because many of them are closeted far right themselves.

Wow .... let's put it this way, if what Linda posted is OK then anything Stormfront post is OK too and not that noteworthy.

I'd rather have one, democratic, principled, and powerful left-wing party than the hodgepodge of populism we have at the moment. I'm no great fan of Alan Kelly, but he's doing a fine job so far on being a proper moderate socialist who consistently holds the Government to account. No Twitter outrage, letters to Martin, or accusations of misogyny.

European social democracy relies on moderation. And everyone of you here has benefited from it.

What the country needs is a proper centre right party modelled on the principles of Margaret Thatcher and Ronald Reagan. There, I said it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,504 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

That's not to say I don't get the context of the story what with her history of on-line rabble rousing.

It's sorta funny that Linda thinks her own words were offensive and yet I wouldn't have publicly said what she said and I don't think they were that bad.

I can't help feel there a bit of pearl clutching going on with regards to her remarks by people who generally wouldn't give a toss about such remarks.

they werent that bad at all

Amirani wrote: »
    He seems a pretty odious individual too, enjoys a good witch hunt. Consistently pretty abrasive and disparaging to people on Twitter for seemingly no reason.

hes just another far left agitator , he does a podcast with the slightly less far left Tony Groves ( tortoise shack )

ive only listened to it once , usual far left crap

What the country needs is a proper centre right party modelled on the principles of Margaret Thatcher and Ronald Reagan. There, I said it.

preferably led by Keith Redmond

not going to happen though , all sectors of irish society love big government

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I'm fairly certain Leo has a picture of Thatcher above his bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

a lot of the stuff she tweeted was far from "impossible standards" .... it was appalling stuff - actual far right level.

Now I'm beginning to understand why the media think there is a far right problem - it's because many of them are closeted far right themselves.

Interesting theory. The likes of Una Mullaly would be horrified by it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I'm fairly certain Leo has a picture of Thatcher above his bed.

Leo has said himself he used to be socially conservative as well as fiscally conservative. He's become socially liberal because he's seen which way the wind is blowing.
    At least Lucinda Creighton stuck to her principles. She would have rivaled him for leader of fg if she hadn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭take everything

These are from the Tortoise Shack podcast that Linda Hayden was a contributor on.

1. From 15:20 in to the podcast, Linda Hayden gave her representation of what happened with Ciara Kelly on Newstalk, straight from the horses mouth. She subsequently apologised for this. This is from September 2020.

https://www.listennotes.com/podcasts/glow-west-podcast/tortoise-shack-sunday-special-FXNrJpgPqVY/

2. And this is the episode of the Tortoise Shack last week, sans Linda Hayden, trying to wipe egg from their shell. Gets a bit tetchy at times! They make an initial statement at the start of the show, but it gets interesting about 20:40 when one of the contributors asks why are we not all talking about the Linda Hayden issue.

https://www.listennotes.com/podcasts/the-echo-chamber/sunday-special-32-wviS8MokV9Q/

That second link from 20 minutes onward really shows what a lot of these people are like.

The way they bully the third girl into shutting up and controlling the conversation.

It's kinda chilling the way they go on.
    Almost cult-like.

Serious dummies.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,513 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Well can you imagine how Linda herself would have thought of those comments if they had been among the Paddy Jackson messages?

Oh don't get me wrong, I understand the hypocrisy of what she said and what she's held others accountable for. I've no truck nor sympathy for her.

But that doesn't mean that I personally would read those tweets/messages in isolation and think that they were all that bad.
    If for example it was someone I knew and who hadn't a history of holding other people's remarks and actions to account on public forums then comments of that level wouldn't really register with me as being particularly nasty (nor funny).

Indeed Linda has made a rod for her own back, I get it. And when I saw it unfolding on Twitter (I was keeping up from the start of it) I did have a chuckle to myself and shake of the head. The Woke Searchlight of Shame only seeks out people in their own group to cover in hair shirt, tie them backwards to donkey and drive them down from the Highlands of Wokehemia.

But even at that her comments wouldn't get my dander up. I'm just not that sensitive to hearing or reading such remarks and I was surprised that it has gotten to some people when I read their previous posting history*.

*I'm not talking about Boards.ie posters, I'm talking about posters I clicked on on Twitter when it was all kicking off.

But hey, that's just me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭Blackjack

That second link from 20 minutes onward really shows what a lot of these people are like.

The way they bully the third girl into shutting up and controlling the conversation.

It's kinda chilling the way they go on.
    Almost cult-like.

Serious dummies.

I listened to some of those links. Good lord. These people can't see the woods for the trees solely due to the fact their heads are stuck a mile up their own holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Oh don't get me wrong, I understand the hypocrisy of what she said and what she's held others accountable for. I've no truck nor sympathy for her.

I think the one thing that important fact that has been uncovered by this event (and the other event with the high profile woke DJ) is that there ARE people who wrap themselves in the woke flag simply to further their careers - while having completely differing ideals in their own lives.

It's important that when people listen to the main radio stations like RTE and Newstalk.
    I listened to some of those links. Good lord. These people can't see the woods for the trees solely due to the fact their heads are stuck a mile up their own holes.

When the main Tortoise admin/social media guy harped up and said "Ah hang on a minute Caroline", I went for the popcorn.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭bazza76dub

Have to say, I feel some sympathy for her. It looks to me like she was trying to do something good her the victim aliance cause, and also for something she believed in with the social democrats. I honestly wish more people would have the courage to do such things.

Regarding her past, and mistakes, yes they are past mistakes, but I think this society of ours is too quick to jump on them. We are all brought up around ignorance and are influenced by it, which can come out at times. We learn as we go along, I think it is safe to say Linda herself has learned some valuable lessons since.

Society itself has a lot to answer for, in some ways, everything that happens to you and around you in your whole life, play a massive part in who you become. I just hope all of this now, at this point, has not taken too much of a toll on her mental health, and she can go on, put this behind her, and have a good life for herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

Her racist tweets were appalling and certainly won't ever be forgiven or forgotten by regular folk like myself.

I only saw everything months later but her "apology" wasn't great and then some people close to her coming out and defending her was just adding insult to injury and a completely wrong way to handle it.

I don't know the woman at all but I think she has got some good stuff to offer but the question remains about whether she is racist or she actually is disgusted by what she wrote and her mentality at the time. Maybe it's not my place to say but I think she could be given a second chance but what really damaged her was the reaction to it.

I'm not sure about the other stuff as gript was linked and the last time I clicked on a gript video link there was a guy with blue eye contacts rambling on about something weird, lmao. The blue eye contacts killed me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

18 months later? You're very late to that particular party

We live and learn as they say.

I think I only ever heard of gript in this scenario, is this a good thing? Not seen the blue eye contacts thing, feel free to send a link.

I'd be happy giving Linda a second chance and I think she has good stuff to offer.

Ah the gript thing is they have one lad who I believe is half Jamaican or something and I think he wears blue eye contacts to "whiten up" his look and appeal more to the fan base. Quite funny. I could be wrong though but pretty sure they are blue eye contacts. Just funny to see a lad going to that much effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭political analyst

One of those tweets was a joke that included a reference to performing a sex act on a man of a certain ethnicity. She said she was raped. Why would a victim of rape joke about performing a sex act on a man?

You'll have to actually spell out clearly what you are insinuating before I'll respond. You seem to be insinuating that she made up the rape claim because she made a joke about performing a sex act on a man?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Alan Kelly was in government before. He was minister for housing 2014- 16.

He did a shite job. His legacy is contributing to today's housing crisis

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

I hear he "loves Power" suits him in fact. 😁

I agree, someone can joke about a mans endowment or whatever the comment was, and still have been subjected to abuse or rape in their own life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭political analyst

I'm not saying whether or not the rape claim is true but her racist tweet about a sex act doesn't help her credibility.