Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qatar World Cup 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,746 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Watching wales is like watching ireland. Dreadful. No composure. Williams rolling around not cool either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

ITV reports say Welsh fans with rainbow hats refused entry.

They will be. But its telling that they have players playing for Juve,chelsea Valencia, arsenal, milan amd dortmund.

Hopefully we see joe scally come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

It's an act of kindness, no one should have to watch this Welsh team play.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Wales have woken up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Wales are making a go of it.

Bale looking unfit out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

Our diplomatic supremo has his say…

https://twitter.com/pureroykeane/status/1594765240767549441?s=46&t=Vta7n3HW0tJAeVmGwoot_g

I am still annoyed he threw his toys out of his pram and went home. Too soon??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,003 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Bale is leggy as fûck, looks a shadow of his old self.

peno ! Won by Bale, terrible challenge.. idiotic..

Darragh Maloney:

"Wales would take a draw here"

D'ya think Darragh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,573 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Kane hadn't the guts to wear it, and he played so differently, out on the left, the right, dropping deep, he's usually in the box, getting his head on any balls that comes his way, maybe he thought that would be offensive too😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Another 43k attendance, in a 40k capacity stadium with a load of empty seats, admittedly not as much as earlier

Clever play, as they say.

Excellent penalty. Huge pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He has played very little in MLS seemingly...two starts...I know he isn't a spring chicken but still 33 isn't ancient!

Wales going for this now.

Get in! 1-1

Usa have been far better but could end up losing this. Also with england next they could be in trouble. England will more than likely be qualified by the last game which will give wales hope.

Should be a yellow for wilson.

Far better? I don't think so...Wales better team in the second half for me. USA looked too happy to sit on 1-0 lead.

That Zimmerman tackle incredibly stupid

For lads who were full of life in the first half they had serious cramp in the second.

Unreal from the ref. Dreadful stuff. You cant stop a game for those sort of injuries. USA on the attack too. Poor reffing.

Better game this last 35 minutes anyway, thankfully.

Amazing determination from Ampadou to win that ball. You could tell it was going to hurt but he was fully committed.

Appalling reffing. The game stopped every few mins ffs for wales lads falling over. Nonsense.

Let's be honest Wales are punching here...the fact they are bringing on someone who plays for Portsmouth says a lot really.

Cnut of a ref doesnt blow it for a usa injury though. Shocking.

I think that is harsh. They look organised and at least have a plan and a lot of passion.

Did you watch us against Malta the other night? Jaysus....

Wales will be as bad as us when bale retires.

If they arent as bad as us already that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ive never seen so much added time in a tournament....what the fùck is going on?

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Great foul from Costa.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Smart to hack him down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,573 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I've never in my life seen as much added time as we've seen in all the games so far.

Refs just allowing endless periods of ‘treatment’ … frustrating…n

They aren't....see our performance against Malta the other night....they are better than the sum of their parts, throwing on lads from league one etc.

Bale had a really poor game bar drawing the foul tbh.

Mad stuff. Enjoyable. Hopefully the states can pox a draw with England.

Incredible reffing. Everytime a welsh player went over he was stopping it. That didnt apply to the usa though which was strange.

Will Iran cause Wales problems? Not sure its a gimme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

That was good craic, probably the best match so far, although its not had much competition.

Maybe its Kenny is the issue then managing is. Dare we say it.

By far the best game so far.

Fair play to Wales they made a great go of it.

I can't agree that Wales are no better than us. They're not World Beaters but, jesus, I can only refer you to last night's match against Malta.

Imagine having a manager who can get performances like that out of average players. Granted they have bale and ramsey but they were poor enough for the most of it tonight.

Like is they are mostly championship or league 1 players.

Yeah the results under Kenny have been undeniably poor anyone else would have been gone. The football isn't as dour as it used to be under McCarthy etc...but I don't think we have the players to play expansive football really.

But who takes over? The FAI are broke so they won't be paying big bucks by international standard. Jim Goodwin might be a decent shout but not sure he would want it.

There's something else with Wales though as well, they seem to have a team spirit that we don't posess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,444 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Is there a thread for photos of hot fans this year ? Always my favourite world cup related thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,965 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Here is a good debate from Talksport on Qatar.

I did not realise the opening ceremony was not shown on the BBC

You’d upset the LOI heads with that talk… He’s our Fabio Capello to them..

I’ve a feeling group B might come down to goal difference for second place.

Here is a bit of a flavour of the Qatar WC from the perspective of two American fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,643 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Pity the USA didn't hang on and win. I have no time for Wales after the Coleman leg break and their fans jeering and booing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Motivator

Decent game tonight, Wales played well in the second half. I’m enjoying the proper additional time being actually enforced by the referee. I think it’ll stop teams time wasting as the competition progresses.

I like Wales. I hated them when Chris Coleman was in charge, I was thrilled when he blew up his career by going to Sunderland. Ashley Williams is another prick I’m glad to see the back of. The rest of the Wales lads seem sound and they have a team spirit akin to what we had back in 1990 and 1994. I’d like to see them get out of the group. I don’t think they’ll go beyond the last 16 but you never know. A team bond like they have goes a long way. I can see one or two surprise teams like Serbia and Uruguay doing well and taking out a big team.

Not a great spectacle so far and we’re only two days in. There’s a real lack of atmosphere at the games and that’s even with England and Wales both playing and getting results. The whole thing just seems awkward even from start to finish. Even at this stage I can see it being a totally unremarkable tournament. I still plan on watching as many games as I can but already it’s a case of just getting the whole thing out of the way. It’s like the covid league title Liverpool won. We all watched it but nobody was really bothered by the result and it’s like it’ll just be over and never spoken about again.