Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was/is the protesting at East Wall Racist?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,975 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Is he still working for Russian Oligarchs?

He was one crazy fúcker.

Still though, brings us back when the Polish were the target of the racists.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,028 ✭✭✭timmyntc

No

Vetting does not refer exclusively to criminal background checks, what a load of BS. 'To vet' is a commonly used verb which means to examine or background check something/someone to make sure they are suitable for a given subject. People presented at (air)ports in this country with no identification cannot be vetted in any way. How can you check anything about someone without any proof of identity?

As for the fingerprinting - these people in East wall are not "on the system" - if they were, they would be returned to the EU member state that first put them in the system, as per the Dublin III regulations

If an asylum seeker’s fingerprint appears to have been recorded somewhere in the EU on an earlier occasion, then the asylum seeker is liable to be returned to that country.

As an example, if an asylum seeker enters the EU through France and has his/her fingerprint taken and then travels to Ireland, he/she will be liable to be returned to France to have their asylum claim processed there.

So once again, these people being kept in East Wall are undocumented and unvetted.

Creighton was competent.

Just on one was buying it.

Been hearing the same thing for decades though, so it's nothing new.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Conor Lenihan is one of the biggest idiots to occupy high-office and said that without foundation.

The CSO stood over their figures. 65k Poles in Ireland in the 18 months after accession to the EU was accurate.

By the time the census preliminary data came out, usually a year after census day, of course it was out of date.

The CSO are an extremely professional organisation and model their data to the highest standards to account for uder-reporting (which is actually really low).

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

No

Renua got bogged down in issues related to religion (abortion) and they had little real talent in the party.

A PD type party “could” probably do well. The question would be, who would be the key figures within it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The same parties that were also cleaning up when Ireland was one of the poorest in Europe backward extremely conservative religous state where pro life marches would have been celebrated from pulpit to hustings? Where being Gay, buying johnnies and divorce were verboten. Never mind lots of good oul fashioned corruption. Never mind the screwups of the celtic tiger and when it keeled over and died. Today they're in control of a decades long health crisis and the worst housing crisis in the history of the state. Well, I say in control....

Outfits like the IDA getting large foreign investment in are far more the reason why Ireland has been doing so well over the last few decades.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

No

Creighton was the only one in the party that had any semblance of ability.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

No

The indigenous British are now a minority in their own capital city. Nearly 40 per cent of Londons population born outside the UK

That's all we need to know about London. An example of what not to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

There is truth in what you say but I also don't think we can entirely discount the fact that Ireland for much of its history operated on a basis that those who didn't have prospects here simply emigrated. So it was often the case that those who might be unhappy with the Big Two political parties were safely filed away in England, America and Australia.

This was probably an influential factor in how Ireland never developed the same clear Left-Right distinction as elsewhere in Western Europe. Those who might have drifted away from status quo centrism to the Left and Right were simply not around to vote. The contented class on the other hand stuck around and felt no compulsion to rock the boat too hard.

Ireland's relative success for the past 30 years has actually seen a drift away from the old status quo and what looks like the emergence of a traditional Western European spectrum with Sinn Fein seemingly taking up the centre left and Fine Gael to the centre right. The trick is ensuring that we don't end up drifting towards both extremes.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I'll keep this short and sweet. You're talking pony.

You've been shown up post after post to not have a clue what you're talking about. They are identifable from both passenger manifests and when passport data and info page was captured at departute port (which is shared with and accessible to Irish authorities) They are further identifable via EU and Schengen fingerprinting system. So they're "vetted" by your bullsh*t standards (even though the use of the word unvetted is used to imply they are a danger, and specificly to women).

You've got a bee in your bonnet about Johnny Foreigner, and you're low knowledge getting your backside handed to you on the facts.

It's high time you admitted you're a soft soaper and spared everyone the boredom of what you're doing.

The main reason for outfits like that failing is they're all way too far from centrist. Watered down NP types dancing at the crossroads ballsology. The PD's who were centre right, who even got the jus soli loophole closed, did pretty well for a time and for the small size of the party.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,105 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Yes

not sure why that's relevant - the poster said women and children are afraid to walk around certain parts of london because of foreigners - i'd love to know which parts he means because i've lived here on and off for years and have never heard of these areas

but yes the economic and cultural powerhouse with possibly the best public transport in the world that is london surely isn't the way to do things

• Registered Users Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

No

Kieran Cuddihy on news talk just said that when “asylum seekers “ get approved their employment rate is the same as Irish people I.e 95% then goes on to interview a female teacher living with her partner in back garden shed.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No

Fantastic to see the push back of local communities suffering the consequences of dumping unvetted welfare tourists into their areas. What’s even better is the moral lecturing of the poisonous far left and their NGO Government cronies whom are heavily reliant on these peoples votes come next election. Thinking of that ginger whinger Gannon and Mary fake Lou McDonald and that ilk. Talk about trying to stop the tide lol- people have seen enough and no amount of “racist” label dog whistles will convince them otherwise- have all the “diversity” days and moralising rubbish you want yo try ram down their necks- they don’t want it

As bad if not worse than FF in contributing to the economic ruin of the country.

Extinct for a reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No

Did he give a clear statistical link to that statement? If not it’s complete horse shite. Course he needs to keep on script with his paymasters

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,131 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Yurt2 threadbanned

I dont think as a man you have any right to decide how women feel.

Men from other cultures can harass and make women feel uncomfortable in all sorts of ways and as you have never been a victim of this you wont even see what is going on. They are coming from cultures where this behaviour is normal and their women folk put up with it.

Rightly or wrongly the people living in East Wall are fearful of these male economic migrants, they need reassurance now that their area will not take an unfair share of new arrivals as if this doesnt happen then empty buildings will be torched to the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

What not to do?

dont invade half the world and then get pissed off when they follow you home?

Meh, FG were in opposition suggesting they egg on the Tiger more. Bugger all were for dialing things back and no matter who was in power it was America catching a cold and exporting it that took us down. How that was handled is another thing of course. FF and FG ended up being two cheeks of the same arse. No wonder they can rule together.

Yes

I didn't dictate how women feel. Your ally @ThinkAboutIt was doing this by telling us all women and children feel too afraid to walk around certain parts of London. I'm curious to know which parts they are as a current resident of London.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

You were mocking Ben Shapiro only a few days ago, yet you're starting to sound like those memes that mocked him.

and you're low knowledge getting your backside handed to you on the facts.

😂

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

No

A few weeks back you were telling us that O'Connell Street and Coolock were grand and anyone who said otherwise was a snob

I wouldn't be putting much stock on your assesement of neighborhoods

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Northernlily

No

Exactly.

This is the problem and not the employment rate or race. Infrastructure!!!!!

So stop screaming racism at people with valid concerns over the sustainability of such population increases.

Scream it at the racists like Philip Dwyer.

Yes

Sure you can't mention O'Connell St without going on about people's skin colour. You must think East Wall is a total f**king kip then full of scumbags if you think Coolock is bad, yet you're on here with faux concern for the locals lol. So full of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Marcos

I just had a thought, isn't there supposed to be a sign publicly visible i.e. on a main street so people can see proposed planning changes before permission is granted. If that wasn't the case then is the planning permission legal? Looking at Citizens Advice site, it says that before applying for planning permission there must be public notice given.

[quote] Before applying for planning permission you must give public notice of your proposals. You do this by:

• Putting a notice in a local newspaper (your local authority will have a list), and
    • Putting up a site notice that can be clearly seen and read

You will find details of information that must be contained in the notices in the planning application form. Your planning application must be received by the local authority within 2 weeks of the notice appearing in the local newspaper and the site notice going up.

Note: The site notice must remain in place for at least 5 weeks from the date of receipt of the planning application. (Note, nine days over Christmas, from 24 December to 1 January, are not taken into account when calculating the 5-week period).[/quote]

So was adequate public notice given of the change of use? There should at the very least be a copy of the notice in the local newspaper and perhaps a photo of the site notice and a statement of where it was put.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

No

The British empire was dead on its hole by the 40s, funny how half the world didnt follow them home up until the 90s when a globalist Prime Minister was elected, eh?

Whats your excuse for the current deluge into Ireland? The Celtic Empire? 😂

No

My family are from East Wall. 😂

Still better than Coolock 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I remember during the BLM stuff some academic was trying to say that the Irish were guilty for slavery too because some Irish lad in America owned slaves 😂

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov