Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The media was even more controlled, or influenced by our governments in the past. The long dead Irish Press was a mouthpiece for DeValera and FF. Today it's less so, though RTE generally toe the line and certainly on some subjects.

I wouldn't say that. Many are attention seekers, Chu an obvious example, the Panti Bliss of politics.

Others - and I know a few - are just nice people, but either have lives that none of this will impact upon anyway and/or their minds live on a naive and painfully optimistic and impractical view of the world. IE Ireland isn't full!* It's not the refugees fault! It's government mismanagement of housing! Mostly true and defensible, but they seem to think you can magic housing from nowhere, rejig the entire health system overnight and so on. If you point out Ireland is full now and for at least the short if not medium term and making our health service fit for purpose could take a decade, they've no real answer beyond it's still the government's fault.

*insert bit about Ireland having 8 million people in the past. True, for the entire island and we're not so far of that now and the vast majority were living in absolute squalor.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

If ffg do believe sf will destroy the place. Then them doing their best to get sf elected, is criminal... you cannot build enough housing, when word on the street is that Ireland is a soft touch gravy train. We are a tiny country. We are going to be inundated obviously. Their housing figures could greatly exceed forecasts and the situation is blatantly going to get worse...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

In that case Wibbs, there will be great loss of cultural diversity and eventually we'll have a 'McDonalds' type of uniform culture trending across the world. How sad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If so it'll only be in the West as it seems only the pale faced West requires "diversity" to thrive. The Chinese want no part of it and the same people who go on about diversity as a boon would have a fit if you suggested that what I dunno Ghana really needs is more pale people frrom Europe. And in that case they'd be right.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

This is just going to get worse and worse. CSO figures predict population in the republic to rise by over 40% over the next 30 years, assuming stable birth rates. Migration is a massive driver. Plus will have unification, and a population on this island of 10m by 2050 is not out of the question. And we are just messing around at the edges. Not controlling immigration, not building enough, not planning infrastructure. We will have a real multi ethic society all bashing up against each other in tight spaces. Doesn’t bode well…..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

The Press Group was always a FF mouthpiece for certain, but there was perhaps some divergence of opinion with, say, the Indo as the FG paper. There are related issues like atrophying of politics outside a limited political class. Also related is how RTÉ news makes no attempt to hide their dislike of certain groups like the US Republican Party. There is perhaps more of an echo chamber as less and less papers are sold and their websites get fewer actual non botted clicks. And newspapers have long been propaganda outlets for certain newspaper magnates. One Irish oligarch used his media ownership as a weapon alongside solicitors' letter. Anyhow, none of them should be state subsidised more than happens already with PS ads and press releases providing the content for most news articles. Many, many, even most don't use them at all, and there's already enough tax, along with the licence fee for the reliably terrible RTÉ.

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭CarProblem

Wrong thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭donaghs

Micheal Martin seems to be taking slightly different tone than just accusing protesters of being hateful racists:

Taoiseach: Local communities must be consulted before refugees arrive (irishexaminer.com)

But still conflating this partlcular group of non-Ukranian young male asylum sekers with the Ukraine War.

Having lived near East Wall in the past, I have to admit I didn't always have a positive view of some the "locals", particular the teenage lads, some of them dangerous types. But the local community still deservse some consultation and right respond before something like this gets foisted on them.

The conversation on where we are heading population-wise is starting to go mainstream:

Planning for 10 Million people | The David McWilliams Podcast on Acast

• Registered Users Posts: 25,275 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Yeah, I’m seeing it gradually edging towards mainstream opinion that consideration needs to be made of the long term implications of a liberal border across all society.

Did he say we taken in 44,000 ukranians, I thought we have taken in 60,000 so far and looking to be taking 70,000 very shortly.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Marcos

Well that's to be expected from Gannon. Just look at his and his parties behaviour in the Ellie Kisyombe affair. A brief reminder of her in again out again approach to claiming asylum both here and in the UK from the Sunday Times.

"The Sunday Times established that Kisyombe arrived in Ireland in 2011 and obtained a student visa. She then travelled to the UK and claimed asylum there, but was sent back to Ireland, where she claimed asylum in November 2011. The Malawian left Ireland for the UK again in late 2012 or early 2013. She was arrested in 2014 in the UK, and returned to Ireland in May 2014."

She later joins the Soc Dems and is encouraged to run as a candidate in the 2019 local elections by Gannon but once the "inconsistencies" in her story came about she had to "correct the record" in order to allow herself to continue as a candidate for the Soc Dems. Unsurprisingly she didn't get elected. I don't know how many votes Gannon can expect from East Wall the next time he goes for election.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Gary Gullible more like. Sure nobody voted the Soc Dems into any position of power. Gary's opinion is no more relevant or of any standing than Joe Underpants on the side of the street.

Pub talker

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Marcos

Well I won't say anything else about him or the Soc Dems as it could derail the thread. I just mentioned it in relation to his comments on the situation in East Wall.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,576 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Lol look who wants to jump on the band wagon and get herself a bit of publicity.

O Gorman finally admitted that none of these economic migrants are vetted, well over 100 Ukrainians arrived in our small rural town without any consultation but they are women and children so there isn't a safety concern for the locals but if it was all young men like in East Wall it would be a different story.

That migrants are let into the community without being vetted is utterly shocking

Yeah he said because they aren't going to be working there is no need for vetting, I had to play it back a second time to make sure I heard it correctly.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Is there a link ? cant find it on google. Is it drivetime or other radio ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

They built a country the way they wanted it and are determined to keep it that way , the Swiss are deeply independent minded, thoroughly modern but not concerned with what outside forces think of them

Yes and the obligatory reference to “ Ireland having a low population density “

as if we could just stick fifty thousand people behind the ditch of a big field in Meath

For all the East Wall locals know , half the new arrivals have criminal convictions?, no way of knowing

hell of a dice roll this loose immigration policy is

This is a bit of an awkward one for SF as well, East Wall would have a lot of people who voted for them and now from videos I have seen they seem to have copped on that the shinners aren't backing them on this protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Glenomra

No I had radio 1 on, maybe it was the 6 o clock news part of the programme and they were using a Newstalk interview but I definitely heard him say it.

Go to todays Drivetime on the player its mentioned at about 1.44

• Registered Users Posts: 18,841 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The whole 'vetting' thing is a bit misleading. Every refugee who enters the country must first register with Immigration and other services before they claim asylum - to establish their full identity, their country of origin, their reasons for claiming asylum etc.

There doesn't appear to be much evidence of convicted criminals trying to use this route (and anyone convicted of an offence in Europe could be extradited back to the country where the offence happened, if it's the case they had gone on the run).

• Registered Users Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DelaneyIn

40% of them destroy their documents. What are they hiding?

All of them simply must be deported.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,417 ✭✭✭✭road_high

A genuine “Asylum seeker” would have no need to destroy any identification or travel documents as their case would speak for itself. Clearly another scam to play the system. We are being played for absolute fools by these fraudsters fully aided and abated by FF FG Greens SF Soc Dems and every other lefty sponger cheerleading this con job