Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭mumo3

We Irish seem to have a big thing about "better the devil you know"

• Registered Users Posts: 20,738 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Dermot Kennedy is pants & if he wasn't Irish nobody would listen to him at all,

He is an awful singer & just whinges

I'm convinced people don't actually enjoy his songs but pretend to be because ye know he's Irish & its cool to like him ,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

• Registered Users Posts: 28,926 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Could not disagree more. I find his voice amazing and soothing to listen to, especially his acoustic stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭mikemac2

The government should not have backed down over water charges. In fact they already exist.

If you have your own well you are responsible for it. If anything goes wrong you must hire a JCB and a driver. Remember to pay to have the pump serviced annually.

If you run a business you pay for water. Farmers also pay for water.

If I am conservative with my heat and electricity I expect to pay less than my wasteful neighbour. But now a neighbour can leave taps running all day and pay nothing extra.

Water charges are not robbery. The "temporary" USC tax on workers is the real robbery

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

The Ukraine is an awful place full of anti-Semites, homophobes and corruption and people only feel sorry for them right now because of the war.

Palestine is full of uneducated religious fanatics and not somewhere you want to claim solidarity with.

Margaret Thatcher did some great things for Britain.

The Corrib Gas Project was great for this country.

Water charges should be introduced for environmental reasons and to take strain off water infrastructure. Basic economics says that when you have to pay for something there's less waste.

The response to Covid was out of proportion and we have significantly damaged the economy, children's education and the health of people with other medical conditions such as cancer. Not just in Ireland, but everywhere that had lockdowns.

Anyone who illegally parks in a way that causes a severe obstruction (e.g. forcing pedestrians to walk out onto the road to get past) should have their car confiscated and not returned at all.

Most of the time virtue signalling happens because the person has the time and emotional space to care about the issue and isn't faking it. We aren't all manipulative sociopaths. If you really did care, is it so bad to signal it?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

It's absolutely mad that someone can fill a swimming pool in killiney every day and pay the same as someone in a council flat in the inner city - I'm surprised this kind of argument wasn't used more at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 12,872 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Drambuie is a Bourbon, at least it tastes like one anyways.

Everyone else on the planet is wrong about whatever I think is right, in every single case or instance, I am never ever wrong. Period.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,353 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Money DOES buy happiness.

Adequate money to live comfortably and to persure activity based hobbies ie boating, flying or scuba diving etc is the key to happiness.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,268 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I do think when it comes to spousal coercion, women are as guilty as men.

Imagine there was a particular event of the year where a husband forced his wife to wear an outfit just for the insta likes. That damn bully! But yet it's the time of the year now when 'hubbies' must wear matching pyjamas. Women can be absolute wagons

As society becomes more developed, the maxim

A FOOL and their MONEY are SOON PARTED

becomes all the more readily apparent.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

That would be fine If that was the way the world works but it doesn’t. The majority of taxes I pay have nothing to do with what I consume or use. Car tax doesn’t fix roads. Income tax is spread all over different services that I don’t ever use. Taxes taken by governments are pooled together, so regardless of whether it’s a tax for consumption or anything else it makes no odds to me.

I have no issue with water tax per say but I don’t trust governments and when the going gets tough I know exacting what will happen to Irish water. The majority of the worlds water has been privatised. There is literally nothing more important to sustain life then water. Once that becomes something that we HAVE to pay for it opens the door for privatisation when the next financial crisis happens and the government sells off the family silver to save itself.

Yeh we have to pay for our food and people do die of starvation, so why add an extra danger whereby people die through thirst? It starts out as a tax on consumption and ends up somewhere nobody really expected. Sure as eggs if we fast forward 15/20 years time “people can’t afford their water charges” and “should the government of sold out water” is the hot topic. Because of course it will, nobody ever thinks that far ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,738 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

If World War 3 ever kicks off Billy Barry kids should be sent & put in the front line

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭talla10

The internet was the worst thing ever invented and the world would be much better place without it.

I'm only 38 so its not one of those "back in my days rants" but I would gladly lose any benefits of the internet if it meant no social media, huge spread of disinformation, fraud related activity, dark web, child porn etc. Obviously I know criminals would find a different way but to me the internet does more harm than good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Psychlops

Says the lad as a Registered User of an Internet Forum that he has posted on over 1,000 times..

Billy Barry was a controversial genetic scientist, famous for experiments breeding lifeforms in a lab in montrose. He was able to develop these lifeforms to dance and sing before the whole program was shut down by the authorities

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

You forgot to mention the rigor grins of said lifeforms

No because Russia is the enemy du jour and that means all of the awfulness perpetrated by the above countries are irrelevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Ireland would be better off in the long run leaving the EU

They have craped all over us and haven’t even reached for the toilet paper yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,353 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Marty Morrissey is a genuine guy who is a living example of someone targeted by bullies

• Registered Users Posts: 25,293 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There are artists who you hate, dislike, think are shît but you can understand their appeal.. Kennedy… never get why.

then you see his philanthropy… which seems aimed at getting him more appeal in places like….

Australia / USA / UK and other notable overseas territories. Feck all here…. But he already has an ‘in’ here. Bit of a smart ‘operator’.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

The Internet itself is not the problem.

It's really socal media and the accessibility of it to everyone.

Social media (twitter, Instagram, and Facebook, I'm looking at you lot) have made people incredibly anti social. Young people don't know how to act in real social situations.

There are also some folks who just shouldn't be allowed near the Internet.

In the good old days when all you had was discussion forums and live chat sites, that was the golden age of t'internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,167 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Grown adult men "afraid" to buy something for their hobby or pastime in case "herself" finds out. Ffs what are you like? Grow a pair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭notAMember

Totally. Marital rape, wife beating/murder and financial abuse pale in comparison with being asked to wear pjs in a photo. The absolute horror. Wagons the lot of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,235 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Ridiculing the post doesn’t make it untrue. Some controlling behaviour is tolerated when displayed by women, while men would be branded as abusive right away.

People who say "I don't care what people think about me", actually care so much about what you think of them that the are trying to convince you (and themselves) otherwise

When you genuinely don't care what others think of you, you don't feel the need to tell people

• Registered Users Posts: 11,268 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Thank you.

In every fractured marriage I know of, it was the woman that pushed the man to breaking point. Few of them, the husband was hardly allowed leave the house without a written request.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,192 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

"I don't care what people think about me" is probably the most common lie told in the history of mankind.

Everyone, to some extent care about what someone else thinks of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭GavPJ

I agree. Nothing wrong with his voice. Just **** songs.