Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I need a washing machine that works on low pressure. Help.

• 27-11-2022 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 bobmulligan

As you all know, washing machines are now complete bullsh**t. Like many people in this godforsaken hole of a country, I have no water pressure. Apparently the board of gobshites in charge of water don't think it's an issue that water comes out in a dismal drip from my tap. Now I just doled out upwards of 300 euros on a piece of total crap BEKO, yes the same one you all see collecting dust on adverts.ie in droves. And of course it doesn't work.

Now before anyone comments: there's nothing I can do about my water supply. REPEAT: A pump is NOT an option. The pipes in the place are too old and sticking a pump on there is liable to bring the whole house collapsing around me.

What I need is a washing machine that will just work, without all this other crap. Please, someone with some sense, tell me where I can get a SENSIBLE washing machine without this unreasonable requirement. I just want to WASH MY DAMN CLOTHES.

Whats the mains water pressure at your property boundary?

What you are asking for is a washing machine that works without the necessary water supply for it to function, what answer are you hoping for? Washing machines need water.

• I’m a bit confused by what exactly you’re asking for? A good washing machine or do you need a fairly particular one due to the water pressure thing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 bobmulligan

It's less than one bar. And yes washing machines need water, there is water coming out, just slow. I had a washing machine that worked fine for ten years. But now they need constant pressure which was never true before, yet somehow no one seems to remember this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭blackbox

You should be able to feed water to the washing machine from your attic tank ( low pressure) this should give a decent flow.

FWIW we inherited a beko machine with the house and have found it to be good - had low expectations.

Which model BEKO do you have? The manual suggests that this would result in an error code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Washing machines - and appliances in general - are very generic these days. Everything is made in China, uses sealed modular components and meant to be disposal, the 'good' old brands included.

Your pressure is either ridiculously low or there is a blockage somewhere. Washing machines do not require high pressure at all, but if you've eliminated blockages and the issue persists, you either have to run it from a header tank or consider re-plumbing your house. Public supply should be a minimum usually 2 bar.

2 bars! There's a laugh and a half. I've never seen even 1 bar in my life.

Yeah well that's the static pressure at your boundary box. I suspect the problem is after that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭ongarite

Nearly every machine on the market requires minimum pressure of 1bar but from quick search some Electrolux models can work off pressure of 0.5bar.

You would be best to search on Facebook Marketplace for old washing machines..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭mistress_gi

You can always but a small pump to connect to washer only. I bought noe for my mains shower and it work beautifully 😀

A pump is not necessarily the answer.

-----------------

you are saying it's my plumbing thats the problem ? could be. it's shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭zg3409

If you have a hot and cold feed to your washing machine area, then feed only hot to new machine. If that works (via header tank pressure), then get a plumber to switch the feed to cold from header tank.

You may have a hot feed nearby for testing say from kitchen sink..

From the header tank should give minimum pressure needed.

Old machines had hot and cold feeds, modern machines seem to be all cold feed only.

Typically modern machines need more time to wash the clothes as they try to do the same job with less water and cooler water to save the planet.

If plumbing is a real problem you could add a small header tank near washing machine.

Are you on the IW network? How is your next door neighbour's pressure? If your house is old like you've alluded to it could be an internal plumbing issue especially if the water is hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 cakedrive

Hey thanks for posting the tip about the Electrolux. I have the same problem as OP where the low pressure takes a very long time to fill the washing machine. My problem is the machine times out while filling, and pauses the whole wash. Then I have to press the unpause button to resume filling for another 60 seconds.

I don't like my blomberg washing machine anyway because it sometimes walks itself 20cm out when on a high spin. Good excuse to get a different one.

T-Maxx you could well be right here's the thing even if it is my plumbing I'm not in the situation to fix it, which is why I've ended up with a crappy Beko to begin with. I just timed my tap and it takes 18 seconds to fill 1 litre. Which I believe is 0.3 bar?

I had one idea which is to buy a 20 gallon header tank and put it 2ft above the washing machine. Do you suppose that might work? The point is I don't trust my pipes enough to put a pump on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭Gusser09

The newer machines are a lot more sensitive. My gives an error code re the water pressure but not all the time. Its an indesit.

Just one of those things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Thanks Gusser. I thought I'd chance it and just test it at night and it is indeed working albeit very slowly. Seems like it will work without error with about 0.3 bars of pressure. Again though takes three times the amount of time it says in the manual.

Check the installation instructions for each model online. I notice Hotpoint will work on 0.5 bar. Most others expect 1 bar minimum to 10bar max

There aren’t any households on the continent with gravity fed water. It’s just unheard of. Ireland and the UK have some exceptionally odd and old plumbing and it’s just not worth any manufacturer’s while catering to a tiny niche in the market. That’s what it comes down to. Normally washing machines and dishwashers are connected to the water main.

It should be on the mains here as well.

OP if I was in your shoes I'd go for a simple header tank solution probably. Not the cleanest set-up I suppose but cheap and simple.

Thanks T-Maxx i was thinking that, failing getting a plumber in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭The Red Ace

Undo the fill hose at the washer end/solenoid valve and you will see a water filter, remove the filter and inside in the body of the valve you will see a rubber washer which restricts water pressure, remove this also,when this is out you will need a small pointy nose pliers and remove the plastic piece that’s inside the pressure restrictor, then replace the filter and fill hose and see if has improved much, if it is still acting up get back on here and I will tell you how to wire up a pressure pump to the fill pipe that will bring in the pump automatically when water is needed. As suggested trying it on a hot supply is a no no , if the water is too hot coming from the hot tank it will ruin the washing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,288 ✭✭✭10-10-20

I agree. Remove that damn filter and such. I get this on a good washing machine too, but only when the filter is full of crud. And take photos and we'll help as much as we can.

Thanks for the suggestions lads, I did try the washer trick which helped some. What i did in the end was the old trick of 2 cups of bicarb of soda followed by 7 litres of white vinegar, left it in the pipe coming down from the tank for several hours and flushed all the lime out. After that I got just enough pressure to start the machine, although it takes about twice as long as it says in the manual, gets the job done.