Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carrick on Shannon Winter Fair

• 27-11-2022 9:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭

I took a trip up today to see the show in Carrick and there were some fine animals on display there, did anyone else head up to have a look and what did you spot any eye catchers?

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Gudstock

I was there today, first time making the trip. Incredible to see the standard of cattle under one roof.

Surprised how many of the stock were this years calves, amazing to see what can be achieved.

Too many eye catchers to list, one everywhere you looked!

Something for everyone, extreme BB type to actual realistic types that could thrive and rear a great calf.

Great to see some breeding listed in the catalogue too, see what bulls can produce what, different to tullamore where breeding is top secret!

Will try to keep an eye on the app tomorrow to see what they make.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

What App are they been sold on, a lad I know has a beautiful BB heifer in it , she is on the under the 450 Kg category and her brother from last year that he sold is in another category.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭tanko

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

Is the catalogue up in Facebook or anywhere else?

It’s there under show and sales dates on the midland and western livestock.com website.

Friend of mine has stock towards the end says it will be 8 tonight before there sold.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

It usually goes on until 10 or 11 o'clock in recent year's. I'm back from work earlier than usual so going to head in for a look seeing as it's only over the road. Hopefully the height of my spending will be some of Pat McDonaghs finest grub across the road.

Anyone know what 311 made?

• Registered Users Posts: 44 releasevalve

315kg 1350

• Registered Users Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Lot 404 is a super heifer.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Was looking at sale for a wee while around 8pm,saw a nice LM March born weanling around 400kg making €4300!

How could you possibly expect to make anything back on that kind of money?

Have heard a lot of young lads are putting money into stock now instead of souped up cars…..maybe there is some truth in it.

That was cheap, they’re going 11 or twelve grand now🤔🤔, wouldn’t want to hit the bid button at the wrong time on the phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

• Registered Users Posts: 29,599 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Many lots left?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

She turned out the top price on the night, mcnamme from Donegal had her and also top price in stranolar sale with a blue.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Over 100 I think. Be around 2am I'd say before it's over.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,599 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What time did it finish at?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Seemed like some trade, think 4 different lots made over the 10k.

There was heavy heifers at the start not too dear for killing I thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I saw on facebook that a BBx heifer calf (under 350kgs) lot 525 sold for €14,500 at 2.30 this morning. I think it was the highest price of the sale.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Yeah that’s right, same man that got highest price 3 years ago with another blue

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Mr..

Arent they great prices to be getting, everyone be fair upset if their was no one to buy them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

They are serious prices, and fair play to the lads to be able to breed cattle of the quality that was on show, it takes years to get to that stage I would say. I would also say that you see a fair share of sections breeding animals of that quality.

I am guess that only a handful of them animals will ever be shown again and the majority of the heifers would have went for breeding to try and be back there in a year or two with a prize winner. I would guess that specialist incalf suckler heifer sellers would be big buyers yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 pingg10

serious trade for fantastic stock

the quality and variety of heifers available was outstanding

only fault . is it not crazy going that late into the night for the sale

long day for man and beast

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Does it go on that late most years or was this year an exception? Was watching some of it last - serious quality animals at it. Have you to qualify for it or can anyone enter that has pure bred cattle for sale?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I don't think they're all pure bred, there's normally a lot of cross bred stock if I'm not mistaken.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Johnchaff

It's a commercial sale not pure bred