Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Gravel Bike?

• 18-10-2022 7:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, I'm hopping on the gravel bike train! I've pretty much narrowed it down to the Fustle Trail Core or the Trek Checkpoint ALR 5 (or 4 perhaps)

The Fustle has an option of a dropper seat post, this does interest me as I do intend to try some MTB trails. I'm not so sure about having just one chain ring though, maybe a fear of the unknown there. The Terk is obviously a more established brand and Bontrager have loads of bag options for bike packaging with this particular bike in mind.

I'm open to other suggestions too in the 2.5 - 3k budget. Any opinion/advice greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

The Giant Revolt range night be worth a look also

The reality is, though, you might be limited by what's available, rather than what you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I have the revolt advanced 2, and find it a great bike. I have done long gravel spins, and single trail stuff on it. It's a lot more capable than me. I went for the 2 by set up rather than the single speed. I have a one by on the cross bike and it feels a bit gappy. I think the overall range is about the same tho. I also have a set of road wheels so can swap them out for weekend winter spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭gn3dr

Fustle - that's a new one for me. Had never heard of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭PringleDemon

Fustle is a MTB with drop bars . Seen a few , very heavy .

Most gravel bikes can handle MTB type trails without the need for a dropper seat post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Thanks folks. Good to get some advice. I’ll have a look at the Giant range. I’m teen of stock I don’t think getting a Trek or Giant will be an issue and Fatbike Adventure will provide a Fustle. I was keen to support an Irish brand (Fustle is an NI brand) and the reviews I’ve read are positive. Buckley Cycles in Athlone have an ALR 4 in stock so that might be the way I go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Can't vouch for the Fustle, but yer man (Darren) who's one of the people behind the Lakelander Gravel Grinder seems to love his. Can only compare my AL Topstone to my AL Giant Defy, and the Topstone is bulkier tubing and heavier.

I have a Giant Revolt 0. Top end of the aluminium framed Revolts.

I love it. Spec wise it would be quite similar to the Trek above (with the Trek having, arguably, a better wheelset)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

He's a brand ambassador for Fustle so pinch of salt with his view.

I have a Genesis fugio which is close to hardtail territory, heavy as fcuk but very composed on the rugged stuff and great on gravel.

It's pretty sluggish on the hilly roads, but I'm not racing with it. I kitted it with dynamo lighting, full mudguards.

I would have been slow to buy a giant with their proprietary dfuse tech but they allow for normal seat posts in their latest model, and that change would make them a strong contender. Although it looks like internal routing and that might kill it for me!

Gravel bikes get a rough time in Ireland and I'd be going with the lowest end groupset you are happy with. Hydraulic brakes and 2 by 10 makes sense to me, I'd put up with Sora before I'd be putting ultegra priced gear into the mud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭DJB030244

Giant revolt is a good shout , the higher end ones are light too . I have mine at 8.6kg all in with pedals cages garmin mount etc with road wheels and just under 9 with gravel wheelset . 2021 model . Fly’s along and comfort is great with the dfuse post

One thing to be careful is the latest Giant revolt carbon model 2022 is cracking . All the Facebook groups etc have reported it . Plenty of lads on their 2nd and 3rd frame within weeks and months.

It’s to do with a shim they have in the seat post . The solution is to replace the seat post immediately with a round one .2022 Carbon models only,to make the D-fuse seat post fit in the round seat tube.

2021 models and before are fine in that regard

Post edited by DJB030244 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I'd try go for one of the gravel specific groupsets if possible - i have grx on mine and it's been great. Have previously had road groupset on cross & gravel bikes and they are a bit more fragile.

There is GRX 2x10 as well. I have a Tiagra Topstone, and it has been fine. I swapped out the FSA crankset that came with it, to save a bit of weight and let me use a left side power meter I already had (and had plans to reuse the FSA crankset/ fd/ bb), but I can't say I really notice much difference bar it looks better. I plan, but have never got around too, swapping the rear derailleur to the GRX.

Hi folks. I am down to a choice between these two:

Trek Checkpoint AL4 2021 and

Drag Sterrato 7.0 GRX-400

@cletus was correct, I'm very much limited to what shops have in stock. According to shop owners there are bike hikes in prices coming in 2023 too.

I am leaning towards the Trek but interested in boardies thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I've never come across the brand Drag (and I'm the sort of person who buys a bike of some sort every year). I'd go for the Trek if really a choice between those two. I'd also check if you can find a dealer with Cube in stock though, I bought a Cube Nuroad with similar spec in 2020 or 2021 for under 1500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Never heard of that brand drag but the fact they didn't even bother to try and blend the welds on the steerer tube I'd go with the trek.

There's also a nice cervelo aspero on done deal which might be worth an offer. Based on the marks on the chain stay and down tube along with the rusty chain I'd say its seen a lot of use.

I'd probably take this over any of them 🤷‍♂️ a shame its not a 1x

https://www.canyon.com/en-ie/gravel-bikes/bike-packing/grizl/cf-sl/grizl-cf-sl-6/3243.html?dwvar_3243_pv_rahmenfarbe=GY%2FBK

Cheers folks. I’ll look into the Canyon too but for now it’ll be the Trek. I use Look Keo 2 pedals on the road bike so I’m assuming that will suit the gravel bike fine too. I don’t intend having to hike and bike much.

I'd go with mtb type pedals if you are planning any off road at all. I tried using the same pedals and shoes on my gravel bike and changed after two rides. Unless you know your routes very well, there's a good chance of walking from time to time

One last thing folks…on paper and by Trek’s own geometry I should go with a size 58, I’ve briefly tried both a 58 and a 56 and I felt the 56 was a little more fun, if you get my meaning. A bit more responsive. The 58 sturdy and comfortable, no doubt. It’s a tough one (pity there isn’t a 57 😆). Maybe at 41 I should be leaning more towards comfort but there’s still a fun side to me 🤣

Any opinions? Thanks again for all comments.

A good bike shop will be the best place to answer that for you. As a general rule, if you are between two sizes you will be advised to go for the smaller of the two (mainly because it is possible to make a smaller bike slightly bigger but not vice versa).

I'd say it depends where you are on the scale too (which is just an indication). You don't want a bike that is way too small for you, might feel more lively but after 3 or 4 hours you might start to feel it

Based on that I'd be going with the 56. As mentioned above I'd go with SPDs and mountain CX or MTB style shoes, I use Northwave and find them very good. Look keo and road shoes would just be a balls to walk in should you have to walk along a muddy track and if you're doing it right you'll be walking at some point. 😂

You are not doing gravel right if you are in road shoes 🙂.

Before anyone buys a gravel bike they should do it with eyes wide open as to what Irish gravel is.

It's often like above rutted tracks, with plenty puddles and muck.

With that in mind any purchase should bear that in mind; for me that means threaded bottom bracket, mudguards and a cheap drivetrain.

She's not light but close to unbreakable.

Very nice 😎 I'll ease into the gravel stuff but no don't I'll get more adventurous as I get more experience. Any recommendations for gravel events in Ireland? Is there a calendar of events for gravel somewhere?

It surely is and nice to see another Genesis getting the dancing shoes muddy :) I can see those mudguards being an issue in mud though.

The auld work horse doesn't fair much better at times either 🙈

Mid ride baths aren't uncommon either

For both of us 😂

and as above seeing this is fun the first few times but they can break you when it's been a long day out. 😭

Gravel's great craic though 😂😂

Sorry for the spam post OP

😂not at all, class. Love that bar tape. Beautiful looking bike.

I've never ridden a gravel event, but most seem to be up the west;either Ballinrobe/Westport maybe Moycullen?

Where I'm based, north Waterford/South tipp gravel means primarily Coillte forest with a little private/abandoned public roads/tiny amount of bord na mona. The best spins tend to be somewhere in the 80/20 - 50/50 backroads/gravel mix. It'll depend where you live (there might be lots of BNM if you live near midlands).

A sense of adventure and not getting lost will matter more than whatever spec of bike you have. I had as much fun with a rim braked Ridley as the current bike, just wearing a rim in less than 3k km gets annoying pretty quick!

Any more than 2 hours looking at Sitka Spruce and I'm ready for a change.

Typically routes below; they are mostly really hard to ride but rewarding

@iwillhtfu I've never had a bother in two years with mud/twigs or anything else with the mudguards. I'd never be without guards again on a bike like it. HAve had it out in the middle on wettest weather and heavy snow and its a gift. Might even put road tyres on for a few road spins over xmas period.

BTW I can't view your photos; its probably my browser

I sometimes clip on a rear mudguard, but part of the fun is coming home filthy for me!

The Lakelander in Fermanagh is the longest established, usually 2nd weekend in October. There's also the Galway Gravel Grinder, and Gravel Grind West from Westport. I've done the Lakelander a couple of times now (and plan to go back next year), haven't made the others as they're August/ September iirc and too many family commitments around then.

Ah mudguards are great for everything except thick mud the pics would give a better idea but I've had occasions where the wheels wouldn't turn for the mud between the frame and tyre without mudguards let alone with they'd have been torn off. 🙈

Also OP it's a toss up but for me 650b wheelset and plenty of clearance is a must on a gravel bike. 650b allows you to get in bigger tyres which are much more comfortable and offer more grip.

Regarding gravel just look for wind turbines and you'll usually find plenty and along with some hike a bike you can usually stitch some good routes together, the joy of a gravel bike is that you can just saunter down a lane and see where it takes you.

The frames a bit of a boards.ie mutt and has worn many a different guise. Personally I think this one is the best 😂 One day I'll throw her back into the pool for someone else to be creative with it.

The bar tape is actually holding up great I had the brooks faux leather on it before and it just disintegrated but this leather one seems to be going strong. I generally use the gravel bike most in winter/mud so needed something robust. Oh I'd also look at some flared bars I thought they were a bit of a gimmick but they do make a difference if descending on the drops they get the elbows nice and wide.

Also don't be adverse to some bike packing on a gravel bike it makes for a great adventure.

If you do decide to return that frame to the boards community, drop me a pm first 😜

Actually, given the direction this thread has taken, it might be worthwhile linking back to this again

It's really easy to upload gravel routes or sections, especially if you have already ridden them and have the data on Strava, RidewithGPS, komoot etc.

It would make a great resource for people who want to visit other parts of the country, or just for those of us who prefer going for a spin over organised events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭JMcL

It surely is and nice to see another Genesis getting the dancing shoes muddy :) I can see those mudguards being an issue in mud though.

My Croix de Fer is going to metamorphose towards something more gravel like over the next while, I can get away with a 36 tooth cassette out back with the current RD and will migrate to GRX up front when I need to. I've had a lot of fun with it on hard-pack stuff over the years, moving to something more suitable for Irish conditions would be the intention

Happy days, I think I have a 42 or possibly a 46 I can't recall which but I geared it for cycling the Wicklow Way. I had to fit a goat link to get the range in the rear mech. The one thing I'd really like would be hydraulic brakes. I have TRP HyRd fitted which are a compromise other wise you're talking a whole new groupset and then it's heading towards new bike territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

I have a giant revolt advanced, picked up around March /April this year. Has driven me mad with creaking noises since I got it. Brought it back after a few weeks to complain and whatever they did, it reduced the creaking noise for about 60k! Anyway, after reading your post I've checked and bike carefully and there's what looks like a possible hairline crack in the frame at the seatpost. I can't say for sure it's a crack but it's definitely concerning and fits with what you have described. ll go back to the shop and see what happens. Bike had had really minimal use. Thanks for the heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

It would be nice to have a gravel thread alright with routes on it? The only ones I know are the Coillte / fire roads around the Dublin and Wicklow mountains. Fire roads can be boring enough and you're restricted to multiple duplicate laps or being spat out onto the road again very quickly.

Where are y'all getting yizzers gravel on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

The more mundane but equally likely possibility - particularly as the shop was able to silence the creaking for a while - is that it's the bloody press-fit bottom bracket making the noise. The cheaper aluminium Revolt has the arguably better threaded BB.

Worth getting that hairline crack checked out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Currently running a CdF with 2 x 11 GRX for gravel. Works great though if you are looking to go very extreme, you're probably limited to ~ 38-40mm 700C tyres on that frame. If you swap to 650B, you can get up around 45-47mm.

Gratuitous pic of CdF in typical Irish conditions...

No its definitely the seat post (I suppose can't exclude seat post AND bottom bracket). I can hear the seat post make awful cracking noises in response to movement etc, eg if I'm descending and hit a slight bump or something it'll make a pop noise, if I shift my position around on the saddle etc it'll creak terribly.

Have left the bike in now. They seem to think it's likely paint but are going to send photos to giant. Not exactly scientific but not sure what else I can do. Lifetime warranty on the frame so at least if something happens down the road I can hopefully get it fixed then. I'll be swapping out the d fuse seatpost either way for a regular round post.

Sorry to derail and thanks for the heads up to person who originally mentioned the issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭JMcL

There was a fairly active thread in the last couple of years, I think @Large bottle small glass started it. In haven't seen any posts on it in a while, but the Boards "search" function might turn it up if you sacrifice a goat or two first

Nice! I seem to remember the limit being 40 or 42x700c with no guards alright. 650b was something I was wondering about, though that might be stage 2 🙂

Pity , but Sounds like what’s been reported everywhere on the 2022 model . Here’s the wedge and crack . Seems nearly all cases are the frame has cracked not just paint . Be interested to hear the outcome . Best of luck anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭breadevery

I had this exact issue with mine. I brought it to my LBS and they took photos and sent them to Giant. Giant told my LBS it was probably just paint but that they would replace the frame anyway just in case. They said I could ride it at my own risk while I was waiting for the new frame, which I did. Crack never got worse. Got a new frame and LBS switched over the parts. New frame has done a couple of thousand kms by now, with the Dfuse post, and no more cracks. Apparently Giant have fixed an issue with the paint on newer frames, but we'll see!

That is exactly what mine looks like but due to the colour of my frame it's much less noticeable, I can feel the "crack" with my nail. Shop seemed sure enough it was just paint. There's also some mild bulging in the seat tube where the wedge is.... Very, very mild now, but all together I'm less than delighted with it.

How long were you waiting?

I'm assuming supply issues with giant frames aren't too bad and the punch point is more likely to be groupset etc? Eg I wouldn't expect to be waiting more than a few weeks for a new frame? If that is the outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭gn3dr

That does not look like fun. Mountain bike job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭breadevery

About 2 months from when I first brought it in to get looked at. Mines an XL so it might be a bit quicker for you if yours is a size that they produce more of

It wasn't me but this was one of the threads. No goats were harmed in the provision of this information 😃

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057826950/irish-gravel-compendium/p1

New frame!

Colour I have, which I'm kind of fond of, not available and the replacement one isn't really my cup of tea but I'd rather the new frame than keep mine with potential cracking

Shop will supply a new round carbon seatpost as well instead of the D fuse, which I hated from day one and won't ever use again.

Thanks for the heads up on this.

Thats great , what did they give you colour wise ? I have the previous model ,thankfully no issues and Dfuse works great but no wedge to spoil the apple cart .

Not sure, some sort of brown that isn't available to buy here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭sbs2010

What do people make of this one:

With my very rough calculations of delivery, exchange rate, vat & duty I reckon it would be around €2k all in.

If steel is your thing, that's good value, right?