Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have the government done right?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

On the one hand theres an extremely high economic output for a country with zero natural resources, on the other hand there's huge sovereign debt burden that we literally got nothing (no major infrastructure) for and we're not responsible for, still can't get over that one. That's going to be a pain for decades, maybe centuries.

In my view , management is what I want. Representatives are there to increase the quality of life for the majority of people, that's all. I only care about geopolitical power as it pertains to our citizens security and prosperity. Pride is a weakness.

It's called picking your battles. MNC are a godsend to the country and not mutually exclusive to domestic industry which we could do with more development in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

the govement has done ok lately with extra welfare payments and the electricity paid but they need to do more more free services more failities for the kids housing and health Sinn Fein will sort us out if we look after them in the election

• Registered Users Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

They did a good job with the covid vaccine roll out - not perfect but we did a lot better than other countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,411 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Very very little. The FG cabinet members took all the easy posts and achieved zero. The FF cabinet members are very poor (Foley, Donnelly, O'Brien, McConalogue).

O'Gorman (GP) has tried his best on the Mother and Baby Home issues but he was hampered at every turn. Then inexplicably they put the Minister for Children in charge of housing refugees because the FFG tools were incapable. He is now snowed under.

Reform legislation - zero progress. The Public Sector Standards Bill 2015 is still not passed. Deliberately so. New Politics still alive and well.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Ireland seems to have an issue that a lot of countries have at the moment: a lack of ideas about solving issues that are plaguing the country such as housing, the HSE and climate change. Radical change is needed but nobody seems to know where to begin or even what to do beyond long term aspirations couched in vague rhetoric.

That said, the steady-as-she-goes approach seems to be working rather well. Ireland scores well in international rankings for safety, crime, education and healthcare so this makes sense. I can't comment on specifics are I don't live in Ireland.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

To be fair, there has been some good coherent thinking in some areas. Public transport in Dublin now has plans for an integrated network with the MetroLink being a much better project than Metro North and linking in with the two DART lines. BusConnects will also work if the infrastructure is put in place (though the Greens will be decimated for an election or two as the NIMBY squad complain until the benefits are clear).

Similarly, if you actually read Project Ireland 2040, there are an awful lot of good ideas around developing the main cities other than Dublin.

Things are happening but it has been hard for the country to shake off the effects of 2008.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

For the last 10 years there's been long waiting list for hospitals medical treatment in the last few years there's a crisis eg there's a shortage of doctors you move to an area you might not be able to find a doctor to take you on as a patient rents vary from area to area

town to city Dublins population is growing

of course rents are high the government is taking steps to increase accomodations for people coming from Ukrainian

I think the national plan is to build around 20 k housing units every year

They are giving out grants to restore derelict buildings

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

While we might seem to score well in international rankings for safety,crime education and healthcare on the ground from my perspective it doesnt feel like that.

I wont even go into Dublin city centre anymore as it doesnt feel safe and Ive seen enough **** on the nights that I did go in to put me off it for the forseeable future.

Crime seems to be rampant with our supposed protectors getting their cars rammed while crowds of scum cheer them on. Garda are regularly assaulted on the job. Theres something gone fundamentally wrong with teens and young adults behaviour over the last few years and its become quite noticeable - they seem to have lost respect for their peers completely and really dont care about other people. We have criminals with multiple hundreds of convictions still walking the the streets with no fear of the repercussions of their actions. The ordinary on the beat Garda needs more supports or even everyone of them to be armed with non-lethal weapons like tazers, stun guns, pepper spray and not have to go through a tribunal when they use it against scum that deserved it.

Healthcare - dont get me started - my daughter was waiting for 5 years for a spinal operation (scoliosis) so much so that a 2 hour op in the beginning ended up being 18 hours when eventually she was seen to. You cant change GPs as they arent taking people on and if you are lucky to have a GP you wont get a same day appointment in most surgeries.. A+E is a disaster with multiple hour long waits if you have a minor accident. Our minister for health is the most useless person to have ever been elected - all he does is talk **** from one interview to another - covid really showed his through self when he signed a law on the 31st June!!!

Education is fucked aswell with a severe lack of teachers and the ones that are employed are untouchable if they dont carry out their jobs right - again covid sorted out the good from the bad - the good ones kept working through it and the bad ones did nothing. The whole teacher training needs to be revamped and allow people that want to become teachers have a quicker access to becoming a teacher - my daughter has her primary degree and a masters and yet still needs to do another 2 years to become a teacher...thats nuts.

My own local Tds bar the independents are completely and utter morons - BTW I was always a Fg voter since I could could first vote. I contacted one of them during covid when the N4 was taking 2 hours to travel from Palmerstown to Maynooth and asked could the checkpoints not be moved to the skip roads and his response - stay in work later like I do and you`ll miss all the traffic. Same TD was contacted about the greyhound bodies that were discovered in Newbridge a few months back and again deflected and washed his hands of it saying it was a Garda issue when my question was regarding stopping funding for the industry - didnt even answer the question I asked of him.

One local FG TD was very helpful in trying to get my daughters surgery sorted - not sorted but the issue raised with the Minister for health whose office sent basically a please **** off response.

The independent was extremely helpful with different issues in the past and never once did not respond to any emails I sent her - the others - some of them never even bothered with a response.

So to answer the OPs question what they have done right - in my opinion - absolutely nothing for the ordinary citizen who they are supposed to be representing.

Maybe Im getting grumpy as I get older or maybe Im just going to start calling out all these TDs for the lack of representing that they do for their constituents. Roll on the next General Election.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

With respect, feeling like that doesn't make it so.

I frequent r/Ireland for my sins and some of the stuff posted there is unbelievable. I've seen videos of scrotes nicking bikes in broad daylight on CCTV without even covering their faces. When I was living in Dublin, the one time I walked home, some punk on a bike tried to mug me. I always got the taxi on a night out and frankly, the place is disgusting. UK equivalents at least have the decency to be cheaper. There were parts of this year when I could barely walk with foot pain and had to settle for a text from my GP telling me to buy Sketchers. A colleague has to physically go to Warsaw tomorrow to renew his ID card whereas I got my Passport (and card) done online very quickly.

I think you'd have the same problems in many other countries, particularly the UK where there are literally millions waiting for procedures on the NHS. I'm sorry to hear about your troubles. I think I'm getting angry as I get older as well. I'm single and all I want in the whole world is a wee place of my own to call home. Dublin and anywhere near it is as bad as London and rural Ireland has no jobs I could do.

I think it's easy and tempting to focus on cherrypicked anecdotes, particularly when you follow social media or the daily news. Of course, I get that you have real, lived experience which is more than fair enough. I just don't see where's better. Leo's been gaslighting people about the housing crisis but that's everywhere. Canada, Australia, the UK, etc are all horrifically expensive. I think Ireland's better than a lot of places but of course, everywhere can improve.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I think I just needed a rant!!!

It is hard to listen to the government telling us what theyve done right but when you actually need the assistance of some state bodies you dont see the whole "we`re great" thing that they keep feeding us with.

I even offered to remortgage the house to get my daughter the treatment she needed privately but like that there was no surgeon to do the OP privately here in Ireland as they are contracted to the HSE who cant do the OP in time. Went around in circles for years trying to sort it out - the only thing is she got her OP and is recovering well as it was a complete success.

When you do actually get into the system its fantastic but that little delay trying to get into the system is where it all falls flat.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Ireland seems to have an issue that a lot of countries have at the moment: a lack of ideas about solving issues that are plaguing the country such as housing, the HSE and climate change. Radical change is needed but nobody seems to know where to begin or even what to do beyond long term aspirations couched in vague rhetoric.

Because the reality is that a large swathe of the population don't want it sorted - or at least don't want to acknowledge what it takes to sort it. The 70% of people that live in home-owned houses don't want to see their "assets" being devalued or high density accommodation built for "transient" populations in their area. But they're still perfectly happy to crow about the problem. This leaves the government with an electorate who want a problem fixed but don't want the required solutions, so instead they are forever tinkering around the edges. Climate change has similar issues with people not wanting to adjust their lifestyle.

I do still find the response to these issues underwhelming and would prefer some bravery about pushing solutions that will actually help but it is what it is.

well what you're saying there is that the problems then arent that big but the complaining about them is?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

No, that's not what I'm saying at all. The problems are definitely big and real.

I'm saying there is a lot of justified complaining about the problems, but there would be more complaining among certain sectors of society about the obvious solutions and those sectors tend to vote more...

If you put out a vote to the population that you would build 50,000 homes next year to alleviate the housing crisis but every current homeowner would lost 30% of the value of their house and high density accommodation would be built in every neighbourhood I'm pretty sure I now which way the vote would go.

Now, I would rather the government pushed such things through anyway, not least with a good explainer about how the value of your primary home doesn't really matter anyway. But the solutions are not particularly palatable to people which is what makes politics so difficult and why these problems are so universal.

• Public transport is one thing they have done very badly. I'd prefer a bus to turn up or a train to arrive on time in lieu of cheap fares. They shouldn't be slapping their backs over that one.

You can travel to the city centre from the airport via tram/metro in some Euro cities for as little as €1.80. Where the **** is our metro north? It shouldn't be this difficult.

The roads of Dublin are absolutely clogged because of inadequacy and foresight to sort public transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,013 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Lack of drivers is a problem basically everywhere in Europe currently.

There has been a very significant improvement in public transport since the current Government came in, except they have been hit by the same not enough drivers thing as everywhere has. Retirements and hauliers paying more; as well as a huge increase in the number of actual bus services needing an increase in drivers are all adding up here.

The once-and-future Taoiseach is the one who cancelled the old Metro North though...

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Yes, failure to regulate the industry adequately. The same can be said for the apartments in Parkwest.

We all pay for the poor Governance. We'd all have better living standards if regulators did their jobs and we're pushed to do their jobs.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I know it's small compared to some issues raised in the thread but the plastic bag tax. It cut down on a lot of waste from single use plastic bags.

Oh and the underinvestment in military, some solid savings, they should still pay the ones that do serve a better wage though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Government seems to have washed their hands of all the major problems

Not even talk of trying to fix the health service like there was in Mary Harney's time

Housing is a crisis ,no national plan on this

Road building is progressing but there's too many sticking plaster solutions to all the major issues and no big thinking on them

Record number of homeless

Too much gimmick politics and not enough big thinking on the big issues

• Registered Users Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Preventing socialist Sinn Fein from getting into power is the only thing I can think of