Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

that’s exactly right. There is a thread on here somewhere about the dangers to society being on the right. That is absolutely correct but it’s the left, blind to or wilfully ignorant of the real effects and sentiment in the ground, that will drive us into the right’s welcoming arms. Hilary Clinton said it herself in 2018…..if the left in Europe don’t control immigration then the right eventually will

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

Can’t blame the left for this one, wouldn’t call FG left. It’s greed and well connected individuals being looked after.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭enricoh

Reading some clowns solutions to the 'housing crisis's in the Indo the other day. No mention of immigration whatsoever. Only anecdotal but some amount of 20 something's heading for oz, states etc in the new year locally. Zero chance of them renting a house here nowadays.

Independent.ie: Issuing 65000 PPS numbers to Ukrainian refugees has cost the State €176m.

A total of 260,000 PPS numbers (PPSN) have been issued in total this year, 200,000 of which have been issued to non-nationals and 60,000 to Irish babies born.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

You try to get on as a young Irish citizen to start on the ladder of life; you study, you work at lowish wages, you rent, you pay tax. And then how does the state treat you? By using your own taxes to buy up and/or rent properties in competition with you. Who'd be arsed. When Irish society looks back in 10, 20 years time and wonders what happened - this is why. Many left here in the 1950s, 60s, 70s but for very different reasons - they weren't driven out by competition with their own state.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

No no I very much understand the system.

You, however, are in here defending scumbags who are intimidating and roaring at women and children to leave the country when they haven't had any due process.

What did these people do to you, or them?

First we heard that it was nothing to do with 'genuine' asylum cases but all about the 'economic migrants'.

Then the problem shifted to single men and why are they here?

Now, it's women and families.

The penny dropped for me a long time ago that people who target those who are looking for international protection instead of the decision makers of the policy are exactly what they are portrayed as.

If you don't like it? Personally, I don't give a sh*te. The people protesting outside of that centre in Fermoy last night are vile scummy bastards.

And instead of telling me I 'don't understand the system (lol, btw)' while others are saying we have to have a cap on the number of refugees we take in? That's absolutely hilarious. That's the definition of not knowing how the law works.

But sure, find everyone guilty and f*ck them off home just because they're foreigners without being given any due process.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭JPCN1

I think FG haemorrhaging support because of their leadership group. If all of our ministers were a UK football team we'd be Kidderminster propping up div 3.

Sinn Féin will be no better. Depressing outlook.

It’s NGOs and similar in a symbiotic relationship with greed. I suppose you could look at it as a great example of the naive, blind left combining to great effect with and corruption and greed

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

The charade is also a massive financial support scheme for legions of loyal political donors who can now rent out entire derelict properties, hotels, office blocks, fields, you name it. These are in on the con.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,479 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Sinn Fein would be worse. They’ve made no secret of that. They are quite glib and delighted about it… the country could be having power outages and riots but they’d still be for unlimited population increases.

The lengths that Sinn Fein would go to and their lack of judgement ? Like their idea on Ukranians.. no limits to it….Sinn Fein, back in June, wanted to and were campaigning for the reopening of the Irish Embassy in Kiev ffs… Irish diplomats and support staff being sent back to a fûcking active war zone to work…this is what SF campaigned for…

they have zero credibility, zero trust from right thinking people, zero credible decision making ability….based on the above and more we’ve seen.

And yet they’re going to be voted in to fix the housing crisis. You couldn’t make it up

• Registered Users Posts: 25,479 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Probably see a few apartment blocks in the Phoenix park and the Burren.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Xander10

Great to see it used for vacant holiday homes and houses that landlords are struggling to let.

But what about landlords that have made tenants vacate in RPZ for "selling" and are counting down the 2 years to re-let at much higher rents?

It's a bit disingenuous them been allowed grab the €800. They have been ruthless chucking tenants out. Surely the RTB would have something to say? Or are all rules out the window when it comes to finding accommodation for Ukrainians?

It's galling to see the contempt SF have for their own voters. It's completely incoherent to embrace mass immigration during a housing crisis they (ostensibly) care so much about. Equally, it makes no sense to import swathes of cheap labour to pummel down the already low wages of their electoral base.

While the FF/FG bigwigs are hoping for nice sinecures in Brussels and well beyond, the ulterior SF motives are way more sinister----devastate the working/middle class to ultimately make a socialist government an inevitability.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Of course FG are left , we have two political stripes in Ireland, left and far left

Well the luxury hotel above that is currently block booked for non-Ukrainians costs a lot more than 70 per night. Its more like at least 200 per night, and that doesnt include dinner or lunch. How naive do they think we are suggesting they're only pay 70 per night?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Hopefully not built by those close to SF as some of them haven't the greatest record of conforming to safety standards.

Ah but shure they were "good republicans".

The only thing SF will give a shyte about is their fooking border poll, sweet f all else.

Actually I could say it is about time people in Dublin get to feel what has been foisted on small towns and villages throughout the country for a number of years.

Maybe now some people in Dublin will start giving a shyte, as up to now it was often laughing at the culchies complaining.

Some posters here are mentioning the targeting of women and children by protestors.

The thing is the pendulum has swung so far to the left (not real old fashioned workers left, but modern socially up your own ass left) that it will cause massive swing to the right.

The poster that mentioned Hilary Clinton's comment is exactly correct.

The left or what is now seen as centre are pushing ordinary native citizens to the right.

There is going to be massive political correction in a lot of European states.

The right has already grown massively in Western Europe and it is only going to go one way.

Ireland as usual is slow to the party.

And when it happens it is going to be nasty.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

100%, Ironically the far left is the most dangerous to Ireland at this point in time

• Registered Users Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

In response to TD Carol Nolan, Minister O'Gorman has provided the age breakdown of the 80 males in East Wall's

I see he referred to them as international protection applicants instead of refugees. He must get confused when he's doing the media. Poor sod

Once again we rely on an independent TD to get some transparency from gov. Nolan has been respectful in her approach to this issue and has been th most persistent. How do they verify the information provided by those arriving with no documents before stating it as fact in a response to a parliamentary question? Also if these individuals don't have identification is the statutory right to anonymity void? Is this just another 'clever' tool by O'gorman's team can use to deflect from the fact he, nor his colleagues have a clue where these individuals are coming from

• Registered Users Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭jackboy

I notice that a big deal is being made with discussion around having a cap. Those who suggest a cap get a hard time and are not too subtly portrayed as racist.

The truth is there is absolutely a cap now, based on the what we have made available. It’s not a cap by number but by our actions. Those who say we must do what we can are lying. We could take a couple hundred thousands and more, easily by government action. Everyone in the country has a limit to the numbers they would be ok with.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

I’d love to know how giving their nationality would impinge upon their anonymity.

Well, you clearly havent walked around Dublin city. The entire inner city resembles a vast ghetto, unrecognizable in character to even 10 years ago. But don't get me wrong. It pains me to see once fine towns like Killarney now essentially serving as refugee camps, but come to inner city Dublin to see a picture of the future

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭enricoh

There was a protest last week about male asylum seekers bussed into carlingford. The buildings owner who has hit the jackpot with them has reassured the locals that they are ' a lovely bunch of lads'.

Seems an honest, unbiased view to me, what more info do people want?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭The Real President Trump

But we brought skill, work ethics but drink problems from the pain of emigration. Nobody wants a dirty drunken kunt in their house

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭The Real President Trump

Nothing, absolutely nothing it's actually the most egalitarian approach

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Hopefully they put some of the NGO's in there with them

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

How can refugees cause a housing crisis? The overwhelming majority are accommodated in refugee centres, hotels, large public buildings, army barracks etc. i.e. places where Irish people don't actually live. None of them are placed by the state in private houses or apartments (apart from those who have been generously offered accommodation by host families).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭maninasia

Ukraninians are one thing.

But you cant just say 'tough luck' to tourist towns that depend on the trade.

Besides there is a limit and balance to everything.

Post edited by maninasia on

The issue is that the majority of refugees are granted permission to stay and then join the housing list

• Registered Users Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Repost but with links/sources this time. I had copied the original from my notes on the desktop but the hyperlinks didn't carry over. Again some quick statics to read through to show you how much of a priority we care.

Until 31st October there have been 11,142 applications for International Protection. 20.6% (2,300 apps) were from Georgia. Somalia 12.6% (1409 apps), Algeria 11.8%…(1318 apps), Zimbabwe 7.6%…(845 apps), Nigeria 7.5%…(837 apps) and 39.8%…(4433 apps) were from "Other". This is a 516.6% increase on the figure for the same period in 2021 (1807 apps). €280 million has been spent on asylum seekers. €230m was only allocated for 3,500 people.

As of November 21st, we have accepted 62,425 Ukrainian refugees and €337 million has been spent on accommodation and related services, and as of October €6.5 million has been spent on social welfare for Ukrainians.

To date €176m had been spent on 65,000 PPS numbers for Ukrainians who have sought refuge in Ireland. 200,000 have been issued to non-nationals seeking international protection. Ireland is also set to spend in excess of €1 Billion on the fallout from the war in Ukraine in 2023.

Justice minister Helen McEntee added a further €18 million in funding from the 2023 budget to speed up the process of applying for refugee status and “to reduce the risk of people remaining in the system" .......I think it’s just a representation of the changing environment, a changing world, and many global challenges that people are facing, including climate and war. So we need to be able to respond.

• So far this year her illegal Amnesty delight has so far generated more than €3.73 million in fees. There have been 8,400+ applicants. 64% of the apps are male. 2,835 apps were granted, with 34 refused. 5,307 still to be determined. Brazilians (1,504 apps), Pakistan (1,307), China (1,159, incl HK), Philippines (751), Nigeria (446), and India (313).
    • As of 2022 - 3,775 people, mostly Syrians, have been resettled in Ireland since the Irish Refugee Protection Programme (IRPP) was established in 2015. The State committed in late 2019 to resettle an additional 2,900 Syrians from Lebennoo and Jordan by 2023, along with a 'very small number of Eritreans from Ethiopia.
    • In 2017 Mcentee allocated €4.5 million from the Asylum Migration & Integration Fund (AMIF) for 20 migrant integration NGO projects to cover the period 2019-2022. It's not yet known how much Ireland will contribute to the EU’s €9.9 billion fund but in the dail O’Gorman, the manager of fund, gleefully stated that payments would be “flowing to successful applicants in 2022”...No more info on this.

11,689 living in Direct Provision, 40% on the same time last year. Highest since early 2002, when 11,600 apps for asylum were made.

• The latest data available shows the State spent over €175 million on Direct Provision accommodation in 2020 alone. An increase of 36% compared to €129 million spent in 2019, and €78 million in 2018.
    • A 2016 report found that 90% of asylum applications are refused. ESRI estimates that 80% of those who are refused asylum are never deported

As of 25/11/22, there are currently 11,397 homeless people, with homelessness showing an increase of 31% in the past year, while child homelessness is up by 41% during the same period. There are 1,532 families in emergency accommodation, children accounted for 3,480 up by 3.8% in October. 4,974 (males) & 2,973 women. 18-24 y/o homelessness increased by 27.7% in a year. People aged 65+ residing in and presenting to emergency accommodation grew by 39% in 12 months. Over the same period, people aged between 45 & 64 grew by 32%. 70 homeless deaths have been recorded so far this year. A total of 357 homeless people in Dublin alone died over the past 5 years.

——————————————————————————————————————————————————

1/4 of the state's population is on health waiting lists. 25% Increase from 2020 patients spending time on trolleys. 393+ children spent time on trolleys in October alone, 2022. 32 children on the waiting list alone for scoliosis surgery. Children with disabilities on waiting lists for services: Initial assessment/ therapy 51,959, Speech+Language therapy 30,789, Occupational therapy 13,370, Physiotherapy 7,800. When added to hospital waiting lists, about 220,000 children are on some form of waiting list for care. Kids as young as 3 waiting up to 4 years for sex abuse therapy. And 24-hour A+E waiting times are to be expected.

• 42% of Irish adults have a mental health disorder. 10%+ attempted suicide. The latest data show that between 2018 and 2020 Gardai had to intervene in self-harming and suicide attempts almost 15,000 times under the Mental Health Actin. In 2020 Gardai logged 5757 incidents under the Mental Health Act (Up 941 from 2019)
    • HSE has spent €7million+ over the last two and half years on interpreters and translators. Costing €3.4 million in 2021 and in the first 6 months this year, €1.6 million.

——————————————————————————————————————————————————

As of 2019, house prices have risen by 68% & wages by just 9% since 2013. In 2019, 54% of 18-34 y/o still lived with their parents, up from 44% in 2011. 28% of homes built in 2021 were only available to the general public, the rest were purchased by foreign investor funds & various social housing bodies & charities. Of the 4,100 affordable and Cost Rental homes promised for 2022, only 325 affordable and 234 Cost Rental homes have been delivered to end of Q2 2022. Of the 9,000 social homes promised for 2022, only 1,500 have been delivered at the midpoint in 2022

The share of 25-34 y/o’s who own their own home fell from 60% to 27%. between 2004-19. 45% (above EU average) of 25-29 y/o are still living in the family home. ESRI found the share of 25-34 y/o’s who own their own home fell from 60% to just 27% between 2004 & 2019, and will create higher rates of poverty in retirement.

On average rents rose 84% in 9 years. On average people spend 36% of their monthly net income on rent, while 1/4 spend 40%+ on rent. A Threshold survey shows 64% of people are renting because they cannot afford a home, increasing from 49% in 2020. 28% felt they would be able to afford one. A recent report by Threshold shows 2-in-3 people are renting because they cannot afford a home. 

59,247 on the housing list to date with people showing to be on the list for 10-15 years

2/3 of people over 65 year old provide financial help to family members.

But yeah...sure didn't the Irish emigrate......

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Isn't everyone on the housing list 'causing' the housing crisis then, not just refugees?