Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭Jeff2

• Registered Users Posts: 18,657 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The future of Russia is fascinating to ponder. The dictator may well have banjaxed them and left them permanently weaker on the global stage. It looks for all the world like a country in serious decline.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭blarney_boy

Late to the party but just a comment on that video by the UK squaddie who served in Ukraine . . .

It seems that Ukraine still has a problem with Russian / Soviet Union type corruption, it's getting better but it must be very frustrating for Ukranian patriots and foreign volunteers to see incompetent Generals appointed who actively work against their national interest . . . it reminds me of the Abraham Lincoln quote about his Secretary of War Simon Cameron "the only thing he wouldn't steal is a red hot stove"

Times of war bring out the best and worst in people. . . you have the self sacrifice and courage under fire but also wholesale raping and looting . . . one side of the conflict is mostly engaged in the former and the other side in the later.

I do hope that when the dust is settled in this special military operation, that those who have acted with honor in a time of crisis are lauded by the general public and those individuals that have acted dishonorably are sent back to hell (Russia or whats left of it).

• Registered Users Posts: 20,053 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Border guards shot down an enemy SU-34 on the outskirts of Bakhmut

The calculation of MANPADS landed an enemy "bird" with a shot when it appeared near the positions of the SBGS fighters. The fate of the pilots is not yet known, but we hope that the cost of 2 new "Lad" will be added to the expenses of Russia😉

P.S. The cost of the destroyed fighter is estimated at $ 50 million.

Another expensive day for the Horde, as Ukraine captured a rare T90 tank in good nick, plus of course the 510 troops they are losing per day.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,392 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Just evaluate what he has to say before taking it at face value. In this case, I would presume he hasn't prompted his guest and can be taken at face value as an interview from a participant.

That said, the understanding by that bloke of how the US military works is... questionable. He doesn't seem to understand that US Army units are rotational, you could be in 1st Armored this week, and next tour assigned to the 10th Mountain that he seems to hold in high regard.

He also has completely missed the point of why the US is so good at conventional fighting. Quote: "It's very easy to be the best army in the world if you can get an F-16 to come and blow up a mortar team on the hillside".

No. That's the hard bit. If it was easy, everyone would be doing it, including the Ukrainians. The reason the US has the best army in the world (at least, the most effective) is because the US military has put so many resources and training into the subject. If you're really, really good at something, you will make it look easy.

Supposedly around 2,000.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭threeball

It's curtains for the Russians if they managed to do this in reasonable numbers. Considering the protection that river provided and the fact the Ukrainians took some downtime once Kherson was liberated, for the Russians to concede this territory so easily shows an army incapable of holding anything.

Ukraine will now be able to push towards Donetsk from the south which will relieve the pressure on bakmuth as Russians will need to redeploy whilst another battalion head south to clear enough space to bring across artillery safely.

They'll take the entire coast north of crimea and take aim at anything they fancy from there, including the bridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Rawr

They need to be careful across the Dnipro, at least until they have a really well defended crossing. The Russians themselves were in serious jeopardy in Kherson City due to risk of being cut off from supply and getting trapped. The same could happen in the opposite direction, and the Russians might even be hoping for this. Best case, you are right, and their conscripts have bugged out to a safer defensive position near Crimea.

Donetsk is ringed with well established defences. I think Ukraine could probably overcome these eventually and retake the city but that will not be an easy fight (which has been ongoing since 2014). I think if they ever do break through and take Donetsk, it will be as damning to the Russian mis-adventure as loosing Crimea would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭zv2

I don't know if they are Tartars but they are brave and smart whoever they are.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

• Registered Users Posts: 8,520 ✭✭✭jmreire

They say that if you want to know the future, look to the past. Well I don't know if that is true or not. but if so, a good long look at the bBC series "TraumaZone" will be a good indicator.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,467 ✭✭✭Markcheese

The US are starting to train a brigade size (ish) unit of Ukrainian troops in Germany ,

Supposedly in combined arms , but they're only getting a month or so , I assume they'll train as they'll fight so they'll need whatever equipment they'll use in Ukraine , if the US can keep up the pace of training 1 brigade a month , that'll be a division by early summer ...

How would Us abilities and equipment hold up to trying to dislodge a well dug in/ fortified opposition , without the benfit of airpower..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

At Zaporizhzhia direction Russian army shelled Orikhiv, - General Staff of Armed Forces of Ukraine says in the morning report

no sign of the ZNPP changing hands anytime soon

Dundalk, Co. Louth

Whether or not there are pitched mass tank battles is irrelevant, they are still using them a lot. Back in March Zelensky was asking for 1% of NATOs planes and tanks. He didn't get them. I have no issue with artillery being repaired in Poland, it's very sensible, but it's completely beside the point, which was how much stuff Ukraine has with which to fight the Worlds third/second largest military. Not to mention the down time for each piece is probably 5 or more days just for transporting them to Poland and back, which is a roughly 2,000 km round trip

In June, the Orcs had 10-15 artillery pieces for each one Ukraine had, and you think it's no big deal that with a third out of action at any one time that's reduced to 1:20, say, allowing for Orc ones also pulled for maintenance.

My issue is about effectie numbers, not maintenance. Every politician; official and their dog are mouthing platitudes along the lines of 'Russia can not be allowed to win'; 'however long it takes'; 'whatever they need'; Russia must be defeated but the practical follow through has been risible, given the scale of the problem.

National security adviser Jake Sullivan says the US is committed to providing Ukraine with the "weapons it needs" to fight Russia.

And yet they wont send tanks, Patriots, Drones or planes. The list of what they haven't and won't send them is far longer than what they have sent. Looking at it another way, the US built up it's massive arsenal predicated on that's what they would 'need' to defeat Russia, and yet what they are actually sending Ukraine to do that same job is relative peanuts.

The US gifted more weapons to the Taliban than it has given to Ukraine, and with that they are supposed to defeat Russia. A bit late to realise you probably should have sent Patriot batteries after Ukraine's electrical grid is finally knocked out completely and 10m Ukrainians flood into Europe to try and find warmth and light. I saw a video report that makes the problem hit home - a family were in a shopping centre with their PS age daughter to get power for the ventilator she needed because it had a generator. That's at least 2 soon to be refugees if the grid goes down for the count.

Aircraft worth $923.3 million remained in Afghanistan. The US left 78 aircraft procured for the government of Afghanistan at Hamid Karzai International Airport in Kabul before the end of the withdrawal. These aircraft were demilitarized and rendered inoperable before the US military left, the report states...

More than 300,000 of the total 427,300 weapons the US gave to Afghan forces remained in Afghanistan at the time of the US military withdrawal, according to the report. Less than 1,537,000 of the “specialty munitions” and “common small arms ammunition,” valued at a total of $48 million, are still in the country, the report states.

“Nearly all” of the communications equipment that the US gave to Afghan forces, including base-station, mobile, man-portable and hand-held commercial and military radio systems, and associated transmitters and encryption devices also remained in Afghanistan at the time of the withdrawal, the report states.

“Nearly all” night vision, surveillance, “biometric and positioning equipment” totaling nearly 42,000 pieces of specialized equipment remained in the country, the report adds.

And “nearly all,” of the explosive ordinance disposal and demining equipment, including 17,500 “pieces of explosive detection, electronic countermeasure, disposal and personal protective equipment” also remained in Afghanistan, according to the report.

https://edition.cnn.com/2022/04/27/politics/afghan-weapons-left-behind/index.html

Ukraine are not the only ones adept at media manipulation, the wests politicians are dab hands at it also and have done a great job bigging up their efforts and what has been supplied to Ukraine and loudly proclaiming how much they will do, but this has not been remotely matched by realities on the ground.

Some of the wests best air defence systems have been sent to Poland, not Ukraine. If Ukraine win, Poland wouldn't need them, if it falls, they certainly will. Far better to give Sky Sabre and Patriot batteries to Ukraine, rather than Poland, they actually need them right now.

So give them the logistics train as well. The west dictating what Ukraine 'needs' is pretty galling when it's contrary to what Ukraine says it needs and is asking for, aside from the escalation stuff.

“We expect the United States to supply us with its Abrams tanks, and Germany with its Leopard 2. These are the modern tanks that Ukraine needs on the battlefield,” Shmyhal said.

“The Russians have very good, well-prepared positions in this area, so it’s difficult to push them out,” one front-line Ukrainian commander told the Washington Post last week. “Even if you shoot accurately with artillery, you might kill some Russian soldiers, but other ones just come back to these positions,” the commander with the call sign “Playboy” said. “To move forward, we need a lot of tanks, [armored personnel carriers], and human resources.”

It would be great if the US delivered even a token handful of Abrams because of this sort of idiocy:

Berlin's position is that it is reluctant to transfer main battle tanks to Ukraine until the United States supplies its M1 Abrams main battle tanks.

And then you have more of this sort of nonsense:

In response to earlier requests by Ukraine to Germany for the supply of modern tanks, German Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock said that the priority for Ukraine now is air defense systems.

Heaven forbid the thought that they might need both and that one should not preclude the other.

https://news.yahoo.com/germany-eventually-transfer-leopard-tanks-134600924.html

It looks like Spain offered it's 40 spare Leopard II tanks, but there are logistical problems in retreiving them from storage. Perhaps Gemany and others could lend them a hand with the logists and speed that process up.

Why have stuff like this, and yet not follow through?

The U.S. House of Representatives has approved $100 million for training Ukrainian pilots to fly U.S. fighter jets, as Russia’s invasion of Ukraine approaches its fifth month. The move was part of a broader $840 billion defense spending package setting the Pentagon’s budget priorities for the coming year.

Logistics that.

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mike3549

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

Explosions were reported in several districts of Belgorod region near the border of Ukraine

both sides under attack

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users Posts: 16,623 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I suggest you take a look at the terrain around where the flag was raised before drawing such a conclusion.

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

FFS, don't tell me they were mobilised as well.

First attack with a 🇬🇧 #Brimstone2 missile successful. A complete Buk-M3 complex of invaders from #Russland was destroyed at Kherson reports, @Guild__Hall reports. The Brimstone2 is a state-of-the-art guided rocket.

I don't know, maybe this: "Only an incredibly stupid person could believe that Ukraine are going to attempt a landing on the opposite shore of the Dnipro"

And this: "My claim was that liberation of the left bank would have to come over land and that Ukraine would not try going over the river."

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

But the Ukrainans have been crossing the river fairly regularly,

I still don't see 20 tanks Leopards or Abrams making that much difference in the overall scheme of things in Ukraine,they already posses thousands of their own tanks ,and they aren't gaining that much ground with tank lead attacks,the biggest issue seems to be artillery,they could mount an armorer assault with tanks,IFVs ,Apcs and other vehicles but if Russia can bring hundreds of artillery guns and rockets into the same attack Ukraine would lose a significant amount of armor, vehicles and men , they have been doing a stellar job so far , but they need more HiMars and MLR270s with longer range munitions and better equipped drones that can bring more firepower to bear and the ability to provide realtime intelligence at the same time over a longer ranges and time,

If Americans see big ticket items such as Abrams and F16s getting lost the public outcry from less than honest policy makers could see a change in what's support is offered in future,

As we already seen with the Germans patriot missles and other military equipment

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭grumpyperson

Just came across this on anti-war

So, first. The National Security and Defense Council instructed the Government to submit to the Verkhovna Rada a draft law on making it impossible for religious organizations affiliated with centers of influence in the Russian Federation to operate in Ukraine.

Appears Russian orthodox church is banned in Ukraine?

Oh I believe that. Those where francis' claims, i just dont know how to multi-quote.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭mikewest

So Kirill had been shown the middle finger months ago?

I'm not seeing the problem here.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭mikewest

Oh and if you want to see an end to the war and have peace break out, how about petitioning the Russians to feck off home and re-establish pre 2013 borders. It's a very simple solution to the whole anti war thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Flipped onto the next topic without addressing replies to your previous nonsense. I did say you would. At least you are consistent.

Not sure what your point is in the latest post either. What do you think Ukraine should do with a religion that wants to wipe out Ukrainians?