Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Registered Users Posts: 16,167 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You would have to be a nawful eejit to get yourself into debt over Xmas presents.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,268 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Oh but I bet there'll be bleeding hearts taking up the airwaves in January complaining about the cost of living after lavishing their kids with presents and bedecking their houses with lights.

Which segues nicely into my opinion that Christmas is the number one religious festival, across ALL creeds, that highlights Western greed. No other religious event has become more detached from its origin/meaning.

And has anyone else noticed that the cost of living crisis and sustainability seems to have taken a backseat now its the (ever-expanding) Christmas season? 'Reduce your thermostat by 1 degree, but make sure to overspend on presents for your spoilt children".

"Reduce your waste, yet erect santa post boxes in every town and fill them with letters that will be immediately thrown out".

'Think of the needy and vulnerable this Christmas, while overstocking your fridge with food, a lot of which will go to waste too'.

I love catching up with friends and the excuse to socialise over Christmas (which isn't as frequent any more as we gradually settle down), and lazing on the couch on the day itself, but the cynic in me hates all the commercialisation and faux happiness of it. And don't get me started on the perfect instagram pics. Oh and pretty much all Christmas movies are shite.

I'm sure I'll be labeled a Grinch now.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,167 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Preach brother.

Grinch: Childish insult used by those who have overspent, overeaten and over stressed at Xmas against those who don't conform to the materialistic monster it has turned into.

Post edited by whisky_galore on

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

The Banshees of Inisherin is a very boring movie.

Always around this time of years there's an explosion in the number of threads in the context of "My very own Pity-Party Thread...if you read this then consider it your Invite to my pity party and you're obliged to post on this thread "

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭orourkeda1

I've been a member at Bohemians for over 30 years and have gone to watch the Ireland team home games since I was a schoolboy and have travelled all over europe and beyond to watch both in this period. However, I travel to and work in Birmingham regularly and have a family connection with the Area and have also been travelling to watch a team in the area for a significant period as well.

I understand what ypu mean but some people do both.

https://www.orourkeda.blog

I'll stop you when I disagree with you. Oh, you forgot the whole "we can't pay our leccy but we'll put up strings of lights and santas all over the place". House near us has a projector with a massive sleigh image projected on next doors wall. A projector !

• Registered Users Posts: 55,511 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Game of Thrones was utter gick

• Registered Users Posts: 25,293 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

As regards the LOI…Join the dots and realise that the money which our governments have thrown at the GAA for decades tens of millions … where other sports in this country like soccer and athletics get a pittance in comparison because…politics.

The biggest LOI ground in Ireland, Tallaght Stadium, only holds 8000 people. It’s owned by the county council with Rovers just having use of it.

the Tipperary GAA today put the Semple Stadium multi million upgrade on hold…

“The main thing is that we’ve a project ready to go now in the event of funding coming in. We know it’ll be slow enough now coming back from Croke Park and Government funding as well with everything that’s going on. We have it there now for when everything is right.”

GAA click fingers and taxpayers are supposed to cough up… when it’s not immediately available… “ ok, but we’ll still be here waiting for it ya know “

Bohemians FC were looking for a bit of an upgrade for Dalymount and the wait was 15 plus years. 918,000 euros was granted in 2020.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Not only controversial, but just plain wrong:

Irish football receives €1.2m more in government funding than rugby and GAA combined, figures released by Sport Ireland have shown.

The LOI is in the **** because their own governing body doesn't take it seriously.

John deleaneys salary was more than the prize money for the top two divisions *combined* - the fai is and was always one of the worst run sports organisations in the country

• Registered Users Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Farmed salmon should be banned.

It doesnt even taste like wild salmon.

Its pumbed full of all sorts or crap to keep the parasites away. Its litreally the most toxic food people can eat.

It has a detrimental effect on wild salmon sea trout. Not to mention millions of tonnes of wild fish are caught yearly to feed these sickly fish.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,353 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It's much easier for average looking & boring people to remain faithful to their partner's/spouses.

People of average appearance don't have to resist the same temptation as their more attractive counterparts.

Handsome Gerry who keeps himself fit doing triathlons is going to have more opportunities and temptation than fat Paddy who slurps Guinness and cheers on Man Utd from the couch every weekend.

I say this as a very ugly & boring, but nontheless thought provoking chap.

Basically it's easy condone cheating and remain faithful if your an ugly gombeen head

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭The Real President Trump

If women put more effort into giving good blow jobs men wouldn't be bothered about cheating

• Registered Users Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Irish Unity will be the end of Sinn Fein. They will be split over the flag, anthem, guaranteed Unionist representation in future Cabinets etc. etc.

Unionist and establishment parties will survive but SF won’t be able to define what they are anymore and go the way of so many other parties.

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

It's in the news a but today - Cheers was shite!

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Dr. Greenthumb

Anxiety is an affliction of the weak minded.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭j2

What of the incel question? My controversial opinion might be that they are among the most dangerous individuals who live among us, or at the fringes of society. I know of a guy whose brother is a big dangerous incel type. He is morbidly obese, big wrinkly belly hanging down below his tshirt type fat and huge set of bingo wings. Big pube face beard and a blow out acne pizza face. Extreme shut-in type, keeps the curtains closed in his apartment and consumes multiple takeaways a day along with sugary drinks. He has an extremely high voice which is weird enough, but he recites these obviously pre-written speeches about R/K selection, female dating strategy, and divorce courts if he's ever around you. He just blurts them out while other people are in the middle of conversation. Outrageous smell of piss off the kid too, plus he has admitted to drinking his piss and eating his faeces. Huge addiction to online camgirls, and he works online so he's jacking 24/7 with one of his triple monitors always displaying porno! He apparently kneed a girl in the head when he was in school during PE years ago and has threated to punch his brother a number of times even though he can barely walk around his room, and has elaborate fantasies about ruling over people and sending people to gulags etc. Can these people be said to live among us without risk to others?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,242 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Peter McVerry is a total charlatan.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,504 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Ronan o Gara is an obnoxious bellend

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

The sale, supply and use of all two-wheel-drive SUVs, that can seat fewer than seven adults, should be banned. They serve no purpose whatsoever, other than to make it easy to immediately identify idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,192 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭The Real President Trump

• Registered Users Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Don’t know much about him or his organisation. Genuinely interested to hear why you think that.

Post edited by hoodie6029 on

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,242 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

McVerry? Handed a blank cheque to take the dregs of society of DCC's hands, also given a heap of houses, apartments and even land to build on and administer as they see fit. Places these people wherever with no consideration of the problems/issues these people have, the local area, or other tenants that have the misfortune of being near them. Any assistance for these people is from a skeleton crew of mostly volunteers or chuggers, who ultimately fail in helping these people who they are really not qualified to assist with in the first place. A giant scam with a holier-than-thou figurehead, latest accounts show assets of €135m with an annual wage bill of €33m, I hear he was in the news again this week complaining. The man won't be happy til he is ruling his own ghetto funded by the public purse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭GavPJ

And funds being used to pay fines and bail money!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Social welfare in Ireland is way too generous in many cases. Able bodied people who are on the dole for more than two years should have their benefits cut very significantly.

Also the social housing given to scroungers is of way too high a standard, many of them are living in homes that are better than those of the working people who pay for them.

These opinions would be considered controversial if a politician uttered them, but most people know that they are correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,293 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You are plain wrong :). I’m talking about historically as specified in my post :) The FAI are receiving extra investment now from the government just to stay afloat. They were / are 60 million in debt. Having received paltry funding considering the participation numbers.

Considering how wealthy the GAA are, how productive the revenue streams are from the games, they don’t require such taxpayers investment and other sports like athletics, rugby, cricket, tennis are only beginning to start to see a fairer chunk of taxpayers cash. But doing a lot themselves.

look at the sport Ireland numbers..

GAA are just…

The measure of a society is how well it treats it's vulnerable. There but for the grace of God and all that.

McVerry is a demagogue who loves media attention almost as much as Brian Darcy

It’s fine if you are a card carrying liberal