Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What job would you hate the most? and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I dunno. I think some do care.

Like all jobs, we can all get frustrated. I know I do.

But my job doesn't involve serious potential violence and calling to mammy/daddy doors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Same, I deal with older people often while working, I think they are great, they always pay you and never have a problem with the price etc and just have a relaxed way about them and love a chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Exactly. Don't get me wrong there are pricks of every age, but I find older people easier to deal with. Yeah, a few minutes extra on the phone, but so what.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭French Toast

Secondary teaching. More and more young people being reared by iPads and YouTube.

Give it another 5 years and you haven't a prayer of capturing a 13 year old's attention with a whiteboard and a few markers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'm amazed care assistants haven't been mentioned yet. The pay is barely more than minimum wage if you're lucky, and I can scarcely imagine the emotional toll of getting to know so many residents only for them to die...and that was before Covid.

And don't get me started on the gross parts of the job, or travelling care assistants. I had to help a relative fill out mileage sheets every month, and off the top of my head, maybe half of the days involved over 200km of driving.

Most people who die in Nursing homes are elderly, 80's, 90's over 100 etc its just a part of life that we die when we get to that age, im sure the care assistants know this and don't take it so bad when they pass away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭con___manx1

A nurse in a hospice or childrens hospital. Dont no how they do it. You would realy need to be very mentally strong to be dealing with sick or dying kids on a daily basis. I have the highest admiration and respect for those nurses all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭taylor3

Cleaning toilets 🤢 Just last week I was in Arnotts in Dublin for a bit of Christmas shopping, went into the ladies to use the facilities. One cubicle that was empty I walked into and as I always do I looked down the toilet ☹ walked straight back out and rejoined her queue. It was disgusting I honestly couldn't cope with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yeah, the nursing home carers / staff see off literally hundreds of people over their career if it’s anyway long.

im sure there is some degree of sadness at the time but I imagine it doesn’t stay all that long… there will be somebody else occupying the clients room / bed in no time…. They have to get on helping them.

A friends wife works in a care home on the front desk. She was saying it pretty strange how fast you get accustomed to the conveyor belt of one out, one in… and seeing sadness, despair… chatting with a well enough client of a Monday and by Friday they are in the morgue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Proctologist - even if you are an arse man, nobody is going to visit you to show you how sexy their arse is. Sick arses only for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Copper… tough job dealing with some tough and very traumatic situations, as well as some truly despicable human beings…and to top it off, watching your hard work getting pissed all over when said despicable human beings are in and out and in and out of prison, all the while free to continue terrorizing people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

That's all fairly procedural stuff when you think about it. If you can get over the squeamishness (a big if of course), you do the job and away you go. No pressure, your not worrying about life or death

id still hate it….but It’s apparently not so procedural when you get someone who has died as the result of trauma, like motor vehicle accidents, work related stuff, the lad was talking about a decapitation from a crash….what else you can do with the head if it can’t be reattached…. 👀 missing limbs… etc..

id be tempted to put the head under the arm and winking with tongue out.…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Definitely a Garda even though I applied 40 years ago 🙄

Having to deal with so called ethnic minorities fighting and anti social behavior time and time again

Having to call to someones' house in the AM or any time and tell them a family member has died in a car accident

And generally having to deal with scum

Couldn't do it! No way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

GP - every day I'd be working with people who are miserable and sick. Think it would eventually wear me down

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Paul Pogba

Honestly, bin man!! I’d say they’ve seen things!! And don’t start me on the bin ‘juice’, imagine that when you’re hungover on a Monday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

The very thought! I stopped eating lamb after raising twin orphan lambs... Beef after making friends with my bovine neighbours... My cats are obligate carnivores so they get raw chicken and i get a little too.. I could not be a produce farmer. The ultimate betrayal..A farmer I knew once raised an orphan lamb.. was sending it to market with the rest when it started bleating to him.... He of course rescued it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,211 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

You were lucky Jim. Think its all to do with the people you work with or are in contact with.

Tried it for a while a few years ago when I was moving up to clinical nurse specialist job from an all patient facing role and nearly went mad!

Ended up dreading the phone ringing. Found myself very tense and inhibited having conversations with patients with other staff in background, that I never would have noticed before in the busy clinical situation.

Can take any sort of busy in a clinical setting but not an office environment where there are other staff at close quarters, just too claustrophobic for me. Felt eyes and ears everywhere and tongues wagging when anybody left the room. A bit toxic. Got out of there to a dect phone and a laptop in a tiny space which was next to the clinical space where I was happy to be, with friends and colleagues whom I know and love. It was not ideal but I eventually hot desked in the unit office and everybody there was too busy to be listening and gossiping about others.

Retired now but do some research work parttime at my own pace.

most farmers don't really care about the animals in my opinion, they just see money walking around the fields. I cant believe the farmer would send a pet lamb to the factory, what a monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Anything around the animal welfare area. My hands would go straight to auto-strangle on any offending humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,920 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Anything involving children, cause I really don't like them.

Dairy Farmer by far. Awful work, awful conditions, dreadful weather, no time off, problems every day

Politician

Can’t please everybody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

Along with having to deal with the elderly/ dying and dentists.

Worst job would have to be Cabin crew; spending most of the day in the air and then having to clean the place before the next flight. Deffo budget carriers would be the worst to work for. You'd earn as much if not more as a waiter / waitress and avoid the risk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

A nurse. Working 12 hour shifts in a hospital would be hell.

Some get great pay and they get to see some great cities, they stay over often and chill at the pool or go to the beach etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Strange as it seems it's a love job for a nurse, I couldn't be an oncologist imagine having to tell a mother of a 5 and 7-year-old and her husband there is nothing they can do for them anymore and are recommending palliative care. The thing people forget about working in a nursing home is that it can be great fun. I would also hate to be a teacher I would end up being charged with murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭orourkeda1

I'm not really a people person and I have great difficulty hiding even mild annoyance with them.

Anyone who deals with the public every day and excels at it should be rewarded appropriately.

I wouldn't last 5 seconds in a job like this.

https://www.orourkeda.blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭notAMember

Most of the jobs listed here I would enjoy. I like the public, waited tables and was in support roles in my youth, had fun. slaughterhouse work is ok too I think for craft butchers, a sense of pride in work and humane treatment of good quality animals. Low quality product like meat factory , not so much.

Medical or social services are also interesting jobs, constantly changing

Repetitive boring work is what I don’t like. Anything that can be automatic . Visual inspection of boxes for example . Or filling out forms .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

HR. The absolute **** you'd be working with on a daily basis would have me going postal in no time.

Any job dealing with members of the public tbh. Shower of dickheads.

Rubbish, they've only a three day week doing this allowing plenty of time to do agency work and make a killing. Not to mention picking up allowances for working in the evening.

• Anything where you have to deal with people, especially the general public, customer interface etc. I did it all my working life and now realise I’d have been better doing creative stuff interspersed with working behind a computer screen. It’s not to say I didn’t sometimes enjoy my customer interactions. I did like being a supervisor and got on well with the colleagues I supervised, I was a good little team leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

James Reilly (the then minister) tried to address the 12 hour shifts and offer nurses 5 7/8 hour shifts instead - there was huge objection from the Nurses themselves. Many of them had structured their lives around the shift work; like able to live further from their workplace and only commute 3 days a week; max 3 days of childcare etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭maninasia

Thats a fundamental misunderstanding of sales. Great sales people can explain what is good for their customers and guide them through the whole process of the solution that they need. Many products and services are complex to understand and explain. Often sales people act as a tremendous knowledge resource for others. Its not enough to have the gift of the gab nor is it often neccessary, they must be smart and have perseverance , flexible in dealing with different personalities and mentor their customers and their own organisations.

I probably wouldn't make the world's best sea going fisherman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Unfortunately most people think of Swiss Tony and Aloe Vera sales when they think of sales jobs.

Selling a complex piece of software or equipment to a multinational is also a sales job but that’s not what is in someone’s head.

Having worked in one highly-unionised job, I’d hate to work somewhere like that again. Rigid roles, no progression, ‘I’m finishing in 15 minutes so I can’t help you with that 5 minute job’.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

What's with all the sympathy for guards and what they have to do? I thought we done away with doffing the hat when priests lost their influence.

Gardai are well paid with defensive clothing and equipment. It's the poor sods working security in the Spar or tk maxx that encounter scum with no equipment we should be protecting and giving more rights to defend themselves.

The Garda love an old compo claim and every one of them aim for at least one over a career. Some of their claims would make a toddler look tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm talking specifically about working as a nurse in a hospital which would be my idea of hell. Whether or not the nurses like it and are making good money is irrelevant as that's not what the thread is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Kurooi

I'm gonna say ER nurse. I'm squeamish enough and generally dislike people so I'd be no good for and take no pride or pleasure from the job.

The working hours and pay are nothing to envy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

That's a very broad brush you have there. Shop security don't have to worry about anything, most can't touch people anyway so just let it happen and they're more useful as a witness.

New Gardai are not well paid, the "defensive" clothing is years old, unfit for purpose. Equipment is basic and lacking and not evolving. The private security on the Luas has better gear. Going on my reg number, there have been at least 34000 Gardai since the formation of the state (not including women who got different reg's for the first good few years after they were allowed join). So going by your statement, there have been at least 36000 cases brought against the state by Gardai?

I was assulted a number of times during my service, no one was even brought to court over it. The government and people don't care what happens to Gardai. Easily known you haven't a clue of what you're talking about.

I can’t see what the appeal is…

feck all overnights unless it’s transatlantic or intercontinental.

turnarounds are often 40 minutes or less so when you land you get feck all of a break….

a cousin of mine was mad to give it a go.. he was talked out of it by his mothers friend…. Who had worked as one…The detailed machinations of the gig put paid to that ambition.

money isn’t great either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

A good friend of mine would be one of those "compo claims" you're referring to. Got thrown down a stairs by a scumbag with a rap sheet as long as your arm, suffered permanent nerve damage. Hasn't been able to work since. Can't drive, can't play football with his nieces and nephews, has days when he can't get out of bed due to chronic pain. Of course the scumbag is walking free due to whatever bs about his "troubled childhood" his lawyer sold the court.

Actually, there's another job I couldn't do: barrister. It takes a degree of amorality I don't suffer from to be able to defend people in court (often in the full knowledge that they're likely to reoffend the minute you get them off with a slap on the wrists). The legal types make all sorts of noble arguments about it being the prosecutors job to secure the conviction, everyone deserving a defence etc but let's face it, all they really care about is getting paid. I couldn't live with myself if I knew people were likely to suffer as a result of me using some loophole or exploiting a judge's known softness for a sob story.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Carer in an old folks home. I really wouldn't have the temperment for it. Hats off to the people that do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,211 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I know very few people who were able to work those shifts (which are actually 13 hour shifts as don't get lunch or tea breaks included) and then look after a family and have any decent time off AND do agency on top!

Thats a myth.. Only people who do that or can do that, without making themselves ill, would be young single people, and usually its a limited time thing saving for a big holiday or something.

Those shifts are a killer once you hit 40s with schoolage children.

Most nurses try to get reduced hours or mon to fri jobs at that stage.. Its just too hard. And unless your partner or family can row in with the childminding its too expensive.

I know some staff who worked constant night duty with partners on opposite weeks almost so they could manage..

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Tippman24

Working in a Call Centre would fit my thinking of being the ultimate version of hell on earth. Best Job would be a taster in St James's Gate brewery making sure that the Guinness is fit for consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Alex86Eire

Anything involving sitting at a desk looking at a computer all day. Hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Alex86Eire

Interesting to see its not just teachers you have an issue with but gardai and nurses too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I read the thread title and immediately googled for "Derek and Clive lobsters". Shows my age because I can remember when it first came out.

Wake me up when it's all over.

Did you miss the post above mine who literally agreed with what I said about nurses picking up extra shifts? Will you be responding to that poster similarly?

Stating a few harsh truths and cutting through bullsh1t is not having an issue with anyone.

In fact I found it to be invaluable in my own career success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,114 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Chiropodist. I can just about handle my own feet, the thought of handling some of the crusty hobbit feet out there, dealing with bunions, corns and cheesey ingrown toe nails.🤮🤮🤮🤮