Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

World Cup 2022 - Team and Match Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

Declan Rice for me just doesn't work in the English team, too cautious. Disrupts the balance of play and doesn't slows everything down.

Having him and Hendo in the same side doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Same. I just hope Lee will give it one more year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Yeah that’s crucial, losing himself and Oisin in the same year would feel like a death knell for this panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I'm sure it's disappointing for you.

But not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

He is so over rated, I really am Glad he not Irish . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,124 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Think people need to realise that this France team is missing a serious amount of players and yet England still couldn't beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

England fans very quiet because they aren't full to the ears in beer I'd say

I can see Southgate staying, like where will he go? Would a big EPL club hire him, I doubt it.

I'm not a huge fan of his, but he's done OK with them he's unambitious in his play, but then so is Van Gaal and Dechamps, and the remaining 4 teams play quite conservatively. And I wouldn't agree that England have better players than France England's defence is poor enough, Walker aside. Kane and Saka were primarily interested in diving and trying to win soft penalties, middle 3 were OK at times, but flitted out of the game for long periods too.

This was a tight game that could have went either way. I think England reached their level, there ought to be no recriminations in my opinion, but someone will have to be skapegoated.

The referee will get a bit of the blame, Kane too, but the likes of Sterling or Henderson will probably get a lot of stick, easy targets.

Great to see England losing.

Morocco- France should be a decent semi.

It’s five or six lads on boards. Not necessarily representative of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,794 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Southgate has had 8 years in charge.

He's had the best English squad at his disposal as long as I've been alive (I am near 60).

Performances are not good enough, he should be fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I am just wondering as an England supporter where would you rate Southgate?

There seems to be two arguments -

1) He has wasted English talent and being too conservative

2) He sets the team up to do well in tournament football

-

Personally on Southgate’s record I think he is just below Alf Ramsey- With Robson in third.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Leave Southgate where he is. Doing a fine job from my vantage point.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭omega man

There was one Liverpool player on the team tonight, don’t kid yourself that EPL teams are English in the sense you are projecting there.

It’s a very tough one to call, this is the most “successful” period I have ever seen from England and I’m nearly 40.

I would say 2018 was the least painful as we had no expectations and tonight although disappointing you can see how much we have improved in the last few years, France are world champions for a reason so it’s hardly a shock we lost.

The one where I would hold him accountable is the euro final, at 1-0 of England had gone for it I think we would have won well in the end so that’s his big failure for me.

If he wants to stay on I think he deserves the chance, that said I think he might choose to go himself and the options are slim to replace him if it’s an English coach.

the margins at these tournaments are just so small and the top 8-10 teams are a very similar level, bit of luck goes a long way.

If pep wants a go at international football I wouldn’t say no!!!

**edit - just had a nose there and pochettino is fav but I would be very surprised at that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,114 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Wonder will kane be in for the same treatment that Rashford, Saka and Sancho had to tolerate after their penalty misses 2 years ago. 🤔

English club based in England, represents England in Europe, etc etc…. But no you’re right, they’re Irish ….!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I assume everyone actually realises why Saka, Rashford and Sandro got the abuse they got, and why Kane won't get the same?

Let me give you a hint...its got nothing to do with football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Thought Maddison should have been given a go. He's not exactly Pirlo but he can play a decent through ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Couldnt take England winning the WC , and not a Southgate fan, but you got to feal for them tonight - they were the better team.

ther games are always exciting , its the media overkill that is the put off.

Foden was poor, and Saka was my MOTM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,926 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

What tag line will the Rag go with tomorrow to make fun of Kane and the penalty miss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Nostradamus Cascarino-

Giroud - complete player - competent - natural finisher

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭omega man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭cute geoge

That is fairly harsh on tonights match ,england were better team and got nothing from ref . Southgate can hardle be blamed for a farty penaity ,Kane would need to be getting penalty on target at least ,always considered him lacking when heat is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭Xander10

Beckham got sent off against Argentina and the level of abuse he got was unreal.

While not a final, I can guarantee Kane is currently getting loads of horrible abuse on social media.

It's the modern world.

I actually think with the players from the Euros, the racial angle was overstated. But ultimately and regardless, the abuse was inexcusable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Tandey

I dont see the panic. Can you point it out. I do see an understandably bitter and lonely Englishman online minutes after his country has been knocked out of the world cup, looking for something that's not there.

It's always a dumb argument imo.

People support English clubs not the players that play in them. It's certainly no reason to support the England team. There's good reason the English teams are hated by almost every nation.

The English team are certs every tournament for a knockout loss. It's tradition at this stage and long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

Sky Sports News going in hard on the ref. Usual thing, wondering why a referee from Brazil is in charge of a game at. ‘this level’.

Complaining Griezmann should have been sent off. In fairness to Griezmann, he kept fouling until he got a yellow and I think he committed one foul afterwards, which may not even have been him as a couple of French players tackled the English one.

Complaining about having to go to VAR for the 2nd penalty is much ado about nothing as they actually got the penalty.

Ref wasn’t great but I don’t think he was unfair to either team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,114 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

People can support who they want. Who cares.

Same as this forum, it's an Irish soccer site, but it's rightly available to anyone anywhere to join and post.

The ref wasn't the reason England are out. He was an average ref for sure, but equally average for both sides.

The whole "stop Mbappe" thing was bollix. France were loaded with talent

Fair enough!

I will leave it there

congrats to France!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

England might have played well but didn’t create enough chances to trouble Lloris, Grealish should have been on a lot sooner.

In reality in this tournament they’ve reached their level QF’s the minimum expectation an easy enough group and the hardest team they could have faced to get to the QF was the Netherlands. As stated in commentary they need to be able to beat the elite teams but continually fall short.

Southgate’s done OK he’s stabilised them and built the foundations but to get to the next level they need a change, who I don’t know Howe and Tuchel being mentioned already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

It kinda feels like they’d benefit way more from a manager with a really strong personality coming in directly before the next tournament, just rely on the foundations that Southgate has built and go from there.

I don’t rate him at all as a manager anymore, but Mourinho coming in right before Euro 2024 would probably get that last couple of percent out of that insanely talented squad. It’s a managerial style tailor-made for international football, for one because his style of football fits the bill perfectly, but also because he’d spend less time with players so less opportunities to turn the situation into his trademark toxic mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭trashcan

I do. I support my local team, and I absolutely take your point about the hypocrisy involved from Irish people who call Man U and Liverpool “We”. They don’t like that being pointed out though, I suspect it makes them uncomfortable deep down.

Apologies, I was being a bit ratty! I do agree with the above though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

They needed Winston Churchill and they got Iain Duncan Smith, as somebody once said...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

And therein lies the problem, Gareth’s qualities as a politician exceed his ability as an international coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

As someone not from Germany, seeing them knocked out just as they were getting going is a hard pill to swallow. Can't help feeling had they got through would of walked this tournament.

Brazil as I pointed out were spoofers. Glad everyone got to see it. A team full of arrogant individuals believing their own unfounded hype. Primma donnas, all show and no real heart or fight.

Hard to not see France win on paper but think Argentina will do it. As I said before, Argentina flaky and disjointed too, with a soft underbelly, but to their credit, they are all fighting for one another. I think it might see them through, they believe in themselves and there's a real unity in the camp, all pulling in the one direction. You just feel there's something in the air there.

For the players and squads they always have, generally one of the best, if not the best in the world, they can never seem to just click as they used to. They fight and get stuck in, but it always feels disjointed for over a decade at this stage.

Would be great to see the Argies just click and play that fluid attacking football they are renowned for. Where Brazil produced the samba footballers, Argentina specialise in the small mercurial technical player's. Would be nice to see them winning this tournament, and doing it by turning on the style we all know they are capable off!

Same people who backed England again just never learn

I don't get this train of thought. I don't see the hypocrisy of following an English team and shouting against England. The national team represents the nation and establishment, the clubs don't and originally derive from local communities, many with different ethos, many even with anti-British sentiment themselves.

And to follow from that, many in Ireland take point with the British establishment, not the English people themselves, who most would be quite fond off, and where the clubs came from. So I fail to see the hypocrisy in supporting an English team and shouting against their national team. It's really shouting against a team who represent an establishment we don't like.

I support Shels myself and would rather Irish people didn't follow the English league at the expense of our own, can follow both at least. In that sense your point is valid, but not in talking down people where there actually isn't any real hypocrisy. Just means people will double down not supporting the Irish league anyway.

Watching this world cup also drove home the point that Messi will always fall short of Maradona. He's been the best player but lacks something as a leader that Maradona had, which can't really be measured.

Messi is this teams leader, but I get the impression the team are trying their hardest to get him this world cup, as a favour nearly, as they came through looking up to him and as friends. Whereas Maradona's presence commanded respect in and of itself.

When Argentina went 2-0, that should of been it, but were a penalty shootout from going out. They led thanks to Messi, but from that position they nearly lost. As a leader, I don't think Messi had that force of will and presence to drive the game home.

This can't be measured of course, but had Maradona been there, that lead doesn't slip. In all action gung ho fashion, Maradona drives the game home from the centre of the field, no question. He had that natural leadership and ability to force his will on the match.

People can talk about talent, statistics, goals, achievements all day, but not everything can be measured. I'd love to see Messi lift the world cup, but this tournament confirmed to me that Maradona has no peers. On top of his ability, he possessed a leadership and will that separates him from the rest, Cruyff coming close possibly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Depends on your age to be honest, many including myself never seen Maradona kick a ball (bar the obvious videos)

I'm 34 and would of loved to see Maradona play...

But!

You would have to agree the game has evolved to when Maradona played so would he do so well in this cup?

Could also flip the coin and say would Messi have done so well in Maradona's time when tackles,referring, the game plan etc was way more straight forward.

Dont disagree with anything you said as I cant compare it.

Would love Messi to lift the Cup. I'm a silly fan though, when I've always thought Messi was 'meh sure he does it in a easy league' or some other excuse. He's definitely world class and his reading of the game and passes is not natural.

I have been warned so best not to get in to it really, but all valid points and taken on board!

There was a foul on Saka before France went up field and got their first goal. The French were kicking lumps out of him and the ref was letting a lot go.

England should of had a peno earlier on in game. These instances were as clear as day, not even in question. Griezman was very lucky not to be booked much sooner.

Where were the comparable French benefits from the ref?

Its funny that some people are saying “ but they got two penos”. Yes they got two penalties that were penos (one that the ref didn’t initially give) and did not get a third penalty that was a penalty.

The ref was a joke and he gave French more favourable decisions, were it any of our teams we would be fuming.

Post edited by Drumpot on

Watch clips of maradonna on 1982 v 1986 World Cup. Laws were changed to protect players like maradonna between the two WCs and look at the difference.

Now consider the laws that have changed since where it’s becoming a near non constant sport. Maradonna (and many other great technical players of eras Gone by) would probably thrive even more so now.

Transporting messi and Ronaldo back then would be fun. I’m 92.56% certain they wouldn’t of had a fraction of the achievements and goals they got. I’m absolutely certain they’d be injured alit more and their bodies would be broken by the time they hit 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,932 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I actually can't believe it's almost 2023 and we're still trying to compare players who played 40 years apart

Ya but that's 3 tournaments now where they have gone out to teams they had on the ropes.

He ended the small team mentality in qualifying but he is still too cautious in the big games. They need to learn to put 2 into teams and stop doing the Ireland.

Southgate was the right man to bring in these kids and build the feel-good factor they never had before but they need someone else to finish the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

It's so difficult comparing players of different generations, the game has changed alot since maradonna. All I know is, messi is undoubtedly the best player I've seen in my 30 years of watching football. He was kicked up and down la Liga if you think he couldn't handle the physical aspect of the past. Would he have had the longevity of the past, maybe not but Messi is not a player I'd consider unsuitable for a battle.

Many of the great midfielders we remember couldn't play today's game, technical skill trumps the physical aspects of bygone eras.