Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭newhouse87

• Registered Users Posts: 16,576 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Well its someone who is a leftie lib saying its no big deal if people come here and we have no idea who they are so maybe have a look at your own opinions before calling me stupid.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,508 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

newhouse87 threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭Jackiebt

If we are going to approve asylum on the basis of a countries attitude towards women we are going to need to source a lot more tents.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,921 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’ve had a look at my own opinion again, just to double check because I was sure I didn’t call you stupid. I’m right, I didn’t call you stupid, I said the idea you came out with is stupid. It is, and I still have no idea where you got it from.

I’m also certain you’re not stupid, I’m sure you’re perfectly capable of understanding that humanitarian aid is neither a left nor right idea, nor is the idea of the presumption of innocence a left or right idea. That anyone is either left or right is of no relevance whatsoever when it comes to providing support to people in need.

But for what it’s worth - you’re not entitled to know who anyone is or anything about them, regardless of whether they’re from Ireland or anywhere else, the next county over, the next continent over.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Is is still the same that you won’t get into America if you have a criminal record?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

It's pretty strict was there not some bloke that got done for hash and was refused in.

Well you are calling my point of view stupid which is basically the same thing but it doesn't bother me so we will leave it at that.

Not entitled to know anything about anyone is it?

So if a child abuser came living next door to you nobody is entitled to know about it?

And you think my opinions are stupid!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,921 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Well yes, your first point was stupid, but the follow-up above is an absolute cracker.

Yes, best we just leave it at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭The Real President Trump

Quite simply they need to be detained indefinitely as a security risk until their identity and background can be established

Canada per example will label you 'indefinitely ineligible' in such and similar circumstances and nothing not even marrying a Canadian will bypass that

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

The poll, which was online, had 1200 respondents---a very low number for an online poll. But where was the poll placed online? What kind of people took the time to fill out the poll? Why did they stop at 1200? We're not told. But we're informed that that the poll was commissioned by the "Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission" (i.e., at your expense) and conducted by some private company. It transpires that the chief executive of the company is a self-described "former Political Director of Fine Gael." Well, how nice that he got the contract (and no doubt he knows what's expected). All the "findings" are then reported by our national broadcaster.

This shambles is what passes as journalism in our country. You'd expect better in China or even North Korea.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,833 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Are all of these people even getting through though? Official figures say 5600 people were refused entry to the country up until the end of September - I'm assuming that must include people without passports i.e. the Border Management Unit quickly satisfied themselves the individuals were not genuine asylum seekers and deported them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

Did you ever find proof that those lads on the RTE report had "made up stories" or do you just label all asylum seekers like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Yad want to be thick to see it's not intentional at this stage.

Big business runs this place not the people. And big business could not give a crap about these people anyway.

If theres profit to be made from something. It will be promoted indefinitely.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Big business runs this place not the people. And big business could not give a crap about these people anyway.

I'm certainly not an anti capitalist, but it's very hard to ignore how lacking in morals many of the biggest capitalists are. Both the business class and the political class seem to represent the worst of us, and sadly for us they've the most power in society regardless of how we vote. Funnily, you're more likely to find "anti capitalist" socialist types supporting the policies that benefit these people more than any other group.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Whatever about RTE, the Irish Times receives very little money from the Government : its revenue comes from online subscriptions, physical sales of the newspaper and advertising by businesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭emo72

I'm pretty sure the IT would be gone if the income from government advertising stopped

What government advertising? I have yesterday's copy in front of me and it has big adverts from Boodles, Tesco, Harvey Norman, Dyson and Rado. The only government "ad" is a half page one about Social Welfare payment dates.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭emo72

1 day? Your read yesterday's paper and that's it? And yet there was an advertisement from dept of SW. It's ongoing, they'll be advertising all year long, public announcements in the paper of record. Surely I don't have to point out the obvious.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭maninasia

It doesn't even need political connections. Any NGO can commission a bunch of polls, then select the ones that suit their agenda while binning the rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Every MSM outlet was getting steady funding from the state for healthcare advertising during covid. One of the main things I've noticed in the last 10 years in society is the complete abandonment of concepts like a conflict of interests. News outlets who are barely surviving being kept a float by the state is probably one of the best examples you'll find.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

This sounds like conspiracy theory stuff - the Irish Times made a record profit of €3m last year and had turnover of over €100m. They are 'not' being propped up by the Irish state.

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭jimmybobbyschweiz

COVID "awareness" or COVID advertising was a lucrative gravy train for the Irish media the last two years, what is the breakdown of the IT's record revenue? I'd suspect a big increase in advertising spend and not so much from subscribers, then possibly selling off a part of the business.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

You don't think any of that €100m turnover came from the State?

No we won't leave it at that.

You said we have no right to know anything about people, I asked you if a paedo moved in beside someone do they not have a right to know who they are.

So are you going to answer the question?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

Did you ever find proof that those lads on the RTE report had "made up stories" or do you just label all asylum seekers like that? Are you consistently avoiding this question while demanding that someone else answers a question?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

People boarding a plane and destroying their documents are doing it for a reason and not a good reason.

It's most definitely because they have something to hide, criminal, rapist, pedo, someone fleeing a crime in another country.

Then we have a handful of posters here who think we should allow these men into the country and leave them do what they want.

It seems its more of a concern to them that we don't insult these unvetted males than future innocent victims.

It's similar to the Catholic Church really when you think of it.

These are usually the same people who tell others to be kind.

It's a very strange mindset to think its grand to let unvetted males into our country, I am sure the majority of people cheering it on are doing it because they are making money, anyone who is not making money then I don't know what to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,364 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

On top of that, the state is set to recruit local ‘champions’ to quell fears over refugee housing. So the government is outsourcing their job, hiring morality police, and avoiding being responsible for really bad decisions with our taxes. In addition to your post, it reads like something in a uniparty dictatorship.

https://www.businesspost.ie/politics/state-to-recruit-local-champions-to-quell-fears-over-refugee-housing/

• Registered Users Posts: 9,409 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Hmmm. I don't know why I bother but I will reply on the basis of logistics alone.

Firstly I detest the catholic church 🙂 Secondly I assume they do it to get around an asylum loophole.

How do you vet them at the airport? Who do you call? Even if you know their nationality (e.g. Afghan, Syrian), who do you call?

Can you order the plane/airline to take them back to the departure airport? Is that legal today under EU law? What do you do while waiting for a return flight? What if they came via a transfer hub e.g. Frankfurt, Dubai etc?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

You detain them and send them back from whatever flight they arrived on.

You certainly shouldn't be shoving them into buildings with no job prospects and nothing to do all day long.

The only people who benefit from that are scam artists, people fleeing other countries over a crime and people who are making money off it.

It certainly doesn't benefit ireland.