Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I’ve seen it mentioned a few times on this thread about Roderick tweets in the different languages, but had never seen it myself, and genuinely thought people were exaggerating... I actually can’t believe what I’m seeing now that you’ve posted them.

It reminds me of countries in years gone by who put a call out for workers as they needed labour to work on the railways or construction to build the country, etc. Get the word out there that that there’s good money to be made and a good lifestyle awaits...attract the best and the brightest.

Of course the Irish version of that that is to extend a personal invite to wannbe migrants from countries whom we already had high numbers of asylum seekers from and where there is no war, and promise them own-door accommodation during a housing crisis, generous social welfare - more then they could ever dream of for working in their home countries, free healthcare, help finding employment - so they can earn even more money than social welfare if they want to work for it. Sure how could they not take him up on the offer?

It’s actually disgraceful what he’s done, and utterly bonkers. There’s enough of a pull factor as it is, without personally appealing to to them in their language.

It’s like a modern-day goldrush, except no hard work required.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Yes but they don't know English and must be fleeing war. Have a heart

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Does O'Gorman not know Green policy and dismantling Direct provision are s complete contradiction.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,348 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Unfortunately, it's not tens, it's tens per day.

2,300 from Georgia in ten months

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭The Real President Trump

Suffering jaysus "There isn't a major accommodation crisis"

What unabashed diarrhoea

What a way to completely discredit yourself and in such delusional way too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

At least they managed to do so in under 5k words this time. It was close though. Looking forward to their next novel of written diarrhoea.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Marcos

Meanwhile a reminder of what happened in Sweden, where even Magdalena Anderson the Prime Minister prior to the election admitted that integration of immigrants has failed and led to growth of parallel societies and fuelled gang crime.

Swedish PM says integration of immigrants has failed, fueled gang crime

Reuters

"Segregation has been allowed to go so far that we have parallel societies in Sweden. We live in the same country but in completely different realities," Andersson told a news conference.

The number of people in Sweden born abroad has doubled in the last two decades to 2 million, or a fifth of the population. . . .

"Integration has been too poor at the same time as we have had a large immigration. Society has been too weak, resources for the police and social services have been too weak.

Note it's society which has been too weak, nothing to do with their policies which were roundly rejected by the electorate. What makes us so different to Sweden of 2015, where they took in more people per capita than any other EU state? And of course there are endless resources here to deal with societal problems like housing, extra school places, hospital waiting lists etc, aren't there?

Post edited by Marcos on

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Marcos

Regarding the line parroted out that we need immigrants to fill jobs, looking at the German example, they're not doing too well. According to the Wall Street Journal anyway, they're short of skilled workers and migrants aren't filling the gaps. You know all those doctors and engineers they were promised, or was that just us? Of the 800,000 working-age Syrians and Afghans who arrived during the 2015 migrant crisis, only a third of them actually have a tax-paying job. And those that do tend to have low skilled, low paying jobs that requires the state to continue paying out welfare benefits. But that would never happen here, we're different right?

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

What I never understood about the argument that we’d be getting much needed doctors and engineers in the influx of asylum seekers - a doctor or a highly-educated engineer could come here anyway on a work visa and secure employment that way. I doubt there was ever many doctors coming in to claim asylum and living in direct provision, because as we know, the majority ARE economic migrants.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What I never understood about the argument that we’d be getting much needed doctors and engineers in the influx of asylum seekers - a doctor or a highly-educated engineer could come here anyway on a work visa and secure employment that way. I doubt there was ever many doctors coming in to claim asylum and living in direct provision, because as we know, the majority ARE economic migrants.

It’s because we DO get much needed doctors, engineers, healthcare workers and other highly qualified professionals who come here, or to Germany (since that is the example being referred to as regards the integration of Syrian refugees), seeking asylum. It’s when they get here though (or Germany), that matters become infinitely more complicated, making it difficult for them to gain employment in their profession here, gain employment at all, or integrate into society.

I don’t think anyone’s ever actually argued that ALL asylum seekers are highly qualified professionals, because that would be silly. The numbers who are highly qualified are small, and a work visa, if they can get it, is not the same as for example a critical skills visa. Recent changes to the visa system in Ireland have allowed for non-EEA doctors for example with a general employment visa to be granted the same rights as doctors with critical skills employment permits. Their spouses or partners will also receive permits to allow them to seek employment in Ireland -

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/f5335-up-to-1800-doctors-to-benefit-from-changes-to-immigration-rules/

Before 2018, asylum seekers in Ireland weren’t permitted to seek employment, and so we didn’t see any evidence of asylum seekers who were healthcare workers, but when they were permitted to work, there were 80 at least in 2020 working in healthcare, living in direct provision -

https://www.irishrefugeecouncil.ie/news/85-healthcare-workers-seek-to-move-out-of-direct-provision

Call them asylum seekers, economic migrants, whatever, there’s no stipulation that they don’t amount to the same thing. When they get here is where they experience the barriers to employment and integration into society that isn’t their failure, it’s a failure of Government policy, not just here, but also in Germany, or Sweden, where they acknowledge that they have failed to integrate immigrants into society. They’re not blaming immigrants, they’re acknowledging the failures of their own policies, the barriers that they erected to ensure that immigrants wouldn’t integrate into society, which has led to the shortage in supply of labour and workers with critical skills in countries like Germany -

https://gh.bmj.com/content/4/4/e001534#ref-4

Here it’s not such a critical issue because immigrants coming here as students are being trained for the jobs market in Ireland. They’re just not being trained fast enough is the problem. We have a highly skilled and highly educated immigrant population, but again there are other factors and barriers which inhibit their employment opportunities and inclusion in the workforce, thereby inhibiting their participation in Irish society -

https://www.esri.ie/news/migrant-groups-have-higher-levels-of-education-but-some-experience-higher-unemployment-than

A recent example off the top of my head is one of the lads I work with who came here from Africa as a student, qualified in Ireland and gained employment here, he’s been here ten years. His wife who is also from Africa, a nurse, has recently completed her training required to work in Irish hospitals, and they’ve recently purchased their own home for themselves and their children.

Do you think some jackass who encounters them out doing their shopping in their local shopping centre, cares one iota for their personal circumstances over the idea that they must be asylum seekers, or they look non-European?

Nah, I don’t think so either. People believe what they want to believe, no matter how much evidence is presented which contradicts their beliefs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

People believe what they want to believe, no matter how much evidence is presented which contradicts their beliefs.

You don't say?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

This link you posted pretty much proves the point most of us have been trying to make. The 80 healthcare workers you and the link mentions mostly work in nursing homes - i.e. healthcare assistants - not quite the doctors you were trying to imply. While being an essential job, it is also pretty much a minimum wage job, and the workers are unlikely to ever be able to go without state assistance to pay for their accommodation. The link you posted is pretty much about healthcare assistants who want to leave direct provision but are unable to do so as they can't afford it - unlike doctors, who would neither require nor qualify for state assistance to pay for their accommodation.

I do say, especially when the idea being touted in this thread is that lefties are responsible for mass immigration and all the rest of it. The CDU can best be described as centre-right, and it was under Merkel that Germany took in almost a million Syrian asylum seekers, economic migrants, whatever.

Government are responsible for economic and social policies so immigrants can’t be blamed for the failures of a Government which not only failed to integrate immigrants, but actually introduced policies which ensured immigrants couldn’t integrate into society.

The Irish Government at the time were told direct provision wasn’t sustainable, and there was plenty of evidence to show it wasn’t sustainable, but the Irish Government at the time ignored the evidence and went ahead with direct provision. Lefties aren’t responsible for that, because they’ve never gotten within an asses roar of dictating social and economic policies in Ireland. Yet throughout this thread, the responsibility is constantly being diverted away from the people who are responsible for the current mess in which Irish people find themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭The Real President Trump

Are experience is exactly the same, something like 60% of all Nigerians are sucking away on social welfre

That's a stat from Ebun Joseph so god knows how that's been skewed

Hold on a sec, you made the point that you never understood the argument that we’d get much needed doctors and engineers in the influx of asylum seekers. I was making the point that the reason we don’t get them is because it doesn’t matter that they are doctors or engineers or whatever they are, the fact that they’re asylum seekers is what prevented them from working prior to 2018, which is why they would have been no evidence of them in Ireland. There IS evidence of doctors among asylum seekers in Germany, but their integration into society is complicated by a number of issues, again none of which they are responsible for -

A significant number who sought asylum in Germany hold professional qualifications and university degrees, including medical doctors, dentists and other healthcare workers. Although there are no official numbers, the German Medical Association states that the largest influx of foreign doctors in the past year are from Syria, with nearly 737 Syrian physicians entering the German workforce in 2017. They also estimate that there are more than 3370 Syrian doctors working in Germany, including those who arrived before the onset of the Syrian conflict.4 However, this likely underestimates the true number as it omits those who have German citizenship or are completing their registration. In general, there is sparse information on the number of qualified healthcare workers among Syrian refugees.

They’re the doctors I wasn’t just trying to imply, they exist, among asylum seekers. The point I was making is that in Ireland, we’re not going to see evidence of asylum seekers who are doctors and engineers because they can’t get work in Ireland. It doesn’t mean they aren’t qualified as doctors and engineers, and it certainly doesn’t mean that they can come here on an employment visa and obtain employment immediately which would ensure they are able to provide for themselves and their families.

The closest we come to what you’re suggesting, is what I provided, it’s why I provided it, they’re asylum seekers living in direct provision who are working in healthcare. I didn’t try to imply they were doctors -

Before 2018, asylum seekers in Ireland weren’t permitted to seek employment, and so we didn’t see any evidence of asylum seekers who were healthcare workers, but when they were permitted to work, there were 80 at least in 2020 working in healthcare, living in direct provision

There was no mention in the article of being unable to afford accommodation, they’re detained in direct provision while they’re waiting for their asylum applications to be processed, and as we know that can take anywhere from months to years. They wanted alternative accommodation under the same terms as other healthcare workers were being provided with accommodation.

Doctors in employment are less likely to qualify for assistance from the State, not because they’re doctors, but because assessments for support from the State are determined on the basis of need. Doctors who are unemployed, or are not in the labour force, or are not permitted to work, or are asylum seekers, are very likely to need assistance from the State, and even better if the State doesn’t put barriers to employment in their way so that they CAN gain employment and support themselves, especially at a time when all employment sectors in Ireland are facing shortages because they can’t get the staff.

The new guy appears to be highly qualified, but I still wouldn’t expect he’ll be able to turn around the fortunes of the bureaucratic mess that is the HSE -

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41029892.html

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Do you fooking even know where Georgia is on a map?

Why would someone travel through Turkey from Lebannon or Syria to Georgia to then be stuck ever further away from EU and Western Europe.

Wouldn't it be easier to cross from Turkey towards Greece or Bulgaria or do you reckon they fancy doing a bit of sightseeing in Russia.

You are about as bad as the clowns claiming a boat full of African lads crossing the Med from Libya was a boat load of Syrian refugees that were doctors and engineers.

I am not allowed discuss …

So doctors who might've been in direct provision prior to 2018 were unable to work. Any figures on how many doctors came from direction provision since 2018?

You say Germany have 3000-odd Syrian doctors. That's not telling us much - out of a county with a population of nearly 20 million, over 3000 of them are working in one of the powerhouses of Europe. Why wouldn't they want to go there for a better life and better wages, especially during a war at home when they are in high demand. Any idea how many of them came as refugees? No, because the article itself says "In general there is sparse information on the number of qualified healthcare workers among Syrian refugees" (funny that!). You say 737 Syrian physicians entered the German workforce in 2017... hell, as of May this year, 400 Irish doctors moved to Australia, and there sure isn't a war here and we have a quarter of the Syrian population!

You say about the healthcare workers looking to leave direction provision but are unable to: 2There was no mention in the article of being unable to afford accommodation, they’re detained in direct provision while they’re waiting for their asylum applications to be processed, and as we know that can take anywhere from months to years. They wanted alternative accommodation under the same terms as other healthcare workers were being provided with accommodation".

No one is detained in direct provision. You are free to find your own accommodation, but at your own expense. According to the Citizens Information: You do not have to accept direct provision. If you decide to live somewhere else, you will not get any state assistance (for example, social welfare or help with housing costs). https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/asylum_seekers_and_refugees/services_for_asylum_seekers_in_ireland/direct_provision.html#:~:text=You%20do%20not%20have%20to,or%20help%20with%20housing%20costs).

Fair enough they were looking for the same accommodation provided to healthcare workers during that stage of the pandemic, but that article is from April 2020 - right at the beginning of the pandemic. So it suggests these people who had a work permit and were earning a wage still chose to stay in direct provision before we ever heard of Covid, as they were either unable or unwilling to pay for their own accommodation.

Post edited by DebDynamite on

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Europes multicultural journey condensed into a 15 second video:

I’ve no idea of how many people seeking asylum in Ireland are qualified as doctors or engineers. Nor does the Irish government, nor the German government for that matter as is stated in the article. I didn’t say anything about the actual number, the article did, and there’s nothing funny about it, because what you’re asking for is the impossible.

The population of Syria has nothing to do with anything, and have you read the reasons why doctors are leaving Ireland? Their working conditions are shyte, putting it bluntly -

Working conditions for junior doctors – non-consultant hospital doctors (NCHDs) – are a key concern for the union. They are balloting for potential industrial action, saying they work 80-hour weeks including 24-hour shifts which puts patients at risk.

I’m not sure doctors emigrating from here won’t face similar issues in other countries to the issues faced by doctors immigrating here who aren’t permitted to work -

https://amp.theguardian.com/australia-news/2022/jul/24/international-doctors-unable-to-work-in-australia-due-to-broken-system-experts-say

One thing about Australians which the Irish immigrants there won’t be used to, is the fact that Ausssies don’t mince their words and have little concern for political correctness 😁

https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/political/438241/trash-row-time-for-nz-to-act-on-harsh-demoralising-detention-centres-advocate

I’d find it hard to believe that the Government aren’t aware of the amount of doctors in direct provision. I would imagine it’s one of the first things asylum seekers are asked by the authorities in trying to get a picture of someone’s life and their eligibility for international protection - what did you work at back home, what are your qualifications, etc?

Deb you appear to want to argue it both ways - asylum seekers are being provided with support by the State, and those that don’t want to be supported by the State still want to be supported by the State, even though they weren’t aware of the support being provided by the State which they were entitled to which would enable them to move out of direct provision, at a time when you say before Covid was even heard of, even though groups representing asylum seekers had been raising their concerns for weeks -

Groups that work with, and represent asylum seekers, including the Movement of Asylum Seekers in Ireland, the IRC and Sanctuary Runners have been raising concerns about Covid-19 spreading in these settings for a number of weeks.

On Thursday, the Health Service Executive published details of a temporary accommodation scheme for healthcare workers, and specified that those living in direct provision centres could apply.

However, many were only alerted to it when the Chief Operations Officer of the HSE, Anne O'Connor, tweeted about the scheme on Friday morning. 

Your whole point was that asylum seekers are dependent upon support from the State, because they aren’t able to support themselves because they’re not doctors, but the same applies to anyone in low-paid employment, that they require support from the State if they’re unable to provide for themselves or their families. Immigrants and asylum seekers qualify for a lot less support from the State than Irish citizens, and it’s Irish citizens who gain the greatest benefits from immigrants contributing to the Irish economy.

They’re not coming here for our generous welfare benefits, they’re coming here because they believe they can make a better life for themselves and their families in Ireland or Germany or elsewhere other than the countries they’re emigrating from. When they come here, many of them are being prevented from gaining employment because of various obstacles which don’t apply to Irish citizens.

Some people believe that they aren’t able to gain employment because Irish people are racist (we’re really not), and some Irish people believe it’s because people from other countries don’t want to work (they clearly do), as attested to by a common perception that the media tried to make a meal out of back in the day -

Everyone knew exactly what she meant, but even then, as they tend to do today, mainstream media and politicians love to make mountains out of molehills, because keeping people in a heightened state of anxiety means they are easier to manipulate.

My posts were in response to a claim that we were fed a line that our asylum seekers were made up of people with in-demand qualifications - doctors, engineers, etc. but in reality a very large proportion of the ones we are getting will never be able to support themselves, and will require state assistance.

You gave an example of 80 healthcare workers in direct provision who were looking to get out. I pointed out that anyone working in direct provision are free to leave of their own accord and secure and pay for their own accommodation, but as these were healthcare assistants on minimum wage, not doctors, they were either unable or unwilling to pay for their own accommodation.

By the way, the purpose of granting someone asylum is not to give them a better life than the one they’re emigrating from as you say above - it’s to give people sanctuary who may be fleeing war or persecution.

Hey I’d like to believe the Irish Government and the various State agencies are competent too, in spite of all evidence to the contrary 😂

If the German government don’t have the figures though, it’s very unlikely the Irish government do. Your suggestion of course makes perfect sense, being among the first questions they’re asked and all, but it’s one thing for a person to answer that they’re a qualified doctor, it’s another thing entirely when they’re expected to present evidence of their qualifications, and the HSE while they may be well known for their bureaucracy, they’re also well known for not doing their due diligence -

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/judge-hse-s-use-of-unqualified-consultants-scandalous-1.3488329

I’d also like to believe the HSE weren’t turning a blind eye to the problem because they were desperate to meet the demands of a chronically underfunded healthcare system that’s been struggling for decades 😒

My posts were in response to a claim that we were fed a line that our asylum seekers were made up of people with in-demand qualifications - doctors, engineers, etc. but in reality a very large proportion of the ones we are getting will never be able to support themselves, and will require state assistance.

You don’t think you’re being unreasonably literal at all, no?

I pointed out that the closest we had were at least 80 healthcare workers in direct provision, I don’t know how many doctors or other similarly qualified people there are in direct provision, neither does our government.

That they couldn’t afford to leave certainly makes sense, because they’re asylum seekers, but if they can’t afford to leave, and they aren’t able to support themselves, then they are being detained while their applications are being processed. They’re obviously not free to leave, and what they wanted was the same conditions as other healthcare workers were being provided with, which they were previously unaware of.

I know well what the purpose of granting someone asylum is intended for, but what I actually said was that immigrants come here to make a better life for themselves, they’re not just coming here for our generous welfare benefits or any of the rest of it, when they can earn far more in employment than the support which is provided to them by the State which they aren’t even aware of, which doesn’t amount to a whole lot in any case, and certainly a lot less support than they would be entitled to if they were Irish citizens.

The idea of them being doctors or other similarly qualified positions is irrelevant if they’re coming here seeking asylum, but I figured it’d be unreasonable of me to argue with you that asylum seekers are not generally economic migrants -

An economic migrant is someone who emigrates from one region to another, including crossing international borders, seeking an improved standard of living, because the conditions or job opportunities in the migrant's own region are insufficient. The United Nations uses the term migrant worker.

Although the term economic migrant may be confused with the term refugee, economic migrants leave their regions primarily due to harsh economic conditions, rather than fear of persecution on the basis of race, religion, nationality, political opinion, or membership of a particular social group. Economic migrants are generally not eligible for asylum, unless the economic conditions they face are severe enough to have caused generalised violence, or seriously disturbed the public order.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economic_migrant

I’d be an unreasonable asshole if I pretended I didn’t know what you meant. I’m not unreasonable at least 😬

• Registered Users Posts: 8,974 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

I fooking do boy... Not a clue what the rest of your statement is talking about though. Do you understand how different routes are used by different people to get in and out of different countries?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,974 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

A bit of primary school level maths, 10 months is about 300 days, so 2300 would actually be less than 10 a day. Christ how will our system cope with these minuscule numbers of people haha!

That's a few tweets, not a billboard in a foreign country paid for by our tax dollars, do you not understand the difference between the two very different things?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I wasn't aware we were using dollars as currency. However our tax euros are paying for O'Gorman's policies, his adverts to the world of scammers and the policies of homes for same if they show up. If they aren't adverts why pay to have them translated into all these languages? Seems a tad pointless if he and his dept. don't want to reach such migrants.

And how many times have his dept. or our government advertised to fellow EU members to come here to live and work? Spain for example has an unemployment rate of over 10%. Funny how we're not looking for "doctors and engineers" from other EU nations.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.