Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

So what is the acceptable numebr of rapes and murders you are willing to put up with from people that were GIFTED access to our country?

Will it still be ok when we have a guy driving a truck into a market slaughtering people?

Will it still be ok when we have a guy drive a truck down Dun Laoghaire promenade slaughtering people?

Will it still be ok when we have a guy ploughing a truck into Arnotts or Brown Thomas killing people?

Will it still be ok when we have kids slaughtered at a concert in the 3 Arena?

These were all heinous crimes committed by people given sanctuary in Europe at one stage and this is how they rewarded the natives.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Weren't most incidences of ISIS terrorism carried out by "home grown" terrorists in fact and not by asylum seekers i.e. Bataclan, Manchester etc? You appear to be admitting your real issue is with Muslims and people from ethnic minorities, not with refugees.

Ehgh Manchester was Libyan brothers who were indeed born in UK, but had spent time with old Daddy fighting in Libya.

The family had returned home, but one of them had decided to leave a parting gift to the people of Britain or rather the kids of Britain.

And the weird thing is the fooking bas **** was rescued by Roayl Navy as part of evacuation of British citizens from Liibya.

Does that fact he was born in UK make it ok?

Or maybe if the UK hadn't rescued his ass or taken his parents in instead of letting them rot in a Gadaffi jail a lot of people would be better off.

AFAIK Bataclan involved Belgian and French born individuals of Moroccan, Algerian ancestry.

Yes I do have a major issue with islam because it is an ideology that is totally incompatible to our way of life and it's whole ethos is to conquer.

And it is getting more and more extreme and can never be reformed ala christianity.

The sooner people cop on to this the better.

PS all the truck attacks mentioned earlier were carried out by peole born elsewhere, but allowed entry into European countries.

But of course you cherry picked two incidents to suit your proposal.

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭kazamo

Ah no, it about the Irish Government wanting to look like model citizens in the eyes of the world and we have room for everyone approach.

Its a bit like years ago when your posh relatives called in without warning and the posh Delph and posh biscuits came out of hiding. Your first cousin is there munching away and as soon as you move your hand towards the biscuits, your mother fixes you with a stare Medusa would have been proud of. And your trembling hand resumes it’s former position sans biscuit 😢

We are as a country always eager to look good to others while shafting our own.

We always had a huge Quisling population in this country who were quick to cosey up to anyone that would offer any little thing in return.

How many countless uprising and revolutions down through the years were scuppered because of the sleeveens that went running to the English.

When we finally got rid of the English, even though despite the historic slant a good chunk of the country still sided with them and tried to help them, it was the church and Rome we grovelled to for decades.

And when we finally got out from under that yoke to stand on our own feet, it is Brussels, New York, the NGOs and celebrity whiners that we turn to for validation.

For all the guff about the spirit of the Irish, we really are one of the most suppliant peoples in the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Well, the Nice truck attacker in 2016 was from Tunisia and had a legal right to live in France (and was therefore neither a refugee or asylum seeker). His presence in France had much more to do with past French colonialism.

I'm not sure I see much evidence of a link between refugees / asylum seekers and terrorism. If a person wished to move to a western country with the intention of carrying out terror attacks, they would hardly go the refugee route.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Did not have the legal right to run over a bunch of people though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Deleted

Post edited by Mr. teddywinkles on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Aye, the "fighting Irish" seem to only fight over who should rule us. The Irish in general are very collectively insecure, so much so that I think that we are really afraid of self governance and charting our own path. We have a deep need for love, as all insecure people do, and that makes us highly susceptible to following trends, because those who follow trends usually sit in a safe position, or so they think. It's honestly a great sickness, but it's not going anywhere anytime soon sadly.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

It's a psychological theory, no conspiracy involved. You know that though don't you? You're once again trying to get a rise. You've even followed me to another thread to do so. You won't get it, so don't waste your time.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

A psychological theory that encompasses nearly all the population of Ireland but you are immune eh.

Is this part of the broader "mind virus" epidemic you have posted about?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

Cringe. Another poster who thinks they are much smarter than the general public. Seems to be a trend amongst posters of a certain persuasion. A grandiose sense of intellect and knowledge. It's quite funny. Have you ever considered that the general public might not be as mentally weak and stupid as you think they are?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,409 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Unfortunately he is 100% correct.

Fortunately it is changing as a collective (e.g. much less love from Rome) but there are examples of replacement e.g. getting love from US MNCs as part of fake career/money/prestige dreams while family sidelined (LinkedIn is full of the sickness)

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

It's called collective psychology, which by its very nature is general. It doesn't apply to everyone, but to enough people that it represents the collective.

Having an opinion on the psychology of the Irish makes me think I'm smarter than everyone? You're reaching a bit there lad.

This is a very good opinion piece, and dare I say it, actually balanced. It's honestly bizarre to see an article nowadays that doesn't seek to slander and more so to understand. If all of our "journalists" worked like this our nation would be in a far greater shape.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,228 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jesus, sounds like someone was at the early cans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

canned cold Newgate baked beans from lidl with a plastic spork in your case perhaps?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,639 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭purifol0

Its no coincidence everyone at theJournal.ie,RTE and every NGO they allow opinion pieces from is a woke progessive feminist.

If journalists expressed views their employers don't agree with they find themselves relegated to being bloggers. Impartiality & objectivity are stamped out, conformity is in, and the wrongthinkers are all alt-right

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Exactly, they decide on a narrative they want and shape it themselves.

I'm very curious about this story

Refugee found dead outside his hotel (which was being used to host refugees). Post mortem etc carried out over 6 weeks ago.

Literally not a single piece of news on this story since the very start of November. Not one thing. I struggle to understand why a story that initially had national coverage has now been dropped like a rock with no follow up. I can only imagine that whatever they found out didn’t fit their narrative.

• Registered Users Posts: 868 ✭✭✭purifol0

I've no idea about that event/story but in terms of narrative, the Irish Times opinion pieces were full of NGO's and public sector grifters and the commenters frequently tore them asunder with facts and links to back them up. Authors wouldnt ever dare comment below the line, so they'd post the link to the article on twitter and then talk about it there, where any dissenting/critical voices could be blocked.

Fast forward a few years and the Irish Times have just disabled the comments with no reason given, just a "we might turn them back on in the future - no promises". Quite the kick in the teeth for paid subscribers since they're the only ones allowed comment!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Is the suggestion on here that airport INIS staff are lazy or incompetent?

Whats needed at Dublin airport is, the scanning gates like they have at FRA and MUC airports. You walk forward and scan your passport. It does not allow entry, unless you are legit, so it's automated immigration process.. no messing with Germans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Yep, complete insult to their readers

Very much a paternalistic “We will tell you what is right and what to think, there will be no dissention” attitude - reflective of the politics of a lot their top writers such as Roisin Ingle and Una Mullaly.

Likewise we’re hearing very little at all from these media outlets regarding any issues arising from the current refugee crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

As a people we are slaves to appearing respectable, fifty years ago respectability was set from the pulpit by priests , today it’s set by the media

for over two years grabbing a 10 cent dirty ten times worn cloth from the passenger seat of the car and wrapping it around our face was a public display of respectability, now it’s not in anyway expressing reservations about immigration levels while simultaneously whinging about the lack of housing

• Registered Users Posts: 13,829 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

In Germany House prices are dropping in line with the ECBs balance sheet reduction, ie as excess liquidity is removed.

Here they are deliberately pumping up demand to keep House prices high, rents high, demand high.

Even with the best will in the world and a Govt dedicated to housing, there will not be enough houses built to meet the demand that was already there, nevermind the 100k extra in the country this year and probably another 100k next year. Why are people pretending that it will happen, who ever is in Govt.

It's the pretending that it is achievable that is causing a lot of the consternation. Keeping Houses built at current levels for the next few years will be a significant achievement for any Govt.

It's one of the most aggressive free market experiments in modern history and it is dressed up as "solidarity".

Ok Doctor engineer why don't you quote and we can discuss what you agree with and think wasn't nonsense in Tom's post.

Go on I dare ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,835 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Not so. It is quite a common refrain from Bexiteer-types across the water.

Most countries, including the UK, have signed themselves up to be bound by international agreements. Can they break those agreements? Technically they could. Is there a reason why they don't - most definitely yes.