Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toy Show the Musical - Farce or Triumph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

Seems like a farce alright. Absolutely no involvement from Ryan Tubridy which seems odd - thought he was the ‘brains’ behind it.

there is a link to buy tickets on the main RTÉ website, and every time I turn on rte radio there is an add for it on - am sure this is ‘free’ advertising. Seems unfair on the other panto’s - won’t be going in any case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Only way people were going to see this thing is if they were going to be given 'one for everybody in the audience' freebies every 20 minutes like in the tv toy show, or if they were forced to go and pay for it like they are forced to pay for the TV licence.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Wouldn't go myself but I have no kids and no one to go with as I'm a loser but anyway I honestly thought it would have been sold out. Shame a hape of them got sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It was getting more advertising slots on RTE than the countries biggest advertiser The National Lottery and it's still a flop, the mind boggles as to who signed off this circa €2 million pet project without understanding the reason that Toy Show tickets are so popular is each guest gets a haul of circa €500 worth of gifts each for sitting in the audience for 2.5 hours.

What remit has RTE got to go in to the musical business as a public service broadcaster? Who signed off on all the advertising slots given over to it at one of the most lucrative times of the year for fee paying ads. Will these slots be charged to the show and appear on the balance sheet?

What's stopping them from selling new cars from the lawn in Montrose in January if they believe that's a 'good' idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Questions certainly need to be asked of the amount of advertising for this vanity project - if its not taken out of the profits then they have breached competition law I would say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Sleepy Joseph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i bet he's 100% behind it but was clever enough not sign anything that implicates himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Edit the thread title to exclude the final 2 words.

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Making great art is not always about making money or being "commercially successful"

Absolutely true in the real world , but not in the mainstream world where the entire premise is money

Rte senior dude on CB at the moment; not giving anything away. Won’t say how much it cost to put on

They didn’t pay RTÉ for the ad’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Based on some professional experience with RTE I'd say they'll struggle to be able to fully quantify the cost of this farce if the free advertising it's had on their network is to be included.

It looks patently obvious that the losses are going to be in seven figure territory though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

2 more gone seems it's not selling and sick is code for that.

Half expect rte to come out and say theyre been sabotaged

Nah they went for think of the children angle. Only seems to effect the younger cast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

That doesn’t make any sense. They’d still have to pay for the venue, the crew, the performers, the sets, etc. As well as offering refunds. They cancelled the first show while the audience were actually sitting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

'Great art' .... doing a lot of heavy lifting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Question: Do we have any source outside of RTÉ that is confirming that the actual cause of the cancellations is due to sickness ? Surely cast and crew would be all over Social media telling everyone how sick everyone in the cast / crew are?

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭celt262

If it was due to poor sales would they not be all over the socials saying the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I think some people are letting their RTEitis get the better of them. What’s not believable about illness being the cause? There were a few days last week when 17 out of the 27 in my eldest daughter’s class were out sick. Loads of it going around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭RoTelly

It is odd either way that, your not seeing anything from cast members or crew. Now RTÉ might have told not to say anything and may have point to their contracts. It is terrible for the kids involved to be stuck in the middle of all of this.

1. The way in which RTÉ carried out the project (surely this year you'd start with a small venue and then grow the show due to demand).
    2. The fact that we can suggest that they are not sick at all but that RTÉ are doing all of this due to low ticket sales.

Ticket sales are unlikely to grow over the next 10 days and even before the cancellation sales were probably not going to take off as it is now late in the year.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,538 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

What makes you think there's going to be profits...?

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

Or to put it another way - I hope its on the balance sheet

Tubs should be doing regular prize giveaways on this on his radio show ->

1st Prize - 2 Tickets to "Toy Show the Musical"

2nd Prize - 4 Tickets to "Toy Show the Musical"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Surely a public broadcaster shouldn't be spending money on such puerile projects. A musical based on the civil war would have been a better idea.

🙈🙉🙊

With the caveat...

*Shows may not actually happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭amlinopta

His non-interest in the show would suggest either he knew it was going to be a flop and distanced himself from it, or else there was a row which saw him excluded from any profits, if there are any

At this stage "RTE - The Panto" should replace it

Probably would have much more entertainment value

They could use a ventriloquist dummy for Turbridy

Rope in some of the cast members from "The Savage Eye" too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

That Indo article in the OP finishes with "The musical WAS set to run until December 31 at The Auditorium, Convention Centre, Dublin with tickets priced at €25."

Considering that the rest of the article reads like an RTE press release, I'd say that last line tells us where this is headed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

There's a competition you can enter for this.

Second prize is two tickets to Toy Show the Musical.

First prize is no tickets for it.

Was intriguing listening to Claire Byrne’s interview with Simon Coveney’s brother, Rory, who was the decision maker who encouraged this farce to go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

That's about the best idea, just flog them out free to anyone who txts. Duffy and D'Arcy can shift a few as well. One for everyone in de audience and yer friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Coming in 2023, not one but 2 Joe Duffy Musicals:

1. A centenary of cemeteries - join Joe as he visits some of his favourite graves from around Ireland. “You’ll be dyin’ to get into dis show” he he he he he
    2. FunnyFryday De Musical - do you miss racist jokes, terrible impressions, and “old style comedy” performed by amateurs paid more than professionals? Then join Joe and friends as he revisits “jokes” from the 1930s with special guests June Rogers and Doc Savage.

Tickets from €5,000. Coddle available on request.

Looked on the website and can only see tickets for either €45 or €50 not including booking fee; very pricy.

We went to Beauty and the Beast in the Bord Gais and it was a really fab production, was €60 a head and so much more worth it than that farse .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭hamburgham

I see Rory Coveney is ‘Director of Strategy’ at RTE. I wonder how much he is on.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

THat kid's voice in the ad with it's nauseating inflection makes me want to throttle the singer as well as the twat that cast it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

I haven't seen a review of the show anywhere.

Very strange, or perhaps not.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Irish Times gave it 2/5 stars. And were not kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

RTÉ have no business being in Theatre production. The T stands for Teilifís.

If some private entity wanted to licence the concept from RTÉ and take on all the risk of such a saccharine, puke inducing idea, then good luck to them. In fact a seasoned panto maker likely would have made a far better fist of it.

The losses of this thing must be clearly detailed and the responsible Producers sanctioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Next year:- RTE's - 'The Black Death, the musical' to run at both the Aviva and Croke Park simultaneously from Nov 18th 2023 to Jan 10th 2024 at an approx cost of €14m (of your money)

Buy your tickets early to avoid disappointment and customer quotas apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

They should rename this to:

One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest

Or

RTE has a hard on for aping shite British entertainment. The musical.

In true RTE fashion TSTM just had to feature a death, a sadness. The chief protagonist child has lost her mother, the premise for trying to get her bereaved father to get enthusiastic for the Toy Show. Now, riddle me this, what child wants to be subjected to a sorrowful back story on a night out of entertainment. For bereaved children it will only bring them right back to their own reality on what might be a night of respite, and for non-bereaved children in the audience it is a fearful reminder of the mortality of their own parents, and for some children this might become a constant rumination after seeing it as the foundation for their night out of Christmas entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭head82

Not sure how reliable this is but I saw a comment elsewhere claiming if a performance is cancelled due to illness amongst cast/crew.. insurance covers any losses.

However, if a performance is cancelled due to poor ticket sales.. nothing, nada, zero!

No doubt misinformation as I'm sure RTE wouldn't resort to such underhanded tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Bring back Al porter as the villain, "he's behind you"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

how could they think this was a good idea.

the toy show is in major decline and watched by adults for nostalgia reasons mostly. kids arnt watching it voluntarily. then its after christamass for some of it.

then ad in that it a musical , they couldnt make it any worse if they tried.

heads should roll for this disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

Where is the toyman now with all his promotion of this.

Hiding away in his crap radio show trying to distance himself ,like a slimy snake that he is.

Where are his two airhead producers, probably in the same sesspit with the fabulous Dee forbes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ach, I dunno how true that is either, Annie and Oliver Twist are regular Christmas favourites, don’t get me started on ET and, dare I say it - It’s a Wonderful Life 😬

It could well have been those stories which the producers were hoping to cash in on by what appears to be a common theme relating to Christmas stories… Jesus Christ now I think of it - Pinocchio, Snow White, Cinderella… definitely a theme there 😂

I think ‘twas more just a case of RTE believing in their own hype that caused them to imagine after the last few years of wringing the absolute shyte out of the Late Late Toy Show on social media, they imagined it could translate to bums on seats as a full-on musical theatrical event… they appear to have judged the relationship between social media and reality about as well as the ability of their intended audience.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Something strange about a cancellation due to sickness when the audiences are in their seats ready for the show, as happened on Saturday