Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Games Have You Completed? (2022 EDITION!)

18910111214»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭apache

Thanks Retro for that. I'll look into them. Complete novice here.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

1. Trails in the Sky Second Chapter|PC
    2. Operation C|Gameboy
    3. The Outer Wilds|PC
    4. Kid Dracula|Gameboy
    5. The Outer Wilds: Echoes of the Eye|PC
    6. Illusion of Gaia|SNES
    7. Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3|Gameboy
    8. Shantae|Gameboy Colour
    9. The Forgotten City|PC
    10. Bulk Slash|Saturn
    11. Monster World IV|Megadrive
    12. Medal of Honor: Allied Assault: Breakthrough|PC
    13. Pikmin 3|Switch
    14. Bayonetta 2|Switch
    15. X-Com 2: War of the Chosen|PC
    16. Super Ghouls 'n Ghosts|SNES
    17. GG Shinobi|Game Gear
    18. Elden Ring|PC
    19. Castlevania: Dracula X|SNES
    20. Maken X|Dreamcast
    21. God of War Ascension|PS3
    22. Kirby's Dream Land 2|Gameboy
    23. Ace Combat 2|PS1
    24. Quake: Dissolution of Eternity|PC
    25. Final Fantasy Legend|Gameboy
    26. For the Frog the Bell Tolls|Gameboy
    27. Trails in the Sky: the 3rd|PC
    28. Call of Duty: Ghosts|PC
    29. Wonderboy: the Dragon's Trap|PC
    30. Silent Bomber|PS1
    31. God of War: Ghost of Sparta|PS3
    32. Lemmings|PC
    33. Quake: Dimensions of the Past|PC
    34. Deathloop|PC
    35. Klonoa: Door to Phantomile|PC
    36. MakaiMura for WonderSwan|WonderSwan
    37. Ninja Gaiden (Game Gear)|Game Gear
    38. Aconcagua|PS1
    39. Monkey Island 2 Special Edition|PC
    40. Baroque|PS1
    41. Alien vs. Predator (1999)|PC
    42. Professor Layton and the Lost Future|Android
    43. Ninja Five-O|GBA
    44. Little Samson|NES
    45. Trip World|Gameboy
    46. The Guardian Legend|NES
    47. Contra: the Alien Wars|Gameboy
    48. Megaman: Wily's Revenge|Gameboy
    49. Barkley, Shut up and Jam: Gaiden|PC
    50. Night Trap|PC
    51. Gargoyle's Quest|Gameboy
    52. Cuphead - The Delicious Last Course|PC
    53. Space Manbow|MSX2
    54. Blue Reflection|PC
    55. MegaMan 2 |Gameboy
    56. Resident Evil 3 (Remake)|PC
    57. Clock Tower|SNES
    58. Deep Fear|Saturn
    59. Detention|PC
    60. Fire Emblem: The Binding Blade|GBA
    61. Quake: Dimensions of the Machine|PC
    62. Toki|PC
    63. Hakaiou: King of Crusher|PS1
    64. Marathon|Mac
    65. Megaman 4|Gameboy
    66. Crankin Presents Time Travel Adventure|Playdate
    67. Joe and Mac: Caveman Ninja|Arcade
    68. Master of Darkness|Master System
    69. Stalker: Clear Sky|PC
    70. Die Hard Arcade|Saturn
    71. Final Fantasy VII: Remake|PC

Final Fantasy VII: Remake

Where to start with this one. There's so much I love about this game and yet there's so much that actively sets out to annoy me and make me miserable.

Lets start with what I enjoyed. The art direction is fantastic. The world of those low res 32-bit backgrounds is imagined beautifully and it feels very authentic to the source material. The character designs are top notch, Nomura thankfully reeled himself in with only the Shinra vice president having ridiculous belt buckles in his design. The characters have been mostly nailed, in particular cloud who has the aloof goofiness of the original. When I say mostly, I'm a little disappointed with Aerith. Brianna White is superb in the role but see is just a bit too sweet and innocent. The original played Tifa and Aerith off one another, Tifa was the tough sex bomb that was shy and unable to express herself while Aerith was the pretty delicate flower girl with a streak of sass and street smarts. I mean in the original she pops off a few innuendos. She's now this super sweet mystical girl with more knowledge than she is letting on while originally she is the street urchin that slowly realises her powers very late.

The combat system is what really stands out to me. I've always preferred turn based combat, turn based just has so many more strategic possibilities. However I've been slowly changing my mind since the Xenoblade series has introduced one of the finest real time battle systems. FFVII's battle system is up there with Xenoblade. It's fantastic. There's a lot of strategy, you have to put yourself in danger to build ATB so you can use spells and abilities. I love a good stagger meter mechanic. There's a trade off you have to consider between buffs/healing and spells/weapon abilities to increase the stagger gauge. Enemy types are varied and fun to fight. However the battle system really shines in the boss battles which are spectacular. The whole thing works so well despite the visual noise that makes it look more like a Platinum games production.

Now to the bad. The padding and the modern anime-icifation. The original Midgar arc of FFVII is the perfect slice of JRPG. It's breezy and well placed. It sets up the mystery of who cloud is, who the hell this Sephiroth guy is and what the hell that jenova thing is in the tank. It leaps from set piece to set piece and when there's down time it lasts as long as it needs to. Mostly that down time plays quite close to an adventure game. For me it's the peak of the FFVII experience. FFVII remake takes that 5 hour experience and stretches it thin over 40 hours. There's dungeons added in that add nothing to the flow of the game or story. Dungeons are about twice as long as they need to be. There's sections where you have to complete inane side quests that bring the action to an absolute crawl. It's so badly paced and actively wastes the players time.

As for the story, I appreciate that they didn't do a scene by scene recreation of the original but what is here destroys the central mystery and themes of the original midgar arc with a sever lack of subtlety and focus on bombast. The whole mystery of who sephiroth is is ruined by the fact that he is in the game almost from the start. Hojo who slowly reveals himself to be the true villain of the original is a raving caricature of a villain. He is almost Kefka-esque, replete maniacal laugh. Aerith and Clouds charming gaunt over the rooftops at night is ruined by making it a dungeon. There's just a lack of restraint and subtlety to the whole thing. Despite the gulf between the 1997 release I prefer the direction of the same cinematics in the original. There's a few things I do like. Jenova's reunion is much better communicated to the player than in the original confused English translation. I also loved the stairs scene in the Shinra Building. But the good is mostly outweighed by the nonsense.

And there's nothing more nonsensical than the ending when Kingdom Hearts invades the world of FFVII. I like the implications that the game can now deviate from the original but it was so badly handled.

Anyway, I'm extraordinarily negative but only because the original has such a big place in my heart. When the game wasn't actively wasting my time I was enjoying it and the battle system is **chef's kiss**. It's more frustrating that there's an incredible game that could have come from this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

1. Trails in the Sky Second Chapter|PC
    2. Operation C|Gameboy
    3. The Outer Wilds|PC
    4. Kid Dracula|Gameboy
    5. The Outer Wilds: Echoes of the Eye|PC
    6. Illusion of Gaia|SNES
    7. Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3|Gameboy
    8. Shantae|Gameboy Colour
    9. The Forgotten City|PC
    10. Bulk Slash|Saturn
    11. Monster World IV|Megadrive
    12. Medal of Honor: Allied Assault: Breakthrough|PC
    13. Pikmin 3|Switch
    14. Bayonetta 2|Switch
    15. X-Com 2: War of the Chosen|PC
    16. Super Ghouls 'n Ghosts|SNES
    17. GG Shinobi|Game Gear
    18. Elden Ring|PC
    19. Castlevania: Dracula X|SNES
    20. Maken X|Dreamcast
    21. God of War Ascension|PS3
    22. Kirby's Dream Land 2|Gameboy
    23. Ace Combat 2|PS1
    24. Quake: Dissolution of Eternity|PC
    25. Final Fantasy Legend|Gameboy
    26. For the Frog the Bell Tolls|Gameboy
    27. Trails in the Sky: the 3rd|PC
    28. Call of Duty: Ghosts|PC
    29. Wonderboy: the Dragon's Trap|PC
    30. Silent Bomber|PS1
    31. God of War: Ghost of Sparta|PS3
    32. Lemmings|PC
    33. Quake: Dimensions of the Past|PC
    34. Deathloop|PC
    35. Klonoa: Door to Phantomile|PC
    36. MakaiMura for WonderSwan|WonderSwan
    37. Ninja Gaiden (Game Gear)|Game Gear
    38. Aconcagua|PS1
    39. Monkey Island 2 Special Edition|PC
    40. Baroque|PS1
    41. Alien vs. Predator (1999)|PC
    42. Professor Layton and the Lost Future|Android
    43. Ninja Five-O|GBA
    44. Little Samson|NES
    45. Trip World|Gameboy
    46. The Guardian Legend|NES
    47. Contra: the Alien Wars|Gameboy
    48. Megaman: Wily's Revenge|Gameboy
    49. Barkley, Shut up and Jam: Gaiden|PC
    50. Night Trap|PC
    51. Gargoyle's Quest|Gameboy
    52. Cuphead - The Delicious Last Course|PC
    53. Space Manbow|MSX2
    54. Blue Reflection|PC
    55. MegaMan 2 |Gameboy
    56. Resident Evil 3 (Remake)|PC
    57. Clock Tower|SNES
    58. Deep Fear|Saturn
    59. Detention|PC
    60. Fire Emblem: The Binding Blade|GBA
    61. Quake: Dimensions of the Machine|PC
    62. Toki|PC
    63. Hakaiou: King of Crusher|PS1
    64. Marathon|Mac
    65. Megaman 4|Gameboy
    66. Crankin Presents Time Travel Adventure|Playdate
    67. Joe and Mac: Caveman Ninja|Arcade
    68. Master of Darkness|Master System
    69. Stalker: Clear Sky|PC
    70. Die Hard Arcade|Saturn
    71. Final Fantasy VII: Remake|PC
    72. Dusk|PC

Dusk

The recent Nightdive rerelease of the original Quake was eye opening to me. Here was a game that I liked on release but dismissed later on as being only good because it was graphically impressive at the time. However replaying it I was taken aback by how good the game is. It highlighted something I didn't realise about modern shooters. From Call of Duty, Uncharted, Last of Us, Gears of War etc., they all have one thing in common, po-faced and boredom. Quake with it's incredible level design is an absolute joy in comparison.

Dusk was released at the vanguard of the recent resurgence in FPS games that hark back to the games of the 90's. Realism goes of the window and the focus is instead on excellent level design, weapons that are fun to used and a bestiary of enemies that are a blast to fight. Graphically and stylistically Dusk emulates the look of Quake and other games of the pre- 3D acceleration cards PC era FPS games. You can see the raw polygons the environments and enemies are made from and all the textures are presented in their raw unfiltered blockiness. It's not totally authentic, the game has plenty of graphical effects that weren't possible in those old games and the draw distance and amount of enemies on screen at the same time would have crippled my Pentium 100MHz machine, but it is an effective look. Despite the lo-fi graphics the game is able to exude atmosphere from its excellent art and sound design.

Where Dusk really succeeds is in just how much fun it is. Combat is visceral and exciting. Level design is incredible with levels looping around themselves and secrets a plenty to find (including a secret stage to find in each of the 3 episodes). At times the game shifts from all out blasting action to horror. The levels are constantly surprising. While it starts as simple keycard searches, later stages go wild with clever stages gimmicks, including gravity manipulation and non-Euclidean physics.

Make no mistake, Dusk is one of the best FPS games of all time. If you are bored of the handholding linear cinematic boring of modern shooters then pick this game up ASAP.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭skerry

Had my eye on it for a while. Just picked it up as part of the boomer shooter Humble Bundle along with Amid Evil and 5 other shooters that all look pretty good. Will give it a lash over the holidays

Amid evil is brilliant as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

God of War 2018 PC

Thats a damn fine video game, when people say AAA game they mean God of War. It has some very minor issues but the main one imo is ....."oh look its that enemy again".

It also has that unlockable moveset annoyance, you wont really bother with because you can smashie smashie everything with the same moves you had at the start.

Story length is decent, each boss fight although samey after a while ( watch their moves, wait, smashie smashie repeat x 10 times). No issues running it in 4k60 with all the fancies on.

I will go back to finish the option enemies who were kicking my ass in 2 hits, kinda hoped I would get at least one epic item from completing the game.

Tempted to steal the boys PS5 and buy "him" Ragnarók.

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭da gamer

Far cry 6 - PS4

Call of duty vanguard - PS4

Blood stone 007 - Xbox 360

Battlefield 2042 - PS4

Batman the enemy within - PS4

Control - PS4

Wet - Xbox 360

Batman arkham knight - PS4

Wolfenstein 2 the new colossus - PS4

Yakuza Kiwami - PS4

Guardians of the Galaxy - PS4

The Quarry - PS4

Sniper elite 5 - Xbox one

Horizon zero dawn - PS4

As dusk falls - Xbox series s

Fifa 22 - PS4

Resident evil village - PS4

Resident evil 4 - PS4

House of Ashes - PS4

Battlefield 1 - Xbox series s

Steep - PS4

Spiderman miles morales - PS4

• Registered Users Posts: 29,102 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Last games of the year for me:

TMNT: Shredder's Revenge

Escape Academy

• Registered Users Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

1. The Artful Escape (Xbox)
    2. Yakuza like a dragon (Xbox)
    3. The Gunk (Xbox)
    4. Psychonauts 2 (Xbox) 
    5. The Procession to Calvary (Xbox)
    6. Hitman 3 (Xbox)
    7. Fight Night Champion (Xbox 360)
    8. Ryse: Son of Rome (Xbox)
    9. Carrion (Xbox)
    10. Exo One (Xbox)
    11. A Plague Tale: Innocence (Xbox)
    12. Elden Ring (PS5)
    13. Trek to Yomi (Xbox)
    14. Guardians of the Galaxy (Xbox)
    15. Empire of Sin (Xbox)
    16. The Forgotten City (Xbox)
    17. Chained Echoes (Xbox)

Brilliant JRPG made by one person. If you're a fan of Final Fantasy or Suikoden you'll love this. It's on Game Pass. That makes 16 game pass games completed this year (and Elden Ring)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

1. Operation C (Game Boy)
    2. Wario Land: Super Mario Land 3 (Game Boy)
    3. Castle of Illusion staring Mickey Mouse (MD)
    4. Tiny Toon: Buster's Hidden Treasure (MD)
    5. Mega Man Xtreme (GBC)
    6. Earthworm Jim 2 (MD)
    7. Metal Slug Advance (GBA)
    8. Contra Hard Corps, NTSC-J ver. (MD)
    9. Klonoa: Empire of Dreams (GBA)
    10. Dragon Warrior Monsters 2: Tara's Adventure (GBC)
    11. Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (PS1)
    12. SNK vs Capcom: Match of the Milllenium (NGPC)
    13. Crash Bandicoot (PS1)
    14. Klonoa 2: Dream Champ Tournament (GBA)
    15. Crash Bandicoot 2 (PS1)
    16. Air Zonk (PCE)
    17. Monster World IV (MD)
    18. Klonoa: Moonlight Museum (WS)
    19. Dragon Warrior 1 (GBC)
    20. Wendy Every Witch Way (GBC)
    21. It Takes Two (PS4)
    22. Burnout Paradise (PS3)
    23. Luigi's Mansion 2 (3DS)
    24. Klonoa: Door to Phantomile (Switch)
    25. Katamari Forever (PS3)
    26. Pokemon Moon (3DS)
    27. Beautiful Katamari (360)
    28. Dead Rising (360)
    29. Alice: Madness Returns (360)
    30. Dishonored (360)
    31. Dishonored 2 (PS4)
    32. If Found (Switch)
    33. Dragon Quest XI S (Switch)
    34. Pokemon: Shining Pearl (Switch)
    35. Inazuma Eleven 3: Team Ogre Attacks (3DS)
    36. Attack of the Friday Monsters! A Tokyo Tale (3DS)
    37. Yo-Kai Watch (3DS)
    38. Pokemon Crystal (3DS)
    39. Sonic the Hedgehog: Pocket Adventure (NGPC)

It's Sonic 2 thinly reskinned for a 1999 portable release. That's it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

1. Immortals Fenyx Rising - PlayStation 5
    2. Persian Nights: Sands of Wonder - PS4 game on PlayStation 5
    3. Rad Rodgers - PS4 game on PlayStation 5 (PS Now)
    4. Shady Part of Me - PS4 game on PlayStation 5
    5. Mass Effect: Legendary Edition - PlayStation 5
    6. Mass Effect 2: Legendary Edition - PlayStation 5
    7. Mass Effect 3: Legendary Edition - PlayStation 5
    8. Mass Effect Andromeda - PS4 game on PlayStation 5
    9. Persian Nights 2: Midnight Veil - PlayStation 5
    10. Skyland: Heart of the Mountain - PlayStation 5
    11. Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragons Keep - PS4 game on PlayStation 5
    12. Desert Child - PS4 game on PlayStation 5 (PS Now)
    13. Ben 10 - PS4 game on PlayStation 5 (PS Now)
    14. Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order - PlayStation 5
    15. Battlefield 4 - PlayStation 5
    16. Sea of Solitude - PlayStation 4
    17. Fe - PlayStation 5
    18. Lego Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues - PS3 on PS5 (PS Now)
    19. Shadow Warrior 3 - PS4 on PS5 (PS Now)
    20. Dysmantle - PlayStation 5
    21. Far Cry Primal - PS4 on PS5
    22. Stray - PS5
    23. Erica - PS4 game on PS5
    24. The Dark Pictures Anthology: Little Hope - PS5
    25. Ice Age: Scrat's Nutty Adventure - PS4 game on PS5
    26. Ghost of Tsushima - PlayStation 5
    27. Deliver Us The Moon - PlayStation 5
    28. Observer: System Redux - PlayStation 5
    29. Spider Man: Miles Morales - PlayStation 5
    30. Observation - PlayStation 5
    31. The Turing Test - PlayStation 5
    32. Alex Kidd in Miracle World DX - PlayStation 5
    33. Marvels Guardians of the Galaxy - PlayStation 5
    34. Scott Pilgrim vs The World: The Game - PlayStation 5
    35. The Artful Escape - PlayStation 5
    36. Outlast: Whistleblower DLC - PS4 game on PS5
    37. Lost Words: Beyond the Page - PlayStation 5
    38. The Dark Pictures Anthology: Man of Medan - PlayStation 5
    39. My Friend Pedro - PlayStation 5
    40. Prey - PlayStation 5
    41. R-Type Final II - PlayStation 5
    42. Crash Bandicoot - PlayStation 5
    43. Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice - PlayStation 5
    44. Mafia 2: Definitive Edition - PlayStation 5
    45. Far Cry 5 - PlayStation 5
    46. Far Cry 5: Hours of Darkness DLC - PlayStation 5
    47. Far Cry 5: Lost on Mars DLC - PlayStation 5

Far Cry 5 and DLC's

Not much to say about Far Cry 5, it's standard Far Cry fare. Enjoyable game but very formulaic. The main downside is that this entry had a very poor plot compared to other entries.

Both DLC's - Hours of Darkness and Lost on Mars - are better than the base game, simply because they try and do something a little different. Hours of Darkness is set during the Vietnam war and is much more stealth based and Lost on Mars is set on mars and features borderlands type humour and interesting weapons and boosting mechanics. I would have preferred a full game based on Lost on Mars.

That's it for me for 2022!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,102 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

The House of DaVinci 2.

Another escape room type game. A number of similar puzzles to Escape Academy.

And that is the final game of the year.

I'm at a fancy hot for new years and won't be beating the super long jrpg I'm playing so I'm done for the year. I'll do my usual run down of the year when I'm back.

• Moderators Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭Azza

Shadow Tactics Blades of the Shogun: Aiko's Choice - PC

Ace Combat 7 and its 3 DLC Missions - PC

Resident Evil 4 (with Alberts Texture mod) - PC (4th time to beat this game, first time on professional difficulty)

Cyberpunk 2077 - PC

Tomb Raider (2013) - PC (2nd time beating this game)

Desperadoes III and its 3 DLC Missions - PC

Sniper Elite 4 DLC Missions - PC (had beat the main campaign before but not the DLC missions)

Sniper Elite 5 and its 3 DLC Missions - PC

Aperture Desk Job - Steam Deck

Ryse Son of Rome - Steam Deck

Streets of Rage 4 Mr X Nightmare DLC -PC/Steam Deck (beat the main campaign last year, did all the achievements when the DLC came out)

Tetris Effect: Connected - PC/Steam Deck/VR

Amid Evil - PC

Hitman 3: Ambrose Island DLC- PC

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredders Revenge - PC/Steam Deck

Resident Evil Village: Shadow of Rose DLC- PC

The Ascent: Cyber Heist DLC -PC

Ghostwire Tokyo - PC

God of War - PC

Uncharted 4: A Thief's End - PC

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy - PC

Portal RTX - PC

Vampire Survivors - PC/Steam Deck

Ghost Runner and Project Hel DLC - PC

My Top 3 would be

1. Cyberpunk 2077
    2. God of War
    3. Ghost Runner

Most disappointing 3 would be

1. Ghostwire Tokyo
    2. Amid Evil
    3. TMNT:Shredders Revenge

Neither Amid Evil or TMNT are bad games, just didn't click that much with me. Ghostwire on the otherhand is a game I wanted to like, but just can't.

Special mention to Vampire Survivors which after completing it and its DLC with all achievements makes me want to go out and burn my PC in a bonfire.

Post edited by Azza on

• Registered Users Posts: 33,737 ✭✭✭✭Penn

1. Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales (PS4)
    2. The Outer Wilds (PS4)
    3. The Forgotten City (PS5)
    4. Sifu (PS5)
    5. Horizon Forbidden West (PS5)
    6. Elden Ring (PS5)
    7. Tiny Tina's Wonderlands (PS5)
    8. Cuphead (PS4)
    9. Sonic Origins (PS5)
    10. Inscryption (PS5)

TMNT Shredders Revenge (PS5)

Forgot to post this at the time. Enjoyed it a lot. Thought it was very well designed, felt very nostalgic, and was a real thumb-breaker, as games like that should be. That said some of the levels were annoying where you're on skateboards or jets, which always felt off in terms of determining your verticality. Haven't gone back to it since and can't really imagine I will. Enjoyable, but not great.

God of War Ragnarok (PS5)

A stunning game. Achieved everything I wanted it to and had much better level design, enemy variety and even the combat was improved from the first game. Some sections felt needlessly slow though, and in some ways the story suffered just because of the amount of new characters. Overall though, I thought it was a worthy sequel to the first, though it was missing that element of surprise that the first gave.

Marvel Midnight Suns (PS5)

Surprised by how much I ended up having fun with this game. The card combat is incredibly well designed and a lot more dynamic than X-Com 2. It's far more forgiving, while still keeping you on your toes. The other side of the game in terms of making friends with Marvel Heroes is very hit and miss, usually more miss. It's a necessary evil as it ties in with all your upgrades, and unlocks new cards and abilities. It doesn't drag the game down too much as after a while you learn how to speed through the majority of it, but it can be quite annoying all the same, especially as the writing and characterisation is just so bland and boring. There are also a few too many systems in the game that simply weren't necessary. But again, the actual card combat side of things just felt so damn good.

There were a few other games I started this year but haven't completed. Lego Star Wars Skywalker Saga, Evil West, Rollerdrome, Return to Monkey Island, Cyberpunk 2077 (again...), probably a few others I can't think of. Either way I doubt I'll go back to them, so that's me for 2022.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

I meant to post more regularly here in 2022 when finished games, but just realized I haven't posted since end of January.... so here I go at bringing upto date & hoping I can remember much about said games...

1. Shady Part Of Me (PS4 on PS5)

2. Adam's Venture: Origins (PS4 on PS5)

3. The Order 1886 (PS4 on PS5)

4. A Short Hike (Switch)

5. Horizon Zero Dawn + DLC (PS4 on PS5) Fairly bog standard open world affair. Getting different parts of machines addeda little something slightly different to combat, but all in all, coupled with the DLC, gave me open world burnout for a while after.

6. Dying Light 2 (PS5) - Decent, but not a patch on DL1. Main reason being lack of tension and fear in this compared to the original.

7. Virginia (PS4 on PS5) - intriguing story based game with shades of Twin Peaks. Be intrigued to play though again to see how it all ties together, but then may lose the initial mystery of first playthrough. Nice and short too, would recommend.

8. Kirby & the Forgotten Land (Switch) - my game of the year, simply because it was the most fun I had on any game. Feels original and fresh (although admittedly I've not played previous Kirby games) and doesn't outstay its welcome either.

9. Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga (PS5) - nice bit of nostalgia in Lego form, and split between episodes (movies) gives nice session lengths to dip in and out of. Not sure if it would have done anything for me if not a Star Wars fan though, gameplay is simple Lego standard.

10. Gran Turismo 7 (PS5) - counting this as finished the single player career part... excellent simulator, but not been back to it for several months now, which maybe says more about the enjoyment factor.

11. The Quarry (PS5) - good horror game with story/choice gameplay, though doesn't hit the heights of the their previous game Until Dawn.

12. Leo's Fortune (PS4 on PS5) - easy going platformer/puzzler, bit of brainless fun.

13. Stray (PS5) - decent but massively overrated imo. Then again I'm more a dog person...

14. Last Stop (PS5) - story/choice game, some intrigue, but some tedium too

15. Lake (PS5) - played this following the worst few weeks of my life personally. This was a nice chill game, just what I needed at the time. Think of it as Life is Strange mixed with Postman Pat

16. Grid Legends (PS5) - really good arcade racer, again counting as single player mode completed.

17. Pac-Man World Re-Pac (PS5) - fun platformer, does nothing new but does nothing wrong either.

18. Tales From The Borderlands (PS4 on PS5) - the worst Telltale game I've played by some distance, found it a slog to finish. I think the Borderlands "humour" is just lost on me

19. A Plague Tale: Innocence (PS5) - one of my favourite games of a few years ago, so decided to give it a replay with the PS5 version on Plus. Still really enjoyed it again, although did give me a bit of burnout so haven't been able to get into the sequel yet.

20. Sifu (PS5) - not a massive fan of beat-em-up or kung-fu games, but this was actually a pleasant surprise. Even the story had something in it to make me want to push on, with a few novel ideas in gameplay such as game over once you've aged too much caused by damage.

21. Super Mario Odyssey (Switch) - an absolute delight from start to finish, if you can play this, you should.

22. The Artful Escape (PS5) - nice idea, but for a game that only last about 4-5 hours, it still seemed too long. Did really enjoy it in parts though.

23. The Devil In Me (PS5) - probably the best of the Dark Pictures series so far, with a Mr X type character building up the tension being the highlights.

24. Gotham Knights (PS5) - a real surprise this. Took a punt on it in Black Friday sale, and hugely enjoyed it. It basically plays like a knock-off Spiderman, but since Spidey is one of my favoiurite games then thats no bad thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Final Fantasy X-2

A decent sequel to a meh game.it was tonally ll over the place, but that's par for the course for FF at this stage. I didn't understand why they went the way of a pop group but at least i got the good ending where Tidus doesn't come back to life.

Metro: Last Light

A brilliant sequel and a great example of why linear, corridor shooting can be such fantastic experiences.

Wipeout: Omega collection.

Look, it's more Wipeout. you're either into these games or you're not.

Darksiders.

THis was a wierd one. I loved the setting and the teenage edgelord plot, as well as the hack-slash combat. i really wasn't a fan of the puzzle platforming sections. Once you enter a puzzle room, the solutions were usually obvious and it's just a tedious slog of platforming and lever pulling back and forth. the boss fights were great craic though.

The Order 1886

Another odd one, the game is a perfectly servicible 3rd person cover shooter, the story is pretty decend, but bloody hell, the pacing is so slow. your walking speed is slow, your running speed is slow, the cutscenes are slow and dragged out to death. You fight normal people mostly with the occasional wearwolf. the wearwolf fights are laughable as their attack pattern is to charge you from the other end of the room, knock you down then run aray to line up their next attack. at one point i stood there without dodging and my health had already regenerated by the time the second attack came. there are two boss fights, but it's just the same QTE fight done twice. the game also ends on a cliffhanger, which i dislike. It looks fantastic but there's too muh wrong with The Order to recommend at anything over bargain bin.

ESPN NHL Hockey

A fun little sports game. maybe i'm just not very good at it but it seems really difficult to score goals in this game.

Bioshock Infinite.

Where to begin here? I loved Colombia, a brilliant setting. the story starts out strong and we finally have an escort mission (most of the game) where we don't have to worry about our charge during cobat. Bioshock finally dumps the silent protagonist and it's for the better. I was going to say this was the best bioshock game made until we started dimention crossing and the game swiftly made it's way up it's own arse. I was also waiting for the big reveal of Bookers connection to Elizabeth because they did a big reveal in the first game so you know it's coming. I thought the ending was stupid and non-sensical and the game more or less fell apart by the finish. a shame for something that was so damn good for 75% of it's runtime.