Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Can you suggest a better alternative alternative lineup?

There will be a UI minister, it will be led by a deep SF TD like Matt Carthy or Padraig McLochlainn. Someone who doesn't need a satnav to find Andersonstown.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Rosahane

I had pegged McLochlainn to be appointed leader after Adams. I think the plan went awry when he failed to get re-elected to the Dail. He’s streets ahead of most of the others with regard to brains and ability.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,427 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I’m glad you wrote appointed and not elected.

Appointed by who?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 11,213 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Thanks I'll see about reading Brian Feeney's account as it might throw light on what happened in the period roughly 1927-1957. You sometimes hear current SF spokespeople referring back to their roots pre independence but I was under the impression that the party effectively disappeared after the civil war and split into FF & FG. So that the modern SF is a reinvention by a group who just appropriated the old name. But maybe not, perhaps there was a continuity of sorts.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,774 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Neither Eoin or Mary Lou would ever get elected in their home place. So had to ‘slum it’ in less affluent constituencies in order to get elected.

McDonald’s situation is particularly fascinating as her sister was member of Eirigi a Republican Party which broke away from SF.

Here is Mary Lou’s sister Joanne speaking at an Erigi meeting in 2011.

Erigi is more socialist in leaning than SF, and like SF was - is Euroskeptic.

I often wonder did the McDonald sisters ‘compete’ in their Republicanism? Because it is highly unusual for one Republican to come from the leafy suburb of Rathgar. But we have two from the same family. Coincidence ?

I also question Mary Lou’s move from FF to SF. As it did seem to be ‘political opportunism’ at the time.

As McDonald had more chance of rising the ranks of a developing ‘Southern’ SF than a more established party like FF.

Also I question SF’s sincerity in the EU apparently their stance now is to be supportive of the EU project but still critical of it.

I would argue that SF’s U-Turn on Europe was nothing more than political opportunism. As SF copped on it is much easier to get elected as an MEP than a TD. And it would give SF profile and legitimacy with the ‘Southern’ electorate.

Mary Lou being elected as the first SF Southern MEP was crucial in the creation of ‘brand SF’ for the ROI and 'brand Mary Lou’.

Also there was the political assassination of Joan Burton and Labour by SF. Leaving the vacuum in ‘the left’. Painting Burton as the establishment etc. But Burton lived and grew up in a council house in Inchicore and the McDonalds grew up in leafy Rathgar.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Now that's the mystery😉 I wonder who has filled the seats left vacant by McCourt and Storey?

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

and what party had expericence when they first got into power????? this will be sinn feins first time in power of course they wont have experience but what party did have starting off?? people know that sf have the peoples best interests and wont be controlled by bankers and developers and saying other countrys have it bad as a way to get out of critising ff and fg sure whats that got to do with anything we have our own problems no houses no hospitals remember when the council used to do the bins then they gave it to companys probably off a backhander sinn fein will bring free bins and sort us out with the housing

• Registered Users Posts: 27,901 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

They have experience of government in Northern Ireland where SF have held the Housing Ministry for quite some time. How has it been going up there?

https://homelessconnect.org/latest-homelessness-statistics-published-for-ni/#:~:text=One%20of%20the%20most%20notable,the%20equivalent%20period%20in%202021.

They have one third of the population, but their homeless are two thirds of the South, indicating that SF are doing twice as bad a job in Northern Ireland on housing as the government down here is.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

not the same at all they have the brits working against them all the way get the brits out and then see how they do

• Registered Users Posts: 11,213 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

"Also there was the political assassination of Joan Burton and Labour by SF. Leaving the vacuum in ‘the left’. Painting Burton as the establishment etc. But Burton lived and grew up in a council house in Inchicore and the McDonalds grew up in leafy Rathgar."

Isn't that one of the great contradictions. SF were merciless in attacking Joan Burton & Labour aided by the PBP choirboys. But Joan was/is far more authentic that any of the above middle class poseurs.

I felt sorry for the woman they destroyed her whatever you think about Joan Burton's policies she was genuine (albeit with an admittedly annoying voice). But you would swear she killed someone the way she was attacked politically. T

Then you had MLM from Rathgar and RBB from Glenagery and privately educated ripping her reputation apart.

However, personally I partly blame Labour for the rise of SF in the ROI because they should have stood firm and not let this happen. It was obvious what was going on. And put the appropriate strategies in place.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Why? A SF supporter isn't only for Christmas, they are welcome all year around.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭mikethecop

bye

seems a lot of the shinnerbots have faded out due in part to ongoing trails and people calling them out on the true nature of the organization

all they have left is a seemly new recruit who is already a well-established troll on every thread he graces

The Shinnerbot sense of victimhood is always amusing considering they support the actions of an organisation that shot people, blew them up and covered up child sex abuse.

An alternative opinion would be that the peak of SF online activity has passed. I only know of one SF supporter who was banned, but that was the 12-account one.

Sinn Fein apologists need to make up their minds.

They claim an unbroken connection to the founding of the party by dual monarchist Arthur Griffith in 1905.

They claim the IRA was the legitimate army of the Irish Republic and the army council the legitimate government.

Then claim they were never in government.

Sinn Fein politicians signed the treaty. Sinn Fein politicians ordered the first shots of the civil war to be fired.

Sinn Fein politicians ordered the execution of more Irish men than the British.

Sinn Fein justified a struggle in which thousands were killed in order to drive the British out of Ireland and unite north and south.

Now you offer free bins. 😄

They also collaborated with the Nazis, something they also like to brush under the carpet.

They seem irresistibly attracted to brutal regimes.

The USSR

LIBYA

CUBA

VENEZUELA

FARC

HEZBOLLAH

These are the types of regimes SF seek inspiration from.

Don't forget Sandinista and Hamas

Watched that Two Tribes show on RTÉ last night, where Ferriter is suggesting that SF are just the new FF in waiting. Broad nationalism, big State, economic populism. Don't worry, be happy sort of stuff.

Are the younger members of the party ok with that though? Most youth wings of established political parties are about letting young folk with undeveloped brains the opportunity to explore the fringes of acceptability when it comes to their party. Will SF be able to stop the venom spouters on Twitters the opportunity to moderate their thinking within this move into "normal politics"?

Personally I don’t see anything inevitable about Sinn Fein leading the next government. Looking at SF politicians posts recently the comments seem to be about 90% negative, whereas 12 months ago they would have been 90% positive. This is pretty extraordinary for a party in opposition.

Most of the negativity is from anti immigration etc posters. There is a serious possibility that the Sinn Fein vote will be eaten into by those from the right. Their big weakness could be not being radical enough.

Personally never placed too much belief that SF were running their social media campaign out of Serbia. What they have now is a huge amount of very angry young men expecting SF to deliver everything for them. That's the sort of anger that other parties filtered out many decades ago at this stage.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Does it matter? The youth wing of most parties is fairly irrelevant, all the more so in a setup such as SF.

Their voting support is also coming from older and older cohorts.

HQ must have realised that a load of angry oddballs spouting venom and hate at journalists, centrist dads and members of other political parties isn’t a good look.

Not too sure they’ll be able to do much with the Pandora’s box they created.

Lot of anger involved. And bad facial hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

^^^

Would that have anything to do with Callan Kicks the Year last night... 'just asking loke' as Mary L had whats his name muttering up the whaa every 10 seconds and trying to recruit new supporters from every queue in sight.

Dan.

I was wondering why it had got so quiet on here. The lads are following orders.

The next wave will be posts beginning with stuff like

"I don't usually vote SF but I have to say I'm impressed with..."

I’d rather be stuck in the lift of a halitosis clinic than watch Callan Kicks. One of Ireland’s unfunniest men.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It wasn't too bad when it first started but like everything else RTE milked it to death. It's boring now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭mikethecop

aw these shinners are deluded ,

State Papers: Adams warned about peace process in wake of Jerry McCabe murder - Independent.ie

in one breath they are offended that the Gardai put pressure on them for murdering one of their own before threatening to destabilize the whole country by breaking ceasefire if they didnt get a pass on murder , and then demanding that the killers be included in the GFA releases and treated as hero's for executing a man in the name of greed.

Sinn Féin’s Martin Kenny: ‘I’m sure there’s plenty of guards that vote for us’ – The Irish Times

then you have this wet end thinking that gardai should be voting for them ?

many gardai with decent service will have watched the transition of "volunteers " to drug dealers' smugglers and thieves. Having the states police force at the beck and call of an organized crime gang like sf is a laughable idea.

who knows what a sf justice minister may have been involved before going into politics after all