Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve (v2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,390 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Majella reminds everyone that it was effectively her house, with Daniel away for 46 weeks of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭touts

Poor Joe. He was happy out in a house by himself and then he fell in love and next thing he knew Dermot Bannon was in on top of him telling him he needed fancy things like one of those Armchair yokes. 🤣

They were one of the nicest couples on the show though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Great episode and fantastic house.

Really lovely couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Was surprised to see this retrospective panel-show thing when I turned in last night. Are we really only getting 4 episodes this series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

What a load of rubbish. 1 hour of prime time TV on that. Typical RTÉ, would have preferred another episode!!

patrick F hardly opened his mouth, wasn’t really the right setting for his sarcasm. Loved the previous reviews he did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

What was that episode?? Have they run out of houses already??

I wish they would do a series of proper revisited houses - go back to houses done in previous series', meet with the owners and see how they've gotten on with the house since, what they've changed (if anything), would they have done anything differently, how life has changed etc. I would find that interesting.

Sunday night episode smacks of having no content to air so the editing room in RTE cut and pasted a few previous episodes together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭Deeec

I only watched 5 minutes of Sunday nights show - it was scraping the barrell to fill up a TV slot.

I agree I would love to see a revisit show aswell. It would be good to see how the houses stand up to everyday life and if they have aged well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Not a bad programme, brought up some memories.

At the intro, Nuala comes into the room, he goes to shake her hand, she decides to give the 'elbow touch', she sits down, he folds his arms and crosses his legs away from her in a very defensive posture. 😂

Is this your sitting room? Yeah! - Eh, no it most definitely is not his sitting room.

Nice to see the two blonde ladies from Portrane, I enjoyed that show a lot, loved the way they got stuck in, but having worked on sites I probably would have had words with them. I also think Dermot is being a bit economical with the truth when he says they had a great view of Lambay. They had a view, but not the one they showed on TV.

QS Lisa was such a stunner and so no-nonsense. Majella's body language cooled towards Dermot, especially when she called him out for being a liar. Also Dermot complaining when she speaks over him. It's one of his most annoying traits in how he talks over and shouts down and belittles clients.

Majella not afraid to show his negatives; not listening, terrible timekeeping, picking stuff and changing stuff without discussion. Not sure she thinks she got full value for their money, even though she loves the house. She takes no crap off him anyway.

I didn't like that outside of the Fermoy house, thought it was too bare and took away from the old house.

I would have liked to have seen how the garden in Athgarvan turned out, Google Earth is still the old pic.

Joe and Mary still the best couple ever on it.

I enjoyed it.

I think the issue with a revisit is that they'd pick someone who was fawning over Dermot. They need a show where they people are not afraid to criticise them; maybe Majella would be the best one.

They did a house in Newport Co. Mayo. It was supposed to be a renovation for the family and kids, and above all the Granny who wasn't the best on her feet. Dermot put in steps and bends all over the house. I'd love to see them interviewed. There wasn't a single railing or grip that she had to hold onto in the whole house. I'd like to see if they changed anything around.

The house in Portrane; the mother had a tiny room with no space between the bed and the wall. Madness really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,499 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Dog!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Did anyone watch Dermot Bannon's Incredible Homes on RTE1 last night?

It fell a little flat for me. I didn't really like most of the homes except for the apartment in Barcelona. I think they could have maybe hired an interpreter but perhaps covid restrictions might not have allowed for that. The visit to the Michelin starred chef's home with her teenage daughters seemed a bit disorganised - running about the house to find switches, the daughters trying to interpret, them leaving Dermot to try and navigate his way around a very minimalistic house while they went to work.

Looking forward to next week's though in Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,310 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Seen a promo today for new series, starts 8th January

Article in the indo today, he is claiming that he wanted to reinvent RTI but he ‘can’t’ as the viewers don’t want him to !! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

They're doing the same with RTI that they've done with the late late toy show. Basically more focused on the human element and the actual house/toys are an afterthought. I wonder if he wanted more or less of the human element

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,390 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

RTI The Musical? "Tada, I forgot to order the metal beams for the third time this series" sung to a dramatic air with tap dancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,547 ✭✭✭jaffa20

It was probably to have a minimum budget of 300k and a contingency of 50% of budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭Deeec

I would love to see RTI revamped - I would get rid of Dermot and introduce a new architect to the show. Im sick of Dermot pushing his own agenda for every house - his tiny minimal chipboard kitchens which are of no practical use for families because he's not into cooking, tiny utility areas etc. I would love also to see revisits to see how previous clients are finding their homes. I bet alot of them had problems with the designs and have changed certain aspects already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,523 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i think its too far gone to save at this point. dermots ego is too big and he is used to getting his way for too long. the budgets are huge and overruns are astronomical. it needs to start again with the focus on energy efficiency and minor changes that will imrove the home rather than tear it all apart and re do it all . budgets need to be 30-50k . rearange a few walls, move some stuff around. maybe a small extention to move utility room or kitchen to a better location . it needss to foucus on the small stuff people can do to improve the usability of their home. i put a velux window into my parents kitchen roof 2 years ago. 500 euro window and it transformed the kitchen from a dark dungeun even on a good day to an airy flood lite space.

There's scope there for a 2nd show on home renovations IMO. One that deals with what most of us are going through with small refits and piece by piece retrofitting.

It needs a presenter who is capable of listening to clients and explaining to us in laymans terms what the differences in solar heating vs. air source heat pumps and why one is more suitable in a particular application than others.

Also go to people who retro fitted some years ago and see how they get on.

Can also do what RTI did at the beginning and refit a kitchen, garage, attic etc.

RTE won't change RTI too much as it's a big seller for them, but the projects are so big now that they can only do a few programmes a year and that must give them food for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,442 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

100%

His real aspiration is for a grand designs type program. Not the mass market minor but impactful upgrade market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

This sort of **** is really depressing for people who can't afford to change their homes or can't afford a home or even rent. Also throw in a load of adults who have to still live with their parents because of same. Or have to emigrate to find a place to live.

It's really bad taste by RTE during a housing crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,046 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

You should write a letter to Top Gear while you're at it.

Delivering one now personally in my Porsche. 🤣🤣🤣

Sure there wouldn't be much on TV if this line of reasoning was followed.

Maybe we'd get a lot more fair city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Allinall

I’m watching Brentford v Liverpool at the moment.

Should I be depressed and feeling morose because I’m not good enough to play for a Premiership team and earn €€€€€€ per week?

Your license fee is being used by RTE to pump up property prices via property porn shows like this, during a housing crisis in Ireland. That's all.

Post edited by SuperBowserWorld on

On that basis they shouldn't have shown Dallas, Dynasty or Miami Vice in the 80s when we didn't have a pot to piss in, and when it was hard enough for young people to get a visa to visit the US.

Roisin Murphy is a far better tv presenter imo - she listens to the clients and delivers what they want. Dermot is pompus and opinionated. Too easy for him to come out with nonsense like he wants to reinvent RTI but viewers love what he is doing too much - such nonsense