Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster vs Connacht Jan 1st 2023 7.35 RTE2

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Doris is in some vein of form. Super player. Has it all.

Connacht should have done better there, Ngati should find that much pace.

Baird shoulda been a fullback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,316 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Ngatai pulled up after making that pass to Baird. Really hope he isn't injured like Sexton. We need as many top quality players in the middle of the park as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Ralston on for TOH when the primary issue ignored. It is utterly soul destroying when your coach can't see the primary issue or simply chooses to ignore it.

Decent hit out. First half was extremely sloppy and it's concerning how many of our own lineouts were lost.

Second half was better. Tightened up for the first 25 minutes and killed the game before opening up and scoring some lovely trys.

Larmour, Baird and Doris were the standouts.

Ref was banjaxed there at the end

Soroka made a decent physical impact off the bench. I was hopeful that this season would be his breakthrough one. Been injured until this week, but hopefully he'll have some opportunities in the coming months to lay down a marker.

He has that extra grunt which Leinster are trying to implement into their game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

He was blowing nearly as hard as the Connacht lads!

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Subscribers Posts: 41,915 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

4 conversions missed.

Line out a shambles.

Lost the scrum battle.

Lots to work on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Actually mentioning about refs being wrecked, I have to give them credit. They have some level of fitness.

Take into account being tired can effect decisions as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,428 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Sexton has taken no interviews. It was clear from the post match mingling that he was finding difficult to talk normally. Its pretty clear thats a serious bit of damage of some sort and I think we can count him out of the January European games and probably at least the first two rounds of the 6N.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭phily2002

Its mad when you think about it. Quite an easy win in the end but so much went wrong. Think it shows how good Leinsters defense and attack in open play is. Not many teams could be that bad at set piece and win like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

Could he also face a citing fir the upright head to head tackle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Does anyone know if the injury came in the tackle where Sexton seems to have had a head on head collision with Butler while attempting to make the tackle or immediately after where Tom Daly cleared him out in the ruck with a shoulder to head.

That can't have been a fun few seconds for Sexton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,424 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

It's possible, but unlikely. It would have to be at a red card level and the level of force Sexton adds to the tackle probably wouldn't warrant that, though little other mitigation exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

Fair enough. Hopefully not a serious injury and he will be back for Ireland for the 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,757 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

About as clear as it gets. Summed up how bad Carty was all evening

Vdf try was just filthy

Pretty glaring error from the ref not to card Sexton the more I think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,424 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

At least look at it. I don't think it would have gone anywhere from my memory of the incident but still deserved at least a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Think Sexton was pretty passive but he's completely upright so a yellow wouldn't have been outrageous.

Otherwise it was a weird game, always felt like the floodgates were about to open but Connacht hung in there, ably assisted by the omnishambles of the Leinster lineout.

Gutted for Hawkshaw, he was doing really well but that's a season ender I'd say. The new Murray looks very decent too. Carty was atrocious god help him, everything he touched turned to sh1t.

For Leinster, Ngatai continues to look a fantastic signing and Larmour was just outstanding again. Think he has to be ahead of JOB now.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I thought JOB was fairly tidy last night too. Larmour has always looked good going forward. Until he can prove he is safe under a high ball, which Carty wasn’t able to test last night. I’d say JOB is still ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭crisco10

JoBs left boot is very useful too.

Think sextons tackle was defo worth a TMO review and probably would have been yellow (but who knows?!)

Osbourne has an absolute cannon of a boot as well. Lowesque.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭randomname2005

Going on recent decisions, yellow would have been fair if given but definitely a penalty IMHO.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭TRC10

Is Jimmy O'Brien's boot actually any good, or does he just happen to be left footed?

If he was just as good a kicker, but was right footed, nobody would be going on about his "useful boot".

Ngatai, Lowe and Osborne have useful boots. O'Brien is just left footed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Lowe and Osbourne are also left footed.

It's nice to have a left footed kicking option in a backing but with Lowe we already have one.

Once you have a left footed kicking option on the field the second one isn't that special.

I do suspect that it's something Leo pays attention to when stitching together mixed 1st choice/2nd choice backlines.

JOB is a good kicker. Lowe and Keenan are better kickers in the back 3 imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭crisco10

Well yeah, JOB is a grand kicker, he gets about 50 yards on his clearances, Lowe can probably get about 60. But the angles a left footer (and by definition a left footer is a rarer thing) provides you are important, especially since so many kick offs go to the receiving teams left side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

O'Brien's put in some pinpoint kicks in his time. He might not get quite the distance Lowe gets on his kicks but if you want a deft kick in behind the defence JOB's your man.