Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Notice to quit after 20 years.....property evaluation

• 04-01-2023 9:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭dragona

Been renting an unfurnished property for the last 20 years, v long story but I suffered domestic abuse, and my husband was made to leave.

I had the lease changed to my name only three months later, and all well and good, and then suddenly in October my landlord informed me he wants to sell. Ok.

Have been given the required amount of notice, which is to the last day in July, but have just received a call from the landlord saying the auctioneers will be getting in touch shortly for an evaluation to price the property. Is it strange that it is being done so soon? Why have it valued whilst I am still living here, and still have 7 months of tenancy left most if not all the fixtures and fittings are mine. The appliances and Furniture are all mine.

Are they going to report back to him that my bathroom is messy ? bedroom untidy etc?

Not a rent issue, always been paid in a timely manner, was given a valid enough reason as to why selling....😥 true or not who knows, but anyway.....

I am already super stressed about the whole situation,can he put it up for sale whilst I am still living here, do I have to let people in to traipse around and view ?😮

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭herbalplants

I am sorry you are going through this but yes the owner is getting ready to sell. He is not doing anything wrong.

Selling a house takes months and he doesn't want to wait until July to start the process. He wants the house more or less sold around that time.

If he starts in July, he may have lost already in the price, prices will go down by July. He wants to sell it on a higher market, totally under stable what he is doing. On the other side, he has his own personal business and this doesn't reflect badly on you at all.

I am sure, he will advertise as unfurnished house so your own stuff are your own, he will state this in the sell.

Living the life

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

You have had a renting relationship with your landlord for 20 years so I am sure ye can come to suitable arrangements regarding viewings of house,maybe ask LL if they know of any other property for rent and also remind them you will require a glowing reference for your future prospective LL's.

• Very normal. No the estate agent will not be gossiping if you’re bedrooms untidy, they don’t give a shite. It’s not what they’re looking at anyways.

Im not one, so I’m not exactly sure what they are looking at when they value a house, but the simplest way to put it I guess is they’ll be looking at everything that’s not yours basically. It’ll be an empty house when it’s sold (or when the new owners move in) so your furniture or whatever is of no relevance.

• Administrators Posts: 53,796 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

They basically take measurements, check what sort of heating you have, check what sort of showers you have, count the bedrooms and bathrooms and note down any notable features or issues.

They couldn't give a crap if every item of clothing you wear is on the bedroom floor, though obviously it makes their job a bit harder.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,319 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

The short answer to your final question is that you cannot be legally compelled to permit viewings during the period when you live there. Likewise, you are required to allow the landlord or his agents reasonable access to inspect the property but this is for the purpose of establishing whether you are meeting the terms of the letting arrangement, not to facilitate taking pictures for a prospective sale. These would be breaches of your entitlement to quiet enjoyment of the property (which means free from disturbance or disruption by the landlord rather than anything to do with noise).

You might, however, find it suitable to agree to the photos and viewings to facilitate the landlord showing similar flexibility to you on other aspects if the letting.

Your lease agreement would most likely have a provision for valuations and viewings. I'm sure if you have a good relationship with the landlord ye can come to an amicable agreement on when viewings occur.

Rentals are still being snapped up so I'd start the process of looking for somewhere else to live now. Best of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Girl Geraldine

I'd also add to that by saying if you manage to find a suitable alternative rental then take it while it is going and you can move out of your current rental before the notice period is over.

While there are certain notice periods for tenants wanting to leave too, the reality is that it is a landlords market and a landdlord wanting to sell up will only be too happy to have a tenant voluntarily leave early so they can get vacant possession of the property - that is extremely important in helping to have an easy straightforward sale.

Certainly If I was selling up and the tenant offered to move out well before the notice period was up - I would take their hand off for the offer, I'd nearly go down with the van and start moving stuff out for them. I wouldn't give a shít about the rent for the remainder of the lease or notice period - that is worth nothing compared to the value of vacant possession.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭dragona

Thanks for all your replies..... I've no intention of making things difficult for my landlord AT ALL.

Super stressed, I've found myself now on disability allowance, no husband {yay!} 2 small dogs, don't drive, and 20+ years worth of possessions to try and keep, and there is NOWHERE to rent!

Just have to keep going! 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 16,631 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Start looking early, try and agree a timescale that suits you rather than the landlord and by that I mean, if you find somewhere sooner, talk to the landlord about leaving early rather than waiting till the last minute (a lot of accommodation can become available a month or 2 ahead and you don't want to be stuck until July, miss out on places, and then have to panic).

Finding an unfurnished place could be more difficult (down to renting regulations) so plan on selling stuff you don't need or putting it into storage.

Your husband should be paying your rent in a new place. He should be paying you spousal maintenance.

You also could be getting deserted wife's allowance.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,697 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Have you a current lease? Is the tenancy registered? Are you paying full market rate on the rent? If you've been the beneficiary of any kind of arrangement with the landlord all this time then it would be pretty bad form to start playing silly buggers now with regards to valuations, viewing etc, especially as he's given you full notice. I was in a similar situation as you, in the same place for 10 years, but didn't even get the full notice as I had an "off the books" arrangement with the LL. And yes, it was a pain in the hole having to make myself scarce for valuations, photography and viewings (which I really hated as it just felt so weird knowing strangers were wandering around my home), but I wasn't exactly in a position to start invoking my rights when the situation had been mutually beneficial up to then. Of course, if your agreement is all above board, then ignore all of the above.

Either way, I'd advise making finding somewhere new your priority, but as others have said, you're likely to find it extremely difficult. Mobilise your network and ask your landlord to do the same. And the very best of luck to you. I ended up having to put all my furniture in storage and move home.

Good points above. Make sure you are going through your 20 years of stuff now as no way you will find a fully unfurnished property so best bet is start selling bit and pieces.

Living the life

• Registered Users Posts: 40,425 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Deserted wives allowance was discontinued 25 years ago. The OP has said they are on disability. they haven't mentioned kids so don't qualify for the lone parents allowance.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭Deeec

Sorry OP - its a tough situation you find yourseld in.

Talk to the estate agent/auctioneer when they call around aswell. Explain your situation and dont be hostile towards them - They may look after lettings aswell and may be able to find you somewhere to rent. 20 years renting the same place means you are a good tenant. Often places to rent are not even advertised anymore.

I hope you find somewhere nice to rent soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭SwimClub

Don't be afraid to ask the owner if they can help find you somewhere new, they may have some contacts that are landlords or their estate agent and it's in their interest. Keep paying the rent and don't commit to leaving until you have somewhere acceptable to go.

If you can't find anywhere to rent within a month or so, try to talk to the local authority, I think some have been instructed to buy properties in this situation where someone would otherwise be de facto homeless, i.e. there is a small chance they might buy off your landlord and you could stay. I don't know if you qualify for help but it's worth talking to them and possibly even some agencies like threshold for advice. Get some advice from people not just on boards, this is a common problem now the sooner you talk to people in the know who can help in this situation the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭Shauna677

Deserted wifes allowance was something thst was paid out in the last century...its long since ceased 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭Shauna677

OP, It is awful to have to leave a home you lived in for over 20 years, thats very very tough.

can you contact Cluid or one of the other housing bodies,they provide housing for people presenting with various disabilities. I wish you.luck.going fwd.

• Maybe instead of making fun of an honest mistake you could be helpful?

OFP (One-Parent Family) is the new payment as it’s paid to men or women. In OPs case it barley makes any sense. They’ll lose travel pass for one thing and they don’t drive. May also affect medical card. Not worth it.

Unfortunately I think owning two dogs could be a stumbling block in finding a new rental.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭headtheball14

If you have been in the property for so long it makes sense for the estate agent to check it to start planning if any repairs are needed prior to putting up for sale for example new flooring painting or plastering.

They would need to get this work booked with a trade and budgeted for sooner rather than later. Good luck with it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭Deeec

The estate agent is not checking the property for what repairs need to be done. They want to view the property to value it for the owner and get it on the market!

Good point above on dogs. You will find impossible to find a place who will accept the dogs. Maybe in the countryside.

Living the life

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭SwimClub

Dogs are less of an issue in unfurnished places, especially with potentially a long term tenant that wasn't demanding on redecorating frequently.

Small kids would do more damage!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

It's not so much the damage caused by dogs but the smell of dogs. If they're smaller breeds they tend to be house dogs, I know most will say their dog doesn't smell but as a dog owner they all leave a smell particularly if indoors a lot.

Either way most will not accept pets but that's low on the pecking order as houses aren't in huge supply and unfurnished houses probably less so. Find a house first op then address the dog issue.

Not keeping my dogs is not an option under any circumstances, even if it means living in a tent. They're all I have. It would be like giving up my children, so it would be the end for me!

I'm 58, my adult daughter lives with me and is my carer.

I did enquire about the council buying the property, but you have to have been on HAP for 5 years, I've only been on it for a few months since my husband has been gone.

I know this is going to be a disaster for me 😥

Thank you all though for your comments x

I think your husband, if he is working, should be paying your rent. He can't just walk off into the sunset. He is obliged to pay spousal maintenance to cover your living expenses. You could take him to court for it.

Contact a family law solicitor.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭headtheball14

My point was that they may want to assess the property at this time to allow them to say what work needs to be done before presenting for sale.

Work can't take place till tenant leaves but will need to be planned for.

This would explain why they want access months before the tenant is due to leave

We understand. I am a dog lover myself. But rentals usually don't accept dogs. I seen cases myself where property rented by nice landlord to someone with dog and damage done.

Living the life

Oh I wish 🤣 he was escorted out by the Gardai 7 months ago,

He would get his payslips doctored, that's why I haven't bothered. Right dodgy bas***d.

Anyway someone coming from auctioneers on Monday to look around, so obviously have to neutradol the whole house this weekend😂