Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Ya that's exactly what it feels like, I'm bounding 26 different herds and there's nearly always someone locked up aswell as being in a high incidence area. Sold a good few weanlings this year I'd normally run on just incase I got caught up myself. Really hard to plan ahead now when you have to test every 6 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I see prince Harry killed 25 people in Afghanistan....... as you do like 😶

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 29,522 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Went up to Rory Bests farm to look at Angus cattle this evening , very nice man. Great set up

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭Odelay

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

yeah, we want our privacy and out of the royal family but here is our netflix special and my book etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Anyone on here using the radio fence wireless dog collars?

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

He'll have a bounty on his head now. He reminds me of Pte Pike - stupid boy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭tanko

A neighbour of mine has one, he reckons it’s a super job.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The pair can't be sated with the publicity they desire. Seem to be well matched.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Are shock collars legal in Ireland?

In responses to queries from TheJournal.ie, the Department of Agriculture, Food, and the Marine – which oversees animal welfare legislation – highlighted that “the use of electrical or other such equipment which can apply a sustained electric current or impulse directly to a live animal” is banned.4 Feb 2018

Gave the lights a bit of an upgrade on the tractor this evening 😎 The led's make some difference. Had them sitting in a box with the most of a year.

Great job LC.

Did you buy hi low bulbs for the headlights or buy the complete headlight?

One for quite a few on here. But maybe so for @roosterman71 and @Grueller 's favourite former politician from that side of the country.

Coillte which is still partly owned by the government I believe and it has a say in how it's run. Is courting for investment from the British investment firm Gresham House to purchase 123,000 acres and another 123,000 acres will be purchased through a non for profit vehicle - our vocal self appointed enviros will be in that one like a rash. Run down the farmers to buy their land. To save the planet and boost their own wallet spiel. All being done to meet climate targets etc etc. Falsehoods while not actually doing anything but run people off the land and not actually saving carbon.

Now ye know why UCD and the dept got in a tizzy when some enviros not on the bandwagon were requesting a environmental study done into pollution from forestry in Ireland be made public.

This was the time when the enviros not in the tent had a spat with our forestry sector. Information known for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The animal only gets one or two shocks before it learns, same as farm electric fences, the dog gets a warning from the colllar before it shocks so it's not cruel.

A neighbour pleaded to me lately that they had an electric collar for their dog and it couldn't be there dog. I told them the dog had to be wearing the collar for it to work.

Anyway when i finally caught him and put him in the livestock trailer it turned out to theirs.

It's probably illegal if its a sustained shock

• Registered Users Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Grueller

Which politician do you refer to Say my name?

I am from the same side as yourself and as far as I know ow roosterman is kind of Offaly/Laois side.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Got the complete headlight. They were expensive enough from what I remember.

A neighbour here had the collar in her hand and was talking to my mother, she walked closer to my mother and got the shock herself

What do ye think of your man Enoch Burke?

Worded it wrong. Included rooster for his love of people trying to make enviro credits a thing to fund ngo's and non for profits.

D'Arcy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Sure it's a load of bollox. Lets face it, more trees are going to be planted as they are seen by many as the golden goose of carbon capture, and reducing livestock. Win win for the converted clowns. But, if a foreign entity is involved here I'd put a lof of money on the line that the carbon captured wouldn't be included in Irish calculations and would be bought/sold by said foreign entity with little or no benefit to Ireland inc. And in 2050 then or whenever and the numbers people see our emissions haven't fallen despite sowing 130000ha or whatever, the solution would be to sow more or some new horseshit nonsense.

Wasn't someone in here saying that big oil companies are buying land now to let it rewild as it's cheaper to buy land and forget about and claim the "credit" than actually doing something positive.

He is essentially being jailed and treated like a criminal for refusing to use the pronoun "They" for a transgender pupil. It's a crazy world we live in. Whatever happened to free speech? There has never being a case in English Common Law anywhere in the past, where anyone has ever being compelled or forced to use certain language......never

And you think the Nazi's were bad.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Is he not being jailed because the court ordered him to stay away from the school and he’s insisting on going there ??

that whole Burke family are bad news and every night he spends in prison is a public service.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭DBK1

Sorry Patsy but that’s 100% wrong and it’s hard to believe after all the publicity about it that there’s anyone out there without a hidden agenda that’s idiotic enough to think or believe what you’ve just said.

He was jailed for being in contempt of a court order, the same as anyone else who doesn’t obey a court order should be jailed. The reasons for the court order are irrelevant to the reason why he is jailed. Obey the court order and he won’t be locked up.

It has nothing to do with free speech and the language that should be used to someone comparing the court order to being worse than the nazi’s wouldn’t be allowed on this forum so I won’t use it. Funnily enough would that mean boards.ie is worse than the nazis and are restricting free speech?

And I quote from a somewhat unbiased source........

" A school teacher in Ireland who refused to call a transgender pupil by the pronoun “they” has spent 11 days in prison for ignoring a court order to stay away from the school."

Irish teacher jailed for breaching court order to stay away from school | Ireland | The Guardian

And you know what, fair play to him. He stands by his principles.

Post edited by patsy_mccabe on

I think he’s a highly intelligent man who received bad parenting and had a very sheltered upbringing which hasn’t done him or his siblings any favours in their adult life.

Unfortunately he doesn’t seem to be able to use his intelligence to know when he’s fighting a losing battle.

Call me old fashioned but I personally was born and reared with 2 genders, male and female, and there were rare cases where someone from either gender may have changed sides and while it might have been seen as odd or would have been the talk of the parish if it happens in the locality I think it was out of gossip more than anything else and no one really passed much remarks after the gossip stage passed over.

I don’t even understand all the different genders that exist now and the “pronouns” that should be used or not used but if someone asks to be called by a certain word or description then out of politeness I would oblige as at the end of the day it makes shag all difference to me.

It appears Enoch has decided to be a martyr on this particular cause and I personally think it’s pointless. What difference does it make to him what word anyone wants to be described as and why keep turning up at a school where he has been suspended from with full pay? There are plenty of rumours as to the real reasons, and the funding he’s receiving from various unpalatable groups, for continuing this crusade but I’d imagine a public forum is not the place for discussing that.

And that source quote’s the reason he’s in court, it’s

“for ignoring a court order to stay away from the school”

Nothing to do with free speech. He can use whatever speech he likes and it won’t cause him to end up in prison. Turning up at a premises where there is a court order instructing him to stay away from is what lands him in prison.

You can kind of see the battle that's unfolding atm.

It's between the enviro non for profit side of that 123,000 acre and the 123,000 of what Coillte are looking for Gresham House to buy. The battle ground are the uplands. The enviros want the commonage grounds for free. Sheep banned. A bit of selective broadleaf or scots pine planting but hoping for self seeding. They also want the land bounding commonage for same. This is the farmer land. Gresham would be in competition with the non for profit for land. Gresham are suggested that it would be hardcore Coillte. Like their conifer plantings in wales and scotland. It's run as a business. This is how the British sentiment is being used by our enviros here on this story. But it's purely for land imo and which can get that land cheaper or for free or through designations, etc.

When I went to ag college there were male and female, we were all called lads. No one got offended. I assumed it was the same now