Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another Woman Murdered in Dublin

• 13-01-2023 7:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭hawley

I don't want to get into the specifics of this case, but it seems like yet another woman murdered by a man. It's at least fifteen in the last year. Following on top of the anniversary of the Aisling Murphy.

Post edited by Beasty on

• Registered Users Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Twitter is a cesspit for this already. All the usual loonies asking about the nationality, there's a whole load of weirdos out there just hoping the killer is foreign.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭squidgainz

Mad , I hadn't heard of this so I went on rte news , main headline - women in guilty plea over fatal stabbing outside home. Victim was male.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭headtheball14

No shortage of women killed in Ireland regardless of their killers nationality. And most killed by those who profess to love them.

The Irish times did great work on this last year. A lot of these cases have yet to see any measure of justice.

Even where they know who was responsible delays in courts mean friends and families wait years for some resolution.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

15 women murdered is more significant than the 50/60 men that were murdered. Its just the way it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

There will have been a reason, and I am sure there are some people who care about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

As Opposed to you who ran here to moan about the random twitter weirdos. Thank you for your service chap

• Registered Users Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭Hamachi

• Registered Users Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Is all you have to say and try hammer home about this woman’s murder is that twitter is a cesspit and some Irish people are racist?

Cheap score.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭thefallingman

The facts will be the facts, rip

• Registered Users Posts: 5,928 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Well in alot of cases when men are murdered, their own actions have been a contributory factor i.e. drugs related/feud related etc. ....the saying "if you run with dogs you'll end up with fleas" somewhat springs to mind.

Where women are murdered it's usually by the hand of the person they love, the person who is supposed to be their "protector". The murder often happens in their home where they are supposed to be safe.

Usually in both cases the murderer is male.

Wives killing husbands are relatively rare the only one that springs to mind is "the black widow" which is probably about 20 years ago.

Is your first paragraph not a similar opinion to believing that women bring it among themselves? You know that horrible blame that gets put on to a person who is assaulted or even murdered.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭TruthEnforcer

Ya forgot the more recent 'Scissors Sisters' case from 2005 !

there's nothing stopping the "men get killed too!" lads from all meeting up and doing your own vigils when a man is murdered, if you're so concerned?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,928 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Well usually in cases where the defence is "women bring it on themselves" it's in relation to them wearing a short skirt or being overly drunk etc. I absolutely believe that women should be able to wear what they like and drink what they like, without being mauled. They are harming absolutely no one. They are innocent people going about their life.

However if your lifestyle choice is drugs and running in criminal gangs racking up 300+ criminal convictions and someone takes you out (probably a second before you were going to take them out) , well then I'm not going to have too much sympathy for you. In my opinion these people are not innocent....live by the sword, die by the sword etc.

To try and say both scenarios are a similar way of thinking is pretty vile and an absolute insult to a rape/sexual assault/murder victim.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

And if your lifestyle choice is to chase bad boys and end up with an abusive person who eventually kills you, will you have sympathy there?

Of course you will, because you value women's lives above men's.

Either a murder victim is a "victim" or they aren't, gender should have nothing to do with it.

yes because vulnerable women can never get into precarious relationships with abusive men. f**king hell...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭donaghs

Men kill more people, mostly other men. No consolation the female victims but that’s how it is.

The latest on this killing is the main suspect is seriously mentally ill (worse issues than Prince Harry), with a “history” of mental issues, and was seen soon after the killing ranting about Jesus and the Devil etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Why not have compassion for the victims of violent crime regardless of if they are women or men and blame the perpetrators instead of engaging in this identity grievance of all men inherently do X against all women who are Y, seems unnecessarily divisive imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

That’s a very simplistic view though. Not every person who ends up in a gang or drug related environment does so out of their own volition and because they are in it for the money.

Ironically your post is the most judgemental of all in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I think regrettably there really isn't a solve here.

Women will always tend to be the victims of murderous crimes and domestic violence. It is very sad.

There is nothing that can really be done. The fact remains that there is enough instances of women being murdered, by males. It is a fact. Women will tend to not use violence to get what they want , they can be extremely violent and really annoying to live with and incredibly stupid, dull and frustrating to deal with, a lot of the time, but they are less violent than males.

But there will be no societal fix here. It is not an Irish problem? It is not being exclusively being perpetrated by foreign eddeners either.

If you are a women, please listen to me. Stop hanging around, or falling in love, or sleeping with, or taking gifts from, or having notions about changing that absolute whanker you think gives a shít about you when he apologises to you after raising his voice, or shouting at you, or that time he flicked a limp wrist at you, or pushed you into the sofa, or laughed at you during sex , or punched you or let you witness him being violent with someone else..... this is your asshole that has potential to take your life during a row one evening, or when he wants custody of your kids, or when he wants his car back or when you nag at him for drinking and farting in bed to often.... that's the guy that might just kill ye one time?

There is no cure for women getting murdered by men, it is going to happen. There are billions of really nice, civil, good men out there, not killing women and not living like chunts do. Go get one and get on with your life. Get anyone who is violent to you out of your life ... now. It is always too late otherwise and that person is not going to change.

PS. Most men who murder women are strong and attractive looking, you won't think they were capable of it, that's why it is so common, relatively speaking.... it is you own fault for not seeing the signs, when you see them , get the phuck outta there and don't look back.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,588 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The only area of that should be up for discussion is the failure of a legal system we live with.

People dont turn into murderers overnight, there are almost always warning signs, convictions, complaints, previous assaults etc etc.

Step 1 is to remove bail for any men that are charged with physical violence towards women.

Step 2. Is to remove the possibility of suspended sentences for same.

The legal system can be a lot stronger in many areas.

Perfect example: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/murderer-gets-10-years-for-attack-on-five-year-old-1.699567

• Registered Users Posts: 23,921 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Following on top of the anniversary of the Aisling Murphy.

There’s no connection whatsoever between that case and any other cases. It’s not as though a person who commits murder is in any way considerate of other murder victims.

Well in alot of cases when men are murdered, their own actions have been a contributory factor i.e. drugs related/feud related etc. ....the saying "if you run with dogs you'll end up with fleas" somewhat springs to mind.

Happens in just as many cases where women are the victims that saying is offered as an explanation for the perpetrators actions. It’s not any more true in those cases than it is in cases where men are the victims.

The latest on this killing is the main suspect is seriously mentally ill (worse issues than Prince Harry), with a “history” of mental issues, and was seen soon after the killing ranting about Jesus and the Devil etc.

Aye, that’s as likely to fuel negative stereotypes about people who have some form of mental illness is all, which can be used as an explanation either in defence of their actions, or as an explanation for their actions, absent of the fact that having some form of mental illness isn’t any indication of a predisposition to violence, let alone murder. A good example of the phenomenon is in this recent case where two expert psychiatrists disagree on what caused the woman to commit murder -

Michael O‘Higgins SC, who acted for Ms Anderson, said there were “ongoing difficulties on the defence side” arising from a report by consultant psychiatrist Prof Harry Kennedy and the decision to plead guilty to manslaughter was informed by this.

The court had previously heard that Prof Kennedy disagreed with Dr Brenda Wright, a consultant psychiatrist called by the defence who said Ms Anderson was suffering from bipolar affective disorder and as a result of this was unable to refrain from stabbing Mr Kelly.

Prof Kennedy said Ms Anderson’s behaviour was better explained by cannabis intoxication. Intoxication cannot be used as a defence under the Criminal Law (Insanity) Act 2006.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/dublin-mum-pleads-guilty-stabbing-28952521?int_source=nba

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭thegame983

The gender grift pays big bucks. Just look at the Irish Times/ Indo/ Journal etc.

Endless identity politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,624 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

@Count Dracula, excuse me for being one of those silly ....

...incredibly stupid, dull and frustrating

females that make up half of the population, but... did you actually just blame female victims ...

...it is you own fault

for "deserving" to be murdered??? 😧

With a comment like that, I would think twice before referring to anyone as 'incredibly stupid' and 'frustrating', cos that remark wins top prize.

Post edited by Deja Boo on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

The passive aggressive types are the worst?

Passive aggressives moaning about people getting murdered.... total pathos.

I see where you are coming from.

My view is this:

Women are often the victims of violent crimes for no reason other than their involvement with someone, usually a man, who cares not for their lives. Or other reasons.

Men are often the victims of violent crimes for reasons that may be connected to their involvement in crime. Or other reasons.

This is not a competition Calla. I will never see the world in a way that assumes one gender is more or less than another, more or less deserving of understanding than another.

The article in the Irish Times last year which listed all the women murdered was shocking and so very sad. It really showed the violence we can potentially be met with.

That doesn't negate the violence that can occur to men. Can we not shake off this strange attempt at striving for a hierarchy of suffering between the genders?

Is the number of homicides of women and girls by men increasing?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Quite

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Huge amount of murders generally , hard keep track of all the different murders in Ireland these days..Ashtown, Finglas, Carrigaline etc etc

Soft on crime judges , Solicitors telling yarns about repeat offenders, too few guards & not enough prison space = no Deterrent anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

"when men are murdered, their own actions have been a contributory factor"

Nice victim blaming there.