Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

must be a record for ranting by someone's first day of joining boards.ie, post after post of it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

What you are saying simply isn’t t true. More people = worse health service.

Nearly half a million people left Ireland in the 1980s, the health service was shite. I remember visiting family members in trolleys on corridors for days.

After the crash hundreds of thousands emigrated. Guess what. The health service was shite.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 23,921 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

None of the above is actually fact, nor is it based upon anything even closely resembling reality. Your proposed solution to repair a system which in your opinion is broken, is to tear it asunder completely, and then let nobody anywhere near it unless you’ve had a chance to inspect their previous work first and they’re prepared to act in accordance with your authority.

That’s how you’d make policy, which would shape the economy in the way you imagine it should be done, which is where the UK are now with Brexit. It’s too early to tell if the UK will survive, but the prognosis currently is grim.

Is it not true that in an increasingly global health worker market, to remain competitive, Ireland needs to pay its healthcare workers more?

No, because that would make our economy anti-competitive in a global context. There are numerous reasons why people decide to emigrate, and the primary reason is that they wish to make a better future for themselves than they foresee in their home country. Paying nurses more would mean having to pay all nurses more, it would increase the cost of providing the services to the public. It’s a great idea of course if you want nurses who have trained in Ireland to stay, but the fact that our Government can source cheap labour abroad means they don’t have to. The same is true of nurses coming from other countries - they too have the same aspirations given the health systems in their countries aren’t in any better shape than Ireland’s healthcare system.

I do agree with you that it’s exploitative and cynical, and from the States point of view- we’re getting great value for money, but then from a personal point of view, I’m also looking at what little I pay in income taxes and the fact that my private health insurance for myself and my family is provided for by my employer, and we’re all in good health, so there’s that… 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Farage claimed last week that asylum seekers were putting huge pressure on the NHS. But he seems to have completely forgotten that the current anti-immigration rhetoric in Britain is that the dinghies landing at Dover are full of "fit and healthy young men".

There’s little point indulging your nonsense rhetoric, so I won’t bother. Instead what I’ll do, is address the part which makes any sense -

And more to the point, people are experiencing first hand the results of your 20 year old economic disaster and guess how they're liking it?

It'll bear out sooner rather than later.

People are loving it, because they’re benefiting greatly from it, and those people who aren’t, well if you hadn’t noticed, historically speaking they have little power to actually do anything about the people who are benefiting the most from the current economic system.

This is why it’s perplexing to me that anyone would call you right-wing when your ideas are clearly of a socialist bent, where you imagine the countries wealth should be distributed equally or some shìt, because that’s the only way you have a hope of benefiting from it. You sure as hell don’t have any ideas about generating wealth that could actually legitimately change the current economic model to something more in line with your way of thinking. It appears you think wealth is generated out of thin air - the SF approach to economics.

That’s the spirit 👍

Long as people don’t have to pay for something, they don’t care, and we aren’t being expected to pay to accommodate refugees as the vast majority of funding to provide for their accommodation is coming from the EU, as it always does, which is what enabled us to improve our infrastructure in this country throughout the last four decades, which raised our standards of living considerably.

You think approximately 10,000 asylum seekers, because that’s the cohort we’re talking about here (non-Ukrainians) every year is going to bring down the Irish economy and you expect anyone should take your position seriously? You’re not thinking long-term at all, you’re just thinking in the here and now, and Government can’t afford the luxury of your individual perspective.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,414 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I think what we are seeing now is a consequence of the media and politics generally running to shout "racism" or "you can't be saying that" any time any community had a concern (often legitimate) about migration, the asylum system and the housing of those seeking protection.

As none of the mainstream voices were willing to engage without denigrating those with opposing views on migration it's left a gap that has allowed extremists to capitalise on.

A smarter political system would have reacted to the abuses within the system years ago rather than ignoring them - or in the case of amnesties, facilitating them. The opposition we see is the outworking of these policies without proper consultation.

The result of all this is you now have a political opinion group that doesn't care what polite company thinks about them now - because they've realised that polite company couldn't give a **** about them. They have the houses, the private healthcare and the children in gaelscoileanna away from the public service pressures those that have turned on the mainstream face.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,072 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

what public service pressures are people in ballymun and east wall facing because people are being temporarily given shelter there? only thing I can think of is possibly that GPs are busier?

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Question for those who support unlimited numbers of refugees. How much have you donated to refugees? And whatever amount you have given, why haven't you given more?

don't think i've seen anyone on here say they support unlimited numbers of refugees.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,414 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I think it's more broad then that - asylum seekers are not going to stay in the old ESB offices forever. They will be moved to the community where you will see increased pressure on housing, health and education. The vast majority of migrants in the past (I don't have figures for recent IP arrivals to hand) have had their applications for asylum rejected, yet those that stick out the endless appeals ultimately are let stay regardless.

We've already seen the disparity in attitude that Government can display when it comes to housing for example. Housing generally has been a crisis for the last number of years, but when pressure came on international protection it was able to actually mobilise an emergency response. It had said it was doing everything it could to ease the housing crisis (that it was an emergency) prior to that - but was still able to find more resources.

This has obviously led to a resentment that the right has been able to capitalise on.

there's no way those migrants are getting housed in the east wall area, there's feck all accom around there anyway. my problem with the whole fiasco is that they're viewing these people as the enemy and shouting at them when they should be directing it at the government, if they are looking to get housed themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

I don't think people chanting is intimidating.

Despite the Irish Times reporting children terrified and afraid they're going to be shot. Seriously. What a rag.

See with your own eyes just how intimidated the "refugees" are by protestors outside their building. (This one in East Wall)

https://twitter.com/ThoughtsToby/status/1611458477674692608

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Longstand14

This state does not take immigration control remotely serious, it never has. Even basic measures such as a specific number or contact to report illegal immigration for the public.

There are 1000s of illegals in this country, people who entered state illegally, failed IP applicants, people out of permissions. No follow up, nothing will be done. Even illegal's convicted of criminality don’t get deported. Look at the number of “enforced deportations” for the last year….17. Just under 20% of of all prisoners in the state are non Irish.

A lot of talk about our immigration/IP obligations under the UN, the US, Australia, Denmark, Poland etc all signed the same agreement. However, each country has an immigration system with checks and controls.

Post edited by Longstand14 on

yeah why not put a limit on it, but i don't know how it can be applied. and if i'm understanding the situation correctly, i don't think it's possible to put a limit in place as we are signed up to conventions etc. that allow people to claim asylum here and then protocol has to be followed. there's also no easy way of getting rid of people quickly if they have no documents, you can't put them on planes with no passports etc.

i mean the UK thought brexit would solve their immigration problem but they're getting 10s of 1000s of them crossing the channel still, and they still have to hold them for a period of time.

maybe the gov should be building holding centres where people can be kept until they are processed.

• Registered Users Posts: 368 ✭✭slay55

I think you’re doing an amazing job and credit to you. Let’s hope the groups get bigger and bigger !

• Registered Users Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Government and the do gooders still don’t get it.

Irish people don’t like being lied to and taken for fools by scam artists pretending they are fleeing a war.

Thats it. That’s basically the whole point of all this.

We are been taken for mugs.

Its not JUST chanting.

Its chanting outside peoples homes to get the people out.

Do you not actually see that chanting "get them out" at peoples homes about the people living there actually loses you support?

Is someone stood outside the house where I live chanting "get them out" - of course I would feel intimidated. I would feel scared, sick to my stomach, terrified, worried.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Thanks for that. Come and support the locals. As of now there's

Clondalkin: Ibis roundabout tomorrow Monday 5pm

Ballymun: Opposite Lidl Wednesday 5pm

Finglas: Bargaintown Wednesday 5pm

East Wall: Wednesday 5pm

• Registered Users Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Funny enough your last few lines are accurately describing a lefty southsider colleague of mind who is outraged on twitter about the activities of the far right.

yes most of the people on reddit ireland appear to be totally against these protest and see the protesters as scumbags, as i'm sure you've noticed. it's a much younger demographic than here.

you'll get cheered on here because you're playing to the choir but you need to realise not everyone has the same opinion as you, boards.ie is a middle aged men with mostly the same views on everything echo chamber.

The guys giving protestors the finger obviously didn't feel "scared, sick to their stomach, terrified or worried".

That's a good question about how the chanting can be portrayed to the general public. Does it lose support?

The real answer is the one no one on your side wants to hear. On that day in Ballymun questions of good strategy didn't come in to it. Despite everything you need to tell yourselves, that wasn't a controlled or organised protest. The crowd chanted because that's what the crowd did.

I guarantee you would feel the same as I have just outlined if someone was outside your house chanting to get you and your family out. Its weird. You almost want to dehumanise these people.

Terry Pratchet

people chanting out out out at people in hotels is what i'd call obnoxious, dangerous even

trust me they'll be delighted they got very much under the skin of a rereg boardsie

i don't get it though, as i've said i'll live beside the one in east wall soon enough. how is that going to affect my life?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Gardai first. I'd get the hose at them next and then maybe a bat after that. I'd do a lot more than give them the finger and I'm not a violent person but I think that'd tip me over. I couldn't see myself just laughing it off.