Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

But sure how many of the far right “patriots” politicians are nationalists? When they talk about independence you can be sure they’re talking about from the eu and not reuniting the country. They’re in bed with all the ultra British nationalists who coincidently hate Ireland as well. Hilarious. They care more about Brussels than London ruling 6 of the counties on Ireland. Absolute dopey fruit loops the lot of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,921 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

One can't but conclude there are also other factors, such as who else is in the classroom, at play.

One can certainly conclude that they can cherry pick anecdotes which support there prejudices, in spite of overwhelming evidence which contradicts their claims. Imagine that, parents telling you what you want to hear, essentially admitting that they’re prepared to handicap their children’s education for nothing. Of course they exist, stupid people with ideas about themselves will always exist, but they remain a terribly small minority, much like the small handful of protesters who claim to represent the people of areas like Ballymun and East Wall, etc, populations of thousands of people.

That’s why I prefer to rely on nationally representative data, rather than anecdotal evidence of anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

I'd love some transparency into where all our asylum seekers are housed at the moment

Is there any at all in certain parts of Dublin

The bond villain / leader of Labour won't open borders . Expect closed borders into her constituency

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,506 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thelonious Monk threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

Well they won't be getting put in to the big empty Jury's Hotel in Ballsbridge for sure.

And if you want a compendium of Basil Fawlty level excuses for why it just wouldn't be possible, read this.

https://archive.ph/E2Gup

From far enough away it's actually comical.

tl:dr; While it is possible to convert deserted office blocks in to accommodation for these "refugees" it would be practically impossible to make a Hotel ready for them. Yep a Hotel.

Cllr Dermot Lacey said he did not consider this response acceptable.

“I find it very hard to believe it is not possible to bring this hotel back into use, given it was in use so recently. The GAA [and] other sporting organisations are pulling out all the stops to make their facilities available and given the embassy would be receptive to discussing the idea, this just seems like an excuse.”

Just imagine the embarrassment if you were involved in Chartered Land and you had to face friends in Ballsbridge after allowing this Hotel to be filled with refugees. Life wouldn't be worth living.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

But who says that a population of 6m is "too high" for the Republic? I'm not sure I've heard any demographer or economist make such a claim.

The population of Moldova is predicted to drop from 4m to 2m in the next 30 years. No doubt the "Moldova is full" guys are all high fiving each other, but that is clearly going to be an economic and societal calamity for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ever since I grew up and I suppose since early 90s when they and PIRA refused to give up armed struggle I have detested them.

I have been life long FG voter.

I grew up watching Garrett battle haughey and catholic church so liked him and them.

But will not vote for FG under any circumstances at this stage.

FF were always shyters, Labour a bunch of eejits feathering their own nests but lambasting others.

And the greens, well I would gladly shove them head first into a compost heap. (could say something else but would be banned)

If SF immediately stated they would move to block the loopholes, kick out the chancers and the undocumented, rolling back citizenship amnesties, stopping any further Ukrainian refugees (we don't have the where withal anymore) and checking on adult male Ukrainians that have set up camp here, then I would give them a preference and leave the rest of the fookers to swing.

But but but ... I thought their homes were destroyed, their towns were all leveled, they would be shot?

Post edited by jmayo on

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭questioner22

"It's jumped enormously" I said, not "it's too high". (You need English lessons if you think they mean the same thing)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,228 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I remember talking politics with a man. He told me he was voting SF at the next election. I asked why. He said; 'they'll get the foreigners out of Ireland.

Dribbling racists wouldn't be known for their mental abilities TBF.

Just imagine the embarrassment if you were involved in Chartered Land and you had to face friends in Ballsbridge after allowing this Hotel to be filled with refugees. Life wouldn't be worth living.

It wouldn’t be worth living, but not for the reasons you think. If Chartered Land had agreed to accommodate refugees in a building which was no longer habitable, their champagne socialist friends would leave them excluded at their own tiny table at the next breakfast meeting (business networking event) in the Clarence 😂

A spokeswoman for Chartered Land said the hotel was no longer habitable.

“The hotel has been vacant for a number of years and is ready for demolition. Considerable works would be required to bring the building back to a habitable standard.”

There had been contact between Chartered Land and the Department of Integration she said, but “given the time needed for such works, the considerable investment required, and the relatively short window of availability it was agreed that the proposition was unviable”.

Mr Lacey said he did not consider this response acceptable.

You disagree with the "Ireland is full" guys then? I wouldn't say the population has jumped enormously in recent times btw - the big leap in numbers came between 2000 and 2008 when the Celtic Tiger was at its peak.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,414 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

No, they are a populist party masquerading as a nationalist party.

If SF think a volte face on migration will get them closer to power, then they will do that. It won't though.

SF have been moderating their image for years to make them more acceptable to ABC1 types and those that form opinions. Migration is not high on their agenda.

It's all about housing, because the bottom of the market is so high that it's priced professionals out of the market. It's an issue that has little to do with asylum (which in the grand scheme of things remain small - outside of Ukraine). The greater pressure on housing is actually legal migration from people here to work.

Without inward migration for work the population would likely be falling - with the obvious consequence for housing. Interestingly the next first time buyer cohort coming up next is significantly smaller than the current cohort. Over the next 10 years housing pressure is likely to ease anyway with minimal policy intervention. Unless there is a major shock.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Do you think Sinn Fein are nationalists?

Apparently re unification of the island of Ireland is one of the 9 core aims of the NP.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Do you live in ireland or elsewhere?

The far right party got what a few hundred votes out of a few million people.

Boards must be well populated by those few hundred because you use the word far right in nearly every post.

Calling anyone who has a different view point to yours far right does not make someone far right.

You disagree with the "Ireland is full" guys then?

Again, if you have trouble understanding my posts, get English lessons or something. I can hardly make my posts any clearer.

No, what makes someone far-right is their politics. And that chap’s politics would definitely place him on the far-right. I can’t think of his name but I recognise the voice, and that’s not a backlash SF are receiving, it’s an idiot trying to get a rise out of a Sinn Fein TD and basically being told straight out, he’s not worth talking to.

That’s how one SF TD handled “the backlash” 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I don’t understand your obsession with population density and it’s bearing on how many immigrants we can accommodate or who should go where.

Many of the people coming here are from countries with much lower population densities than Ireland.

Georgia

Somalia

Ukraine

Zimbabwe

South Africa

Central African Republic

Sudan

etc.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

Have you read boards? Of course it's populated by those few hundred far right types and reregs lol. Lets get a good laugh again at the next elections. Thankfully those types are dying off and the younger generation (who voted in favour of gay marriage and abortion) will be the dominant force going forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,829 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The far right in Ireland isn't big enough to fill 2 buses.

The idea that there are hundreds of far right alone on a small site like boards is delusional.

Many of the people coming here are from countries with much lower population densities than Ireland.

Exactly.

What the 'international community' should be doing is building in those countries, improving services in those countries.

It's obvious that's not the aim though - to help people. It's obvious that the intention is to destroy our country, and to create general upheaval.

You say the Irish population has jumped enormously in the last 20-25 years. I would say it hasn't in the context of where 'it should have been' - it was coming off a very low base, then following a period when Ireland was depopulating (the 1950s) and we even saw depopulation as recently as 1990, something that wasn't happening anywhere else in western Europe. We were arguably just playing catch up and restoring our population levels to where it should have been all along, rather than seeing any unnatural population growth.

So what has that got to do with the price of turkeys.

We can all play the what if game ...

There used to be saying to describe the claptrap you are coming out with to somehow show we should have a much bigger population than we have and thus it is ok to just dump people in the thousands into the country.

People that have no means of supporting themselves and need state services to exist.

They used to say "if my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle"

Of course in the modern Western World my aunt could have balls and my mother could be my father.🙄

One thing that comes to mind and is even evident here with some posters.

For some this didn't kick off for a lot of people until the last few months, when Dublin itself started having to take in these "asylum seekers".

It has been happening to a lot of others for a few years now and a lot of people in Dublin didn't give a flying fook, being honest.

Achill, Oughterard, Rooskey, Moville, Ballinamore all much much smaller with far less services than Ballymun, East Wall, Ballyfermot.

And in the middle of nowhere with no proper transport to boot.

It was ok to dump bunches of young men in these towns and villages and when the locals complained they were labeled backwards culchie inbreds.

One could almost have a bit of schadenfreude for our Dublin cousins who thought it was a laugh when the boggers had to house these people.

But now poorer Dubs get to experience what their richer neighbours really think of them.

They are labeled illiterate criminals, backward, dole spongers, etc

Restoring our population levels with people who have nothing in common with this country.

If you want to replace Irish people with people from around the world then the current policy is working well, if you want to build a country of people who love and respect Irish culture, heritage and traditions then you need to provide a system that encourages Irish people to have families.

The United States is perhaps the best example of mass immigration into a country with a small populace of natives, the Native Americans no longer control their country because of mass immigration.

Funnily enough if you are from West Africa you are likely to have had a relation in the last century, even less who owned slaves.

I'm not suggesting that "we should have a much bigger population" or that we should be aiming to have a population of 6m, far from it. I'm simply saying that to treat population growth as if its unnatural or an aberration or something that needs to be stamped out is a weird way of looking at things (and especially given our history of many decades of growth stagnation and even depopulation).

I wrote a post already around here actually mentioning population growth, not sure if it was in respond to you?

(Site is so shyte that you can't now search all your old posts to cross check things).

This isn't organic growth of increased birthrate, low emigration, steady immigration of skilled labour to fill labour requirements.

This is madness of just importing people with nothing to support them bar the existing taxpayers.

Yeah yeah they might be able to do manual labour sometime that Irish will not do, but then again manual labour is decreasing due to automation and will drastically drop in recessionary times.

Looney land economics.

Looney land social experimentation that has failed everywhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭buried

Your definition of "population growth" is not based on the traditional modes of what a states traditional mode of "population growth " actually was and should be, and you are talking about traditional modes of population growth, as you have given this islands history as an example.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

It's your Adam Smith vision that people disagree with. We thought your views were left behind in the Galway Tent at 4am after and a gram of Coke.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Putting lol in nearly every post does not make them funny.

I have read boards and I mostly see people raising genuine concerns and asking questions and are up for a discussion.

Boards does also have a handful of posters who refuse to engage in a discussion and shout far right and racist instead of debating.

The reality is they can't debate because they have no argument for what they believe in.

The fact you think boards has a few hundred far right members is just another delusion to go with the other beliefs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭buried

The most frightening aspect of this current mess is the actual realization that the politicians that we handsomely pay much money for supposedly "leading the state" are not in any sort of control whatsoever, either that or they are stuck in the realms of idiocy that a high infants student would be be scolded for. They are not in control, you can't tell me that the current leaders who are in control of the state and its current lack of decent infrastructure, who know what is actually going on, think its a good idea to import another limitless amount of people into this defunct infrastructure situation. Somebody somewhere should have the basic cop on to scream "stop" but they don't, or won't. Nobody is that stupid, hence they have no control over what is going on. Which begs the question, if none of them have any control, then what are we paying them for? Seriously

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats