Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm simply suggesting that the worst decades in our economic history (1950s, 1980s for example) always seemed to correspond with very low population growth, mass emigration and zero immigration - two lost decades.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 John Ivory

Our government accommodated 63,000 non EU or UK nationals last year, and only half of them were Ukrainians (CSO figures). No wonder why there is so much pressure on accommodation. We can't build quickly enough for these figures.

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-pme/populationandmigrationestimatesapril2022/keyfindings/#:~:text=The%20number%20of%20immigrants%2C%20or,period%20is%20estimated%20at%2059%2C600.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

And why do you think eras of massive emigration from Ireland in the 1950s and 80s corresponds with low population growth?

Do you think continued mass emigration from countries like Albania and Georgia is going to be positive for their economy and living standards?

Both country’s populations are crashing. Georgia has lost a million people in 15 years.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Patches oHoulihan

Hundreds of men arriving every day to Citywest that was set up for Ukrainian women and children.

It's carnage out there

• Registered Users Posts: 16,576 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

We are told none of us has a veto on migrants being housed in our areas but in the vast majority of cases its into working class parts of cities and small rural towns like mine they are put.

Are bus loads of young men coming to Ballsbridge, Dalky, Howth or Dun Laoghaire?

These places seem to have a veto, and its young people from these areas with the "we welcome refugees" banners.

Yeah welcome them as long as its not in Daddys posh neighbourhood.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Jaysus you come out with some awful shyte.

If you were to add 5 mouths to feed to your household would that make it more prosperous or less?

Ever hear the old saying about "putting the cart before the horse" ?

No wonder we are fooked when above is the level of logic that supports this lunacy that the government have bought into.

And now there is now even less accommodation for Ukrainians.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

If you were to add 5 mouths to feed to your household would that make it more prosperous or less

I suppose it would depend on the density level of the house.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

No problem with legit refugees from Ukraine, women and children yes should be given priority over other 'refugees' whos origins are unknown or not disclosed. The 6 counties executive claims to have settled 1600 Ukrainians in hostels/emergency housing and Belfast being the main town I haven't seen a single Ukrainian, not that I would know a Ukrainian from a Lithuanian but I'll wager they sure as hell aren't of a certain dark complexion or wear bukrahs. The other side of the wall won't take in any refugees or economic migrants no matter how legit they are.

Liberals falling over one another to house people of unknown origin in areas where they don't live (PBP/SDLP/SF) meanwhile in the slums where they wouldn't piss with next to no public spending for upgrading heres another 20 'refugees' deal with it

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

SF are the big losers. In fact, its politically expedient for FF/FG to dump refugees into working class areas to undermine the SF vote. So politically, this is not as bonkers as it seems for FF/FG. They've snookered SF on this, big time. They couldn't have dreamt of a better outcome than SF councillors out canvassing in East Wall etc, having to defend their reckless open borders policy.

heres another 20 'refugees' deal with it

The masses who didn't give a damn several years ago when the government essentially told the people of Lisdoonvarna to like it or lump it after a resounding vote against a DP center, are the real guilty ones. This was the state telling the people that their voices didn't matter in the clearest way possible, yet no one really cared. I'm sure half of the posters on this thread didn't care at the time either, yet now they are fighting back when it's way too late. I suppose this is the curse of society, a minority seeing what's coming and get mocked for it, only for the rest to catch on when the damage is done.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 16,564 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I don't see how this issue 'undermines the SF vote' in any significant way. Okay their canvassers might get a few tongue lashings on the doorsteps from this crowd

but the other left parties that constitute the alternatives to SF for working-class Dublin are certainly no better and probably in the round worse as far as those up in arms about immigrants and refugees are concerned...

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭clytemnestra

Yep. I live in the catchment area of one of the first DP centres, now over twenty years old. There is no end to the inward flow of people and the profound and permanent changes they bring. That's a diplomatic way of putting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Private schools private healthcare big inheritances these young people will never have to face the consequences of what is happening today

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

You do realise I'm sure, that affluent areas do not have the facilities to take in asylum seekers. Be realistic now, they don't have as many State schools, they don't have many doctors on the medical card list, they don't have health centres, they don't have room for tents, they don't have two and three star hotels, how could they possibly take in refugees? The very thought of it.

It's a wonder why the deeply compassionate and caring middle class types, who often have more wealth than the rest of us, aren't opening their hearts and their homes to the people that they are supposedly welcoming. They tell us all the time about how "vulnerable" these "refugees" are, so why not step in and save them from the great evil that is Direct Provision? "You don't have a right to vet who lives around you" is another one, so they should have no issue taking in some random Albanian lads into their homes. They present it all as risk-less, a benefit to us all, so why not live by their supposed values, and show us that it's all rosy by living with the people that they claim to support.

Post edited by TomTomTim on

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

They preach alright to the rest of us, safe in the knowledge they will never have to accommodate anyone other than their own sort. It reminds me of those who berate people who object to Traveller accommodation, but they would never have them next door to themselves. Hypocrites with a megaphone.

Thankfully the yanks already showed us how they'd react if they were lumped with even a few of them. They did their whole "we're caring people" act for the world for a day, then got rid of them all a few days later.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

94 world cup 40 'travellers' were put back on the next plane out back to Dublin? 'travellers' doing their thang being rowdy disruptive assholes but to claim they were being victimized because they're British, you turn coat soupie bastards. How the hell can you live with yourself even saying that. I've no problem with the Brits in general or 'travellers' for that matter but get real, Irish accent Irish passport Irish name just own up you did wrong and don't try and blame it on the Brits. The British embassy was hardly going to fight their corner as always it's our problem to deal with which they know and run to for help.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Kyokushin Grappler

Not even a few days. They were out of Martha's Vineyard in less than 24 hours. Let them In my foot.

There have been more refugees “dumped” as you put it, in tourist towns along the west coast than in working class urban areas.

Sinn Fein are in opposition. It is up to them to differentiate their policy from that of the government.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Amazing input.

Unfortunately for you and all the other anti-immigrants, stopping all the immigrants coming in doesn’t make the issues with health and housing go away. A lot of you lot seem to think you’re talking for the common person, but you’re not. The common person sees right through it all.

The immigrants aren’t the reason we have crises in those sectors, no matter how much you want everyone to believe the bollocks coming from you and your ilk.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 16,331 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Allowing everyone and his mother in doesnt make pre existing crises go away, it makes them worse.

Well meaning but naive people dont seem to realise this country simply cant save the world on its own. How are we going to look after them and where are we supposed to put them all?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Very much in keeping with the OP - Rodders was on NT with Gav Reilly today at 12pm. Asked about the numbers he said there are currently 350 IPASA's and 120 Ukrainians arriving every week, almost 3 times the amount of IPASA's v the UA's

So staying with the IPASA's for the mo - The IT did an article a few months back where it stated that 40% of those IPASA's had no documentation when presenting at immigration control. Assuming that % has not changed it means that out of the 1400 pm arriving, 560 will have had a little accident with their docs. For the remainder of the year (at this current rate) we will have 15,400 more IPASA's of which 6,160 will be complete chancers. And Rodders just stands there...'But sure what can we do?' - Hardly surprising a Ukrainian finds it a bit tricky to get a bed.

This is complete insanity!

RTE had a girl called Tamar on the news the other night. She came here from Georgia with her daughter a year ago and we have been putting her up in the Red Cow hotel for the last year. She was basically bitching about being moved to the disused church set up.

Tubridy had a woman on the show (a few months back) from South Africa. Apparently she was being slapped about a bit by the hubby. What does she do? Yes you guessed it, she did what every other person in the world would do - hopped on a plane and travelled the 10,000 kms to get to Ireland because the continent of Africa (being 30 million square kilometres) was just too small.

♫ ♪ ♬ ♩...Hooooouse the wooooorld...

let them know we're soft as fook ...♫ ♪ ♬ ♩

There are 30,000 Ukrainians in Georgia seeking sanctuary and thousands of other Africans in South Africa seeking sanctuary. Meanwhile both Georgians and South Africans are fleeing here.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Coolcormack1979

methinks this is about to get very interesting since I know for a fact of one hotel in South of the country that’s pulling out of housing Ukraine refugees due to the government not paying for the past 6 months.I’m certain this ain’t the only hotel not paid but will be kept quiet

But we don't have 'open borders' as the anti-immigration guys claim. I would suggest we have one of the strictest immigration and border control set ups in all of Europe. We're not even a member of the Schengen Zone and it is literally impossible to enter the country without going through immigration control and interacting with either the Garda National Immigration Bureau or the Border Management Unit.

Compare that to Europe where you could drive through ten different EU states without probably even once being asked to show a passport.

That's not the direction the refugees and asylum seekers are coming from.