Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭148multi

It's very important to have it wide enough to allow animals to stand sideways. Fit your animals head to tail.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭cute geoge

24 foot could squeeze 15 fat bullock but squashed and 13 cows would be the go of it ,so 10 cows really for a 20 foot they tend to go down if too tight but might squeeze 12 fat bullock

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭kk.man

From memory I put 11 fr bullocks 600kgs into my 22ft ..I don't think I would have fitted 12

• Registered Users Posts: 29,522 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

See the new junior cert is a fairly tame affair. One week of exams, only 1 paper in Irish, English and maths, used to be 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

If children lack the motivation required to do homework, don't expect them to understand the value of, or be capable of hard work.

Our lad is a long way off the junior cert yet, but I'd much prefer him have time with his friends after school than looking at more books. Herself was very pro homework until last autumn 😄

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

It also requires them to be able to think for themselves something a lot of people are lacking or not allowed to do. I see the sister BF today wasnt even allowed to open a door today without her standing over him he wasnt allowed to even think about how to open the bloody door for himself. More backbone in a tadpole.

Better living everyone

I don't know on the homework thing every kid is different. Daughter here always went above and beyond homework wise, never had to ask her had she any homework. The lads are different . Youngest lad wouldn't care about school but he is brilliant at other things, he does what he has to do school wise. I think it's a boy/ girl thing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Grueller

Not having homework will only widen the educational divide. Families that value education will ensure that revision/study is done at home thise that don't won't.

Really what needs to be done is cut the absolute link between college entry and CAO points as it is leading to the assessment tail wagging the education dog. Absolutely keep it as an element of entry, but an absolute points race serves nobody.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I remember when I did the leaving, some of the lads were fantastic at practical but not great at literature. They only got D’s when the teacher commented that their projects were top class. Even as farmers we’ve too much paperwork

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭148multi

Would you be interested in a ministerial role :)

It's interesting to Google countries that give no/significantly less homework including Finland, Japan, South Korea, Israel, & Brazil. There are some seriously impressive and innovative companies based in some of those nations. I'd suggest more socialisation might develop a more well rounded individual rather than the drone producing system we have currently, meaning one must get to university or one simply won't get along up that ladder.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Literature & record keeping is the most important aspect's of all tasks when working in most industral professions.

It doesn't matter how useful one is with a spanner or welder or voltmeter & snips, if they can't properly account for the job they have just done and send the customer adequate reports.

University indoctrinates good literature skills in even the worst practical candidates.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

It’s a disaster. Dumbing down everything by 60%.

theory behind it is nice but in reality, it is a disaster.

I don't think it's a good thing tbh. The other 2 kids here sat the junior cert as it was. I know they've had a tough time with covid but they need a reality check

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

The jump from JC to LC is now bigger than ever and the standards dropping daily.

I remember being showed day practical engineering pieces from the 1980s and 1990s and progressively they are made easier and easier.

now to pass LC at higher level, all you need is 30%

at JC, no more As, Bs or Cs- It’s yet to achieve, achieved, in line with expectations.

nobody allowed to struggle or fail. No resilience being learned.

Well in the school my lad is in they ring me to say he's messing or not doing his homework etc. His maths teacher rang me last week, my heart just dropped, I hate those calls, she was actually ringing to say that daughter got the highest leaving cert results in the school and is up for an award. I know they know he has the ability to do well, he just doesn't realise it yet....

• Registered Users Posts: 18,563 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Remember the pen is mightier than the sword.

Would have been poor study wise, always managed homework.

This idea you can equalise the system is flawed, cream always rises.

What happens is you open the divide. There is no easy options in life, however there is no hard options either.

I think Micheal D did a great disservice education. He was really trying to explain something else. He actually said to stop homework to allow creative pursuits, he was in a national school.

Yes dancing, music, reading are all great. But the maths divide is huge. Maths and mathematical ability was what saved me. But you learn the foundations at national school.

As the Kerryman said to the Yank on Sleahead, you cannot eat a view

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭roosterman71

This is nothing new. Dumbing down things in education has been going on for years. I was in college in 2000-2004 and the years coming along after me doing the same course had lower grades to achieve to get the same results. So by time I left in 2004 ya could get 15% less in exams in 2005 and still have the same results on the degree leaving the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Japan and Korea have significantly longer school years than us though.

I did a quick Google there and we have 40-50 less school days, that’s 10 weeks less.

I think homework within reason is ok. Coordination would be nice, depending on what classes my daughter has each day she could have no homework or 3 hours to have in for next day, now she likes to go to the last to produce good homework where I would have done the very least to avoid hassle

Parental involvement is a major factor in kids education. Kids of parents with college education are far more likely to succeed in exams and go to college and have higher earning potential.

After the covid home school stink tell the parents the kids will be in school for an extra 40-50 days and they'll be signing up in droves.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Dumbing down the education system has only one effect in dumbing down the education of people.

Look across the water in Britain where they're a good few years ahead in this trend and look how people have become, from the lowest to the politicians.

Main attraction for the multinationals being here is the education status of the workforce. If that gets dumbed down they'll move on to somewhere else to where it's still important. The English language advantage won't cut it for much longer as it's becoming universally learned now.

We were known or was drilled into us in primary school as the land of saints and scholars. Saints are mostly gone or were a figment. Where will the scholars be got?

More meat bashing TV on RTE2 now

Young lad just came in and asked is homework banned yet.....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ya, watching it here. Laughable to hear David Attenborough lauding how great it is for farms to be re-wilded in Britain ..... and Britain only 48% self-sufficient in food.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

It's still on here but I've tuned out tbh. "Sustainable" is a bullshit word twisted for fundamentalist agendas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

I'm afraid many teacher's are no longer at the race's in good education, when compared to previous crops.

Affluence has many distracted, like many others generally in employment in society. The worker's of today, wouldn't hold a candle to people of the past & since retired.

Probably no ones fault. It's the way things have developed over recent decades. Tiers & layers & buck passing, now so common.

Not sure it was much different when I was in school, we had alcoholics, the disinterested, ones with anger issues, ones not suited to out of control teens, control freaks, and of course good teachers.