Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,492 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Created by greed, foolishness and the need to be the bestest boys and girls in the EU class and world stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

You mention Freedom Party and young professionals with degrees in Politics and Philosophy out of Trinity and UCD who are in PR.

I would say these are the exact people we need nowhere near power.

Our academic institutions are turning out the same no cop on graduates as the US and UK at the moment.

Maybe if they were of the Jordan Peterson mould, but most are often just eejits parrotting the same shyte as vested NGOs.

Besides the party doesn't even mention immigration or border control anywhere on it's front page.

It is tied in with EU exit.

FFS are they fooking muppets, Brexit shoudl be salutory lesson on that.

Anyway it is boloxology to believe that we have no control and it is all the fault of EU.

Hungary prove that.

Garrett was the exact reason I started voting for FG, he was socially light years ahead of FF.

Then again he did have Alice Glenn in the ranks.

We can't rely on FG, they are now infested with half wits like McEntee, Harris and Leo himself who are more interested in media likes than normal people.

I have wondered if a reworked Veritas with toned down religious and EU rhetoric might work.

There are votes there to be had.

One thing that is needed is a couple of figureheads, ones in particular hat wouldn't give a flying fook about their media standing.

Any new centre right party needs to have it's own media presense because what passes for Irish media (print, radio, tv) is now only interested in selling the place out, literally selling it out.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 37 palette

During the last recession in leprechaun economics there was a point where it was stated clearly that there was enough money to pay social welfare for another 2 or 3 weeks. And that was with more and more joining the queue by the day. A lot of people.

Can you imagine when that comes around again? With the utter transparency of how things stand now?

A powder keg. A powder keg loaded with more gunpowder each and every passing day. Plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Roderick O'Gorman is a member of this Cabinet. Is he afraid to say anything at Cabinet meetings or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭batman_oh

And according the the refugee NGO guy they had different cultures close together which is a recipe for disaster. Except when it isn't all the rest of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Doctors and engineers, lots of doctors and engineers.

They will help pay your pension don't you know.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 23,874 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

When refugees arrive at a port of entry as of now where do they go? Will they just be roaming around in the cold?

Seems that 40 years of feckless immigration policy is coming to a head now.

We are in a crisis which is becoming a societal crisis and it's happening by the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

The political class have a love of promising great things with taxpayer's money. Between it ending up with the pals in mysterious ways and the bottomless pit and disaster which is the Bertie Monster aka the HSE, there is either not the money or the wit for decent delivery. In fact the incompetence of the government is making people struggling with putting or getting a roof over their head angry at people (like UA refugees) who have a reason to be here. Roderick O'Gorman is patently not up to his role, altho that could be said for most of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭Miadhc

Look at Termini in Rome and the surrounding areas for a glimpse of what Dublin will look like this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Actually I've never seen a weaker generation of politicians in my lifetime....not one of them have an ounce of principle, that is saying something given our political history. I've never seen a more incompetent Cabinet!!!

I mean the leader of the Green party, the Minster for the Environment...said recently that gay people and women will be more adversely affected by Climate Change. Think about how stupid that is, does he think he is in a room full of Gender studies students...no one is swallowing that garbage!!!

We have sanitary products installed in the men's bathrooms in Leinster house.

We have the worst housing crisis in our history (that has been gathering steam for at least a decade) and no means to alleviate it!!

A health system on the brink of collapse!

Who voted for all of this??

I don't think so. There are always limits.

With more and more people ending up in hotels and on the streets (I saw that 50 homeless died over the last while), and that's with a supposedly great economy.

Add in zero prospects of employment with an economic correction, I just cannot realistically see no reaction.

Not that a recession is needed, it'll just add an extra punch to it all.

As for manifestation, who 10 years ago would have forseen an immigration crisis where they're passing them around between schools and hotels and practical famine villages for the sheer numbers, and with no hope of change on the horizon?

Just so, don't be quick to dismiss the logical reactions that can and will happen in the next 10 years.

Action finally meets reaction. How else was this to end? Don't bother asking any of the enablers of this fiasco, they never had a plan beyond counting their pennies today. Pennies, I may add, that'll be just as quickly taken from them when the bell tolls.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Drivetime covering the Refugee situation.. Missed the start, caught the last interview with a male, said he arrived yesterday from the UK through Belfast, he's very disappointed as he doesn't like the cold and he has no accommodation provided, when he ended the conversation he said he had been living in the UK for a while and he CHOSE Ireland because of the economy... The usual emoting from the interviewer and O Hadhra, for frigging heavens sake journalists I know it doesn't effect ye cos yere well insulated from it, but it sure as hell effects a lot of us, do yere job, ask a few questions maybe, it's maddening, enough of this nonsense... But but look over there a few thousand euro to put up a few posters terrible, terrible entirely

• Registered Users Posts: 23,874 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Well, there is literally no where for them to go now so you'd expect transit hubs like Connolly, Heuston etc to be the obvious zones where things may get real pretty quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

You mention Freedom Party and young professionals with degrees in Politics and Philosophy out of Trinity and UCD who are in PR.

I would say these are the exact people we need nowhere near power.

Our academic institutions are turning out the same no cop on graduates as the US and UK at the moment.

Maybe if they were of the Jordan Peterson mould, but most are often just eejits parrotting the same shyte as vested NGOs.

Besides the party doesn't even mention immigration or border control anywhere on it's front page.

It is tied in with EU exit.

They would be members of the - hard to believe it exists - conservative element in the Universities. In Trinity it would be centred around The Burkean.

Their views would be similar to what is being said here. Nothing flaky.

But the fact that you haven't heard about them shows how underwhleming their efforts so far have been.

Now that their time is here, no one knows about them. By the time they get themselves out there (if they get themselves out there) more mainstream and professional parties will have adopted some version of the message for electoral profit.

Do not sully the name of Alice Glenn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,823 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

heard One of those chancers on drivetime.

Strange exchange - Fella had Strong london by way of Kabul accent and was almost demanding accom from the journo - real sense of entitlement off him.

What a joke of a system

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭lmao10

Anytime you see someone trying to downplay the far right, they are usually far right.

10 years or so ago, equal questions as to an immigration crisis would have been similar.

"Who are these people? Where will they come from and how will they afford to get here, to the western point of the Atlantic ocean on a small island? Who will fund it, who would back it? Political suicide, surely. How many people do you think will fit into the country? How would the health system cope? Transportation, housing? Will they put them in school rooms temporarily, lol? Will they fill hotels across the country, lol? How would they get off planes and still be considered refugees, wouldn't it be easy for immigration to stop them and turn them around? People just wouldn't stand for it. That sounds like madness, lol"

What was crazy to imagine then is now reality. What is crazy to imagine now will be reality later.

Nobody can predict the nuts and bolts and details, but it's easy enough to see there there will be no continuation of this scam into the future. Reactions are, logically, coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

So the scammers taking away places from legitimate cases is now reality

Very interesting, and an absolute slow moving train crash anyone could see coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,748 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I have wondered if a reworked Veritas with toned down religious and EU rhetoric might work.

There are votes there to be had.

Hard to see them toning down the religious rhetoric tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Ya...this persistent accusation is gone the way of the misogynist...a meaningless slur in an attempt to shut down or discredit someone with a valid argument.

Misogynism and far rightism does seem to go hand in hand...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

A day is coming soon when those types will be screaming labels as such into the void, because not a soul will be listening to them. To say they've overplayed their hand is putting it mildly, yet I don't blame them all the same, as it's been an effective tactic for a very long time.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

Yeah, you get the impression that it's nearly over for the Far Right Observer crowd and they're reverting to long forgotten routines and muscle memory.

Bit like HAL singing "Daisy, Daisy"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Those old farts were once young and liberal, most people are when they are young. When you get older, usually your views evolve. Growth is an essential part of life; if you're stuck in the same place with the same views forever, then you haven't lived enough, or you aren't open minded enough. The fact that you don't get that says so much about you.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,895 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This is Ireland. We don't have a "right" anymore, let alone a "far right!" Twitter posts do not reflect reality most of the time.

Besides, you don't need a "right" to be able to recognise that biology and historical facts trump feelings and ideology every time.

That's not to say tolerance isn't important, but so is acceptance of the above reality.

It's obvious by now that if you're downplaying the far right or saying there is no far right then you are most likely far right and trying to justify those beliefs as the norm. It's the way it's seen at the moment I'm afraid. A bit like anyone who says the word "woke" on here is usually a middle aged far right lad.

I'd say the odds of all incoming generations of Irish people left without the proverbial pot to wee in regards housing, health, education and general mobility are going to be precisely the opposite of the select few of current generation that sold and squandered all those essentials.

Add in maturity to recognise reality, its going to make some heads spin.

Although you may be right, maybe voting on transrights will be paramount to those left living in hedges. You never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

Keep importing unlimited numbers of people who take their orders from what some Abrahamic cult says and good luck getting a vote for anything, nevermind trans rights.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Looking at the thread title, "Ireland running out of accommodation", and directly stated political statements of the last few days, it is clear that we have run out of accommodation. It is a statement of fact now. Not a maybe.

The current shower are going to stand by and just let people swanny on in, hand them a few food vouchers and let them go wherever they please. What could you call that except an unadulterated hands in the air approach.

There needs to be a rapid response to this negligence now. There is no more room, fact of the matter.

Migration in just about every form needs to be frozen as of today. Policy of turn around on flights carrying unidentified people needs to be enacted today. Ukrainian refugees need to be diverted elsewhere. Its time to pass the buck back to airlines, airports, other countries, whoever. Our responsibility as a nation ends at the airports, borders and docks.

As our politicians have stated clearly, there is no more room.

Now they have to act upon that fact, today.

Funny how your whole narrative leads to people who you support getting laughed at when it comes to voting. To the cries of "the tide is turning!". Only to get laughed at again and again. It's like you lads are on a hamster wheel happy to keep going round and round. It's entertaining.