Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭RoTelly

For the first time in a while I agree with the government and it's ministers. In effect the cabinet have said that RTÉ need to reform and look at their cost base, before they begin to consider meeting their demands for more money.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Paywalled but I kinda get the idea - About feckin time.

Catherine also kicked the direct funding to touch as well a good while back -

Catherine Martin, the minister in charge of media, said government will be adopting 49 of the 50 Commission’s recommendations, but wants an “alternative approach” to the Commission’s recommendation on a new funding model.

Minister Martin explained: “Key among the report’s recommendations is reforming and enhancing the TV licence. The government has decided that in order to maintain a direct link between media and the public they serve, and to minimise the risk of actual or perceived political interference in media independence, the TV licence will be maintained but overhauled.

That bold bit ^ was always why direct Exchequer funding could never be a runner

• Registered Users Posts: 33,586 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The luvvies at rte will not like that one bit.

Being told they are getting paid plenty already and to do more with it.

They'll not be able to waste it like they usually do.

Well just in the last few months they've blown 80k on the Autumn launch, spent a huge (unknown) amount tarting up the Radio 1 studios and the icing on the cake, the massive amount burnt on the TSTM.

Lets just be grateful the MI crew weren't sent over to Davos for the week

TBH I like that they improved their sets in the Radio News Room... however the money would have been better spent improving their output on the News Channel.

I also notice that some of Fair City actors refused to sign contracts. RTÉ new the issue surrounding those contractors, and waited until contracts were due to be signed!

I am not a regular viewer of RTÉ News can anyone tell me if they have heard or seen any of their correspondents on the air? I see Reynold's is about and most of the local correspondents, but see little from the others.

______

Yesterday

Has RTÉ ever been involved or funded any part of an Irish Oscar success story?

TG4's CINE4 (which has co-funding from the Screen Ireland and the BAI) shows TG4's flexibility, I'd hope that if either of the co-sponsors decide to drop out of the project that TG4 would consider continuing it even if it is in a smaller scale. I am not sure how much each funding partner put into, perhaps TG4 put in little and almost all of the funding comes from SI and the BAI, it is however commission through TG4, so its TG4's team.

Just to rephrase RTÉ's statement on TSTM and relate it to TG4 funding of CINE4: -

TG4 is very proud to be supporting and investing in Irish creative and cinematic talent, writers, composers, actors, producers, directors, designers and all the production and technical specialists. In total, between the creative team, cast, and crew this film is giving employment to over 100 people during its production, in addition to distributors and marketing team.

We are all too aware of how few opportunities there are in Ireland to work on projects of this scale and ambition. We feel very fortunate to be able to offer that opportunity to such a young and talented, almost fully Irish, team. TG4 supports the arts in many ways, but perhaps the most practical way is in creating meaningful creative opportunities and pathways for new talent.

We are also delighted to be bringing a new, original, and uniquely Irish film to Irish audiences to sit alongside the international film productions which routinely come to the country. While Irish audiences certainly love the best films from Disney, Film4 and Hollywood we wanted to offer audiences a show that is rooted here – part of our culture and our imagination, but also with comparable ambition and production values. To do that requires investment in development and in talent and a willingness to take a multi-annual view on a return. It also requires a willingness to take some risk – creative projects, much like musicals and films, are always a risk.

Yesterday at TG4's support paid off by achieving an Oscar nomination, having already achieved international and national critical acclaim. Go and see for yourself.

Can you imagine what Dee Forbes and RTÉ would be saying all of yesterday had they been involved. It would be wall to wall RTÉ this RTÉ that RTÉ RTÉ RTÉ RTÉ.

This is there stance on a failure image how up their own arses they'd be on a success.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 17,502 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

They're too busy hanging on the coattails of other broadcasters shows like Normal People

The government are having it both ways tho, when RTE tried to close Lyric FM's Limerick base and Longwave, the government bullied them into reversing those decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,807 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Why shouldn't the government have a say in how a taxpayer funded organisation uses those funds...?

The savings from those two things would have been paltry anyway and (a bit like closing the Vatican embassy) were meant to send a statement rather than actually address the large financial problems.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

I would disagree with this analysis. I actually believe it is RTÉ who are bullying the government.

Take your Lyric FM example.

1. It starts with Prime Time being used to highlight that RTÉ could close Lyric FM completely (something that the report should have pointed out was unlikely to happen because RTÉ would need to get permission from the Minister, no minister would have agreed)
    2. Over the next week, or so, RTÉ downplay it to "well we might have to close the Lyric FM studio" (I was in the Oireachtas as TD and Sentor from Limerick came into tell RTÉ that this cannot happen)
    3. Then the government had an emergency meeting and a Dail debate was organized Dec 2019, which lead to Minister Bruton giving RTÉ an extra €10m in funding every year over the next 5 years.
    4. In 2020 RTÉ reduced funding to Lyric FM by around €500,000 while increasing funding to an ever declining 2FM (RTÉ have funding 2FM from the licence fee since 2011, or so, previously it was self-sufficient something RTÉ were all to proud to announce).
    5. All of this is along with, the return of funding to TG4 from the licence fee in 2019 worth an additional ~€8m to RTÉ per year, the move of the NSO in 2022 worth a saving of €8m per year to RTÉ (which should have happened in 2021 but for some apparent reason didn't happen).
    6. That's an additional €26m that RTÉ will have in 2023, because of their strategic Begging Bowl (they also got an their Social Welfare money returned, not sure how much that was worth).
    7. And then they go and fund a Theatrical Musical, can you imagine if either Screen Ireland, the BAI or TG4 did this?
    8. My point is that RTÉ would be shouting it from the roof tops at their success at the Oscars and they would use it to build the idea for an increase in funding. Something TG4 is doing but its not getting as much air time as poor old ... ikell RTÉ, awh the poor ikle baba can't Plan, it just can't, no,it can't, here's €160 for you, here you go, yes you do.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Karppi

That is a brilliant analysis of what's going on. Thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,340 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Saturday night- Lines are now closed….. yeah, that’s because it was originally broadcast in April 2022…..

Pr1cks

• Registered Users Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Has Keith Barry ever updated his magic tricks? He's been doing the same magic act for, God, it must be 20 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,502 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

He has to wait for someone else to come out with something new so he can copy it

The Masked Magician has exposed every magic trick he does, and that was in the 90s. And they're all up on youtube.

I was hoping he'd guess correct each time which box the €250,000 was in each week on Deal or No Deal. It's amazing what the right presenter can do to a dull programme, and how a dull person can make it even duller.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 34,807 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Who in the name of jaysus would watch that crap never mind a repeat of it?

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Yay great to see someone making a few Bob ching-ching baby💶💶💶💶💶💶💶Agency representing Ryan Tubridy and Dermot Bannon sees profits double

ENTERTAINMENT

Agency Representing Ryan Tubridy And Dermot Bannon Sees Profits Double

NK Management is led by chief executive Noel Kelly.

31/01/2023 | 16:56 PM

Post-tax profits at the management agency representing a host of stars from Irish TV and radio more than doubled last year.

NK Management represents broadcasters Pat Kenny, Ryan Tubridy, Dermot Bannon, Claire Byrne and Joe Duffy.

The business is led by chief executive Noel Kelly.

New accounts for Mr Kelly's Cleary Consultancy Ltd show the firm recorded post-tax profits of €404,085 in the 12 months to the end of March last year.

This was more than double the post-tax profits of €191,339 in the prior year.

The 60-year-old Mr Kelly shuns the limelight but is one of the best-known names in the Irish broadcasting industry, and is often tasked by his clients to negotiate new contracts on their behalf with RTÉ.

In a rare press interview a number of years ago, Mr Kelly said: "I'm not interested in the limelight. I like the fact that I can get on the Luas and nobody knows who I am or what I do."

Mr Kelly has also served as a long-time director on the board of Adi Roche’s Chernobyl Children’s Project International charity.

The NK Management website says the talent management agency has 25 years experience "at the forefront of connecting talent and brands with global audiences".

The firm’s client list reads like a who’s who of Irish celebrities, including Dave Fanning, Matt Cooper, Ivan Yates, Baz Ashmawy, Niall Quinn, Kian Egan and Dermot Whelan.

Others include Doireann Garrihy, Kathryn Thomas, Catriona Perry and Sonia O’Sullivan. Mr Kelly also represented the late Gerry Ryan and today represents the broadcaster’s daughter and 2FM presenter, Lottie Ryan.

The firm had no comment to make on the accounts.

Pretty disgusting really. That's a post-tax figure and while it's not a massive amount in the grand scale of things, it does mean it would be after salaries/expenses which could be and probably are massive. All paid for by us - that's our money sitting there, unnecessarily facilitated mainly by RTE and to a lesser extent, Bauer/VM

The little entertainment cartel rolls on making many multimillionaires off the the backs of the public suckers.

I wonder if his agent is Noel Kelly? How else does one explain the many prolific chances he got?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Maybe people should recognise him so...

My internet's been schizophrenic the last week or so, so didn't have access to netflix or other streaming services. Got stuck watching TLLS Eurosong thing... good god, I genuinely lost my mind during it. (Wanted to put on a Blu Ray or dvd, but got outvoted).

Bad would be entertaining, for all the wrong reasons. This was horrendous. The only joy I could find was when my Sky box cut out (happens when the internet is being dodgy) during the Eurovision 'medley'... I just cracked up laughing, even the Sky Q box was like 'Screw this muck-I quit!'.

And the nadir on the absolute diarrhea cake that this show now represents was Lottie Ryan (with some really dodgy looking 'cosmetic' procedures' that were distracting) and Jedward now judging Jonny Rotten... you couldn't write a worse script, but then fiction has to make sense...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I only saw clips of it and noped out. Did see the recap with the voting numbers and I didn't take to any of them, most sounded so... bad. And yeah, that wan looked like a bad CGI puppet. Horrible looking, and that's not a good at her looks, just all that plastic crap on her face. No idea what she actually looks like because of it.

There was a genuinely noticable issue with the sound mix. Oft times, you'd hear the music, but not the vocals. I know Jonny Rotten's song, for all the ten seconds I heard of it, was really bad. But then when I was trying to hear the 'Connolly' lass singing, I genuinely had trouble hearing her vocals.

Genuinely, the most excited the audience got was when Ryan announced he was giving away a hamper of peanut butter to everyone in the audience. I've noped out of watching the LLS so often. The one time I got stuck watching it, it had taken a turn far, far, far further down the toilet. They even brought on Niamh Kavanagh as 'eurovision royalty'... yeah, she won it once 30 years ago, but they sent her out to eurovision a few years back, and she didn't even qualify for the main event ... she's no Jonny Logan, just saying.

Then they brought on a woman who 'had the name Eimear Quinn'... but wasn't the Eimear Quinn who won the Eurovision all those years ago.

Lottie was there presenting a 'behind the scenes/ Green Room/ kinda deal... but that was pointless, because we saw the acts were sitting off to the side, where Marty Whelan was interviewing them... there were points where the audience 'should' have been clapping along to the 'Euromedley', and it cut to the audience, then swiftly cut away when you saw the 'Springtime for Hitler' reactions on their faces, and only one person clapping. Audio mix there was pretty bad too. Twitter was having a field day with 'what has Lottie done to her face?' questions.

The Valentines Day show is on next week. Just a fair warning, because as bad as the Eurosong show was, the Valentines Day one is far, far worse. I'll genuinely just sit in a dark room and avoid everything if the broadband is down that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,965 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Bit harsh on Niamh Kavanagh.

Anyone who actually won it is Eurovision Royalty.

Besides she is a nice woman.

As for the show I gave up after PIL it's just not my cup of tea.

True on that first point. But many who do remember her, will remember her from her last attempt-where she didn't win.

I can't vouch for what she's like as a person, only know her from tv.

It's not my cup of tea either. But had no choice. At least twitter kept me amused, tho that used up my phone data.

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

Much as I agree on the points about the show being a general shambles, you're wrong about Niamh Kavanagh. She did qualify for the final in 2010, our first qualification since 2007 (which was only automatic due to performing well in 2006) when Dervish bombed.

The Late Late Show line up for Friday... Jesus...

Remember when WWN posted this article, and everyone in RTE had a conniption when they clearly hadn't read the article?

He's just lost the will to host the show now... not even trying. And those guests get paid to appear on the show.

I agree about Niamh Kavanagh, TBH no one remembers they song she lost with. She has a great voice and it was a great song that she won with.

The production was all-in-all dreadful for the show, RTÉ should be ashamed at how badly it was produced. It was a complete and utter mess. I didn't watch the Valentine's Special, from twitter I saw bits but it looked as bad as ever.

I don't understand RTÉ's obsession will Lottie Ryan, and I mean this not to offend Lottie it is just a criticism, but why exactly is she in RTÉ, she gets no additional feedback. It seems she's just been told to sit in front of the mic or the camera and start talking. She a typical person who would say "Sure anyone could do that" and they you realize actually very few people can present and you need practice. She's just shoehorned in to everything she does. Her role on 2FM, to come on different shows and babble on about Entertainment news. She'd be lucky if she was able to be a Continuity Announcer.

And then there is 2FM, no improvement in listernship, but sure give it 5 years.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 14,965 ✭✭✭✭elperello

What can I add, great voice, lovely person and won Eurovision.

Not a bad CV.

Like I said I only watched up to PIL.

As for Valentines night I meant not to watch it but ended up seeing first 20 minutes.

The best I can say is that they all seemed to be happy and enjoying themselves.

I don't listen to LR on radio and hardly ever see her on TV.

She seems enthusiastic.