Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You've been looking in the wrong direction, the dangers are coming from the right.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,286 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

@nullzero

They are also being condescending and insulting.

If I'm getting narky with your posting, it's because I don't take kindly to people playing silly buggers with a clear and easy to understand point. I'm also not that fond ridiculous, automatic, pushback or attempts to put words into other people's mouths and pretending that they said things they didn't say.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,482 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

The Business Post reports that 45% of people would not support the construction of modular homes to house Ukrainian refugees in their area.

The Red C poll also revealed that over a third of people believe that opposition to refugees only exists within the far-right.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

The definition of Totalitarianism encompasses the definition of fascism and communism.

You are contending that contrary to universally accepted definitions your opinion that the USSR had "fascist overtones" is the correct way to view both the USSR and any other communist regimes, seemingly because said regimes didn't achieve the version of communism described in the Communist manifesto.

You're stating that the USSR had traits shared with Fascist regimes, that is of course true but it's true of all totalarian regimes so the comparison with fasccism is redundant when that is taken into consideration.

I am arguing that the established and universally accepted definition of Totalitarianism which applies to both Communist and Fascist regimes is in fact the correct way to describe the USSR or any other communist regimes.

So to summarise, we have on one side Tony and his opinion and on the other I'm just stating universally accept fact and I'm getting condescended to and insulted for doing so.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭lmao10

• Registered Users Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Shocking listening to Kitty Hollands description of the Ashtown violent attack on radio this morning.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 6,427 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Didn’t hear the radio interview. I wonder what colour the German Shepherd and the American Pitbull terrier were. She was able to identify the Irish as white.

How was she able to identify them as Irish? Why is it being labelled a racist attack when the article says it was revenge for an assault?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

The definition of Totalitarianism encompasses the definition of fascism and communism.

You do know that the phrase "totalitarianism" or "totalitario" comes from Italian writers who wished to describe the traits that defined Benito Mussolini's * Fascist governing. So, therefore, calling the USSR a "totalitarian" state is using a phrase that was coined to describe Fascism.

You are contending that contrary to universally accepted definitions your opinion that the USSR had "fascist overtones" is the correct way to view both the USSR and any other communist regimes, seemingly because said regimes didn't achieve the version of communism described in the Communist manifesto.

You're stating that the USSR had traits shared with Fascist regimes, that is of course true but it's true of all totalarian regimes so the comparison with fasccism is redundant when that is taken into consideration.

I didn't say "any other communist regimes". I was talking about the USSR, especially under Stalin. You asked me "Would you agree that the USSR wasn't a fascist state?" Seriously read the bloody posts.

And BTW this isn't "my" opinion, nor my "contention" either. This understanding has been around since the before the Second World War ended. In fact, it was existent during the 1930's. You're making the mistake of assigning way too hard a border between terms that are actually quite fluid. "Totalitarian" isn't a separate descriptor to "Fascist". It was an attempt to describe Fascism. But it has also been used to describe traits within other regimes. In fact, "Fascist" or "Fascism" themselves are very nebulous terms. Orwell struggled in 1944 to accurately pin it down. Ian Kershaw said that trying to describe it was like "trying to nail jelly to a wall". The fact is, is that no two Fascist governments are the same and other governmental systems can employ Fascist traits, just like the USSR did under Josef Stalin.

Again, I'll stress to you, this isn't anything new, nor is it some radical departure from conventional thinking in political science. You're just unable to detach yourself from simplistic and reductive applications of the terms under discussion.

I am arguing that the established and universally accepted definition of Totalitarianism which applies to both Communist and Fascist regimes is in fact the correct way to describe the USSR or any other communist regimes.

So to summarise, we have on one side Tony and his opinion and on the other I'm just stating universally accept fact and I'm getting condescended to and insulted for doing so.

The only thing that's going on here is that you lack the historical understanding involved and are unable to get past basic labelling. When the reality is that those labels are quite shifty and overlapping. You also appear unable to understand what a "trait" is or what "overtone" means.

Into the bargain, a totalitarian state is actually anti-Communist, in that it's the complete opposite of what Marx was writing about. But as we've already established, the USSR never reached a state of Communism. It never managed to get out of Socialism.

Seriously do even a little bit of research into this. It's really quite beyond silly at this point.

*The same Benito Mussolini who once described Josef Stalin as rendering "a commendable service to Fascism" in a 1938 edition of Il Popolo d'ltalia.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Cordell

It's also shocking to allow migrants to set up this kind of camps, Calais Jungle style. If I were to set up a tent on a park I would have the Gardai in no time telling me where to go.

°°°°°

Whatever the etymology of the word Totalitarian may be or the traits of Communist regimes and their similarity to Fascist regimes, assigning the statement "fascist overtones" to the USSR appears to be an attempt to absolve left wing radicals of the blame for their negative actions.

It reads like "Communism couldn't be achieved because of the influence of Fascism" (I'm not saying that you said this before you get sore about it).

It appears that Communist misdeeds only occured due to Communist regimes observing the misdeeds of Fascist regimes and taking "inspiration" to brutalize their people from Fascists.

Oddly and if I'm honest quite satisfactorily from my perspective in light of you accusing me of not possessing the required historical knowledge on this subject, Mussolini came to power four years after Lenin Bolsheviks began their Red Terror campaign where they set about killing tens (by some estimates hundreds) of thousands of people in Russia.

If anything the inspiration for mass killings by totalitarian regimes in the twentieth century came from far left, socialist or communist (I know how touchy you are on that one) actions. As well as the other traits you outlined. Communism (or socialism if you prefer) set the standard for totalitarian regimes before the term was even coined.

So far you've been insulting, demeaning condescending and most critically repeatedly and demonstrably wrong. Bravo.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭francois

Photographer with her took some pictures, the perps names are online, let's hope the Gardai deal with them now

• Registered Users Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The problem for Kitty Holland is nobody sees her as an unbiased, neutral reporter.

°°°°°

Let's hope they get locked up for a long time, skangers.

Glazers Out!

Very telling how theres no concern for the migrants attacked by far right thugs but concern about how it must be proved its not far right and the journalist isnt trustworthy. All very far right traits.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I think everyone here has condemned the attack. Attacking people violently can never be justified. Do you agree? Have you condemned the attack on an Irish political party meeting in Fermanagh and expressed concern for the victims or is that the right type of violence and the right type of victim?

Is seeking to determine the facts and examining the evidence not a responsible, democratic thing to do?

The attackers claimed their motive was revenge for a local assault. This is what the journalist reported. Should this element of what the journalist reported be ignored and the other elements of what was reported be accepted? Why?

°°°°°

Nobody said taken that position.

The attack was widely condemned and the assertions that the attackers were far right had no basis in reality.

Had there been actual evidence these morons were far right that would be a different story.

Just more point scoring nonsense as usual.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Cordell

Including but not directly related to this attack, please understand that racism and violence are not political options/positions.

Also very telling that here is no concern for the migrants from the (far) left side either, they(you) are much more concerned about the attackers and their alleged far right leaning.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Yes , the expectation that reports have supportive evidence is an exclusively far right tactic

FFS.

From my first reply to your question - "As to whether the USSR was a Fascist state, if we take fascism to mean an authoritarian, dictatorial, totalitarian state, then (under Stalin especially) it resembled more along the lines of Fascism than it did Communism."

You're not even reading the posts are you.

You utter, utter, time waster. Go away.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

One of these screechy left rants without mentioning that notorious New York landlord, golf club owner, and erstwhile POTUS Donald John Trump are just 'low energy.' RIP keyboard too.

More downplaying. Fascinating the lengths people goto to pretend violence didnt happen and the motive for the violence isnt far right in its nature.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 82,944 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

LOL. You don't think it's a tad suspicious for a media outlet to claim to be at the scene of an attack in progress and not release ANY footage of said attack.

Tell me you've heard of due process without telling me you've heard of due process.

They have to lock threads on boards, this small talk platform, when something hits the Irish courts because of it. The Island is too tiny and its media to close knit, threads both here and reports in the Times can, the law seems to argue, affect the outcome of cases at worst and at minimum limits the already limited jury pool. Yer one probably shouldn't be on the radio discussing it if it does.

Crucially: do you have any evidence anyone filmed the incident?

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Kyokushin Grappler

LOL. The media have proven themselves to be nothing but propagandists the last few years. They've lost the benefit of the doubt. Just tell me you believe them because it fits your beliefs. Atleast I'll be able to respect your honesty.

Otherwise to believe this story with holes so large you can pilot a fleet of aircraft carriers through them you'd have to be gullible at best or stupid at worst.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,944 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The waffle confirms that no, in fact, there is no reporting, except innuendos from a new user (welcome), that anyone had a phone out recording when this incident occurred.

All about the propaganda to deny it and play it down; "it didnt happen", "its not far right", "It was minor"

There was a violent far right incident in Ashtown where migrants were attacked because of their nationality and ethnicity. We all know this to be true but lots of people swarming in to downplay and deny.

Terry Pratchet

A. You don’t know it was a far right incident.

B. You don’t know they were attacked because of their nationality or ethnicity.

Why are you compelled to make things up?

Not making anything up. The social media videos and comments were clear. The reporter was clear.

Terry Pratchet

Are videos of the the attack on social media?

How do you know the motive for the attack? The reporter reported a different motive.

°°°°°

The only video available shows some men talking to each other and shaking hands etc with no sign of violence.

I've no idea if that video is related to the incident in question or not.

It seems like there's a serious lack of clarity here.

Posting the video I referred to above, the text body of the tweet here is a bit unhelpful and I'm not familiar with the account posting it but the video is interesting...

Post edited by nullzero on

Glazers Out!

I heard two radio interviews with Kitty Holland and read her tweets.

She contradicts herself by saying earlier today that they had photographs of the backs of the attackers. This evening on Newstalk she said they have photos but could not release them because they clearly identify the attackers.

Which is it?

She also stated earlier she was at her car when she saw the men approach the camp. On Newstalk this evening she said she was driving back towards the city centre when she saw the men approaching.

Again. Which is it?