Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You've been looking in the wrong direction, the dangers are coming from the right.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,926 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

So if you witness me break into the neighbors house with a baseball bat, hear a loud bang, see me leave with a baseball bat, and you ask me what I'm up to and I say 'your neighbor had it coming' and you go to your neighbor and he's beaten to snot - you're saying you've witnessed no crime and you're useless in a court of law or as a source of eye witness account? I thought we already covered this, but happy to do it again.

How could everyone here know more about the case, when you clearly know nothing about the case, and keep JAQing off about the case?

Hilarious and droll. Let me educate you

Well, let beau educate you. Let's talk about The Language of Journalism

• Registered Users Posts: 6,427 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

If I witness you breaking into my neighbours house of course I have witnessed a crime.

If I see you walking in the woods with a dog, carrying a stick? Not so much.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

Nobody is alleging they were 'breaking and entering' into the camp, mind. I'm just pointing out how an eye witness would find it awfully suspect they climbed through the ditch and the trees and not, I am only presuming, walking nonchalantly up the path?

Where's this camp on google maps, all ye nancy drews.

Are you saying she saw nothing at all? Her account being argued over states otherwise.

This is getting awfully childish and pedantic though I have to say if you have to dissemble the term eyewitness and still be incorrect about it.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Either way, Kitty Holland is the liar and the pathological liar John McGuirk is epitome of the truth.

You are as unaware of the topography as everyone else yet are speculating about how entering in one place is “conspicuous”.

Do you believe that Kitty Holland witnessed a crime?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,815 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We have a far right party who have no elected representative and got a few hundred votes last election.

With the vast majority probably friends and family members of the party.

It is comical how you mention far right in 90% of your posts in a country with no far right representative.

I can only assume you live elsewhere because nobody else can see how transparent this is because we don't have many far right people in ireland.

Considering you use far right in 90% of your posts it might make sense to learn what the term means.

I believe it is you who lives in an echo chamber who thinks ireland has a load of far right people which only exists in your head and not in reality.

The reality is if this event did actually happen it was done by scumbags and not some sort of far right group.

That's up for prosecutors to decide. I'm not a lawyer in the US and certainly not a barrister in Ireland. By her account on that program you linked me to originally, she saw the alleged assailant, armed, come and go, heard an alleged assault, shouted at them to stop, and alleged to have spoken with the suspect who told her by her account that they were acting against the camp in relation to a recent crime they had applied blame to.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Here's the information about the Garda response taken from one of the links you posted...

If there's evidence that some far right group perpetrated an attack on migrants it has yet to be provided.

You're making out that there has been or there will be arrests made on foot of this story. The ongoing enquiries are likely to determine the validity of the story as presented in the Irish Times article and if images of the alleged assailants have been passed to the Gardai the people in question are likely being interviewed by Gardai and any footage they recorded is likely being collected.

If there was an assault I like everyone else here will gladly see the perpetrators charged for it but thus far all we have is here say in relation to it and no conclusive evidence of any kind.

Glazers Out!

You're making out that there has been or there will be arrests made on foot of this story. 

You seem lost

That's up for prosecutors to decide. I'm not a lawyer in the US and certainly not a barrister in Ireland. 

°°°°°

Lets try again

"No formal complaints have been made".

With that in mind how does this even get to court to begin with?

Glazers Out!

I’m looking forward to the evidence newspaper journalist and her camera man who were at the scene have obviously got to show us.

That's up for the Gards and prosecutors to decide.

Are all complaints "formal?"

Photographer, and according to the account they were driving vehicles and doubling back to camp when incident unfolded quite fast. I'm told from the comments here some photos were snapped by the end of the altercation.

°°°°°

The left in Ireland in recent years has jumped in with both feet on a number of issues and ended up with egg of their faces.

The Carlow school uniform controversy, without the full facts Ruth Coppinger and Hazel Chu started a witch hunt against male teachers and when the facts of the situation were revealed they were proven to be completely wrong. They never apologised.

In the wake of the George Nchenko tragedy the same players stated that we now had evidence of institutionalised racism within our country and the Garden particular. This was demonstrably a pile of nonsense.

The worst example of mob rule and political protest turned into a demonstration of antisocial behaviour and unlawful detention of a public representative was lead by Paul Murphy, the ultimate champagne socialist in the Jobstown riot/demonstration.

And we're supposed to take the Irish left at their word?

At the same time our far right is led by a sad little racist loser who tries to paraphrase Mein Kampf and preaches to a tiny audience that can't seem to agree with each other about who they hate the most long enough to ever be a cohesive unit. In yet they're behind absolutely everything negative in Ireland.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

For a criminal investigation to be opened a formal statement has to be taken. This is pretty basic stuff.

Glazers Out!

In the wake of the George Nchenko tragedy the same players stated that we now had evidence of institutionalised racism within our country and the Garden particular. This was demonstrably a pile of nonsense.

Do you have a copy of the GSOC report?

If you’re going to correct my spelling at least watch your own. The Guards have already said no charges pressed , no injuries reported and no evidence.

°°°°°

Can you cite another case where a black person has been shot by the Gardai before or after that case?

Glazers Out!

With respect, what you believe is not up to any prosecutor to decide.

I simply asked if you had a copy of the GSOC report, which is the document that provides the finality to the incident that you are alleging to already have about the incident:

This was demonstrably a pile of nonsense.

Only the GSOC report, which only reported it had reached draft on December 15, 2022, would have the authority to demonstrate that surely. I gauge from your pithy retort that you in fact have not read this report, and neither has the general public.

°°°°°

These men have all of their faculties according to the article at least so in this case they would definitely need to make a statement.

Glazers Out!

These men have all of the faculties according to the article at least

It says that, "they have all their faculties?"

You are aware I hope I didn't read all of those links, I was rebutting another user who complained the news had been obfuscated and was not in the headlines anywhere. So thrill me, if you read that in any of the links thanks.

edit: google even says theres no news article out there about Ashtown that mentions anyones Faculties.

°°°°°

Apologies for the typo, fixed now.

I didn't read it anywhere.

No injuries were reported to the Gardai and even the original article stated all the men in the camp were able to communicate in the aftermath of the alleged attack.

If the men aren't giving statements the Gardai can't press charges against anyone and from the information available it would appear there are no grounds for any investigation to be launched.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

I'm assuming you can prove that institutional racism was a central part of the GSOC investigation so?

Glazers Out!

The Gards could always choose to open an investigation based on a news report though or in response to the demonstration on the ground there, dozens of demonstrators etc. for whom they'd have at least some motivation to go and chat with the campers (which they presumably did, even though nobody had 'formally complained') and solicited them for these formal statements, which they proceeded to decline.

So let's assume for the time that everything Kitty said was true, she did not see any physical contact, the gards dont report observing any injuries. The banging and noise could be anything from banging pots and pans to people moving around camp quickly in response to newcomer/commotion with bat and dog.

If any assaulting happen it would be my gutcheck to presume that it was either at the low line of what constitutes an assault (someone touched me! We bumped shoulders, the bat was brandished in my face etc) or it was both that and relatively mutual between the suspect and the other alleged victims of reported assault in media.

My other supposition: It's also probable that the camp occupiers are weighing the fact that, maybe they don't want to be formally documented by the Gardai. Maybe they lack documentation, maybe they fear pressing charges will lead to expedited deportation. I've had my forehead cut open and declined to press charges when police responded because my assailant (whom I knew personally) was also going to press charges over my self defense injuries inflicted, and we were both going to wind up in jail for weeks and at great expense, we decided to settle our differences out of court.