Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government's secret plan to block repayment of illegal nursing home charges

• Registered Users Posts: 28,845 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The problem with that though (and I agree that they should face consequences - but they won't. This is Ireland after all!) is that we'll then see SF sweep to power and everything this country is struggling with now will be made even worse!

Their only concern is a united Ireland - something most people here couldn't give a toss about when compared to those other problems, and which neither North or South is ready for anyway as we've seen time and again anytime an issue that involves letting something go, or accepting the other side's view or expectations comes up.

We really are bereft of real political alternatives. It's all varying shades of left and populism. Very little in it for the average working citizens who are expected to pay for everything for everyone else (sometimes multiple times), but get feck all back themselves when they need it!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,026 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

99.78% of the population have a home.

75% of the population own that home, either with a mortgage or outright.

Unemployment stands at 4.3%. For all practical purposes there is a job for whoever wants one.

50% of the adult population has a tertiary academic qualification, 5th highest on the Planet.

Private healthcare coverage is the 5th highest in Europe and 7th most affordable (of 30 nations)

The economy is, by a distance, the best performing in Europe and actually the best in the industrialised World - even with foreign direct investment stripped out.

And all anyone has to do is take a look around the World to see how preferable it is to live, work and raise a family here over many other outwardly 'western' Countries.

So, Emo, don't presume to know the priorities of middle class and middle-of-the-road voters. Don't presume that the marxist socialism and shadowy control structure of Sinn Féin doesn't alarm them far more than ephemera such as the topic under discussion.

The 'haves' are not going to jeopardise what they, well, have. And there are a lot of 'haves'. A lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,273 ✭✭✭emo72

99.78 have a home. Yeah probably paying 2500k a month for a hovel. No disposable income left for a sausage. That's not including the "kids" in their 30s living in their parents homes with nowhere to go. Nah. Your figures are disingenuous. But anyway if you think FFG are a good government, no problem, hardly expect otherwise from you.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,436 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

it is the WORST possible time for a clumsy and disruptive election,

how do you mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

• Registered Users Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

If you are explaining, please try and get the wording right. You don't "loose" a majority, you lose one.

I am more than happy for FFG to keep going for another 2 years. Every month cements the end of the civil war power swap charade. The perception is growing that they are the exact same party. They also need to own the legacy of disasters that they have created including the latest scandal. The vulnerable always lose when FFG are caring for them.

Many other governments would have fallen by now but thankfully this government is brazen and more intent on gorging at the trough. Expect to see some Dara Murphy style expense fraud over the next 2 years! Zero reform despite the New Politics waffle showed us what they really think.

In the meantime the electorate will get wiser day by day as the coalition of chaos and their legacy is exposed.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

I get the jist of what you're saying.

On paper everything looks great and statistics are just that "statistics", and they can be made to read what ever you want them to read depending on who your target audience is.

IE 75% of the Population on home, But opposite to that we've a higher number than ever of U35's living at home with their parents, some news article appeared on my phone stating the number was near 60%... which is a very concerning "statistic".

Ireland was never industrialized the way the rest of Europe was, we've only recently started manufacturing items here, and even then it's high end stuff like medicine and computer chips The rest of the economy is finance, services, tourism, retail, agriculture/food.

Unemployment is at 4.3% because no one can get staff in Urban areas specifically because no one can afford to live there on their own on a wage less than €50k without supports. Every window in Camden St has a staff wanted sign, and most of the people working shops in DCC were not born here.

Ireland is so dependent on FDI that changes and layoffs in Big tech will have a huge affect in Ireland. I think its some staggering figure like 10 Multinationals account for over 50% of the Corp tax. That being said, overall we do extremely well off them given the size of the country.

It seems like the governments handling of everything is the same as the way most Irish people think/handle everything "Sure it'll be grand", "that'll do", "don't be killing yourself" etc. It's the most Paddy thing ever, just enough to be "Ok"

Even the reporting of the growth is questionable, in 2015 Ireland reported 25% growth which is ridiculous for a first world country and a blatant lie, but the statistics said it, so it must be true right? wrong, Apple transferred 300B of intangible assets to Ireland and part of tax evasion scheme. The figure was so stupid it was laughable but they still published it instead of thinking "Something is wrong here"... "But sure look, It'll be grand"

Don't be reading to much into aggregated statistics as more often than not they're manufactured by someone who's try to tell you things are "Grand" or things are "Not Grand". The best indicator is the people around you, co-workers, friends, family about how grand things are.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,845 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Story in the IT about it last night/this morning, and not unexpectedly, any who were around are saying they had no knowledge of the strategy and didn't approve it

It's all so predictable. Nothing to see here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭deirdremf

The Ditch has published an article about a Cork solicitor, who is an FG TD. He was found guilty of misconduct in leading a couple to believe he was acting on their behalf in relation to one of these nursing home cases. Owing to the statute of limitations, the couple lost over €100,000 if the article is to be believed.

A misled presumptive client

Among Colm Burke’s first clients affected by the nursing home scandal was a Munster couple, who wished to remain anonymous, who’d been wrongly charged more than €100,000 in private nursing home fees.

On 1 July 2014 the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal ruled Burke “guilty of misconduct in his practice as a solicitor” for leading the applicant to believe he was acting on her behalf when in fact he wasn’t. 

Now, Colm Burke is a solicitor and a TD, previously a councillor and then a senator. I wonder if there are any other TDs/senators/councillors who are solicitors and have done work of this sort. If so, it would be very interesting to find out if they were more successful for their clients than Colm Burke was.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭deirdremf

Politically, Labour (Gilmore, Howlin) are already tainted by this scandal. What Bacik has said makes her look like a political fool "None of us knoo Nawttin". Their few elderly remaining voters will not believe them, although her yummy mummy voters of D4 might.

However, your defence of the practice is at huge variance with the the mood around the country on this - people are horrified and will not forget this come the next election. FF represented the poorer classes in society since it was founded (along with Labour initially), and this is precisely the worst-hit class. Although civil war politics ensure that plenty of elderly FGers will have been hit too.

Suggesting that these people are scroungers is unlikely to win your lot many votes, as they are/were legally entitled to redress. That will just make them more angry.

Regarding pyrite and mica, in a decently-run country the builders/block makers/quarries involved would a) be subject to rigorous quality processes, and b) be obliged to have sufficient insurance cover for whatever work they do.

If we collectively as a society are incapable of putting processes in place to cover ourselves against fukkups then we have to take the hit as is now happening. It's a major pain in the ass - but how would you like to have a house coming apart around you due to pyrite in the blocks, after being obliged to pay illegal charges for elderly parents in a nursing home?

Thats interesting because Colm Burke (FG) was waffling about stuff earlier this year.

Healthcare crisis needs national forum - Colm Burke TD | Newstalk

The current healthcare crisis needs a national forum to tackle it, Fine Gael’s Colm Burke has said. 

The Cork North Central TD said such a forum would give staff the opportunity to highlight “glitches” in the provision of healthcare. 

“The whole idea of a healthcare forum is for a consultation to bring everyone on board and to have both consultants, nurses, GPs, the nursing home care sector - I’m talking about a whole range of people,” he told Newstalk. 

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I think Eamon Ryan and Michael Martin were part of the cabinet that was briefed in 2009 on secretly withholding disability payments.

I'm sure they'll claim they weren't in that day or don't remember but I don't buy that BS.

For my two cents that's the lowest of the low and they need to resign. Whether they were drivers of the policy or not, it's not enough that they stood back and did nothing.

If the line isn't here, where is it FFS?

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭northknife

All fur coat and no knickers, as the great Leo said.

But so long as more people have knickers than don't, the current Government parties will remain in power.

Dont forget even the most up to date polls say Sinn Féin 33% Government 41%.

Ye asked yesterday why its the worst possible time for an election. The answer is that the World, specifically Europe, is in the teeth of a multi-faceted crisis. It needs an experienced and progressive Government to balance the throttles on the economy very carefully to maintain growth, investment and employment.

There is also the issue of the pending update of the EU/UK protocols with respect to the Six Counties and the careful diplomacy needed to restore and support the Assembly in the north of Ireland.

Ireland cannot afford the 6 week vacuum of a general election and certainly cannot risk another potential 6 months of coalition horse trading, no matter who it ends up being.

But most of all, it cannot afford a the chance of a bunch of marxist novices taking over and wrecking the place on the rocks entirely.

There will always be unfortunate legacy issues, but they cannot be allowed to derail current important work and stability.

Leo's out now throwing Fine Fail and the Greens under the bus.

Says the state didn't have a leg to stand on with the disability side of this scandal.

Seems what he did was grand but what their government did was shameful.

Over to you Meehole and Eamon!

I thought Michael Martin's first couple of months were chaotic and eventful (4 Ministers for Agriculture!) but Leo's first month or so has surpassed it. HQ must be working round the clock on excuses and praying for distractions.

An experienced and progressive government?

Unfortunately we know what FFG are experienced in.

And it's not a 'unfortunate legacy issue', it's a sickening, national disgrace... ripping off the disabled and elderly.

Many of this lot were at the heart of it too.

Leo's shifting blame to his FFG colleagues doesn't really hold up either.

Going by the PT report last night, after that approach was approved by Ryan and Martins Cabinet, a wait and see approach was adopted.

Difficult to believe then that the issue had disappeared by early 2011 when FG came to power.

Also, according to PT this was along the lines of an open secret in government circles.

Lets face it, Fine Geal also were aware of this, had time and opportunity to put it right, but were too busy in those days throwing money at Siteserv and their Rehab buddies.

You clearly do not understand the distinction between the State and the Government.

And you aren't the only one. Its a pity as it makes every post here basically redundant and its the reason this Government will carry on and legacy issues will be addressed under the law by the public service as they always are.

I understand the distinction.

I think what's quite clear here is that you're trying to conveniently paint this as a legacy issue.

When the people involved in, and aware of, these decisions are still in Government now.

This isn't the 1950's we're talking about.

The current Tánaiste and Minister Ryan were part of the cabinet that approved this. And I don't believe that Fine Geal, coming to power just a short while after, weren't aware either and chose not to rectify.

He also threw James Reilly under the bus earlier saying it was under his watch as health minister. You also have Charlie Tannigan claiming

Does the idiot not know this was not under her remit and that she resigned on principle after having a well publicised dispute with the Health Minister James Reilly over a number of issues including the  allocation of new primary care centres to Reilly’s constituency.

James Reilly (FG) was a shockingly inept health minister. Totally self serving.

Didn't he also ensure many many millions were wasted trying to get the Children's hospital into the Mater site?

How is that Children's hospital coming along? Nobody knows the final cost.

We understand the distinction and has already been pointed out its not a legacy issue. People who actively participated in this are still in power and must be held to account. How can you want people like this to remain in power? You also claim its the worst time for an election because "it's the worst possible time for an election. The answer is that the World, specifically Europe, is in the teeth of a multi-faceted crisis. It needs an experienced and progressive Government to balance the throttles on the economy very carefully to maintain growth, investment and employment."

If we are going to be going through the crisis you claim we will, then you will know it will be a longterm crisis and as Leo has already stated he wants an election Autumn next year. So it won't matter if the election is now or next year. You also claim that we need an experienced and progressive Government. A Government that has screwed over it's citizens in the past and could well do so again. The sooner FFG is gone the better as whoever comes in can't be as bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

You make very valid points, particularly about all the messing that will go on if an election were to be called.

I do not take the point of legacy issues that we just need to accept however. That implies the p!$$taking done at the time was fine and hence it's fine now, (even with all the important work going on). It's highly likely there are crappy/secret plans being put in place now regarding cost of living/housing crisis.

Like these people actively and secretly schemed against the people that elected them.

There is no greater betrayal, I don't really want these people making any more decisions if I'm honest as they've proven they cannot be trusted.

I'm not saying that I want SF in, but as a previous poster said, the line must be drawn somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,755 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Just like the kids on the telly the other night, poor dears, who had to share a four-bedroomed house with three other adults, before moving into the apartment that Mammy and Daddy owned. What terrible conditions they are suffering under.

As a taxpayer, I am grateful that my tax money was protected by the government from the cabal of ambulance-chasing lawyers that go after every single government mistake with compo claims to beat the band.

I am too. There are a lot like us.

Bear that it mind when some combination of FF FG Labour SDs are returned to power in Feb 2025 and not SF. Don't say then that its a mystery to you how SF didn't get in.

While I appreciate a bit of lawyer bashing as much as the next guy, I think you'll find that lawyers would not have been required, had FFG introduced a fair and correct redress scheme to make right the historical wrongs inflicted on the elderly and disabled.

Instead they put their own interests to the fore.

Again, what historical wrongs? There was legal advice but no court finding.